Micko was hunted for this? No ideas from the sideline no plan for attack and no fire in the belly. I said before the win or D3. What are the management team doing with these lads at training? Total joke. pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 25/02/2017 20:42:05 1960624 Link 0 |
Well done to Down, they were the better team and deserved to win. We are still a bit of shambles though, not blaming McEntee by any means for that, he'll need a lot more time with this team and even at that nothing is guaranteed. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 25/02/2017 20:43:00 1960627 Link 2 |
That was horrendous, are we going backwards or sideways. ...I can figure out anymore. HonestView (Meath) - Posts: 38 - 25/02/2017 20:43:06 1960628 Link 1 |
That was one of the worst Meath performances I've ever seen. It was terrible stuff. Very few players performed tonight, Lenihan played well and finished with 0-7 to his name. We have no midfield, we were non existant there and won little or no kickouts. Carry and McEntee are simply not up to this level while our tactic of hitting high aimless ball in to Sheridan didnt work apart from a couple of occasions. Huge work needed from players and management. It's looking like Division 3 is our level unfortunately. RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 25/02/2017 20:44:25 1960629 Link 5 |
pathetic, an absolute disgraceful performance redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 411 - 25/02/2017 20:47:09 1960631 Link 1 |
This has been coming down the tracks for a number of years. Anyone with any cop on would admit as much. A bunch of players came on the scene in the mid to late 2000s and set meath football back to the stone ages with their attitude and carry on. I pity andy mc entee to be honest. Banty was ran out of meath yet got that team to within 2 points of Dublin in a Leinster final, some acheivment when you see what has happened since. rossie72 (Roscommon) - Posts: 63 - 25/02/2017 20:50:52 1960634 Link 0 |
"Down priced at 2/1 is big odds for a team at home against an inconsistent Meath team. The Meath team of the last 4 -5 years would lose this game, lets see if lessons have been learnt and improvements are being made early in Andy McEntees tenure" Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 25/02/2017 20:51:35 1960636 Link 7 |
Another typically Meath performance. This team is just not athere the standard to be looking towards promotion. Honestly can't see where we will get the results now to stay up. I wasn't Micko's biggest fan but I can see now the players are just not there presently. Dead certs for division 3 after that. Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 25/02/2017 20:55:51 1960641 Link 0 |
Thats the end of Downs run of 14 successive defeats..kinda tells were Meath are in football when you think of it !Down won't win another game this year,hard to know if we will win any either ! WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 941 - 25/02/2017 21:02:38 1960646 Link 8 |
That performance wouldn't win u many matches in division 4 don't mind division 2.The team lacked structure and had no kick out strategy. There was no attacking plan and we kept hitting long balls even tough it wasn't working. The biggest thing from this game was Graham Reilly's lack of leadership, not sure he should be captain of Meath. Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 141 - 25/02/2017 21:02:56 1960647 Link 0 |
Keoghan was largely anonymous tonight and also in the first 2 league games and made no impact with the captaincy under O'Dowd. Do you not remember the collapses? the lack of fight? the throwing in the towel in the 2nd half of games? Throwing away a 10 point lead against Westmeath and losing by 4 in a leinster semi final? Keep Graham Reilly as captain he has proven his capability with St. Colmcilles this year.
Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 25/02/2017 21:04:39 1960648 Link 0 |
id give the 3 half backs all 4 out of 10, as well as alan forde and ruairi o'caoilean
redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 411 - 25/02/2017 21:10:59 1960653 Link 0 |
Firstly lgreat to see the usual suspects back after a defeat, and probably watching sitting at home or in a pub, not a sign of them after Derry game but out in force tonight. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2017 21:12:49 1960655 Link 1 |
Pathetic in every respect. Unfortunately suspected with this mentally fragile team this could happen with the overconfident approach to the game coupled with Down,s early goal. The suggestion that the captain should be RESTED says it all. I understand this suggestion came from a very well placed supporter. For the first time in many many years this travelling supporter wont be travelling to look at this shambles. I expect some players will decide to walk also.. Who could blame them? Andy might do the same unless he believes in miracles.... As the man on LMFM says " BYE BYE NOW"
nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1276 - 25/02/2017 21:14:01 1960656 Link 0 |
It was very depressing, and if i'm honest, one of the most depressing things is after 6 months in the job, the managers main attack option is to hit high long balls into a full forward who cannot win these kind of balls in my opinion. tho in fairness, its not his fault that he is put in that position . The whole half back line are really not up to inter county football in my opinion and I really don't see the logic behind playing a lad as a half forward ,when he wasn't good enough for midfield. I fully appreciate that all the players are giving their best and put there lives on standstill to be part of the squad but surely the manager has serious questions to answer as to how he is using the available resources. Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 25/02/2017 21:15:58 1960658 Link 0 |
Ahh truth, don't let that get in the way of agenda's
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2017 21:16:53 1960660 Link 0 |
Sorry --- but Meath management team need to take some flack for this. What was the kick out strategy? What lessons have been learnt over the last few games? What was plan b? Why were some players left on the pitch so long when it was clear they were not at the races? Why are our players soft? It's a complete joke. There can't be any excuses...At the very least you would expect to see a bit of fight, a game plan and improvement over games. bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 25/02/2017 21:18:57 1960663 Link 1 |
It's the hope that kills ye :0( bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1821 - 25/02/2017 21:24:57 1960666 Link 2 |
well said, not a hope i'll be driving down to Clare or Cork to watch that sh**e
redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 411 - 25/02/2017 21:28:01 1960668 Link 0 |
We have been poor since obyrne cup beating a poor derry team that was missing 5 or 6 players gave us some hope but we just dont have the players in the county. 7 years since last leinster title and that was dodgy . These young lads we have are used to getting beaten by teams like westmeath . Louth etc and getting hidings from the dubs cant blame these lads for not bothering anymore. SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 25/02/2017 21:28:45 1960669 Link 0 |