Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "If jacko was dropped to the reserves for our biggest game of the year while we persist with players that have very, very limited hurling ability then we are going nowhere this year."
He had a hamstring injury, I'm guessing if they risked him Sunday and it flaired up it could have been gone for the whole of the Leinster championship.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1750 - 23/04/2024 09:35:23    2540043

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "If jacko was dropped to the reserves for our biggest game of the year while we persist with players that have very, very limited hurling ability then we are going nowhere this year."
He is coming back from a hamstring issue and trained Sunday morning according to Keith on the radio

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 135 - 23/04/2024 10:12:26    2540056

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "He had a hamstring injury, I'm guessing if they risked him Sunday and it flaired up it could have been gone for the whole of the Leinster championship."
To be fair, I've been critical of his consistency before, but he was badly needed on Sunday for his aeriel ability alone. Would be one of our few players that'd match Dublin for height.

For this Saturday, I wouldn't be as quick to drop Casey, he's shown that he has an eye for goal, especially over the last year. Instead, I'd bring in Mac for Mogie and move Chin out to the half-forward line. Enough of a goal threat inside then while ensuring Lee is addressing our ball-winning issue around the middle. See how Mogie fairs in the impact sub role then (Rossi himself is probably still in experimentation mode with injuries/unavailabilities anyway).

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1421 - 23/04/2024 10:20:32    2540060

Replying To Viking66:  "
Replying To ElGranSenor:  "[quote=Afinestick96:  "[quote=ElGranSenor:  "[quote=wexford2012:  "Liam griffin has in the past spoken about 'hurling being a way of life' well Last year when we played Kilkenny this never to me felt more visceral, more intense, more real as if that way of life was hanging by a thread. Maybe it was just me but that day felt like we were all stepping into the area, that we would as supporters go above and beyond, cheer, barrack, clap, hoot and hollower - yes weren't on the pitch but we would be that oft spoken about '16th man.'
In marked contrast yesterday in Wexford park the atmosphere was muted, it didn't feel like championship, I don't think there was a single 'Wexford, Wexford chant' which was strange.
I realise I am stepping on dangerous ground as people reacted strongly last year when the county chairman pointed the poor Wexford support being a part of the reason our u20s lost to Offaly in Carlow but I believed at the time he was right and still do.
This sense prompted me to check what research has to tell us and
"One study found that when athletes receive frequent encouragement, effort levels increased by up to 7%. Performing in front of a crowd can also provide a positive distraction from fatigue. Focusing on the crowd and thriving off their atmosphere and energy has been demonstrated to be an effective strategy to help athletes when they are tiring and about to 'hit the wall'."
This article went onto talk about visual aids/stimulus saying:
"Fans often use visual aids flags, banners, etc Visual representations of encouragement can be used to create an atmosphere that influences athletes both physically and psychologically. In fact, it has been found to help boost the physical strength of athletes by up to 8%. This effect was most apparent during high intensity performances, which makes it the perfect strategy for the World Cup."
So please don't get me wrong I'm not blaming supporters but do want to explore something. In post-match analysis yesterday many people I spoke to felt there missing in Wexford, that as a county, despite huge passion, we keep suffering big collapses. You don't see this with the other serious hurling counties. This is bigger than one group of players, bigger than any manager, even bigger than the county board members. We have not won a minor all Ireland since 1968 - 56 years…or even appeared in one since 1985 (39 years). Why is this?
At senior level I believe we suffered significant psychological damage that persists to this day, from the hammers Brian Cody's Kilkenny meted out to us, at some level this is impacting teams to this day. We lack confidence, lack belief, lack real ambition or expectation. Yes, we latch onto any scrape of success but we go from high to low, hero to zero, we're either winning the all-Ireland or we're the worst team in history - we have little ability as a county to maintain perspective. We seem to have excuse after excuse to explain away problems, to numb the pain that facing reality brings.
The conclusion in rather bleak as the scale of the problem appears daunting BUT we have to address it and start making changes."
Good post, I know some people on here and elsewhere are maligning the quality of our forwards and wonder where we would be without Chin but I think in terms of ability, we're not as far as behind as some like to make us out to be e.g I'm not sure anyone can say that a trio of TJ Reid-Adrian Mullen-Eoin Cody is that far ahead quality-wise of Chin-ROC-Mac.

But where KK are streets ahead of us is that they play every game with intensity whereas we seem only to raise our level on special occasions. No matter how big or small out technical, physical, and tactical limitations are right now, our single biggest limitation is the gap between our two ears"
I agree with you on ROC Chin and Mac but we need to get other lads around them performing on a consistently high basis"]I don't disagree and it's certainly a cause for concern but I think if we went back to how we played in the league, then our supporting cast would be able to contribute more in attack

Rory and Lee are our only two forwards who are really capable of creating their own scores, the rest of them need scores created for them which we were unable to do yesterday"]Hearne, Byrne, Mac and Dunbar all created their own scores too."]Bit of a difference between creating one score on a particular day and being able to create multiple scores for yourself day in, day out

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 23/04/2024 10:22:43    2540061

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "He had a hamstring injury, I'm guessing if they risked him Sunday and it flaired up it could have been gone for the whole of the Leinster championship."
That makes sense. Im not able to follow the hurling as much this year and a bit behind on current affairs. Thanks

Waltermitty2 (Wexford) - Posts: 261 - 23/04/2024 10:25:09    2540062

Looking back at it, I don't think we really ever had that many issues with long balls leading to goals in the Davy era whereas it has really flared up both this year and last year. I think playing with a sweeper would probably cut out a lot of those goal chances in theory but playing with an out-and-out sweeper comes with its own drawbacks too.

The bigger issue for me is that we are playing Damien Reck out of position. Very good hurler but I think he lacks the positional discipline to hold centre and sit back in the pocket like say Declan Hannon. He should have been sitting back right in front of the full-back line in injury time against Dublin. For me, this is where Paudie Foley is a huge loss for us, I think he'd have been sat back there and Dublin wouldn't have had it so easy with the long, high balls in

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 269 - 23/04/2024 10:27:29    2540064

Replying To beano:  "To be fair, I've been critical of his consistency before, but he was badly needed on Sunday for his aeriel ability alone. Would be one of our few players that'd match Dublin for height.

For this Saturday, I wouldn't be as quick to drop Casey, he's shown that he has an eye for goal, especially over the last year. Instead, I'd bring in Mac for Mogie and move Chin out to the half-forward line. Enough of a goal threat inside then while ensuring Lee is addressing our ball-winning issue around the middle. See how Mogie fairs in the impact sub role then (Rossi himself is probably still in experimentation mode with injuries/unavailabilities anyway)."
I'd bring him in for Dunbar myself and he's capable of being a decent impact sub, Liam Og was off his usual standard on Sunday but he's enough credit in the bank to be persisted with and trusted to regain his form, agree regards Casey he didn't much wrong on Sunday he just got very little ball, tactic seemed to be Chin and Rory are our best 2 forwards everything goes through them rather the way we went about it in the league, food for taught for management I suppose.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1750 - 23/04/2024 10:31:51    2540067

Replying To beano:  "To be fair, I've been critical of his consistency before, but he was badly needed on Sunday for his aeriel ability alone. Would be one of our few players that'd match Dublin for height.

For this Saturday, I wouldn't be as quick to drop Casey, he's shown that he has an eye for goal, especially over the last year. Instead, I'd bring in Mac for Mogie and move Chin out to the half-forward line. Enough of a goal threat inside then while ensuring Lee is addressing our ball-winning issue around the middle. See how Mogie fairs in the impact sub role then (Rossi himself is probably still in experimentation mode with injuries/unavailabilities anyway)."
Id agree giving Casey another chance. Id probably keep Mogie on to get more game time into him . Think Richie struggled on Sunday someone said he may have been carrying an injury into the game? Dont want to criticise the lad he will be a good player for us. I think a forward line of Liam Og, Chin, Jacko, Casey, Mac and ROC could work and has a lot of goals in it

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 135 - 23/04/2024 10:35:00    2540068

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "That makes sense. Im not able to follow the hurling as much this year and a bit behind on current affairs. Thanks"
Whatever the net result is for us by the end of the championship 1 thing that people involved need to look into in the Autumn is the training we were doing because we've got alot of soft tissue injuries over the season. I know there's an element of luck to injuries but we're defiantly above average in that regard.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1750 - 23/04/2024 11:46:01    2540088

Mogie needs gametime. He only rejoined the panel a month ago. I think he has to start. We need him at the top of his game against Galway and Kilkenny especially. Last year he assisted a goal and scored a goal against Galway and scored 2 himself against Kilkenny. We would be in the Joe Mac this year without those last 2 goals.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12042 - 23/04/2024 11:49:26    2540089

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "
Replying To Viking66:  "[quote=ElGranSenor:  "[quote=Afinestick96:  "[quote=ElGranSenor:  "[quote=wexford2012:  "Liam griffin has in the past spoken about 'hurling being a way of life' well Last year when we played Kilkenny this never to me felt more visceral, more intense, more real as if that way of life was hanging by a thread. Maybe it was just me but that day felt like we were all stepping into the area, that we would as supporters go above and beyond, cheer, barrack, clap, hoot and hollower - yes weren't on the pitch but we would be that oft spoken about '16th man.'
In marked contrast yesterday in Wexford park the atmosphere was muted, it didn't feel like championship, I don't think there was a single 'Wexford, Wexford chant' which was strange.
I realise I am stepping on dangerous ground as people reacted strongly last year when the county chairman pointed the poor Wexford support being a part of the reason our u20s lost to Offaly in Carlow but I believed at the time he was right and still do.
This sense prompted me to check what research has to tell us and
"One study found that when athletes receive frequent encouragement, effort levels increased by up to 7%. Performing in front of a crowd can also provide a positive distraction from fatigue. Focusing on the crowd and thriving off their atmosphere and energy has been demonstrated to be an effective strategy to help athletes when they are tiring and about to 'hit the wall'."
This article went onto talk about visual aids/stimulus saying:
"Fans often use visual aids flags, banners, etc Visual representations of encouragement can be used to create an atmosphere that influences athletes both physically and psychologically. In fact, it has been found to help boost the physical strength of athletes by up to 8%. This effect was most apparent during high intensity performances, which makes it the perfect strategy for the World Cup."
So please don't get me wrong I'm not blaming supporters but do want to explore something. In post-match analysis yesterday many people I spoke to felt there missing in Wexford, that as a county, despite huge passion, we keep suffering big collapses. You don't see this with the other serious hurling counties. This is bigger than one group of players, bigger than any manager, even bigger than the county board members. We have not won a minor all Ireland since 1968 - 56 years…or even appeared in one since 1985 (39 years). Why is this?
At senior level I believe we suffered significant psychological damage that persists to this day, from the hammers Brian Cody's Kilkenny meted out to us, at some level this is impacting teams to this day. We lack confidence, lack belief, lack real ambition or expectation. Yes, we latch onto any scrape of success but we go from high to low, hero to zero, we're either winning the all-Ireland or we're the worst team in history - we have little ability as a county to maintain perspective. We seem to have excuse after excuse to explain away problems, to numb the pain that facing reality brings.
The conclusion in rather bleak as the scale of the problem appears daunting BUT we have to address it and start making changes."
Good post, I know some people on here and elsewhere are maligning the quality of our forwards and wonder where we would be without Chin but I think in terms of ability, we're not as far as behind as some like to make us out to be e.g I'm not sure anyone can say that a trio of TJ Reid-Adrian Mullen-Eoin Cody is that far ahead quality-wise of Chin-ROC-Mac.

But where KK are streets ahead of us is that they play every game with intensity whereas we seem only to raise our level on special occasions. No matter how big or small out technical, physical, and tactical limitations are right now, our single biggest limitation is the gap between our two ears"
I agree with you on ROC Chin and Mac but we need to get other lads around them performing on a consistently high basis"]I don't disagree and it's certainly a cause for concern but I think if we went back to how we played in the league, then our supporting cast would be able to contribute more in attack

Rory and Lee are our only two forwards who are really capable of creating their own scores, the rest of them need scores created for them which we were unable to do yesterday"]Hearne, Byrne, Mac and Dunbar all created their own scores too."]Bit of a difference between creating one score on a particular day and being able to create multiple scores for yourself day in, day out"]Agreed but Byrne and Mac mightve scored more if they had of been on the pitch longer. And all 4 lads who played inside got nearly no ball at all the whole game.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12042 - 23/04/2024 11:51:08    2540090

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Looking back at it, I don't think we really ever had that many issues with long balls leading to goals in the Davy era whereas it has really flared up both this year and last year. I think playing with a sweeper would probably cut out a lot of those goal chances in theory but playing with an out-and-out sweeper comes with its own drawbacks too.

The bigger issue for me is that we are playing Damien Reck out of position. Very good hurler but I think he lacks the positional discipline to hold centre and sit back in the pocket like say Declan Hannon. He should have been sitting back right in front of the full-back line in injury time against Dublin. For me, this is where Paudie Foley is a huge loss for us, I think he'd have been sat back there and Dublin wouldn't have had it so easy with the long, high balls in"
Paudies height was definitely a loss. Carty also has very good positional awareness and is good in the air. Both are in oz though. Of the lads here today Ryan and Molloy were losses in that situation.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12042 - 23/04/2024 11:53:10    2540091

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Id agree giving Casey another chance. Id probably keep Mogie on to get more game time into him . Think Richie struggled on Sunday someone said he may have been carrying an injury into the game? Dont want to criticise the lad he will be a good player for us. I think a forward line of Liam Og, Chin, Jacko, Casey, Mac and ROC could work and has a lot of goals in it"
Dunbar played better as the game went on on Sunday though in fairness.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12042 - 23/04/2024 11:54:21    2540092

Replying To Viking66:  "Paudies height was definitely a loss. Carty also has very good positional awareness and is good in the air. Both are in oz though. Of the lads here today Ryan and Molloy were losses in that situation."
As an aside will ye have Carty or SOG back for the club championship?

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1750 - 23/04/2024 12:09:36    2540095

Replying To Afinestick96:  "Id agree giving Casey another chance. Id probably keep Mogie on to get more game time into him . Think Richie struggled on Sunday someone said he may have been carrying an injury into the game? Dont want to criticise the lad he will be a good player for us. I think a forward line of Liam Og, Chin, Jacko, Casey, Mac and ROC could work and has a lot of goals in it"
Any player carrying an injury should quite simply not play. They will be found out in the white heat of battle. Maybe the someone who said that Lawlor was injured was making an excuse for his poor performance. It happen regularly. You hear lads close to the player saying " ah sure he wasn't right, shouldn't have played" where in truth the player simply had a bad day or just was outplayed by a better opponent. If he was injured then most definately I would blame management. A championship game of huge importance is no place for an injured player.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 23/04/2024 12:19:24    2540100

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Looking back at it, I don't think we really ever had that many issues with long balls leading to goals in the Davy era whereas it has really flared up both this year and last year. I think playing with a sweeper would probably cut out a lot of those goal chances in theory but playing with an out-and-out sweeper comes with its own drawbacks too.

The bigger issue for me is that we are playing Damien Reck out of position. Very good hurler but I think he lacks the positional discipline to hold centre and sit back in the pocket like say Declan Hannon. He should have been sitting back right in front of the full-back line in injury time against Dublin. For me, this is where Paudie Foley is a huge loss for us, I think he'd have been sat back there and Dublin wouldn't have had it so easy with the long, high balls in"
Agreed completely about Damien Reck, not an inter county 6 for me. Don't see an obvious replacement though, maybe Liam Ryan or Devitt but they haven't played all season. MOH was never an inter county standard 3 either so we have problems in critical positions. Molloy is a very good club player but he was average enough that day in KK. Same for McGuckian, there's a massive jump from club to county and while they are losses from the 26 I'm not sure they improve our starting half back line.

I know Eoin Whelan is only coming back from injury himself but surely he's a better bet than some on the panel?

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 214 - 23/04/2024 12:19:38    2540101

Replying To Viking66:  "Mogie needs gametime. He only rejoined the panel a month ago. I think he has to start. We need him at the top of his game against Galway and Kilkenny especially. Last year he assisted a goal and scored a goal against Galway and scored 2 himself against Kilkenny. We would be in the Joe Mac this year without those last 2 goals."
That's true but he needs to earn his spot like everyone else. He can be a key player against Galway and KK but that could be an impact off the bench too. Thought we would see a bit more of Kinsella this year but he's struggled to get minutes on the pitch.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 214 - 23/04/2024 12:23:18    2540103

Replying To Viking66:  "Dunbar played better as the game went on on Sunday though in fairness."
Scored one point from 73 minutes of play Viking.
We really need forwards that register scores and are heavily involved in the action throughput.
For me Dunbar is a neat tidy player but is usually anonymous for long spells of the game. We need lads that will give 100% not 20% or 30%.
Every player must give his all for the full 70 minutes +. Of course he may run out of gas late in the game due to exhaustion or injury but he has given it everything for as long as he can.
Success will only be achieved if the above happens. Anything less should not be acceptable.
The recipe for success in any walk of life is hard work, a willingness to correct your mistakes, never say die attitude, be passionate at all times and think before you act.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 277 - 23/04/2024 12:58:03    2540113

Replying To TerribleFootwork:  "As an aside will ye have Carty or SOG back for the club championship?"
Paudie is back in September, starting teaching I be told

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 951 - 23/04/2024 13:05:04    2540114

Replying To hunting:  "Paudie is back in September, starting teaching I be told"
Will be good to have him back next year should he commit

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 135 - 23/04/2024 13:14:01    2540116