Westmeath Hurling thread

Replying To jobber:  "New look team yes but we need some of the old experienced heads there as well. Clonkill and Raharney have given the county great service over two decades.Hopefully CTG and LLG can lead us now when they are the top dogs."
There's realistically not that many county standard hurlers on LLG, they're a strong group with not many stand out players. Obviously the two Williams', Dan Higgins would be a shout but hasnt been involved for a while. Other than that I'm not sure who else

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 343 - 21/11/2025 22:28:57    2645600

Can I ask who most unlucky to not get in ? Clarke from castletown . Did Luke deserve hurling place maybe especially in half forward line .

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1104 - 22/11/2025 19:59:16    2645677

Replying To Iveagh:  "We are up against it Jobber for sure. I'm with Dheen. 3 + year rebuilding process. Focus on younger players see where it gets us . A few of the LLG and CTG players might be good to have as mature players at start but Manager must sure cast a wide net and look at giving others a shot. We might have to go lower to rise. Maybe I'm wrong. There are maybe not too many LLG players and maybe same for CTG that he might want."
Agreed but we will need some physical presence that some of these Gaels and CTG players can bring whilst the young players mature.After the many successes and failures of the last 20 years with 3 Christy Rings when it was tier 2 and a Joe Mcdonagh and countless finals championship and league it looks like we will hardly be contenders in 2A and survival in. Mcdonagh will be the name of the game. Does anyone know how is Dara Egerton, is he back training?

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1825 - 23/11/2025 04:48:20    2645705

Wasn't great in Raharney today but with nobody from county finalists and a lot of young lads against a serious team we could not expect much better. I have to confess I didn't know all of the players so fair play to O Brien he is in for the long haul and is trying out players with more trials next Sunday.
But patience all round will be needed.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1825 - 23/11/2025 14:46:35    2645750

Who did we play? Any new names?

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2475 - 23/11/2025 14:56:44    2645751

Replying To jobber:  "Agreed but we will need some physical presence that some of these Gaels and CTG players can bring whilst the young players mature.After the many successes and failures of the last 20 years with 3 Christy Rings when it was tier 2 and a Joe Mcdonagh and countless finals championship and league it looks like we will hardly be contenders in 2A and survival in. Mcdonagh will be the name of the game. Does anyone know how is Dara Egerton, is he back training?"
Agree somewhat but to say completely refresh all young or all different players isn't way to go either you need some castletown either experienced or could be tried and llg in as well need mix. Having all new players and say you get few bad results would hard to turn around.

Westmeath may struggle but can't say they can't challenge either. Hard to know what to expect but still say it's winnable division for Westmeath

As I say separately clough dud well vs ballyhale experience got ballyhale over the line. Maybe that result for castletown wasn't that bad.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1104 - 23/11/2025 14:57:12    2645752

A lot of experienced lads have retired or just not going back, it's a huge commitment and chances of success in next 2 years are very slim. Youth the way to go, likes of 2 Williams, Darragh Mc, Eamon Cunneen, Kevin Regan, Darragh Smith, Rory Keyes, Mark Cunningham, Two McCabes, two Murphys from Ctg, Adam Ennis, Josh Coll

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2475 - 23/11/2025 15:00:45    2645756

Higgins would be asset maybe Gavigan and one of Murphy . Would clavin come back in.

Marcus kennedy maybe them 4 but ye important also cast the net wide. Trials are good experiment .

Who were they playing against in raharney if I picked that up right

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1104 - 23/11/2025 15:01:01    2645757

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Higgins would be asset maybe Gavigan and one of Murphy . Would clavin come back in.

Marcus kennedy maybe them 4 but ye important also cast the net wide. Trials are good experiment .

Who were they playing against in raharney if I picked that up right"
We have to have Johhny Birmingham,David O Reilly,Shane Clavin and Murphy from Castletown along with the two Williams and Higgins from LLG.Conor Shaw Gaffney and Kevin Regan will bring some experience.Andrew Shaw is a county hurler if he gives it 100%.Cuneen and the two Keyes and let's see what the trials bring in.2026 will be a struggle but it's the way to go.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1825 - 23/11/2025 15:22:55    2645763

David O' Reilly is out injured until May or June, not sure about Johnny B. Conor Shaw should be involved. Some of our hurlers being courted by football mgt

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2475 - 23/11/2025 16:12:56    2645768

Replying To Claretandblue:  "David O' Reilly is out injured until May or June, not sure about Johnny B. Conor Shaw should be involved. Some of our hurlers being courted by football mgt"
I heard about Peter Clarke who is a better hurler than footballer.Are there others?

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1825 - 23/11/2025 17:40:14    2645780

Replying To jobber:  "I heard about Peter Clarke who is a better hurler than footballer.Are there others?"
he is a good footballer too in fairness better hurler in fairness hopefully stays with hurling thoughas would be huge loss

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1104 - 23/11/2025 23:12:21    2645833

Replying To Claretandblue:  "David O' Reilly is out injured until May or June, not sure about Johnny B. Conor Shaw should be involved. Some of our hurlers being courted by football mgt"
thats a real cheap shot move if thats true

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 816 - 26/11/2025 14:20:42    2646140

Tommy Doyle, Darragh Clinton and now Robbie Greville retired and probably a couple more to come. There should be no pressure on Kevin O'Brien and the young lads next year as we start to build a new team. Strong minor team and a good u20 team next year with quality management involved and thats where the focus needs to be. Colaiste Mhuire doing excellent work and competing at A level at pretty much all age groups, watched their game vs Fintans of Dublin where they won 1-31-0-05. Plenty of talent in the likes of Darragh Kenny, Kian Loughlin, Sean Hayes, Conor Williams etc. We are not where we want to be at senior level but we are not in the worst place looking forward if the talent coming through is looked after and we dont lose too many.

Dheen (Westmeath) - Posts: 1064 - 26/11/2025 19:05:40    2646169

Replying To Dheen:  "Tommy Doyle, Darragh Clinton and now Robbie Greville retired and probably a couple more to come. There should be no pressure on Kevin O'Brien and the young lads next year as we start to build a new team. Strong minor team and a good u20 team next year with quality management involved and thats where the focus needs to be. Colaiste Mhuire doing excellent work and competing at A level at pretty much all age groups, watched their game vs Fintans of Dublin where they won 1-31-0-05. Plenty of talent in the likes of Darragh Kenny, Kian Loughlin, Sean Hayes, Conor Williams etc. We are not where we want to be at senior level but we are not in the worst place looking forward if the talent coming through is looked after and we dont lose too many."
100% agree but there's one thing that's needs to be spoken about.County champions in my opinion in counties like ours have the responsibility to lead and over many years in Westmeath that has been the case. But in 2026 ????

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1825 - 26/11/2025 23:48:32    2646188

Any word on club management teams for 2026, will Joey Williams stay a 4th year, will Buddha continue on for 3 in a row, who will take clonkill?

westmeathgaa11 (Westmeath) - Posts: 343 - 27/11/2025 02:46:40    2646190

Did aenghus clarke officially retire or did he just take a long break

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 816 - 27/11/2025 10:29:15    2646203

Replying To jobber:  "100% agree but there's one thing that's needs to be spoken about.County champions in my opinion in counties like ours have the responsibility to lead and over many years in Westmeath that has been the case. But in 2026 ????"
Why not they gave still have 5 or 6 ciaran obrien johnny b maybe Morgan gavigan one of Murphys reilly when back from injury now Peter Clarke is he with footballers?
Niall obrien may go one year or retire?

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 1104 - 27/11/2025 10:52:17    2646207