Best rivals

Monaghan and Cavan can be one shocker

Galway and Mayo ETC

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 21/02/2016 18:58:51    1827019

I've noticed lately that simply being in Ulster means all Ulster counties are apparently rivals. Even in hurling matches its "Ulster rivals Donegal and Armagh". Seems to dilute the point of a rival. Like nobody would call Galway-Leitrim or Laois-Wicklow a rivalry because they're in the same province.

Another petty complaint of mine is anyone younger than 80 calling Cavan-Meath a rivalry. Our sole championship meeting in the last 60 years has been a qualifier in 2005. Not exactly the stuff of legends and stories.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1677 - 21/02/2016 20:05:35    1827042

If we're talking competitive rivalries you can confine Dublin v Meath to a by gone era as well

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2558 - 21/02/2016 20:41:11    1827051

North Antrim hates.....North Antrim......who in turn hate Belfast and South Antrim.....and they are not dying about North Antrim either...... and Belfast and South Antrim are a bit suspicious of each other too....and the Belfast clubs loathe each other too. Welcome to the Saffron world.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 21/02/2016 20:44:06    1827054

Cork v Kerry is a rivalry. However we have not beaten them at Senior level in a knockout championship match since July 1999.

Dublin v Kerry is the big rivalry now. Dublin v Mayo is also close.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/02/2016 21:22:59    1827076

Well of course there is still the old Meath dubs one, and while it has been very one-sided recently (10 apart) it still invokes a feeling few other can match to.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/02/2016 14:06:26    1827203

Dublin v 31 counties

Every year the same thing but we wouldn't want it any other way.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/02/2016 14:19:19    1827211

SaffronDon

If we're talking competitive rivalries you can confine Dublin v Meath to a by gone era as well

Bit harsh, Dublin beat us out the gate in 2014 granted but most Dublin v Meath games prior to that have been very competitive (except for when we hammered them in 2010!), it's just that Dublin have been getting the majority of results these days.

Ps, if we do meet this year though I wouldn't be confident, I think we're at our lowest ebb in over a decade and Dublin are flying.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/02/2016 14:54:12    1827219

Hteam I'm afraid Dublin have left the rest of Leinster in their dust, Meath included. I guess you could look at a record like that and try to convince someone that was brand new to gaelic football that its not a bad record. But lets be honest, if the two teams met last year Meath would have been beaten out the door and if they meet this year barring a miracle the same thing will happen and we all know it.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2558 - 22/02/2016 15:11:41    1827226

As a Dub i will be totally honest here and say the Dubs Meath rivalry is very diluted these days. Its a shame to say it, i love meath in a way, and i grew up on Dublin Meath and nothing is as intense as Dubs Meath when both are flying. I never hated Kerry the way I hated Meath. Hate is a strong word and I hope the meath lads will understand what I mean by hate. Of course I dont "hate" anyone, but I hated losing to Meath and loved beating Meath more than anyone, incl Kerry.
But thats kinda gone now. Its a real shame.

I have to admit also, and apologies to JamesH, Yewtree and a few others here, but another team I love to beat and yes it has to do with the carry on of a few on here, is Mayo.

But of course, it goes without saying that the biggest rivalry of them all and the one that transcends the game itself at times, is of course (for us) Dublin V Kerry.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/02/2016 15:18:50    1827232

SaffronDon

I agree, there's no denying that Dublin has left the rest of the province behind, it's up to the rest of us to catch up now. I'm just making the point that a lot of Dublin v Meath games have been competitive in last decade, it's just that we've not got many of the results and people's minds tend to revert back to the last meeting which was a disaster for us.

However I fully acknowledge that if we meet this year it could be bad for us, as I say again, we're in bad shape at the minute, worse even than 2014 so if we meet this year, unless all the stars align for us we're in big trouble and it won't do any favours for the rivalry.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/02/2016 15:33:58    1827240

The Battle of the Boyne: Louth v Meath.

Biggest rivalry in Leinster:
Dubs v Meath

Biggest rivalry in Munster:
Cork v Kerry

Biggest rivalry in Connacht:
Mayo v Galway

Biggest rivalry in Ulster:
Derry v Tyrone
Armagh v Down
Monaghan v Cavan

Biggest rivalry in Ireland:
Kerry v Dubs

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 22/02/2016 17:27:42    1827290

Kerry v Dublin is the biggest rivalry in football.The aristocrats v the glamour boys from the big city.So many big games down through the years,with Dublin now enjoying an unprecedented period of success v the old enemy.
In hurling i think the biggest rivalry is Tipperary v Kilkenny.These two neighbours seem to always bring out the best in each other,with many of the greatest ever games played between the two over the last ten years.Where it was once a vitriolic rivalry,i think both counties have utmost respect for each other now.Tipperary had the upper hand for many years but the cats have dominated the last fifteen,with Tipp's only solace in stopping Kilkenny's five-in-row.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/02/2016 17:45:43    1827296

Smaller grudge matches include in Hurling or Football Offaly and Laois

In Football Laois and Kildare

In Football Down and Armagh

In Football Westmeath and Longford

In Hurling Limerick and Clare

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts: 704 - 24/02/2016 10:11:35    1827671

In football friendly rivalry Tyrone v Armagh. Bitter rivalry Tyrone v Derry.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1792 - 24/02/2016 12:07:04    1827714

Biggest rivalries in hurling would have to involve Kilkenny, Tipperary, Galway, Cork, I'm afraid Wexford and Offaly have faded away in the past decade or so, Clare, Limerick and Waterford also big rivals, in fact all games between Munster counties is huge.
In Football it has to be the big 4 at the moment Dublin, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo but Tyrone v Dublin always has a bit of spice so has Donegal v Monaghan or Tyrone but that's what the TV shows but there has to be big rivalries between so called weaker counties for example Sligo and Leitrim always fancy beating each other and on any given day a victory v Roscommon can and has happened, last year Meath v Westmeath was massive win for Westmeath

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 24/02/2016 12:15:17    1827721

I normally agree with a lot that you have to say Cue but to be honest most of us don't care about the Dublin / Kerry rivalry (media love in) as much as yous think we do. In fact when I think of Dublins rivals and epic games it's Meath that comes to mind, last 10 to 15 years apart obviously.
So what I think you should of said was "in my opinion Kerry v Dublin is the biggest rivalry in football". Opinion not fact

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/02/2016 19:49:57    1827916

Fair point benched.I actually misread the title.Best rivalries ; so many up and down the country.Every derby has its own special ,allure : Cork v Kerry,Down v Armagh,Laois v Offaly/Kildare,Louth v Meath,Cavan v Monaghan,Tyrone v Derry etc.There are lots of other rivalries from games played over the years : Cork v Meath,Dublin v Mayo,Tyrone v Kerry,Down v Kerry.They are all special and interesting in their own right and i enjoy all of them.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/02/2016 20:16:52    1827927

Liam - I am not surprised.....you only have to look at the social media Dublin accounts...one of which usually closed or starts the week with a dig at Mayo...yes this happens most weeks and most of the bandwagoners lap it all up....I suppose the fact we get under yer skin shows Dublin know on our day we can beat ye. Isn't it worse to be hated then to not be talked about at all!

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 25/02/2016 09:03:42    1827965

In all fairness lads, from a Kerry point of view it will always be Cork not Dublin.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 25/02/2016 11:08:24    1828001