Disgraceful Behaviour

The Hermit. One team intended to act the bully yesterday and it was Kerry. Started at the first whistle with Donaghy. We were daft enough to get sucked in.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/03/2016 12:04:27    1831704

Ulsterman has yet to make any mention of a Donegal player breaking someone's fingers, and that was the worst incident of a game littered with terrible incidents (Kerry were certainly worse IMO).

Ulsterman is everything he professes to hate. A master at letting irony slip by him.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 07/03/2016 12:13:56    1831719

Sucked into mouthing and attempting to break a lads fingers?
Yeah Donegal are shrinking violets all right.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 07/03/2016 12:17:15    1831723

Posted this earlier on the other topic:

At the match yesterday. I am not going to Defend Magee for his Attempt on the Kerry 14 as this has no place in GAA. However you would only have seen this if you were at the game yesterday and specifically towards Magees end of the pitch, there was constantly 2 or 3 players niggling Magee yesterday when the ball wasn't in the area. In fairness Magee was giving as much as he was getting. What I didnt like though was the Kerry 14 giving Magee a low blow on 3 or 4 occasions when running out for the ball. This is no reason for Magee to do what he did but you can understand why players start resorting to this kind of behaviour. Everyone on here saying Magee deserves this and that and Galvin only delighted to announce it nationally as if the Kerry 14 was a hero. If Magee let loose on the Kerry 14 yesterday when he was getting dirty sly and cowardly blows would everyone be rowing in behind him saying well sure he has to defend himself. As usual what people see on TV must be case closed and bring out the executioner.

In Addition to this I had to laugh at some of the Kerry players who went into the tackle and threw themselves to the ground as If they were shot and the crowd baying for cards at every turn and then when Donaghy throws the forearm in on Ryan McHughs head and cleans him the crowd was actually cheering??

Every time Donegal got a grip of the game yesterday, the fracas started again and wouldnt you know it was Donaghy, Sheehan, O Mahony interfering with the Donegal Players who were having big influences on the game...Murphy, Kavanagh, McBrearty, McHugh. There was no way Kerry went out to play football yesterday. Had a good cheer myself when Aidan O Mahony got caught out so blatantly holding McBreartys hand to try and win a free. Dont think Kerry fans will like it but there isn't an ounce of football left in Aidan he is only used now to put other players off their stride.

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 07/03/2016 12:23:26    1831734

It was disgraceful in Tralee. Kerry obviously were out to ruffle Donegal feathers and break their concentration. It worked and we have the GAA being hammered all over the media today. A rather amusing side was O'Mahoney's 'tough-man' barging of McAloon along the sideline and then crying to the ref when the Donegal man was foolish enough to react and give him a slap. Some hard-man indeed.

Your right Aidan O Mahoney being the hard man then turns to the linesman like a soccer player Jesus man are you a hard man or not ? That dive against Cork and now this , very disappointed with O Mahoney trying to get the Donegal man sent off.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/03/2016 12:24:22    1831736

Donaghy's drag to the ground of Murphy deserved a straight red. No question.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ha_SByfKnt4
at about the 1.30 mark here.

I'm no fan of Murphy, but that attack by Donaghy could have done serious damage. He puts his arm around his neck, his left leg behind Murphy to ensure he brought him to ground, and brought him down violently.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 07/03/2016 12:28:34    1831741

O'Mahony has been at it for years so he's not going to change now. The irritating thing about is we all know his MO but referees and match officials still haven't copped on it seems. I guarantee though that everyone in Kerry thinks he's a great lad though. It is this culture of acceptance, no celebration of this type of behaviour that needs to be changed in we are any way serious about stamping out indiscipline in our games. A few harsh punishments would the first steps in this process.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9954 - 07/03/2016 12:33:02    1831746

The Hermit's point was that Donegal came down with the intention of acting the bully yesterday. That is what I contradicted, West Kerry.

Donaghy set the tone, flinging Murphy to the ground after catching him around the neck first. So Kerry started proceedings.

Donegal certainly didn't go to Kerry with the intention of that rubbish which Kerry started yesterday. We had been free scoring in our 3 previous games and obviously, Kerry were going to stop that at any costs yesterday.

Aside from the off the ball stuff, Kerry's general tackling has to be the most illegal in the game. How it is allowed to carry on, I have no idea. When you are tackling someone, you are meant to disposess the ball, with Kerry much of the time it's a case of man, ball, the lot. Dragging, tugging jersies, high tackles. Leo McLoone nearly had the head taken off him in the AI final two years ago and that type of 'tackling' is still prevalent under EF. It's simply not legal and how the referees won't stamp down on it is beyond my understanding. Donaghy is beyond the law it seems at all times. O'Mahony not far behind.

As for Donegal, I have no problem admitting that we were out of control yesterday like Kerry. McGee deserves a ban for what he did, it was clearly wrong. McLoone, Kavanagh and others all got involved in jostling and nonsense. The lack of discipline among our players resulting in frees being brought forward for mouthing is stupid and needs to stop. Was not like this under McGuinness.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/03/2016 13:28:12    1831797

Will Neil McGee face suspension for what he did or will the GAA just let it go under the radar? What he did was disgraceful, it was off the ball, miles away from the fracas in the middle of the field and left the kerry player with two choices, hit him until he stopped or have his fingers broken. What was going on elsewhere was just a loaI of pushing and shoving like youd get in any game but what he did cannot be allowed to creep into the gane. If he gets away with what he did we could see this kind of thing at all age levels trying to get your opponent sent off. If it was any other sport he'd be facing a ban.

LakemenAbu (Westmeath) - Posts: 134 - 07/03/2016 13:32:17    1831802

Will Neil McGee face suspension for what he did or will the GAA just let it go under the radar? What he did was disgraceful, it was off the ball, miles away from the fracas in the middle of the field and left the kerry player with two choices, hit him until he stopped or have his fingers broken.

LakemenAbu (Westmeath) - Posts:88 - 07/03/2016 13:32:17

He should face suspension absolutely. Everyone has agreed that it was a cowardly act and has no place in the game.

However more has come out since yesterday that Mcgee was getting hit off the ball from the moment the ball was thrown in. Not that this makes what he did any more acceptable.

Kerry's tactic yesterday was to bully and provoke the Donegal team from the throw in, nobody can deny that. Mcgee should be suspended. Along with Sheehan, Donaghy, O Mahaony and Rory Kavanagh.

HandballRef (Donegal) - Posts: 523 - 07/03/2016 13:54:10    1831820

Can I ask that Antrim fella does he spend any time supporting his county's hurlers or footballers?

I can't see how he would have the time, seeing as he obviously attends every Kerry match religiously :D

Thank God for Kerry lads, this place would have tumble weeds blowing across it if ye weren't so fascinated by us.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2016 14:18:41    1831846

Between making poems and talking about Antrim GAA you would do anything but deal with the issues others have covered

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/03/2016 14:45:35    1831875

what was the story with Paddy McGrath wresting with Darran O' Sullivan a few yards from where Kerry were trying to take a free kick. This is something I notice Donegal do alot . they try to create mayhem when a free is given against them. they wont retreat . the craic last week against Mayo when the penalty was awarded was also disgraceful.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 07/03/2016 14:52:55    1831881

Fair play to many of the Donegal posters in accepting their own teams culpability in a couple of the incidents. Won't hold my breath waiting for the Kerry posters to do the same.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12483 - 07/03/2016 15:11:00    1831890

what was the story with Paddy McGrath wresting with Darran O' Sullivan a few yards from where Kerry were trying to take a free kick. This is something I notice Donegal do alot . they try to create mayhem when a free is given against them. they wont retreat . the craic last week against Mayo when the penalty was awarded was also disgraceful.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts:3999 - 07/03/2016 14:52:55

Right enough goldrick, we're desperate altogether.

Cavan had a great win yesterday & yet here you are moaning & complaining when you should be walking round with a big happy head on you.

No pleasing some people.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5030 - 07/03/2016 15:25:52    1831903

Match got out of hand just like this thread , these things happen and when they do you just let HQ deal with it , its not the first nor will it be the last time fellas lose their heads , every team has players that when they take to the pitch they bring a darkside some times games go off without incident other times they dont .There are players that may feel a bit stupid after that game of course their managment team and fans will rally around them but equally away from public eye both sets of managment teams know that what happened was not on .
Dublin have players to coin a phrase can look after themselves so I do believe people in glass houses etc
Not going to bother dissecting the game as I know from being in Kilarney last year the camera only covers so much so Id suggest more sinners than saints on the pitch .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/03/2016 15:57:01    1831925

Hello everybody , back again amid a lot of controversy
Yes yesterday's game was bad , we got sucked in and our didcipline was poor
We can't condone Neil mcg but again he , according to some was being hit before hand
But if Paul Galvin can step up and say he got what he deserved then I can say it would have been OK for McGee to do the Kerry full forward
Again what Sheehan , Donaghy( almost every game he does it)o Mahoney and some more Kerry players do-- do most Kerry supporters condone or like what has been going on with some of the Kerry players over the last few years-- think Limerick v Mayo 2014.
What I will say is Donegal must get back their 2012 style discipline , it was poor yesterday and again last Sunday.
If N McGee gets suspended then So must Sheehan O Mahoney and Donahey
Then again was yesterday any worse than Dublin v Mayo last year yet one gets suspended and what about Mayo v Kerry in Limerick in 2014 Again who got suspended?
Plus if you watch Donegal games closely the ball carriers like R MC Hugh , E MC Hugh get pulled and targeted all the time yet nothing done about it The same with M Murphy yesterday , red for Donaghy and indeed O Mahoney got off Scot free in the 2014 Al Ireland yet Murphy was fouled all the time
I said it on here last year when T McCann was the villain that the GAA must act after the season ended yet they have done nothing keep appointing bad referees and no action from the linesmen or umpires
I want to see good hard sporting games , less jersey pulling less manhandling , more protection for star players who are targeted all the time video assistance for refs
Nothing to do with yesterday but can older people on here remember when Dublin v Kerry played in the 70's and things were turning nasty, they played a challenge in America and did a Dublin player not receive a broken leg as I think at the time Kerry were fed up with Dublin's roughhouse style( remember Micky ned)
Can anyone enlighten me
Also I was at four recent Donegal v Tyrone games in the championship since 2011 ( Donegal won them all) and Tyrone were proper gentlemen compared to Kerry yesterday

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 07/03/2016 15:59:55    1831930

SamT2012.. You profess that McGee was getting hit off the ball as if it was gospel. Why should we believe this anecdotal evidence? I could say McGee hit me a swantom bomb but without evidence its all speculative. What i do know from the video evidence is that McGee tried to break a players fingers. McClone struck a player in the face. Donaghy pulled Murphy down and O Mahony bumped into some Donegal players which seemed to annoy them.

dakid (Australia) - Posts: 332 - 07/03/2016 17:01:02    1831970

You're very selective about what happened yesteday and changing the facts a bit too.

Donaghy did more than throw Murphy down, he had his arm round his neck and used his leg to put him down too. This was completely unprovoked at the beginning of the game. He later swung his arm around Ryan McHugh's neck.

O'Mahony dived at a missed slap from Leo McLoone. Sheehan and O'Mahony and Donaghy were trying to incite issues all day and Fitzgerald is no angel either, despite Neil McGee's wrong and cynical actions, punching a man 3 times in the face is hardly worth forgetting either

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1478 - 07/03/2016 17:10:29    1831978

dakid

Can you please link me to the video of McGee trying to break Fitzgerald's fingers? All I've seen so far is McGee grabbing his hand.

Also from what I've seen McLoone seemed to strike O'Mahony on the ear, rather than the face. But I'm open to correction.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 459 - 07/03/2016 17:15:48    1831984