Also,my not calling for unprecedented sanction is not moral grandstanding as its simply calling for the same rules and sanctions to be applied to each county team and individual players. It's the calling for example setting sanctions on certain players that is moral grandstanding because it means you have ignored the offense thus far but are now calling for harsh sanctions based on the county and player involved. That's the very definition of unfairness in my book so while I will criticize O'Sheas behaviour today I will not call for him to be treated any more harshly than the time he fell down in the Tyrone goal mouth a few years ago holding his face and pretending that Pascal Mc Connell had hurt him.There is a gif of it on Balls.ie if you want to check it out. He has form for this stuff and while I think he is a great player he is not the most honest footballer out there.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:12:37 1879320 Link 0 |
Can I point out the hilarity of a Monaghan man coming out with such a statement when you won't leave Cavanagh's tackle on McManus to bed!?
Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 20:18:33 1879329 Link 0 |
I'm not defending OShea here but to the Tyrone boys McCann was trying to get a player sent off by feigning injury which I think is worse. westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 09/07/2016 20:22:18 1879335 Link 0 |
Just curious.....any of you lads on the oul Twitter and Facebook,what's the reaction on there on this whole Aidan O' Shea incident? seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:25:26 1879339 Link 0 |
Was a fine tackle too lol! They were just jealous that none of there lads had executed one as good as big Sean lol!
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:28:03 1879344 Link 1 |
Not good Seanie, Rory's story's already has a comedy sketch up!
westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 09/07/2016 20:39:43 1879363 Link 0 |
Well sure O'Shea did that very same thing against our own Pascal Mc Connell a few years ago too only the ref didn't fall for it. As did your own Aidan O' Mahony in a game against Cork. There's no teams of saints playing lads. We could go all day giving examples of unsportsmanlike behaviour.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:40:19 1879364 Link 0 |
If the GAA really want to do something to stamp out diving then O'Shea should be suspended.Simple as that.Players will keep on doing it until they are punished enough and realise it isn't worth the risk. uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 09/07/2016 20:41:27 1879368 Link 0 |
Wouldn't have thought many tweets would get through the oul censorship on here to be fair. Absolutely slaughtering O'Shea and McQuillan. Completely over the top some of the slaggins both are getting. Yeah it was bad, yea it was poor sportsmanship on O'Sheas part, Yea it was a chronic decision, But its just sport, Whatever we think at the end of theday, there are more important things in life than sport. Ive no doubt O'Shea, will regret his actions, but will be happy Mayo are through. McQuillan on the other hand would not have set out to make such a bad call. People need to relax a bit. It was bad on all parts. But that's sport. Its an ugly side of sport but sport nonetheless. For what its worth, I don't think Fermanagh deserved to go through based on their performance in the second half. They only scored 2 points and conceded 1-10. On the other side of the coin though, by god they worked hard. Its tough for them, But penalty or not, For me, Mayo win that game. All the momentum was with them, Fermanagh weren't gtting out of their half of the field. Mayo would have won anyway. I know its no consolation but ... whatever. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 09/07/2016 20:45:59 1879381 Link 0 |
Yes that was shameful...
westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 09/07/2016 20:47:41 1879384 Link 0 |
You should add to your point there, there's also no team that go under the microscope quite like Tyrone! Somehow Ulster teams have turned on us at times and everything, Jim Mc Guinness' book you would think Tyrone men were heading to Donegal practice sessions to laugh at them he's that paranoid, they came up then and were the upstart team and he tries to claim it's an anti-Donegal thing that pundits didn't enjoy it. I think if he really thought about it he'd realise it's just southern counties not enjoying northern success Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 20:49:33 1879387 Link 0 |
No you are completely wrong with that suggestion. Put it in the rules first and then players will know it won't be tolerated. It's unfair to single out any player like this.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:53:36 1879395 Link 0 |
Ye see that's what fear does to certain people Seansy lol. They know now that the Red Hands are risen and will henceforth always be a threat to the hegemony that has existed thus far in football. Their winters are getting longer and darker and their summers shorter and they long for the kick and catch days of yore. Alas it is not to be as the sleeping giants of Tir Eoghain,Tir Conail and the Farney County have woken from their slumber and things will never be the same again. I meant Longford...sorry Longford...not the Farney county!!
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:01:53 1879423 Link 1 |
Patronising crap!
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 09/07/2016 21:02:29 1879427 Link 0 |
Well hopefully they do impose new rules to deal with this scourge of the game, immediately. Im not hopeful though. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 21:08:26 1879435 Link 0 |
Ah here give it a rest will ya? Tyrone are diving en mass for years and you never had a bad word to say about them. Stop being so anti-republic all the time
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2016 21:14:38 1879450 Link 0 |
I have a lot of time for Mayo football during these past number of years and that opinion hasn't changed tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 413 - 09/07/2016 21:16:23 1879452 Link 2 |
Well said. Fair play. I wont condone osheas dive, but i think some people are being quite hypocritical on the topic of diving. There isnt a county in the country who havent had a lad go to ground and get lucky with the call. TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/07/2016 21:19:51 1879456 Link 0 |
I'll agree with that when I see the Sunday Game and Southern media lambast, vilify and indulge in a campaign against O'Shea and Mayo the way they did with Tyrone, Sean Cavanagh and Tiernan McCann.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 09/07/2016 21:27:22 1879471 Link 0 |
Aidan has plenty form before today so I'd not be shouting too much if I were you. Plus Ye have yer sneaks like Keegan and Boyle that do the oul cynical stuff for yez. And who the hell coaches Andy Moran for his tv appearances? He did a post match interview that showed he was completely telling a bare faced lie when questioned about the penalty. Hand went up to scratch the back of the head as he was speaking,a clear sign of discomfort with the question. He'd a been better saying he didn't see it than trying to justify the awarding of the penalty as the referee indicated it was for a clear "pull of the jersey", ha ha laughable stuff alright. Thankfully we have the video evidence to prove there was no jersey pull and that Fermanagh were simply shafted by a poor refereeing decision.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 21:27:25 1879472 Link 0 |