Aidan O'Shea Diving

Being saying it for years for a big man o shea goes down far too easy the game was in the melting pot thought mayo had upper hand in second half but a complete joke penalty killed of game. Ihate O shea bad sportmanship

goldenyears12 (Donegal) - Posts: 64 - 09/07/2016 21:29:07    1879477

Replying To TheMaster:  "Well said. Fair play.
I wont condone osheas dive, but i think some people are being quite hypocritical on the topic of diving. There isnt a county in the country who havent had a lad go to ground and get lucky with the call."
You are the hypocrite Master as you are not calling for a ban on O'Shea like you did when other players were being criticized on here. By other players I mean Tyrone players! By the way O' Shea should not be banned.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:32:46    1879484

I see Rory's Stories have already done a skit on the dive, nothing is safe :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 09/07/2016 21:35:15    1879487

Replying To JayP:  "TheMaster.... You are a gas man. I'll give you one thing, you support your team no matter what.

But you can't defend O'Shea there. Just give over. And O'Connors was a 50/50 call......he ducked his head and charged. The defender probably fouled. But as I said, charging/fouling......50/50."
Im not claiming he didnt look for the penalty, im simply putting it into context.

I was very critical of oshea ofter the galway game, more critical than most actually. But he is being made a scapegoat here and it isnt right. Yes the guy went to ground - its a common thing in football these days and every team does it, including your own. I recall mcmahon pretending to have been struck in the face last year against none other than o'shea. Maybe he picked up a few tricks from him?

Up the other end of the pitch i recall a fermanagh player throwing himself to the deck and winning a foul off seamus o'shea that was kicked over the bar. Why isnt there the same reaction to that? It was no less dishonest.

Part of me is actually pleased with the reaction here. The dubs are out in force, the rossies too and also tyrone. Good, it shows they are still worried about us.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2016 21:36:33    1879490

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You are the hypocrite Master as you are not calling for a ban on O'Shea like you did when other players were being criticized on here. By other players I mean Tyrone players! By the way O' Shea should not be banned."
Yeah but Tyrone players always take the diving to new level

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 21:39:10    1879495

Replying To TheMaster:  "Im not claiming he didnt look for the penalty, im simply putting it into context.

I was very critical of oshea ofter the galway game, more critical than most actually. But he is being made a scapegoat here and it isnt right. Yes the guy went to ground - its a common thing in football these days and every team does it, including your own. I recall mcmahon pretending to have been struck in the face last year against none other than o'shea. Maybe he picked up a few tricks from him?

Up the other end of the pitch i recall a fermanagh player throwing himself to the deck and winning a foul off seamus o'shea that was kicked over the bar. Why isnt there the same reaction to that? It was no less dishonest.

Part of me is actually pleased with the reaction here. The dubs are out in force, the rossies too and also tyrone. Good, it shows they are still worried about us."
Aww, did you think that we didn't rate ye anymore?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 09/07/2016 21:44:59    1879507

Replying To seanie_boy:  "You are the hypocrite Master as you are not calling for a ban on O'Shea like you did when other players were being criticized on here. By other players I mean Tyrone players! By the way O' Shea should not be banned."
What mccann done and what oshea done are two very different things. If you cant see that then there isnt any point discussing it with you.

Oshea doesnt deserve any ban, just like sean cavanagh didnt for his tackle on mcmanus.
Mccann did for my money

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2016 21:45:12    1879508

Replying To TheMaster:  "Well said. Fair play.
I wont condone osheas dive, but i think some people are being quite hypocritical on the topic of diving. There isnt a county in the country who havent had a lad go to ground and get lucky with the call."
Can't let that go without replying. We all know players who can buy themselves a free. There was some discussion on here a few weeks ago about this very thing and I mentioned Conor Mc Manus to be a player who can buy himself a free and there are others too on most teams that can do this. The only mitigating factor in this type of play is that the opposing player must be "selling the free" in the first place. That's often the moment when we say so and so got a "soft free" there as " yer man barely touched him".Thats were defenders have to get smart and the reason why not fouling in the scoring zone is becoming an evermore important skill while defending and I'm glad to say something that Tyrone are doing very well at present. However,today nobody was selling O' Shea a free and he dived and a gullible referee fell for it. The lad dived like a big fairy princess,and not for the first time. End of story.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:48:02    1879515

However as bad as the decision was, I think Fermanagh had flatlined and would have lost anyway.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2954 - 09/07/2016 21:49:48    1879518

Replying To TheMaster:  "What mccann done and what oshea done are two very different things. If you cant see that then there isnt any point discussing it with you.

Oshea doesnt deserve any ban, just like sean cavanagh didnt for his tackle on mcmanus.
Mccann did for my money"
Well if that's the case point me to the thread you started calling for big Aidys ban when he hit the deck holding his face pretending to be struck in the face by Pascal Mc Connell and trying to get a penalty aswell as another player being sent off?

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:51:44    1879524

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Can't let that go without replying. We all know players who can buy themselves a free. There was some discussion on here a few weeks ago about this very thing and I mentioned Conor Mc Manus to be a player who can buy himself a free and there are others too on most teams that can do this. The only mitigating factor in this type of play is that the opposing player must be "selling the free" in the first place. That's often the moment when we say so and so got a "soft free" there as " yer man barely touched him".Thats were defenders have to get smart and the reason why not fouling in the scoring zone is becoming an evermore important skill while defending and I'm glad to say something that Tyrone are doing very well at present. However,today nobody was selling O' Shea a free and he dived and a gullible referee fell for it. The lad dived like a big fairy princess,and not for the first time. End of story."
Big fairy princess... Love it!

And these photos show just that.

http://jrnl.ie/2870335

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 09/07/2016 21:53:27    1879529

Replying To seanie_boy:  "Can't let that go without replying. We all know players who can buy themselves a free. There was some discussion on here a few weeks ago about this very thing and I mentioned Conor Mc Manus to be a player who can buy himself a free and there are others too on most teams that can do this. The only mitigating factor in this type of play is that the opposing player must be "selling the free" in the first place. That's often the moment when we say so and so got a "soft free" there as " yer man barely touched him".Thats were defenders have to get smart and the reason why not fouling in the scoring zone is becoming an evermore important skill while defending and I'm glad to say something that Tyrone are doing very well at present. However,today nobody was selling O' Shea a free and he dived and a gullible referee fell for it. The lad dived like a big fairy princess,and not for the first time. End of story."
O shea must be watching plenty of Tyrone videos

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 21:55:44    1879534

O shea must be watching plenty of Tyrone videos

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 21:56:10    1879538

Replying To topdownfan:  "Yeah but Tyrone players always take the diving to new level"
The Down team is doing very well at choking right now so at least Ye have that to brag about.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:59:05    1879543

Replying To topdownfan:  "Yeah but Tyrone players always take the diving to new level"
How many anti-Tyrone posts does this guy write - it could be a post about brexit and he'd blame Tyrone - somehow I feel he may have a little baggage here perhaps dropped by Tyrone boyfriend / girlfriend - get over it man.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/07/2016 21:59:33    1879548

Truth be known there was a gust of wind blew through AOS hair just before the incident and he was just diving to the ground to have a look at his reflection in a puddle that was there.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1812 - 09/07/2016 22:01:51    1879552

Replying To IrishGael3:  "How many anti-Tyrone posts does this guy write - it could be a post about brexit and he'd blame Tyrone - somehow I feel he may have a little baggage here perhaps dropped by Tyrone boyfriend / girlfriend - get over it man."
they're like Wullie Frazer and the RA

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2591 - 09/07/2016 22:06:41    1879560

Replying To IrishGael3:  "How many anti-Tyrone posts does this guy write - it could be a post about brexit and he'd blame Tyrone - somehow I feel he may have a little baggage here perhaps dropped by Tyrone boyfriend / girlfriend - get over it man."
Just saying the obvious, we all know where the diving was started , just look back to "Peter the great " dive in Ulster final against Down many year ago

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 22:07:28    1879563

I'd say Ye might be right there lol. Glad Ye noticed it too.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 22:08:21    1879564

Replying To seanie_boy:  "The Down team is doing very well at choking right now so at least Ye have that to brag about."
Just stating the obvious, Your mighty county started the diving in the game , and well you all know it !!!!

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/07/2016 22:09:44    1879568