Cheating is looked upon with more scorn than thuggery. Look it goes on, it has gone on and will go on. I don't think you can wipe it out completely but proper punishment must be there for those who are caught."]Please point out where I said that? I merely argued that the Connolly incident was not 'cheating'. No advantage went Dublin's way as a result of the incident. Mayo were the only team to benefit from it during the game. CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/07/2016 22:07:18 1882822 Link 0 |
Please point out where I said that? I argued that the Connolly incident was not 'cheating'. No advantage went Dublin's way as a result of the incident. Mayo were the only team to benefit from it during the game. Whatever it was it was not cheating. End of. CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/07/2016 22:11:15 1882827 Link 0 |
'Without trying to state the obvious, it was a penalty because the referee awarded it. The claim that the penalty decided the match is somewhat spurious as the result, in my opinion, would have been the same regardless of the penalty'. browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/07/2016 22:48:10 1882841 Link 0 |
The GAA, Southern media and MANY in the South are rabidly partitionist and their DNA is biased against 'Nordies' Ulster GAA teams and players and they make the rules up as they go along to suit their own narrow, self serving agenda. The replies on this thread prove that beyond any doubt. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9838 - 14/07/2016 00:09:29 1882860 Link 1 |
Lee Keegan had Connolly in a chokehold, Connolly was merely defending himself which he is entitled to do and DRA agreed. What has that got to do with Aidan "Swan Lake" O'Shea's dive? arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 14/07/2016 08:15:52 1882887 Link 1 |
Well not according to the CCC, where you had to go through 3 appeals, and then hire a judge to argue your case, as the next step was an injunction to the high court. Must be great to have so much money for these legal cases or the cryotherapy for the semi final replay.
saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/07/2016 09:49:53 1882932 Link 0 |
Someone sounds slightly jealous.... :P
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/07/2016 10:06:41 1882950 Link 1 |
Is diving worse than throwing a headbutt or eye-gouging? unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 14/07/2016 12:14:00 1883040 Link 1 |
Of course diving is not worse but Sophies choice example's hardly help ,
Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/07/2016 13:42:19 1883117 Link 0 |
Depends on who you ask! However i daresay to the lads in Fermanagh it is.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/07/2016 13:45:09 1883122 Link 0 |
At the end of the first half of extra-time of the All-Ireland Semi-Final replay between Kerry and Mayo in 2014, Cormac Reilly awarded Kerry with two frees which the duly pointed. BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 14/07/2016 14:13:21 1883153 Link 0 |
You would be wrong on that one.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/07/2016 14:18:11 1883156 Link 1 |
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 14/07/2016 14:25:32 1883164 Link 1 |
I was talking about the players but fair play!
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/07/2016 14:30:43 1883168 Link 0 |
You got it all right bar the jersey pull. I was sat right in line with it, 2 fellas from Mayo who were sat beside me told me at the time that they didn't think it was a penalty. It wasn't a pull, for it to be a pull he needs a closed hand and part of o'ses jersey in his hand. He then needs to exert force for it to be a pull. If anything you could argue it was a push (the complete opposite of a pull) but again there needs to be force exerted. As it stands he placed his hand on his back, nothing more, nothing less. Anyway can this thread die a death. The penalty was given, it was a dive. The world keeps moving and Mayo are still in the championship. There is nothing else to say on it. gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/07/2016 14:47:58 1883189 Link 0 |
Did O'Shea dive? yes seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 14/07/2016 14:49:52 1883190 Link 4 |
He was being held before ball was played in. That's a penalty and it's what the ref signalled for. He did dive subsequently though.
MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/07/2016 15:04:20 1883210 Link 0 |
Did O'Shea dive? yes Was his jersey pulled? NO Was it inside the large box? yes Is that a penalty? NO (see question 1). CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/07/2016 15:09:28 1883221 Link 0 |
Admin, any chance of closing down this thread, its tiresome now. saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 14/07/2016 15:13:21 1883229 Link 0 |
JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 14/07/2016 15:16:03 1883235 Link 0 |