Aidan O'Shea Diving

Blew for a jersey pull rather than a shove is a good one. A jersey pull would surely have dragged him rather than propelled him forward on his face -the way that he fell.

We are in the era of letter of the law rather than spirit of the law, in our sports, work, home life, social life, every time we drive. There is nothing that is now unaffected.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 11/07/2016 17:37:55    1881157

Replying To yew_tree:  "
Replying To CroiGorm:  "This is great! It was a pull back? How come he was sent flying forward then?!

"Andy Moran has rejected accusations that Aidan O'Shea dived in winning a penalty against Fermanagh.

Moran - Mayo's most capped footballer - jumped to his team-mate's defence after the controversial incident had a huge bearing on the outcome of the result.

Cillian O'Connor clinically dispatched the penalty to the roof of the net and sent Stephen Rochford's men on their way to a 2-14 to 1-12 victory.

"It was a penalty all the way," Moran insisted in the Western People.

"It was a pull-back and it was a penalty. Cillian's one (penalty claim) was even more of a penalty a few minutes beforehand. That was a certain penalty just like the one in Limerick [against Kerry
a few years ago."

Mayo will have home advantage once again when they face Kildare in Round 3 of the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers on Saturday."
"
That extract was taken from an interview after the game with a local reporter. I am sure Andy had not seen video evidence but then again he was hardly going to hang his teammate out to dry now was he. But sure here lets setup a new thread on every Mayo player on what they say and do going forward.....it is open season after all."]Sure look were the lad who first posted the bit is from is it not a surprise? Maybe it is a surprise that a dub would read the western but then maybe it shouldn't be see as they spend their loves giving out about Mayo and the players. Look if the gaa have banned a player before for diving then they should do the same here and ban O'shea for one match. These three or four incidents over the last couple of years are not the first time someone has used gamesmanship to try and win. There's plenty going on out there and the poor standards of officiating promote it. I would hazard to say have the fouls given out in Gaelic football would be as a result of cheating like when a player is in possession and and an opponent put them under pressure by putting arms in to try swipe the ball away the player will catch the opponents arm and either cause him to get tangled and foul or will fall taking the opponent with them and win the free. Week in week out you see players with one arm out and the other stuck to a player before give a free. It gets on my nerves that nothing is ever said about but it is happening countless times a game.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 11/07/2016 18:03:29    1881177

Replying To moc.dna:  "Lol, your the only one here that played senior club C'ship & the rest of us haven't a clue. Then you go on to relate your prowess to us with some pride in what you did. You should read what you have just posted, you would be a great man for coaching kids, your condoning of everything is why the Gaa is in such a mess, sure we all do it, it's a man's game, sure normally he is a lovely fella, sure it only balances out the penalty we didn't get earlier on, ffs listen if your the future of Gaa it is well & truly shagged."
What are you on about? Where did I did I say nobody plays football? I am saying there are a high percentage of keyboard warriors that can't say they wouldn't do the same thing. As for my own experience, I was stating an example. I didn't go out to do what I did that day, it was spur of the moment and it overshadowed the whole game.These things happen.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8507 - 11/07/2016 20:06:38    1881294

The views of the Sunday game pundits carry too much currency in my view. I remember Ciaran Whelan and Tomas O'Se doing far worse on the pitch than diving.

Aidan O'Shea will be embarrassed enough by his actions with the whole country needing to tell him.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/07/2016 20:15:06    1881304

daytona11 (Kildare)- how can you tackle a player if you cannot put a hand on him. Guys put hands all over the place on your back, on your neck on your chest and it happens in every tackle. This diving has only recently come into the game and more so with introduction of the black card. It was a very obvious dive even in real time and should have been obvious to a half decent ref

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/07/2016 20:31:25    1881339

What's with all these people thinking o'shea would be embarrassed by what he did? I'm more than 100% sure that he is delighted he did it. It's about time Mayo teams started doing what other teams have been doing for years. Whatever it takes to win, don't give a crap what anyone outside the camp says. Maigh Eo abù

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 11/07/2016 21:03:47    1881358

mayoaresavage -that may be the case and fair point. However, big Donaghy got a coupe of easy frees against ye to win a match and he is paying for it since by the Refs! - same may happen to your man, human nature being what it is. I suppose if we had not some incidents there would be little to post about.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 11/07/2016 22:17:26    1881430

Browncows, Aidan is already getting a raw deal from refs, so it was nice to be on the right side of a debatable decision. The treatment O'shea is getting is ridiculous, James o'donoghue is buying frees week in week out but not a word is said. In the Munster final last year, he dived to win a penalty but the talk was all about the referee, not about o'donoghue cheating. What's the difference?

mayoaresavage (Mayo) - Posts: 313 - 11/07/2016 23:45:49    1881476

Replying To browncows:  "daytona11 (Kildare)- how can you tackle a player if you cannot put a hand on him. Guys put hands all over the place on your back, on your neck on your chest and it happens in every tackle. This diving has only recently come into the game and more so with introduction of the black card. It was a very obvious dive even in real time and should have been obvious to a half decent ref"

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/07/2016 01:33:07    1881488

Replying To browncows:  "daytona11 (Kildare)- how can you tackle a player if you cannot put a hand on him. Guys put hands all over the place on your back, on your neck on your chest and it happens in every tackle. This diving has only recently come into the game and more so with introduction of the black card. It was a very obvious dive even in real time and should have been obvious to a half decent ref"

Dont think it should be obvious straight away to the ref with the game going so fast, that's why I don't understand why he put himself in an awkward position by not consulting his officials. He paid the price for trying to be clever and pretend to see the incident ,when clearly he didn't.
What o Shea done was cheating , but we've all seen lots of players cheat in different guises to gain an advantage, if it could be cited after the game , it could make players realise the punishment can be dished out even after the game has finished and would solve alot.
AOS done a stupid thing and poor referring allowed him gain from it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 12/07/2016 01:40:51    1881491

Replying To AthCliath:  "

Dont think it should be obvious straight away to the ref with the game going so fast, that's why I don't understand why he put himself in an awkward position by not consulting his officials. He paid the price for trying to be clever and pretend to see the incident ,when clearly he didn't.
What o Shea done was cheating , but we've all seen lots of players cheat in different guises to gain an advantage, if it could be cited after the game , it could make players realise the punishment can be dished out even after the game has finished and would solve alot.
AOS done a stupid thing and poor referring allowed him gain from it."
O'Shea has received terrible treatment for the last number of years across the board. The contact on Saturday was minimal but there was STILL contact nonetheless. Dont tell me that Bernard Brogan, James O'Donoghue or Michael Murphy wouldn't do the same. Anyway all the blame should rest with Joe McQuillan.

Keepthefaith51 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 12/07/2016 12:49:03    1881734

Clearly not a peno: O'Shea was not being pulled, dragged or ridden by at least four opponents.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 12/07/2016 14:24:21    1881834

The same guys who were on here defending these guys are slating o'shea now.

I think you will understand if I politely ignore every word.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/07/2016 14:40:55    1881852

TheMaster....

Exhibit A: I dont see your point?

Exhibit B: There was clear contact.

You aren't helping Aidan O'Shea with clips like that!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 12/07/2016 14:57:34    1881866

Keepthefaith51 (Mayo) - Posts:1 - 12/07/2016 12:49:03 1881734

The contact on Saturday was minimal but there was STILL contact nonetheless.

Maybe because it's a contact sport? By your argument there'd be a foul every few seconds.

If you don't like contact, go watch basketball or maybe soccer - that's pretty sanitised these days.

Dont tell me that Bernard Brogan, James O'Donoghue or Michael Murphy wouldn't do the same.

Really? Do all these lads have a history of diving? I'd certainly be very disappointed in Brogan if he did the same.

Anyway all the blame should rest with Joe McQuillan.

All the blame? No blame on the fella who cheated, then?

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 12/07/2016 15:08:04    1881881

Replying To mayoaresavage:  "What's with all these people thinking o'shea would be embarrassed by what he did? I'm more than 100% sure that he is delighted he did it. It's about time Mayo teams started doing what other teams have been doing for years. Whatever it takes to win, don't give a crap what anyone outside the camp says. Maigh Eo abù"
Ah sure none of it matters a jot. Mayo will capitulate at some point, they don't have an All-Ireland win in them anyway. O'Shea can do all the diving he wants, and the rest of the team can do parallel bars or hurdles or long jumps or boxing or whatever Olympic sport the wish. They still will not ever win the All Ireland Gaelic Football Final.

Dubfan Abroad (Dublin) - Posts: 282 - 12/07/2016 15:17:16    1881899

Replying To Dubfan Abroad:  "Ah sure none of it matters a jot. Mayo will capitulate at some point, they don't have an All-Ireland win in them anyway. O'Shea can do all the diving he wants, and the rest of the team can do parallel bars or hurdles or long jumps or boxing or whatever Olympic sport the wish. They still will not ever win the All Ireland Gaelic Football Final."
Very harsh. He felt contact and went down. For the last number of years he has received awful treatment. How many times have we seen Aido mauled to the floor and gets no protection. The use of the word 'cheat' has been used out of context here. As regards your feelings re Mayos chances this year, we will have to wait and see. I certainly wouldn't write us off. That's all I'm saying

Keepthefaith51 (Mayo) - Posts: 2 - 12/07/2016 15:43:05    1881927

This is one of the worst threads ever and that takes some doing for parochial blindness , now I will be honest a bit of wee seeped out through utter laughter at the thoughts of how someone like the master would worm his way out of this one , thankfully he didn't let me down .
Honestly the blindness on here regardless of county makes a mockery of honest opinion , I couldn't care less what happened to poor auld Aido in whatever game he played in when he was 14 , or that he received an elbow when he was under 21 , I DO care that he's a role model in Mayo and has sent out a horrendous message , I don't believe in scapegoating something I've said consistently on here and would be opposed to retrospective action , equally I don't really feel comfortable with the word cheat , for me a cheat is someone who premeditates an act to deceive , Id say AOS acted on the spur of the moment .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 12/07/2016 16:13:16    1881951

I fail to see why so many posters get upset at one or two Mayo posters here saying there was contact when the majority of us have stated it was not a penalty. A few day's later these are my opinions:

1. Aidan went down with little or no contact (a defender can't mark a fella without putting a hand on him).
2. I think it was spur of the moment on AIdan's behalf and no player goes out to dive.
3. He should and probably is embarrassed
4. I think the referee in a split decision said to himself I better give this one because I failed to give the last one (which probably was a penalty)
5. Ref's need video assistance in big big calls....and if a player s found to have dived 100% should receive a one match ban.

This is not an O'Se or Mayo issue as far as I'm concerned but we need to take action. Mayo like in the past could be the victims next time. James O D dive last year possibly cost Cork a Munster title....there will be another incident.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11768 - 12/07/2016 16:48:39    1881980

Time to get over it . Dodgy calls always have and always will form part of the game even in rugby with their video ref not every call is right all of the time
I seem to remember fermanagh benefiting from a somewhat ' soft ' penalty decision against us last year 2 ! There also seems to be more of a tolerance if one of the so called weaker counties gets away with a cut
All that's changed is everything gets analysed to death on these forums .imagine if we had social media after the 1982 final .... heaven help us !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 662 - 12/07/2016 17:23:16    1882000