Can Tyrone Backs handle Donaghy and Walsh??

Whats the views? Now being (tactlessly) called the twin towers a lot of people believe that the winning of Sam lies in the performance that these 2 players give or are allowed to give in the final. Whats the views in Tyrone?

Also best of luck in the final lads. Bring it back to Ulster.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 02/09/2008 16:11:07    90927

This isn't probably politically correct and is a tongue in cheek remark but we have seen bearded men in the past topple Twin Towers.

Seriously though - At the minute Justin McMahon is a match for anyone I'd say, with Conor Gormley picking up the other one.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 02/09/2008 17:07:58    91000

The way to do this is to prevent ball coming in to them. Mickey Harte will have his tactics right.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 02/09/2008 19:36:52    91144

Am not laughing at that one !! Honest, I am not laughing ! It's not laughter lines showing on my face, it's just wind !!!

datsundonahy (Tyrone) - Posts: 57 - 02/09/2008 20:01:40    91160

donaghy needs handlin not walsh, reputations count for a lot in kerry and these two have created a little mystique about them that i dont think is fully justified just yet.
you stop it out the field with a little bit of the dark stuff no aeroplanes required, but a few slaps wont go amiss, walsh is not long out of nappies and the way that donaghy boy performs hes not long of the bottle either. (cry babies) something tells me the two of them will fall quicker than o womanhony on rollerskates.

reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 02/09/2008 20:26:45    91167

I think the question should be can kerry backs handle the tyrone backs coming forward?

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 02/09/2008 21:39:58    91198

was sean not crying coming off on sunday so cut out the cry babies crap

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 02/09/2008 21:45:00    91201

I would like to see
Justin McMahan on Donaghy
Coner gormley on Walsh

Gormley on walsh because walsh is very very strong and i think gormley physicly can take him
justin on donaghy with ricey clearing up break ball (or possibly joe McM)

Skyblue (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 02/09/2008 21:56:40    91212

reddoctor...... ur starting the "few slaps" advice a bit early. Are u blind or something ? Have the kerry boys not shown to everyone that they are more than willing to exchange the "few slaps".If this the way for Tyrone to win then they will lose both matches in one...the boxing match and the football match. Keep up with the good advice and the bitter tone in your words.I'd say you are a joy to be with in the pub.
F.A.O. the genuine Tyrone supporters.... I hope ye lift Sam this year.Ye can do it by playing football.Kerry will be hard to beat but I believe ye have the heart and skills to overcome them.Let the slaps at home with the reddoc.Give him something to "chew on.

danpaddyandy (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 02/09/2008 22:00:46    91216

Will ye do me a favour lads and shut up those kerry folk for once and for all. They are scared stiff of ye in this final. They won't admit it but this years run to the final has not gone to plan for the Kingdom. With all the controversity involving Kerry players feigning injury, hitting referee's, surrounding and abusing referee's, off the ball incidents, they are really putting up a brave defence and going on about the miner breaches of declipline by other counties not least my own.

the way they would see this final is that if they win, then everything they have acheived over the last three years will be vindicated and the tag that they have won handy all-irelands will be gone. however if they lose while again they won't admit it, they will feel that they will be viewed as just an ordinary team that could never match ye northern boys when it mattered.

they do believe that they invented the game in kerry and theybelieve that they have a divine right to win all-irelands. if it was anyone else in the final then we would see alot of the usual arrogance from kerry folk and believe me, i know, as i have lived here for the last nine years. back in 2002 (beaten by armagh), 2003 and 2005 they were going on and on about ye northern lads on how ye have ruined the game of football. their game of football. ye don't have to be reminded of the famous "puke football" comments.

well all i can say is that if ye were guilty of playing this puke football back then well kerry have come along with a couple of nice stylish forwards and they have mastered puke football. thats never said about them, its never said that they are negetive or cycnical in any way, when it is as clear as the nose on your face.

best of luck to ye and i beleive that ye will beat them by about 6 or 7 points at your ease.

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 02/09/2008 22:01:43    91217

when we played Armagh in the past people wondered how we would deal with McDonnell and Clarke - the answer was simple we stopped the supply off ball going into them. it will be the same with Donaghy and Walsh - Gormley will take Donaghy and Mc Mahon will take Walsh and the rest of the team will work like trojans to stop the ball getting into them.

Donaghy done nothing against us in 05 because of the lack of ball into him and Gormley was the man to stop him in the inter provincial series last year.

bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 02/09/2008 22:03:13    91220

This is for happytobehere
I'd say you have been typing since about 3.45pm last Sunday afternoon.Pityfull stuff.Save your jealousy and bitterness for the langer forums.The good people of Tyrone don't need langers ,like yourself, posting short stories on their forums.
Can I suggest you change your login from "happytobehere" to "wishIcouldbethereinseptember".

derrymore (Kerry) - Posts: 180 - 02/09/2008 22:44:58    91254

I realise that the best way to stop a forward from scoring is to strangle the supply of ball he gets, however with O'Shea and O'Sullivan and the likes this is going to be a trojan task, At some stage ball is going to these players and they will go for the jugular, Man for man or through the tactics of Harte can Tyrone stop these two?

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 02/09/2008 23:34:30    91296

To BOCERTY.
Did you see the final in 05. Donaghy wasnt even playin.. Hed just broke into the panel that year. He was a sub alrite. The Kerry full forwards wer gooch, d.o sullivan and d o cinneide that day. The Tyrone defence had an easy job of keepin him quiet alrite!!!

Fred (Tyrone) - Posts: 34 - 03/09/2008 08:28:48    91367

conor gormley has the indian sign over donaghy any time he has gone man to man on him gormely won easy , prime example was railway cup final last yr in croker donaghy giving ulster defence a runaround gromley moved back and he was as effective as an ashtray on a motorbike. gromely is the man for donaghy and ricey cud have a "wee chat" with walsh see would he be able to handle ricey in his ear .

redhandman (Tyrone) - Posts: 431 - 03/09/2008 11:02:45    91470

stick mcmahon on walshe he has the height and strength to deal with him. Gormley may not be able to win the ball in the air against donaghey but he has the know how to deal with him, i would say gormley will let him catch it wait for him to land then crowd him out and disposses him. i think those two will cope alright with them. get mcmenamin on gooch. Tyrone by 3. good luck

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 03/09/2008 12:14:33    91611

Fred - i stand corrected thanks for keeping me right :-) - thought he came on as a sub that day

Maybe it was a premonition of what will happen in the 2008 final.........

bocerty (Tyrone) - Posts: 539 - 03/09/2008 15:57:51    91963

Tyrone could try a sweeper like how kerry did against Cussen.

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 03/09/2008 17:04:04    92036

reddoctor i hope you eat your words...no respect!

kyabu (Kerry) - Posts: 8 - 03/09/2008 18:11:30    92112

The danger is in and around the square under high ball. Tyrone defence is more than capable of handling anything outside that danger area, as was Monaghan's full-back line. Put McConnell in goals and, with McMahon, Tyrone will have the height to topple the Twin Towers.

Borderboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 277 - 03/09/2008 18:36:54    92135