Best rivals

Dublin v Kerry is usually referred to as a great rivalry. Both teams would usually be prominent in the championship and u have the culchie v jackeen thing. But in reality they haven't been competitive bar a few matches. Really only 76,77 was tight and that was it bar a few heroic comebacks from the Dubs until 2011. Even in 2011 Kerry left the gate open and the Dubs came charging through. 13 was close although Dublin won at ease in the end. Since 11 Dublin have been pulling away from Kerry and I dont see much evidence that Kerry are going to get back anytime soon.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 25/02/2016 21:11:23    1828265

DCFC, how's it going fella? Haven't seen you on here for a while, was worried you were still comatose in some Stratford gutter trying to get the blood back into your alcohol stream! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 25/02/2016 21:14:50    1828268

Your right Liam,

Mayo have always been close to you in games, sure ye were always even enough so its no wonder ye both have got regularly annihilated by the Kingdom in big days in croker!

Rest assured no matter how poor a Kerry side is, they'll never be on the receiving end of a walloping like 2009 by any Dublin team, no matter how good they are!

That's just the difference between the two counties, the aristocrats and the pretenders! ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1082 - 25/02/2016 19:46:08

Aristocrats my a*se :-). Your crown has been ripped from you and you're not getting it back any time soon. What's it like down there in the mud? History hasn't run its course and there is plenty of time for Dublin to even things up. I would consider Mayo our greatest rivals now and Tyrone are a coming power. Never bought into this Dublin v Kerry myth.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 26/02/2016 09:20:57    1828301

Well Avonli it says a lot about Dublin and its ambitions if a crowd that hasn't won an All Ireland in 60 years are your 'great' rivals?!!!

That's a silver medal mentality but good on you, ya know your place ;)

Down in the mud you say, jaysus I thought the Kerry fans were meant to be the f*cking animals! You must have awful high standards if two finals and one Same Maguire in the last two years is seen as down in the mud.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2016 09:40:54    1828306

Your own people called you's f-ing animals not us.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2016 10:45:36    1828328

Hermit, i jusdge my rivals by those i am most afraid of
I am far more scared of Mayo than Kerry
they came a LOT closer to beating us than ye did
The AI Final was a procession despite the scoreboard, we were never in danger, ye were never near us
Mayo, if they have the self belief, had us beaten.
Mayo are like a mirror image of the Dubs in the 90's!
And we got there in the end, Mayo will too.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/02/2016 10:58:02    1828334

Mayo v Kerry in the '14 semi Mayo were a country mile the better team in both games.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/02/2016 11:02:06    1828336

Neighboring counties in Ulster tend to enjoy sticking the boot into each other, particularly Derry v Tyrone is a nasty one, as is Cavan v Monaghan.

Donegal v Monaghan in recent times has an unpredictable feel to it, and there is no love between those two teams, however this is more of a recent rivalry due to both sides being so successful and having tight battles for 3 or 4 years running.

Ulster doesn't have one or two teams that utterly dominate it over 40-50 years, which has led to a more balanced Championship where everybody believes they can beat any other sides on a given day. The likes of Dublin, Kerry and Mayo have a psychological edge over other teams in their respective Provincial Championships, which gives them a slight edge in every game they play. In Ulster, that rarely happens, as there is no out and out top dog.

There Is an underlying belief that a smaller team can take the bigger side on any given day.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/02/2016 11:21:08    1828348

Can't agree with Mayo being our biggest rivals.Kerry are the greatest football county on this island.The honours list proves this fact.I like to measure myself against the best.Dublin v Kerry will always be the game i look forwars to most.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/02/2016 11:40:51    1828361

Liam, Clondalkin its funny seeing what ye lads (and a couple more) have been posting on here ever since Dublin started to a couple of All Irelands.

The mentality of some Dubs on here towards Kerry is like children desperately craving their fathers attention, 'look daddy see how well I did in school today, amn't I a good boy!'

The desperate need to convince yourselves that last September was a procession or that ye ran away with it, when in fact ye won narrowly against a team that didn't turn up.

The fact yer making such a huge deal of beating us for a third time in 40 years!

The desperate longing you seem to have for us Kerry posters to say aren't Dublin great.

The desperation on this topic to convince people that Dublin and not Cork should be Kerry's biggest rival!

Its kinda cute, and I suppose only naturally for counties with the silver medal mentality!!!!

Lads its only all a bit of slagging,

Yer having great success these days go way and enjoy being All Ireland champions for the few months it lasts and stop worrying about Kerry or anyone else think of ye.

You've got to learn like we have that when your at the top, especially in this country, you need thick hides!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2016 12:09:20    1828374

Hermit, buddy, ive a feeling for all the slagging myself and yourself would have great craic over a pint or 5 !
But the fact remains, Mayo ARE a bigger threat to us than ye are and that honestly, anyone I know from Cork WOULD prefer to see cork beat KK than Kerry.
I am not giving opinions, just facts

(in terms of wanting ye to love us, i really REALLY couldnt care less, but I will tell you one thing that I will admit was disappointing. I was reared on Dubs Kerry stories, A Dub in a family of Dubs but with rich with Kerry blood in our veins. We were always led to believe from what we were told that unlike the Meath rivalry, that Dubs Kerry was more Like Liverpool Everton, ie - friendly and respect based and that unlike the rest of the county, the normal kerryman enjoyed the craic with the dubs, respected the tradition and was a good friend to us in a country of hostility. I was genuinely disappointed then as a young man in my teens early 20's when on regular trips down to the Kingdom, I discovered that not only was this not the case but that in fact, the polar opppsite seemed to be the truth. Genuinely was disappointed with that)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 26/02/2016 12:34:20    1828384

Ah Liam, I'd still maintain that affinity is still alive and well between both counties, No?

Maybe in lads who would only be teenagers or in their early 20s it might not be there to the same extent, but God I still have fierce craic at Dublin/Kerry games and win, lose or draw there's always some sport before and after.

I remember belting out the Rose of Tralee in a certain Dublin GAA club bar after the 2009 match and they all took it in good fun. Despite how sick I felt the night of the 2011 final I still made sure to go up to the club again to show my face and jayus sure the roof nearly came off when they saw the lad in a Kerry jersey walking in. And sure last September I spent a pleasant, if surreal, few hours surrounded by Dubs in that ultra dodgy Blind Ref bar!!!

At the end of the day, Dublin's been good to a hell of a lot of Kerry people down the generations and I think Kerry's been good to a hell of a lot of Dubs who have made their home down here over the years.

We won't fall out over what happens on the pitch just yet ...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 26/02/2016 13:30:11    1828405

Well Avonli it says a lot about Dublin and its ambitions if a crowd that hasn't won an All Ireland in 60 years are your 'great' rivals?!!!

That's a silver medal mentality but good on you, ya know your place ;)

Down in the mud you say, jaysus I thought the Kerry fans were meant to be the f*cking animals! You must have awful high standards if two finals and one Same Maguire in the last two years is seen as down in the mud.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1088 - 26/02/2016 09:40:54 182

Well, to be honest they have given us better contests recently. Hermit if you're happy to lose the All-Ireland and still retain your smugness that says a lot about your ultimate ambitions. Ir would seem standards have indeed dropped in Kerry. #animalsnomore. :-).

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1991 - 26/02/2016 18:48:59    1828513

40 years or 8-4 in victories, go back another year and it's 8-5. Plenty of time to catch up and I'd certainly fear Mayo more than Kerry as things stand!

Doesn't seem so lob-sided when you look at it like that!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 26/02/2016 18:57:15    1828516

2002-2009 armagh vs tyrone was a great rivalry. Also love watching galway vs mayo, dublin vs meath and kerry vs cork. Westmeath vs Meath last year was brillant too.

halfback_5 (Armagh) - Posts: 13 - 26/02/2016 18:59:02    1828518

Moved to Canada Mr.wexford. wish I was in derry for the galway game

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 27/02/2016 16:00:24    1828636