Replying To IrishGael3: "Possibly Jackeen and if that's the case then there's a positive - however maybe he should have come out earlier rather than let a kid go through the hell McCann went through - I spoke to a Tyrone fella at the NFL finals and he told me McCann was receiving threats via social media now that isn't on, these guys incl CW who sit in their warm studios and selectively criticise amateur players and lets be frank that's what they do, need to wise up. I have no issue with them calling stuff out and then move on but some of their antics is a way over the top and I emphasise its very selective and personal." Oh i totally agree. He was way ott re McCann as were a lot of pundits. Likewise Brolly re Cavanagh. Its disgraceful picking one person from a team & going to town on them.
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/07/2016 11:59:04
I don't get why this incident has received so much coverage, when cheating has become normal within the game. We have forwards who go down under minimal contact, and you hear the commentator's say "he did well to engineer that free". What about players who pull the hand of the opposition to appear as though they have been fouled, this is all cheating, yet some people are acting as though no one ever cheated within the game until Saturday. Why hasn't the referee being criticised for his part in the incident. All the referee sees is AOS going to ground, yet he guesses that AOS has been fouled, that isn't good enough, and also the referee didn't even consult his umpires, who were far closer to the incident. As someone who follows the EPL, it's clear players in all sports will take advantage of poor refereeing, and the standards within the GAA have been so low for years now.
PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1664 - 11/07/2016 12:16:47
I'd be surprised if O'Shea gets another soft free/penalty for the rest of the championship. I'm sure he's sullied his bib with inter-county refs for this year at least.
Can anyone explain why Joe McQuillan indicated a jersey tug when giving the penalty when replays showed there was no jersey tug? Kind of proves McQuillan was just guessing. He certainly couldn't have seen it because it, well, didn't happen!
ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1258 - 11/07/2016 12:25:35
Replying To ballydalane: "I'd be surprised if O'Shea gets another soft free/penalty for the rest of the championship. I'm sure he's sullied his bib with inter-county refs for this year at least.
Can anyone explain why Joe McQuillan indicated a jersey tug when giving the penalty when replays showed there was no jersey tug? Kind of proves McQuillan was just guessing. He certainly couldn't have seen it because it, well, didn't happen!" McQuillan was poor throughout. I think he was trying to even it up for not giving a more obvious penalty when O Connor was fouled. Im not condoning what O Shea did but I think the media outrage is a bit rich. Earning or buying a free is something we hear all the time.
unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 11/07/2016 12:37:41
Replying To TheFlaker: "100 per cent Lockjaw. I think a lot of people on here have no idea of even playing senior club championship never mind inter county. It is not nice to see but I don't think O Se was thinking of the implications in that spilt second. He probably wasn't even sure where he was standing, it was just about inside the area.
I remember playing in a senior championship quarter final 3 years ago. We were 2 points down 15 minutes into the second half after being 4 up at half time. I did a Sean Cavanagh style rugby tackle on one of their players as they had an overlap for a goal chance. The guy I fouled was known as a hothead so when we hit the deck I wouldn't let go of him. He lost the plot and struck me on the ground 3 or 4 times. A brawl broke out and when things calmed down I got a yellow for the tackle and he got a straight red. The game was stopped for a few minutes and they lost all momentum. We won by 2 and they ended up with 13 men. Am I sorry for what I did? No. I did what I had to do and we won the championship that year. Players are not thinking about what things might look like in a split second, people need to get a grip." Yep. We've all done things in matches where, with the benefit of video analysis afterwards, we probably would have to admit we weren't exactly playing the game in the right spirit. In competitive sport at the highest level I think it's naive NOT to expect a certain amount of skulduggery. Human nature, survival of the fittest, race to the top etc etc
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10002 - 11/07/2016 12:46:09
Replying To Lockjaw: "Yep. We've all done things in matches where, with the benefit of video analysis afterwards, we probably would have to admit we weren't exactly playing the game in the right spirit. In competitive sport at the highest level I think it's naive NOT to expect a certain amount of skulduggery. Human nature, survival of the fittest, race to the top etc etc" Maybe your right but surely subsequent bans for this kind of thing is still the best outcome. I'm not saying just O Shea but any such acts like this. As long as there is no downside to trying to con the ref then it will become more common. The thing that annoys me about O Shea is he is a big strong man who can play football but while he has no issues going in hard in his tackling then he takes a tumble like that with limited/no contact.
dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 11/07/2016 13:15:31
Replying To dstuction: "Maybe your right but surely subsequent bans for this kind of thing is still the best outcome. I'm not saying just O Shea but any such acts like this. As long as there is no downside to trying to con the ref then it will become more common. The thing that annoys me about O Shea is he is a big strong man who can play football but while he has no issues going in hard in his tackling then he takes a tumble like that with limited/no contact." Retrospective action can work and might discourage cheating. But the question is, where do you draw the line? Is one man's cheating another man's cleverness? Cases won't always be as clear cut as they were last weekend.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 10002 - 11/07/2016 13:29:19
Replying To TheFlaker: "Were they now? Amazing how the second half seems to have been forgotten about, we would have got the scores needed in my opinion." I dont think ye would have
aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 670 - 11/07/2016 13:56:23
Replying To aidan64: "I dont think ye would have" And if we had been given the penalty earlier that everyone including the pundits are saying was a penalty? 2 wrongs don't make a right but the whole match is being forgotten about.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8507 - 11/07/2016 15:00:04
Replying To TheFlaker: "And if we had been given the penalty earlier that everyone including the pundits are saying was a penalty? 2 wrongs don't make a right but the whole match is being forgotten about." I actually don't think that was a penalty either but Fermanaghs goal shouldn't have stood. It depends how you look at these things really. Like I don't think O Shea should have even been on the field. He did high tackle while already on a yellow. As a Mayo supporter though surely you must be a bit embarrassed at the diving. I know I was a few weeks ago when one of our players was at it.
When high profile things like this happen it brings to light that there is a massive gap in our game and some things deserve some punishment to try and put a stop to these antics
dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 11/07/2016 15:10:01
Replying To dstuction: "I actually don't think that was a penalty either but Fermanaghs goal shouldn't have stood. It depends how you look at these things really. Like I don't think O Shea should have even been on the field. He did high tackle while already on a yellow. As a Mayo supporter though surely you must be a bit embarrassed at the diving. I know I was a few weeks ago when one of our players was at it.
When high profile things like this happen it brings to light that there is a massive gap in our game and some things deserve some punishment to try and put a stop to these antics" Of course the dive is cringe, but in real time it didn't look that dramatic. As I said, the player didn't really think of the consequences. And the COC incident was a foul, however harsh it would have been. This game wasn't the robbery as people think. Funny people including Sunday game highlighted O Se fouls and maybe he should have been off. Anyone who watched the game with balanced eyes would have seen Fermanagh commit a huge amount of fouls during that game, almost all of them for Jersey pulls. Yet the ref never got the cards out. Go back and watch it. The ref was dreadful for both teams. Mayo commuted a couple of black card offences near the end that went unpunished. McQuillan was playing by his own rules on Saturday.
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8507 - 11/07/2016 15:47:56
Replying To TheFlaker: "Of course the dive is cringe, but in real time it didn't look that dramatic. As I said, the player didn't really think of the consequences. And the COC incident was a foul, however harsh it would have been. This game wasn't the robbery as people think. Funny people including Sunday game highlighted O Se fouls and maybe he should have been off. Anyone who watched the game with balanced eyes would have seen Fermanagh commit a huge amount of fouls during that game, almost all of them for Jersey pulls. Yet the ref never got the cards out. Go back and watch it. The ref was dreadful for both teams. Mayo commuted a couple of black card offences near the end that went unpunished. McQuillan was playing by his own rules on Saturday." There was no foul committed first and foremost.
At the same time, in real time, it wasn't that clear.
Che Cullen as a defender had O'Shea where he wanted him, back to goal running toward the sideline.
Why did Cullen put his hand on O'Sheas back at all? A big no no for a defender and he gave McQuillan a decision to make.
daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/07/2016 16:01:55
Replying To TheFlaker: "100 per cent Lockjaw. I think a lot of people on here have no idea of even playing senior club championship never mind inter county. It is not nice to see but I don't think O Se was thinking of the implications in that spilt second. He probably wasn't even sure where he was standing, it was just about inside the area.
I remember playing in a senior championship quarter final 3 years ago. We were 2 points down 15 minutes into the second half after being 4 up at half time. I did a Sean Cavanagh style rugby tackle on one of their players as they had an overlap for a goal chance. The guy I fouled was known as a hothead so when we hit the deck I wouldn't let go of him. He lost the plot and struck me on the ground 3 or 4 times. A brawl broke out and when things calmed down I got a yellow for the tackle and he got a straight red. The game was stopped for a few minutes and they lost all momentum. We won by 2 and they ended up with 13 men. Am I sorry for what I did? No. I did what I had to do and we won the championship that year. Players are not thinking about what things might look like in a split second, people need to get a grip." Lol, your the only one here that played senior club C'ship & the rest of us haven't a clue. Then you go on to relate your prowess to us with some pride in what you did. You should read what you have just posted, you would be a great man for coaching kids, your condoning of everything is why the Gaa is in such a mess, sure we all do it, it's a man's game, sure normally he is a lovely fella, sure it only balances out the penalty we didn't get earlier on, ffs listen if your the future of Gaa it is well & truly shagged.
moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 11/07/2016 16:06:08
The actual dive isn't the issue here. The real issue is how a referee, two linesman and two umpires fell for it.
I'm a Galway man, the sight of O'Shea boils my blood, but that said he's an incredible footballer and probably in the top 5 country wide. Its easy to smash him for his actions but any player in any team would do the same if they thought it work. One just needs to look at Sean Canavagh's takedown. Players will do the necessary and while we all moan and blast it we all know deep down if we were there in that moment we would have done it as well.
The fact is the officials made a pure mess of this call. They are humans yes, and susceptible to mistake, of course but the big calls have to be 100% correct always.
All this comes down to is a terrible decision by the officials. If O'Shea was not awarded the penalty or even if play was continued then he would have looked like a fool for throwing himself to the ground, think of that..
TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 11/07/2016 16:17:17
Could we all stop this, 'he's in the top 5' or 'one of the top 3 forwards in the country', this bs goes on week in week out, heard Pat Spillane saying before the game yesterday that Roscommon had the ' 4th best forward line in the country' LOL. It's bloody ridiculous tripe, Diving has to be stamped out by using a video ref and giving bans and fines even after the match on video evidence, that will sort it out.
TirChonaillabu2 (Donegal) - Posts: 344 - 11/07/2016 16:43:39
Replying To TheFullBack: "The actual dive isn't the issue here. The real issue is how a referee, two linesman and two umpires fell for it.
I'm a Galway man, the sight of O'Shea boils my blood, but that said he's an incredible footballer and probably in the top 5 country wide. Its easy to smash him for his actions but any player in any team would do the same if they thought it work. One just needs to look at Sean Canavagh's takedown. Players will do the necessary and while we all moan and blast it we all know deep down if we were there in that moment we would have done it as well.
The fact is the officials made a pure mess of this call. They are humans yes, and susceptible to mistake, of course but the big calls have to be 100% correct always.
All this comes down to is a terrible decision by the officials. If O'Shea was not awarded the penalty or even if play was continued then he would have looked like a fool for throwing himself to the ground, think of that.." Fair enough full back. I still argue that Che Cullen shouldn't have been putting hands anywhere near him.
daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/07/2016 16:55:21
This is great! It was a pull back? How come he was sent flying forward then?!
"Andy Moran has rejected accusations that Aidan O'Shea dived in winning a penalty against Fermanagh.
Moran - Mayo's most capped footballer - jumped to his team-mate's defence after the controversial incident had a huge bearing on the outcome of the result.
Cillian O'Connor clinically dispatched the penalty to the roof of the net and sent Stephen Rochford's men on their way to a 2-14 to 1-12 victory.
"It was a penalty all the way," Moran insisted in the Western People.
"It was a pull-back and it was a penalty. Cillian's one (penalty claim) was even more of a penalty a few minutes beforehand. That was a certain penalty just like the one in Limerick [against Kerry] a few years ago."
Mayo will have home advantage once again when they face Kildare in Round 3 of the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers on Saturday."
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 11/07/2016 17:24:02
Replying To TheFullBack: "The actual dive isn't the issue here. The real issue is how a referee, two linesman and two umpires fell for it.
All this comes down to is a terrible decision by the officials. If O'Shea was not awarded the penalty or even if play was continued then he would have looked like a fool for throwing himself to the ground, think of that.." This is true. Players are going to do whatever it takes to win and if anyone doesn't believe that every big team has at least one player who'll go to ground rather easily for a penalty or drag another fella down in a cynical fashion or do whatever he can to get his team over the line, whether it's "fair" or not, is completely divorced from reality. O'Shea isn't the first and won't be the last player to engage in cynical play, yet you'd be forgiven for thinking this was the first time anyone had ever seen cynicism in the GAA with the hysterical overreaction from some quarters. O'Shea did something that plenty before him have done and plenty after him will do too. The abuse being levelled at him from people who seem to just have a weirdly personal issue with him is over the line.
The fact of the matter is that McQuillan made a mess of several calls throughout the match. He got the call on Cillian O'Connor being fouled in the box wrong and that clearly played on his mind thereafter, leading to him awarding the penalty to O'Shea in an attempt to "even things out". If he had got it right the first time with O'Connor, I'm sure he'd have given nothing to O'Shea the second time. Not to mention the myriad of soft frees he gave out throughout the match to both sides.
ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 11/07/2016 17:26:31
Replying To CroiGorm: "This is great! It was a pull back? How come he was sent flying forward then?!
"Andy Moran has rejected accusations that Aidan O'Shea dived in winning a penalty against Fermanagh.
Moran - Mayo's most capped footballer - jumped to his team-mate's defence after the controversial incident had a huge bearing on the outcome of the result.
Cillian O'Connor clinically dispatched the penalty to the roof of the net and sent Stephen Rochford's men on their way to a 2-14 to 1-12 victory.
"It was a pull-back and it was a penalty. Cillian's one (penalty claim) was even more of a penalty a few minutes beforehand. That was a certain penalty just like the one in Limerick [against Kerry a few years ago."
Mayo will have home advantage once again when they face Kildare in Round 3 of the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers on Saturday.""]Oh Andy ....he should just say nothing.he has made himself look really stupid.
dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1314 - 11/07/2016 17:28:26
Replying To CroiGorm: "This is great! It was a pull back? How come he was sent flying forward then?!
"It was a pull-back and it was a penalty. Cillian's one (penalty claim) was even more of a penalty a few minutes beforehand. That was a certain penalty just like the one in Limerick [against Kerry a few years ago."
Mayo will have home advantage once again when they face Kildare in Round 3 of the All-Ireland SFC qualifiers on Saturday.""]That extract was taken from an interview after the game with a local reporter. I am sure Andy had not seen video evidence but then again he was hardly going to hang his teammate out to dry now was he. But sure here lets setup a new thread on every Mayo player on what they say and do going forward.....it is open season after all.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11768 - 11/07/2016 17:29:53