Aidan O'Shea Diving

Should be ashamed,but very poor from the officials..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 09/07/2016 18:12:06    1879136

Replying To neverright:  "O 'Sea got scrabble frees in the first half by diving. On one occasion he tried to dive into the penalty area for a penalty. His neck tackle which brought Corrigan to the ground should have brought a black card"
You boys in Roscommon have got to stop experimenting with hallucinogens He dove into the penalty area in the first half He got clobbered right on the line Everytime he got the ball 4 or 5 Fermanagh players got on top of him On one occasion the player had him round the neck and nothing But that's right AOS is a big lad he can take it so he don't deserve a free

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 569 - 09/07/2016 18:13:18    1879140

Replying To neverright:  "O 'Sea got scrabble frees in the first half by diving. On one occasion he tried to dive into the penalty area for a penalty. His neck tackle which brought Corrigan to the ground should have brought a black card"
might have something to do with fact he about a foot bigger than Corrigan. Spoken like a true Rossie btw. Up Galway.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 09/07/2016 18:13:55    1879141

Replying To cluichethar:  "Defensive not one bit All we've heard for years is that Mayo don't have that sneaky nasty streak that a team needs to win The cuteness to win at all costs Then when we win a game with the help of a little creativity we get slated You know what I don't think there's a Mayo fan that gives a Rats Arse that AOS went down easy Mayo is in the hat for the next round which I fear going on their last 2 displays will be the end of the road I hope I'm wrong"
Bullshit! Ye have plenty nastyness in ye. Y e havent won an all ireland cos ye havent got the forwatds! Plus at no point in living memory have mayo ever been the best team in ireland...

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 09/07/2016 18:14:37    1879142

Replying To waynoI:  "I wouldn't have him on my team. Seriously.

I think he is very over-rated.

A big, strong, beast of a man, But is limited in his ability. Has no left foot, finishing is quite poor.

This idea that he is a class act is all a bit of a media assembled myth in my opinion."
A very good midfielder. Not a good forward.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8234 - 09/07/2016 18:16:11    1879145

A super footballer disgraces himself with his diving which he did a number of times today. Those of us from other counties who admire his talent are now completely disgusted by his antics. He should have been off the field prior to this as he was on a yellow & should have been given a black for a deliberate pull back. Joe Mc Quillan was shocking & in true Gaa style will probably end up reffing the All Ireland instead of being demoted. What's worse was watching Dessie Dolan condone it, if you can't be an objective analyst Dessie for which your paid for & call it for what it was, step back. All the impressionable kids watching this & it being condoned by Dolan, lots of diving about to hit underage club games next. Embarrased to see Gaa going down this road, shameful.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 09/07/2016 18:16:48    1879147

Replying To seanie_boy:  "What are Ye on about with that post? Every single Tyrone poster on this forum last year condemned Mc Cann for his antics at that time. Every single one of us."
Just to answer via a cursory glance at the McCaan thread after last years incident
All Tyrone posters

Big Sacks from tyrone dismissed the dive as irrelevant
IsMise called on Tyrone to boycott the semi over the McCaan criticism
You yourself Seanie boy talked about Tyrone being right to boycott the Sunday game over the criticism of McCaan. You will now see that if you remove your county colous they were right to criticise McCaan.
AAbb described the incident as trivial
Tyrone footballer Kyle Coney tweeted "Winning is all that matters. Id dive like Tom Daly if it meant winning"
Brendtheredhand,after I criticised McCaan told me to remember its only a game (in other words its no big deal).

And thats just after a 2 minute google search. No doubt theres loads more.

So you guys cover your bases. You condemned the dive, (empty words) but then went on to defend the culprit, and criticise anyone who tried to call MCCaan out.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 18:19:16    1879151

Replying To joncarter:  "So there were no allegations of bias against ulster teams, no attempts at deflecting the issue?
"Yeah what McCaan did was wrong, BUT ...." (theres always a but), at which point yell enter into a tirade talking about how McCaans not a bad oul yoke after all.
Phony hollow condemnation is no condemnation."
No you are wrong here. We all condemned Mc Cann for his antics on the pitch. What we objected to and pushed back on was the calls for him to be banned,and the national outcry that followed a yellow card offense. It became a witch hunt on Mc Cann and Tyrone in general and that's what we objected to. Same applies here,O' Shea's antics today were a disgrace but there is no way I'd call for him to be made an example of and be given an unprecedented sanction.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 18:19:32    1879152

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Bullshit! Ye have plenty nastyness in ye. Y e havent won an all ireland cos ye havent got the forwatds! Plus at no point in living memory have mayo ever been the best team in ireland..."
Jesus Liam nothing about the cuteness we showed today

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 569 - 09/07/2016 18:23:05    1879158

4 or 5 lads standing around you is not a free or foul

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 09/07/2016 18:25:12    1879162

Replying To waynoI:  "Listen, While AOS won a soft penalty, It wasn't the sole reason Fermanagh lost. Lets not forget that. It will be very easy for everyone to come out and blame that one decision on the game being won/lost, But fact is Fermanagh only scored 2 points in the whole second half. 1 of them was a free. Mayo scored 1-10, and even if you take the penalty out of it, they still win the game. The AOS incident was a very, very poor decision from the referee and his officials, But it wasn't the winning or losing of the game."
The scoreline at full time wouldn't have been anywhere near five points only for the goal it sunk fermanagh completely and let mayo breath and kick scores that when there is a point in it you dont have the room to get that easy.
For me the officials are to blame I have said it countless times on here they get away Scott free everytime when they are the ones who make the wrong calls.
we seen laois punished and now o shea gets the flack but if the officials all seven of them in charge of making decisions can't call a dive then they need to be the ones that get the flack. You had the two closest to it mcquilan and deegan two of the games too refs decide it was a penalty.
time and again human error is given as the excuse but when it happens every second week it's time to do something about it and improve the officials performances like any other player or person involved in the match has to.
The fermanagh goal was also a free out he done a seamus Darby clearly. O shea launched himself into a bunch of players several times hoping to get frees, and should have been black carded too for a tackle he made. Boyle kneed a fermanagh player in the head on the ground also.
there were so many wrong decisions in this game that it surely now is time that officiating is reviewed and poor performances are punished.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 09/07/2016 18:28:27    1879168

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "He could take Conor McManus with him lol. Great players both but they both like to dive when minimal contact is made close to goal, Maurice Deegan called on McManus to get up on a couple of occasions last week in Brefini. Lots more doing it also, the game today is win at all cost, it'll work some times others times it won't, you can't blame players for taking any and all advantages that comes their way. Move on nothing more to see here.
THE_SNAPPER (Louth)

That's untrue. You can't just make stuff up to form an argument. There were no incidents of diving last week in Breffni by anyone. you need to clarify that with examples, first half- second half etc etc"
Really no instances ? Kieran Hughes was told to get up also, I was there seen it with my own eyes.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 09/07/2016 18:34:56    1879173

A bit of opportunism from O Shea and the ref bought it, however the better team won.
Lets be clear the penalty was awarded in the 60th min and converted in the 64th.
Prior to that penalty Mayo were completely on top , and I don't believe fermanagh could have held on with that lead regardless of penalty..

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 09/07/2016 18:37:26    1879175

Replying To moc.dna:  "A super footballer disgraces himself with his diving which he did a number of times today. Those of us from other counties who admire his talent are now completely disgusted by his antics. He should have been off the field prior to this as he was on a yellow & should have been given a black for a deliberate pull back. Joe Mc Quillan was shocking & in true Gaa style will probably end up reffing the All Ireland instead of being demoted. What's worse was watching Dessie Dolan condone it, if you can't be an objective analyst Dessie for which your paid for & call it for what it was, step back. All the impressionable kids watching this & it being condoned by Dolan, lots of diving about to hit underage club games next. Embarrased to see Gaa going down this road, shameful."
Ah here there's not a player n the country wouldn't have gone down n the hope of getting the penalty Pete mcgrath as much as said so himself 2 ... not saying it's right but the ref got the call wrong that's not o se's problem and to b fair to mayo they didn't get a deserved penalty earlier n the match ... swings n round abouts imo . Calm down folks

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 662 - 09/07/2016 18:39:45    1879180

Disgraceful carry on.

You wouldn't catch a Donegal player letting himself down like this.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 09/07/2016 18:48:35    1879193

Get over it lads, hard luck to Fermanagh who weren't far away, if I was a Mayo man, I'd be worried about that first half, a good team would have destroyed you, but you got through it and it will probably bring ye on.
I'm not ignoring the AOS dive but as the sign on the side of Pat Mustard's milk float says, 'shit happens'.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8818 - 09/07/2016 18:48:50    1879195

Replying To cluichethar:  "Jesus Liam nothing about the cuteness we showed today"
Cuteness? fanny dancing more like

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 09/07/2016 18:49:47    1879199

Replying To seanie_boy:  "No you are wrong here. We all condemned Mc Cann for his antics on the pitch. What we objected to and pushed back on was the calls for him to be banned,and the national outcry that followed a yellow card offense. It became a witch hunt on Mc Cann and Tyrone in general and that's what we objected to. Same applies here,O' Shea's antics today were a disgrace but there is no way I'd call for him to be made an example of and be given an unprecedented sanction."
It was NOT a witch hunt.
A witch hunt happens when the person being targeted is innocent of the crime they are accused of (hence the term WITCH hunt).
McCaan was guilty as sin.
And if you dont believe in making an example of someone why talk about anyone who does anything wrong?
McCaan deserved every last word of criticism he received last summer, and had he been banned for a game (the least he deserved) O shea might have though twice about diving today.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 18:51:00    1879201

Replying To arock:  "Cuteness? fanny dancing more like"
Ha :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 09/07/2016 18:54:45    1879207

Replying To TheMaster:  "He went down under the lightest contact, which is disappointing. But then there isnt a team in the country that hasnt had a player do likewise so i dont buy into the blame game.

As for fermanagh, hard luck, but id point to the clear penalty turned down for the crazy tackle on oconnor, and the push in keane's back for the fermanagh goal. You cant have it every way"
Ahh yes the ol Swings and roundabouts - blatantly shameless. But AOS is clearly a good ballerina it was a class pirouette and what a beautiful fall to the floor. You Mayo folk can now all put your glasses back on and your contacts back in and pretend it never happened.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 09/07/2016 18:56:21    1879209