Best Under Age Team In The County?

so lk Gaels and other teams in the county should have to suffer to suit Naomh Ultan? Most teams dont make more than 3 subs a match anyway. It is unfair on the other teams who have to drop 2 players on the starting line up who have been starting all year and the they have to change the way they play because of the extra space on the pitch

ayeboy (Donegal) - Posts: 33 - 14/10/2008 19:29:13    119111

ayeboy

so what if naomh ultan played thirteen a side? its in the rulebook so fair paly to them for taking full advantage of it, its not just like they made up the rule to suit themselves. Maybe if the county board would stop clubs poaching naomh ultans players they would be able to field 15. Plenty of clubs are palying thirteen a side now at underage level. To be honest i think your just a disgruntled member of lk gaels who still hasnt got over the defeat.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 15/10/2008 12:25:58    119398

boy done good, if n ultan were in div 1 and couldn't field fifteen by start of second half game is forfieted!! maybe div 2 if best if yous cant field full side!!

whats this about poaching, its rife up here with eunans, whos at it over there??

mBnG Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 187 - 15/10/2008 13:22:47    119447

I think if you have 15 you play 15..If you only have 13 or 14 then play 13 or 14...

THis craic of only playing 13 is a disadvantage to clubs who put alot of effort in and have made there 15-20 players all of the same calibre..meaning any of the 15 could start. I reckin N. Ultan knew there best 13 were better than gaels best 13...Where Gaels best 15 were prob better than N.Ultan best 15.

If you catch me. Fair play to them for doing it right enough.

What I hate is when you name a team of 15 a side..1 minute before the game they say they have 13 and you have to tell 2 young fellas "sorry lads your actually not on now"...thats a joke. No decency.

It happened to us with a few bigger clubs this year. i.e. St Michaels and Glenfin. Fair enough they only had 13 or 14..So I cant argue as at least they are catering for the 13 or 14 that wanna play. But to find out minutes before throw in destroys tactics etc also.

Norman (Donegal) - Posts: 382 - 15/10/2008 13:23:13    119448

'if ya have 15 play 15' - what happens if a player gets injured Normann? Who do ya bring on for him? The Maor Uisce?!

As regards disrupting tactics this was not the case. LK gaels knew well in advance that Naomh Ultan would be playing 13 a side. Sure they played that when both teams played in the league semi in the middle of July. Even if the final was 15 vs 15 i still think Naomh Ultan would have won as they had a better balanced team. LK Gaels were much too dependent on their number 13.

theboydonegood (Donegal) - Posts: 522 - 15/10/2008 15:03:07    119538

Lads! If You All Must know,Naomh Ultan along with all the other teams in Division 2 in the south all agreeded 2 play 13 a side! (with no objections)and then they expect Naomh Ultan to change it to 15 a side just cause they made the County Semi Final / Final!

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 15/10/2008 16:58:56    119778

Whats the big issue with 13 aside. The space created by playing 13 on county final day game the spectators an excellent game of football, unlike the second game. Maybe its about time to look at playing 13 aside at all underage grades and improve the standard of football. By the way congrats to N Ultan on a great year and I would have to ask the question as to why Gallier was not on the county minor panel. He looks like a top forward, which is probably why he wasnt recogonised as the management appears to be blind!

houserules (Donegal) - Posts: 165 - 15/10/2008 21:46:33    119951

I agree with the comment on Gallier. He roasted a county minor back in the championship last year scoring something like 1-7 off him. Top scorer for Naomh Ultan seniors this year as well. Yet he never made the county minor panel, this year or last. Wonder was it a case of not performing at the trials? Anyone shed any light on this?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10086 - 16/10/2008 08:42:53    120086

without a doubt the cathedral town

offthefence (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 16/10/2008 14:50:00    120448

Luckily am nor a LK Gaels or N. Ultan man...I am just stating my opinion. Congrats to both teams for making the final and to N.Ultan for winning.

I am not referring to either team when I mention 13 a side and only finding out. Im sure both teams were aware of it before the final in advance.

My point is..If both team have 15...And you play 13 a side that means 4 players miss out on a game..Over the course of the season its normally the same 4 that would not start the game. Basically were going to lose those players..Why would they bother..

13 a side is great for space etc.. But when a team have 18 like N.Ultan did they should not be allowed to play 13... Ok they could put fecking 4 boys in tracksuits and say they only 14 but the rule then should be ur allowed a max of 1 subs..

I get you point of injury...But if you had 17 and you had 3 players injured in a game u would still be a man down..either way when you play 13 players are missing playing time..

Anyway im sure i will be shot down on this but thats my point

PS im from a small club who struggle for numbers too but id rather the 15 were on and loss than 13 and win...

Norman (Donegal) - Posts: 382 - 16/10/2008 15:00:46    120461

so do u think they deserve to be champions?!?!

falconflights (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 16/10/2008 23:58:26    120882

Thet deserve to be champions. Naomh Ultan have four outstanding players where Lkgaels have two... Lk gaels numbr 13 bein the best player on the pitch.

IKnowBest (Donegal) - Posts: 24 - 17/10/2008 14:31:16    121339

is jamie doherty at st.eunans college? b interesting 2 c how he progress's this year if he is. i think he's still a minor next year?

anfearmor (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 17/10/2008 15:22:16    121415

setanta under 14 team.. wrecked all.. all ireland champions

jamsey (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 17/10/2008 16:27:26    121488

gallier did make the right runs at the trials but the "bigger" players seemed reluctant to pass the ball to him even though he has the ability to roast anyone in this county at the top level!

jamsey (Donegal) - Posts: 8 - 17/10/2008 16:41:21    121501

Gallier an excellent player! was a disgrace he wasnt on the county team! but Naomh Ultan do not just depend on gallier as they have a number of fine forwards and midfielders,who were not at the races in the final!!

gaahead2008 (Donegal) - Posts: 53 - 17/10/2008 18:19:23    121566