Thought Eddie Kinsella and his team of officals done all they could on another day there might have been a mass brawl...Like Mayo v Meath 1996 and Louth v Laois 1991 such was the horrible tactics that were going on off the ball...
Neil Mcgee should be punished with a big ban make an example of a player who's been at this sort of stuff for a while!
BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts:490 - 08/03/2016 10:05:11
I don't agree with your assertion about Kinsella. He punished no one after the first melee & that set the tone for what came afterwards.
I have no problem with McGee getting a big ban but how come he is the only player you single out? I could name two or three others who were at the cutting edge & who have previous form, who would also benefit from a long ban.
MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 08/03/2016 10:50:11
Seeing what Neil Mc Gee done to Fitzgerald there Sunday i can just imagine the abuse poor Mc Manus has taken in the past few years.
monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 421 - 08/03/2016 10:57:15
The only team capable of putting Kerry back in their box are Tyrone. There's no one about at the minute prepared to take Kerry on at the cynicism and dark arts. We need a few more Dooher, Gormley, Hughes types to clip their wings. It was no surprise, and I predicted this yesterday , that the entire Southern media lauded and praised Kerry for their antics. The end justifies the means for them I.e. the defeat of an Ulster team and they don't care how it's done. All their hypocritical guff and nonsense about 'playing the right way' goes out the window with Kerry and Dublin as we seen last season. They will excuse and provide cover for ANYTHING these two get up to.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:7699 - 07/03/2016 21:47:24 183
Tell the truth Ulsterman..you cant stand it that Kerry can finally compete in the physical stakes against a team in your province. By the way it must feel great to be able to support 9 counties come the Gaa season..must keep you busy.
I assume you were one of those who said Kerry were too soft in the noughties for Tyrone and Armagh, also for Donegal in 2012. You probably labelled it as good tough defending when them boys were at it.
KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 08/03/2016 11:08:24
The Master that's the last time we've been in a big pushing shoving match and they threw the book at us. So 3 or 5 or 8 years it doesn't matter.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/03/2016 11:24:06
Apparently Fermanagh's Sean Quigley got his one match ban for turning off the lights in the tunnel. Maybe that is worse than anything that happened in Tralee but I'm not convinced. Has anybody heard any comment from Spillane yet?
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 08/03/2016 12:26:52
SamOnErrigal Well said my friend. McGee (stupidly) bent back his hand so get over it people and move on. We don't want to become a Tyrone complaining about every little thing and thinking the world is against us. Kerry knew they weren't going to beat us at football so they stooped to these antics the same as the majority of Ulster teams we play. The game will certainly do Donegal good and I firmly believe we will have a long summer. Onwards and upwards I say!!!
letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts:54 - 08/03/2016 08:39:59 1832130 -------------------------------------------------------------------- In fairness LetterkennyGuy this present reincarnation of Donegal football has been complaining/defending it self from the beginning under Jim Mc Guinness and Im sure that will continue under Rory G.How many times did Jim and now Rory have to defend his teams style of play,tactics and individual players?Many many times.Jimmys most memorable phrase was "I have a duty of care to these players", as he was always on the defensive for his team, and he had to be,cos he had to continue to push back against most of the national media in defense of his team.You say you don't want to become a Tyrone complaining about every little thing? Where have you been the last few years man? Thats exactly what Donegal have had to do for reasons I just said and it will continue for you as long as your team continue to compete at the top.
seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 08/03/2016 14:09:41
Ref lost the run of himself early doors. He did not want to or was instructed, not to issue or take action in the early stages of the game, which is the complete opposite of what needed to be done. If the transgressors were dealt with at that juncture, the match may have been played in an entirely different manner. Ref in question has had a few shockers to date, and one has to question Referee assessor and their committee, who sit behind closed doors with rose tinted glasses and seem to be accountable to no one. Refereeing aside, the football played between the two resembled a throw back from the 70's- 80's, at best Junior B, where lads squared up and wrestled with each other at any given opportunity. Therefore players and management need to take responsibility for all actions that happened, Whats at steak realistically? Amateur sport, I know the time and dedication amounts to pro status, but brawling and off the ball carry on needs to be reduced, with heavier sanctions, why not fine ban all involved, this would then be a good deterrent for future, and the teams we are accustomed with melees and their meleers thinking twice about it, with more emphasis on video technology, since the officials seem to be missing a lot of the incidents, or choosing to ignore them.
Japs_Eye (Fermanagh) - Posts: 14 - 08/03/2016 14:24:33
The Master that's the last time we've been in a big pushing shoving match and they threw the book at us. So 3 or 5 or 8 years it doesn't matter. clondalkindub
No it was the last time you were punished for one. How about that game against Armagh last year where there was a mass brawl, a hospitalisation and nobody got punished? How about the draw with ourselves that was littered with wrestling matches from the first whistle to the last?
I don't really care, Im just pointing out, your logic is completely flawed on that point...
TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2016 14:27:31
SamOnErrigal Well said my friend. McGee (stupidly) bent back his hand so get over it people and move on. We don't want to become a Tyrone complaining about every little thing and thinking the world is against us. Kerry knew they weren't going to beat us at football so they stooped to these antics the same as the majority of Ulster teams we play. The game will certainly do Donegal good and I firmly believe we will have a long summer. Onwards and upwards I say!!!
This has got to be the most ridiculous post on here. You can't actually believe what you are writing. have a look at the video of the match againt kerry again and also have a look at the match v Mayo and just concentrate on what the Donegal Players are doing. look at it from a neutral perspective . We all know you love your home county and their is no shame in that but call a spade a spade otherwise this is not proper debate.
s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 08/03/2016 15:09:25
dakid
Can you please link me to the video of McGee trying to break Fitzgerald's fingers? All I've seen so far is McGee grabbing his hand.
Also from what I've seen McLoone seemed to strike O'Mahony on the ear, rather than the face. But I'm open to correction.
greatpoint (USA) - Posts:4 - 07/03/2016 17:15:48
the video is readily available on youtube. But you will obviously counter with the argument that we don't know hat Neil McGee was trying to do, maybe he was trimming his fingernails or pulling out a splinter?
As for McLoone, a strike to the ear is still a strike, albeit a terrible attempt at a punch. His technique was deplorable, straight arm, no bend and the elbow not following the same line as the hand.
As for me talking nonsense, actually theres no point responding to that. The Donegal blinkers are on that chip on the shoulder is really more of a bag of chips.
Good Thread all the same.
dakid (Australia) - Posts: 332 - 08/03/2016 16:05:41
I'd agree with people on Donaghy acting the maggot for years but, but, not really in Sheehans case and thats from a Kerryman.
For those donegal people that were at the game, what did ye make of Rory Gallaghers antics on the sideline? I never normally remember him being like that even as Jim's assistant. He was like a fella let loose. It was like watching the local headcase that manages the Junior B team constantly in the linesman ear etc. Surely he cant clinically analyse a game when he is at that carry on?
I always thought he was a kind of methodical calculated lad on the line kind of like fitzmaurice, jim gavin or mikey harte. I didint take much notice of him last year in his first year as the head man. Michael Murphy is getting the same treatment now as Donaghy used get, Maurice Fitzgearld used get, any really good marquee player really.
GAA really need to do something about it. I go to games t watch the Murphys, Coopers Brogans etc do stuff on the ball; not to see fellas hanging out of them at every turn.
I think its worse if your a big fella as refs seem to think big fellas should be able to take it. Tommy Walsh and Donaghy used be hauled around the place similar Murphy is now. There was a big fella that used to play for roscommon as well as a full forward, think it was mannion was his name. I was at a game years ago in croke park i think and he was belted from pillar to post but got nothing. (Ros werent playing Kerry I may add)
aido_d (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 08/03/2016 16:44:06