Aidan O'Shea Diving

And how can both Jarlath and Dessie say it would make no difference.? They forgot that it would be OShea''s 2nd yellow card for diving.(in fact he should have got a 2nd yellow card long before the penalty for a bad pulling down foul). So no penalty + their most important player gone, it's doubtful that Mayo would still win. Fermanagh have every right to feel wronged today....

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 09/07/2016 19:00:38    1879216

"Opportunism" but not diving. Double standards such as this are the reason why people rightly state that an anti Ulster bias exists within the GAA.

2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 09/07/2016 19:01:41    1879217

Replying To 2setsofrules:  ""Opportunism" but not diving. Double standards such as this are the reason why people rightly state that an anti Ulster bias exists within the GAA."
Anyone see the sniper that took out o shea?

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/07/2016 19:05:41    1879220

Replying To cluichethar:  "You boys in Roscommon have got to stop experimenting with hallucinogens He dove into the penalty area in the first half He got clobbered right on the line Everytime he got the ball 4 or 5 Fermanagh players got on top of him On one occasion the player had him round the neck and nothing But that's right AOS is a big lad he can take it so he don't deserve a free"
Mayo Specsavers stores will be run off their feet tomorrow. That aside, surely O'Shea''s behaviour must be something that officials need to be aware of from now on. He is a very powerful player but continually fouls by charging and now seems to have perfected his dive. He is, in short, a disgrace to the game.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 19:09:13    1879223

Replying To moc.dna:  "A super footballer disgraces himself with his diving which he did a number of times today. Those of us from other counties who admire his talent are now completely disgusted by his antics. He should have been off the field prior to this as he was on a yellow & should have been given a black for a deliberate pull back. Joe Mc Quillan was shocking & in true Gaa style will probably end up reffing the All Ireland instead of being demoted. What's worse was watching Dessie Dolan condone it, if you can't be an objective analyst Dessie for which your paid for & call it for what it was, step back. All the impressionable kids watching this & it being condoned by Dolan, lots of diving about to hit underage club games next. Embarrased to see Gaa going down this road, shameful."
Fully agree. Dessi had Mayo nailed on for an easy win and would not accept anything else

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 19:16:37    1879236

Sure it wasn't even O'Shea's first dive of the game. He dived for a pointed free in the first half.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2420 - 09/07/2016 19:19:47    1879238

Replying To neverright:  "Mayo Specsavers stores will be run off their feet tomorrow. That aside, surely O'Shea''s behaviour must be something that officials need to be aware of from now on. He is a very powerful player but continually fouls by charging and now seems to have perfected his dive. He is, in short, a disgrace to the game."
No he isn't. Usually sets a good example. But anyways. I hope ye beat Galway tomorrow.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8234 - 09/07/2016 19:19:49    1879239

Replying To Marooned:  "Sure it wasn't even O'Shea's first dive of the game. He dived for a pointed free in the first half."
Needed the practice to polish up his act

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 19:23:55    1879247

Pete Mcgrath dignified in defeat. Wishes Mayo well but not afraid to let the public know what he thought of O Sheas antics.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 19:30:22    1879253

Replying To joncarter:  "Just to answer via a cursory glance at the McCaan thread after last years incident
All Tyrone posters

Big Sacks from tyrone dismissed the dive as irrelevant
IsMise called on Tyrone to boycott the semi over the McCaan criticism
You yourself Seanie boy talked about Tyrone being right to boycott the Sunday game over the criticism of McCaan. You will now see that if you remove your county colous they were right to criticise McCaan.
AAbb described the incident as trivial
Tyrone footballer Kyle Coney tweeted "Winning is all that matters. Id dive like Tom Daly if it meant winning"
Brendtheredhand,after I criticised McCaan told me to remember its only a game (in other words its no big deal).

And thats just after a 2 minute google search. No doubt theres loads more.

So you guys cover your bases. You condemned the dive, (empty words) but then went on to defend the culprit, and criticise anyone who tried to call MCCaan out."
The football review committee that was responsible for introducing the black card had a video montage to work from that included your very own Finian Hanley performing a Sean Cavanagh style pull down on a Sligo player trying to get in on goal.Now there was not a peep in the national media about Hanleys incident and I don't believe that numerous threads were set up on forums like this castigating him and calling for him to be banned.Now that did happen with Mc Cann and with Cavanagh.There is no reason to explain why 2 Tyrone players got treated this way but Finian Hanley didn't,or Michael Shields or Aidan O' Shea in a previous incident,other than to assume a bias against Tyrone gaa spearheaded by certain pundits,some of whom work for RTE.Its that simple really.We Tyrone supporters only took exception to the very personal attacks on the Tyrone players involved and the county set up in particular.It came out at one point after the Mc Cann incident last year that GAA headquarters were actually getting calls from RTE demanding that Mc Cann be banned so please do not tell us that there was no witch hunt directed at the player personally when its clear that there was and posters on here said as much.As for my mentioning that Tyrone should boycott the Sunday game,thats in solidarity with their manager Mickey Harte who does not speak to Rte because of the disgusting jibes that came from an rte radio skit that showed complete disregard for Mickeys very real grief after losing his daughter in such tragic circumstances.I said I'd support Mickey if he never spoke to them again and I stand by that.I also said if they wanted to put somebody else forward for interviews with Rte I'd be ok with that too.You need to be a little more capable of objectivity when it comes to these incidents as every team has players who can act up occasionally just like Finian Hanley or Sean Cavanagh or Aidan O' Shea.No point in calling for unprecedented sanctions that are not in the rule book on a particular player,its just moral grandstanding and opportunistic at best and at worst it just shows certain peoples inherent bias.If you didn't call for sanction on Hanley in the past,maybe I missed your thread on it,then you can't justify calling for it against Mc Cann last year or O' Shea now.Fairness must be shown to all players in terms of sanctions.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 19:34:44    1879260

Are people for real? Calling O'Shea "a disgrace to the game" or a scumbag? It wasn't a penalty, but O'Shea wasn't refereeing the match. It's up to McQuillan to make the judgement calls and award the penalty, and, for what it's worth, Cillian O'Connor should have been awarded a clear penatly earlier in the match and wasn't. In any case, Fermanagh were not going to win that match. They weren't "robbed" or "cheated out of the championship". The reality was that they were totally and utterly beaten at midfield and could barely get the ball out of their own half for most of the second half. They were going nowhere.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 09/07/2016 19:34:54    1879262

Replying To realdub:  "Get over it lads, hard luck to Fermanagh who weren't far away, if I was a Mayo man, I'd be worried about that first half, a good team would have destroyed you, but you got through it and it will probably bring ye on.
I'm not ignoring the AOS dive but as the sign on the side of Pat Mustard's milk float says, 'shit happens'."
RealDub you're telling us to be worried about the 1st half I'm worried about the last 4 halfs Mayo have been absolute crap I know they're missing a few players but who isn't Mayo management has a hell of a job on its hands The amount of Mayo turnovers is scandalous

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 569 - 09/07/2016 19:44:16    1879277

What a class act Pete mcgrath is...

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/07/2016 19:48:09    1879281

That works both ways Seanie.
If some footballer from Longford scored a point from the halfway line in a league match it wouldnt get much attention.
If a footballer from a big county like Tyrone did it in a big match (like say an all ireland q/f) it would get way more attention.
Same goes for when a player misbehaves.
For all your talk of a witch hunt against McCaan, as far as Im concerned he got away with the incident scott free.

If you dont want unprecedented sanctions (sounds like moral grandstanding from you btw) then fair enough, but I dont know why you feel that way seeing as how the current sanctions clearly arent working.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 19:51:52    1879288

What a class act Pete mcgrath is...

sob (Meath) - Posts: 492 - 09/07/2016 19:55:03    1879296

It was an absolute disgrace. Blatant Dive , he also charges alot and as soon as he feels any contact, he hits the floor. Not quite sure how he didnt get a black card in the first half. To take the biscuit altogether they gave Cillian O Connor MOTM !!!!!!

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 255 - 09/07/2016 19:56:04    1879297

Replying To joncarter:  "That works both ways Seanie.
If some footballer from Longford scored a point from the halfway line in a league match it wouldnt get much attention.
If a footballer from a big county like Tyrone did it in a big match (like say an all ireland q/f) it would get way more attention.
For all your talk of a witch hunt against McCaan, as far as Im concerned he got away with the incident scott free.

If you dont want unprecedented sanctions (sounds like moral grandstanding from you btw) then fair enough, but I dont know why you feel that way seeing as how the current sanctions clearly arent working."
You fool no one, your posts are full of anti-Ulster sentiments and you are probably satisfied at Mayo's win because it was against Fermanagh and so what if Mayo dived and fell all over the place. The ends justified the means for you when it comes to Ulster teams.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 09/07/2016 19:57:13    1879299

Replying To joncarter:  "That works both ways Seanie.

If you dont want unprecedented sanctions (sounds like moral grandstanding from you btw) then fair enough, but I dont know why you feel that way seeing as how the current sanctions clearly arent working."
I said last year I'd be all for a ban or some kind of sanction for that kind of behaviour from any player. It must be in the rules though. You can't have a certain set of rules for one player and another set of rules for the Tyrone lads is what we were saying in relation to Mc Cann and Cavanagh. It must be consistent and across the board and it must already be in the rule book. I will agree that high profile games will get more scrutiny but that doesn't justify singling out a player for special attention and sanction for something that others have done before with no such sanctions being called for.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 20:01:26    1879305

Replying To joncarter:  "Totally agree, and hopefully the Tyrone fans who defended McCaan en masse will now understand how wrong his behaviour was."
Nobody defended him whatsoever, wherever you got that from.

We defended ourselves against the idea that we've ruined Gaelic football, we defended ourselves against the idea we didn't win that Monaghan game fair and square.

I'll never defend what McCann did, i've said previously he'll be remembered for that instead of the barnstorming runner he is with ball in hand, that'll be punishment enough for such a ridiculous incident

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 09/07/2016 20:09:49    1879316

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Are people for real? Calling O'Shea "a disgrace to the game" or a scumbag? It wasn't a penalty, but O'Shea wasn't refereeing the match. It's up to McQuillan to make the judgement calls and award the penalty, and, for what it's worth, Cillian O'Connor should have been awarded a clear penatly earlier in the match and wasn't. In any case, Fermanagh were not going to win that match. They weren't "robbed" or "cheated out of the championship". The reality was that they were totally and utterly beaten at midfield and could barely get the ball out of their own half for most of the second half. They were going nowhere."
'It wasn't my fault that I committed the crime, your Lordship'. It was the ref''s fault for letting me do it. Lol

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 20:11:05    1879317