Nobody has even mentioned it yet but O'Shea shouldn't have been on the pitch. He dragged down a Fermanagh player in midfield, already on a booking, so it should either have been a black or a yellow, followed by a red benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1447 - 09/07/2016 17:50:07 1879088 Link 3 |
Listen, While AOS won a soft penalty, It wasn't the sole reason Fermanagh lost. Lets not forget that. It will be very easy for everyone to come out and blame that one decision on the game being won/lost, But fact is Fermanagh only scored 2 points in the whole second half. 1 of them was a free. Mayo scored 1-10, and even if you take the penalty out of it, they still win the game. The AOS incident was a very, very poor decision from the referee and his officials, But it wasn't the winning or losing of the game.
waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 09/07/2016 17:51:08 1879090 Link 0 |
Specks avers for you in the morning, if it's not already too late
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 17:51:13 1879091 Link 1 |
Agree with this.
effin (Fermanagh) - Posts: 39 - 09/07/2016 17:52:09 1879093 Link 1 |
Tommy Carr did also Fair play to them
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 17:53:03 1879096 Link 0 |
Firstly, a vg game, well done to Mayo. Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 444 - 09/07/2016 17:53:21 1879097 Link 0 |
A big assumption. Fermanagh ahead by a point with 5 minutes to go, who knows what would have happened.
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/07/2016 17:55:17 1879101 Link 0 |
C'mon people, players will do what they have to do for their side to win. The massive issue for me is the officials call on this. O'Shea is moving away from goal getting tightly marked as per every champ game. Terrible decision, smaller team always nailed like this!!! I do think mayo would have went on to win but that's beside the point. What a howler by the ref. if I was a Fermanagh supporter I would be absolutely ragin. Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 09/07/2016 17:55:55 1879102 Link 1 |
Agree with this post let's see the Mayo posters who were all over these forums last year after the McCann affair be as vocal now. Also on a yellow card he committed another yellow card offence and should have seen the line. Thought the Cavan referee was very poor and gave Mayo a lot. However Mayo needed to win ugly and get things moving again and no doubt will be in business end of the championship later in summer.
IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 09/07/2016 17:55:56 1879103 Link 0 |
He could take Conor McManus with him lol. Great players both but they both like to dive when minimal contact is made close to goal, Maurice Deegan called on McManus to get up on a couple of occasions last week in Brefini. Lots more doing it also, the game today is win at all cost, it'll work some times others times it won't, you can't blame players for taking any and all advantages that comes their way. Move on nothing more to see here. mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1079 - 09/07/2016 17:56:33 1879105 Link 0 |
I wouldn't have him on my team. Seriously. I think he is very over-rated. A big, strong, beast of a man, But is limited in his ability. Has no left foot, finishing is quite poor. This idea that he is a class act is all a bit of a media assembled myth in my opinion. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 09/07/2016 17:56:46 1879106 Link 0 |
I don't even think it was a dive but it was the most ridiculous penalty a ref could give. Most definitely was not a penalty. O'Shea has been badly treated by refs in the past few years but getting decisions like this when you don't deserve them can and usually do come back to haunt you. In the bigger games when Mayo play Dublin or Kerry, O'Shea will be fouled (possibly for a penalty) but he won't get it because refs will remember this incident and think he is diving. PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2075 - 09/07/2016 17:57:16 1879107 Link 0 |
Totally agree, and hopefully the Tyrone fans who defended McCaan en masse will now understand how wrong his behaviour was. 2setsofrules (Down) - Posts: 99 - 09/07/2016 17:59:16 1879111 Link 0 |
What are Ye on about with that post? Every single Tyrone poster on this forum last year condemned Mc Cann for his antics at that time. Every single one of us.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 17:59:23 1879113 Link 0 |
If tht was a tyrone player that dived what would rte b sayin? I know wee cant blame the loss to 1 pelanty but if the ref was as homely respectable in brewster park maybe thr mite b a different outcone..maybe I have tinted glasses on but we struggled to get any break from the cavan man in the middle..so nany calls particularly in the 2nd half went mayos way abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 280 - 09/07/2016 18:02:18 1879116 Link 0 |
Mayo fans will want to shut up about other teams antics after today - O Shea seemed very proud of himself going off embarrassing really- theseasider (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 09/07/2016 18:05:08 1879122 Link 2 |
So there were no allegations of bias against ulster teams, no attempts at deflecting the issue? joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/07/2016 18:06:09 1879123 Link 0 |
Why do you even bother on here? You're incapable of objectivity. Myself and every Tyrone poster on here condemned our player Mc Cann when he engaged in this type of behaviour last year. Either say what it is or be quiet.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 09/07/2016 18:06:17 1879125 Link 1 |
Defensive not one bit All we've heard for years is that Mayo don't have that sneaky nasty streak that a team needs to win The cuteness to win at all costs Then when we win a game with the help of a little creativity we get slated You know what I don't think there's a Mayo fan that gives a Rats Arse that AOS went down easy Mayo is in the hat for the next round which I fear going on their last 2 displays will be the end of the road I hope I'm wrong
cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 569 - 09/07/2016 18:06:39 1879126 Link 1 |
Not happy to see aos resort to diving to win game. liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 09/07/2016 18:07:50 1879130 Link 1 |