Non-Gaa Forum

Replying To Saynothing:  "Analysis will tell even the anti Trump brigade that America is booming from Trumps reelection. Dow Jones , jobs for Americans, tighter border controls, all things American. There is enough people like Trump in Irish and British politics."
The labour department cancelled it's latest report also. But yeah America is booming.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8662 - 08/12/2025 23:43:12    2647575

Replying To TheFlaker:  "I was for tighter borders. I am for that in any country but the ICE raids are haphazard and a shambles. I have no problem giving credit but America is not booming and saying things like that and jobs for Americans is just silly ramblings."
Southpark was ahead of its time with They took our Jobs episode.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 09/12/2025 09:36:00    2647582

They have cancelled the jobs report, GDP report and now the inflation report. But the lads on here think everyone is out to get him. They are slowly trying to run television networks behind the scenes doing power deals.

Reporters are not allowed to ask questions, even really obvious ones pointing out clear issues. And then there's the hiring of the likes of Hegseth. It's not Trump derangement syndrome to highlight the mad stuff going on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8662 - 09/12/2025 10:51:57    2647596

Replying To TheFlaker:  "They have cancelled the jobs report, GDP report and now the inflation report. But the lads on here think everyone is out to get him. They are slowly trying to run television networks behind the scenes doing power deals.

Reporters are not allowed to ask questions, even really obvious ones pointing out clear issues. And then there's the hiring of the likes of Hegseth. It's not Trump derangement syndrome to highlight the mad stuff going on."
Sounds a bit like Ireland tbh

alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 157 - 09/12/2025 11:06:15    2647604

Replying To Saynothing:  "For putting America first. I'm no American fan but Trump deserves credit."
I've no problem with America first but my god as you naive. Israel first would be more appropriate. Even his fan girl Taylor Greene has pulled back from him and sided with the dems on affordable healthcare.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11833 - 09/12/2025 11:22:27    2647605

Replying To alalalalalum:  "Sounds a bit like Ireland tbh"
Perhaps you could enlighten us as to how America at the moment sounds a bit like Ireland. ??

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1956 - 09/12/2025 12:08:28    2647613

Replying To Freethinker:  "Perhaps you could enlighten us as to how America at the moment sounds a bit like Ireland. ??"
Well the government here have propped up the national broadcaster and do get treated very softly by them in return

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1783 - 09/12/2025 12:17:20    2647617

Looks like someone forgot to sign out of their dummy account before responding.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8662 - 09/12/2025 12:37:25    2647619

Replying To jm25:  "Well the government here have propped up the national broadcaster and do get treated very softly by them in return"
That's an opinion, not a fact.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 270 - 09/12/2025 13:12:45    2647634

Replying To Freethinker:  "Perhaps you could enlighten us as to how America at the moment sounds a bit like Ireland. ??"
You reckon our media is fair and impartial, specifically national ones?

alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 157 - 09/12/2025 13:32:47    2647639

Replying To Seanfan:  "That's an opinion, not a fact."
Is it not factual that government have given Rte millions to cover loss of license income

How many Rte staff have ran for ff fg recently

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1783 - 09/12/2025 14:36:35    2647657

Replying To jm25:  "Is it not factual that government have given Rte millions to cover loss of license income

How many Rte staff have ran for ff fg recently"
While RTE are far from perfect it cannot be compared to complete lack of media accountability team Trump can get away with. Take for instance the recent presidential election here. Although the Gavin stuff was already in the papers it was Aine Lawlors interview on rte 1 that really finished him off....the candidate of one of the main government parties. That could not happen in America because of their dysfunctional democracy.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 09/12/2025 15:08:56    2647667

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "While RTE are far from perfect it cannot be compared to complete lack of media accountability team Trump can get away with. Take for instance the recent presidential election here. Although the Gavin stuff was already in the papers it was Aine Lawlors interview on rte 1 that really finished him off....the candidate of one of the main government parties. That could not happen in America because of their dysfunctional democracy."
Trump sued and won against CBS news for altering the Kamala Harris interview, the Media covered for Biden until the so called debate when the whole world saw the truth, they denied the existence of the Hunter Biden laptop, etc so I don't know what media you're talking about. As for dysfunctional in the USA there were 25 Republicans in a recent enough primary and I think 24 Democrats in a recent enough primary yet the Irish President race was very limited and I won't even bother mentioning all the spoiled votes. Wake up.

SouthGalway (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 09/12/2025 18:07:55    2647697

Replying To jm25:  "Is it not factual that government have given Rte millions to cover loss of license income

How many Rte staff have ran for ff fg recently"
Still a sizeable chunk of the population who believe what that organisation churns out God bless them

alalalalalum (USA) - Posts: 157 - 09/12/2025 18:53:41    2647706

Replying To SouthGalway:  "Trump sued and won against CBS news for altering the Kamala Harris interview, the Media covered for Biden until the so called debate when the whole world saw the truth, they denied the existence of the Hunter Biden laptop, etc so I don't know what media you're talking about. As for dysfunctional in the USA there were 25 Republicans in a recent enough primary and I think 24 Democrats in a recent enough primary yet the Irish President race was very limited and I won't even bother mentioning all the spoiled votes. Wake up."
Ah here we go. Who would you have preferred for the Aras?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8662 - 09/12/2025 20:58:22    2647723

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "While RTE are far from perfect it cannot be compared to complete lack of media accountability team Trump can get away with. Take for instance the recent presidential election here. Although the Gavin stuff was already in the papers it was Aine Lawlors interview on rte 1 that really finished him off....the candidate of one of the main government parties. That could not happen in America because of their dysfunctional democracy."
Unfortunatel, FullOfPorter, too many are forming political views from social media news and not the teaditional newspaper, TV and Radio news. They could be bombarded with goodinformation or bad information but algorithms in the background usually want to convince them to buy something.

I think Gavin was finished as soon as FF nominated him. They knew about his tenant issue as did many of the media. They put him in hastily to scupper any chance Bertie Ahern might run. Inexplicably they wouldn't back Billy Kelleher for the nomination. Jim Gavin is a brilliant man but too lacking in charisma and political experience to have been a good candidate. Still seems a lot like a Michael Martin egi trip in Fianna Fáil. I don't understand why he doesn't step aside and let Jim O'Callaghan take on the leadership.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 09/12/2025 21:31:40    2647730

Ukrainians raise flag in Pokrovsk to show BBC the fight goes on in city claimed by Russia https://share.google/9swi0ySEyLPg9FHqd

Fair play to them. They arent quitters.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17741 - 09/12/2025 22:10:06    2647736

And the sending of 15k troops on standby to assist whatever he is planning of Venezuela. No wars on his watch remember?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8662 - 09/12/2025 23:10:04    2647742

Trump on stage in PA last night:

"The president told the crowd gathered at a casino and resort in Mount Pocono that inflation was no longer a problem and that Democrats had used the term "affordability" as a "hoax" to hurt his reputation."

Ah poor me again and yet another lie to the American people. Inflation is real and affordability is a major problem. I was in the US 2 weeks ago….i suppose everything I saw and people I talked to are all lying…

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11833 - 10/12/2025 08:43:14    2647752

Replying To yew_tree:  "What does Trump deserve credit for?"
Peace processes

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1251 - 10/12/2025 09:15:03    2647754