Leitrim and Longford wouldn't be too intense good craic when we meet each other in matches really. As for the rossies we wouldn't be too fond of them now at all! rahoorahoo (Longford) - Posts: 56 - 13/02/2018 17:23:52 2076587 Link 0 |
What about Westmeath and Cavan? OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/02/2018 17:54:20 2076597 Link 0 |
Speaking of Leitrim it has two more Ulster neighbours with which they have no rivalry ! Fermanagh and Donegal ! Very amicable footballing people in lovely Leitrim altogether ;-)
AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 13/02/2018 20:07:00 2076622 Link 0 |
Whatever! Ye think that ye have a God given right to win Sam and have choked so many times. I'm fine that we are behind Galway and Mayo in Connacht but it's relative really considering we are a much smaller and way more sparsely populated county. It's looking like this Mayo winning Sam boat may have finally flown. It seems it's not going to happen. Galway look like they have more natural forwards into the future and may in the next number of years be in with a chance of winning Sam. So get over your obsession let a good man and face reality.
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 13/02/2018 22:08:33 2076653 Link 1 |
LOL! Maybe Mayo will win Sam, and maybe we won't, but we'll be a lot closer to it than your crowd will in any case. I recall a lot of Rossies getting carried away before the All-Ireland quarter-final last year, and that didn't end too well for ye, so it seems to me that you can see the mote in your neighbour's eye but not the log in your own. 22 points, that must have stung alright. And let's not forget that you haven't beaten Mayo in the championship since 2001,including a number of occasions when your team have been favourites. Pretty sad latching on to Galway, though. Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2018 08:49:56 2076687 Link 0 |
Not a hint of bitterness there at all!!
the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 14/02/2018 09:55:49 2076701 Link 0 |
actually combined for the Masters football
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/02/2018 11:39:49 2076737 Link 0 |
And the clock keeps ticking!
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 14/02/2018 11:45:39 2076740 Link 0 |
They only had 13 v Offaly. Not a good sign.
LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 14/02/2018 11:50:08 2076745 Link 0 |
only when Meath fans are pegging rocks at Cavan fans returning from Croker, after been beaten by a team that wasn't Meath..............
ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 14/02/2018 12:11:10 2076747 Link 0 |
ziggy lives in the Ashbourne area. He wouldn't have a clue.
gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 14/02/2018 12:15:51 2076750 Link 0 |
what defines a rivalry? perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/02/2018 12:21:28 2076751 Link 0 |
I've never felt much of a rivalry between Tyrone and Derry. OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 14/02/2018 12:26:28 2076754 Link 0 |
abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 274 - 14/02/2018 13:02:59 2076770 Link 0 |
That's what clocks tend to do. Didn't John Evans promise the Rossies an All-Ireland senior title a few years' back? I imagine the clock's ticking on that one too. http://www.the42.ie/roscommon-john-evans-all-ireland-2070553-Apr2015/ Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2018 13:13:31 2076776 Link 0 |
Take out some of the big rivalries such as Dublin/Meath Galway/Mayo Cork/Kerry Tyrone/Armagh I think a lot of it comes down to where you are from within the county. I know in Longford the south of the county would view Westmeath to be our biggest rivals where up North Longford it would be Cavan and west it would be Roscommon but I think the rivalry stems in those areas because of a lot more interaction/dealings with the closest neighbouring county through schools, social scenes etc shared across borders. LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 124 - 14/02/2018 17:26:52 2076871 Link 0 |
Oldcastle, Kells, Nobber, Carnaross, those areas of Meath would have rivalry with Cavan. FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2879 - 14/02/2018 17:44:33 2076872 Link 0 |
Haha same as! Willie Hegarty wrecks my head on Shannonside. Full duck or no dinner! GOOAAALLL for Roscommon! The oul lad would retort back at the radio as if talking to him "that ya may burst before yis ever score another one"! Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 236 - 14/02/2018 18:50:24 2076887 Link 1 |
Evans could say what he wanted. We didn't gag him like. Ye have been choking since 89 and your time seems up now bud. Oh the green and red of Mayo ! Lol
moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 14/02/2018 21:35:00 2076925 Link 0 |
Never in the championship. If ever in the league, it hasn't been recently.
Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1189 - 15/02/2018 00:07:25 2076951 Link 0 |