Kilkenny's lack of football interest

Cuchulainn,

It wouldn't matter how much money you give those counties (or my own) for hurling development. It's not worth a damn unless there's a real will from within to make strides.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 05/11/2015 13:57:00    1804660

I'm about 5 stone overweight and havnt kicked a ball in years but can I join the Kilkenny football panel just for the gear so they can make up the numbers

westmeath2015 (Westmeath) - Posts: 153 - 05/11/2015 14:29:52    1804679

That just highlights the imbalance in the GAA cuchulainn. If your weak at football you get 300grand to fix it, if your weak at hurling you get jack ****. Considering strengthening one in most counties is generally at the expense of the other (broadly speaking), you'd have to question the gaas commitment to hurling

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 05/11/2015 15:11:47    1804692

keeper 7

One the best footballer i ever saw was a kilkeeny lad from the Rower/Instigue - Brendan Bolger he played for St. Brendan's and London, won a MHC all-ireland with kilkenny, but never was going o play with the Cats

I take underage hurling and have watched alot of hurling over yrs... in Armagh Middletown reached an All-Ireland Inter Club Final.... Keady and Cuchulainns have done well , Craobh Rua reached an Ulster Junior final and lost by 3point to eventual All-Ireland winners..... the effort is being put in at club level.... we aren't strong enough at county level..... we get NOTHING from croke park.... the 2013 hurling subsidy 700 euro per club was only paid recently in August 2015!!!

Kilkenny play in the British Championship and get well supported financially for it from Croke Park!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 05/11/2015 21:12:33    1804832

Cuchailean What year did that Brendan Bolger win all Ireland minor medal with Kilkenny.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 06/11/2015 08:10:13    1804845

cuchulainn35,

The Kilkenny County Board are obviously making a good case for funding for football development to Croke Park. My suspicion in my own county is that there's money coming in for hurling development but much of it doesn't go to where it's supposed to go. The money is not ringfenced & if a club is entitled to funding they're often not aware of it.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 06/11/2015 14:33:04    1804964

If you jumped into the fire would you expect Kilkenny to do so too and if they didn't they'd be disrespectful for not doing so?

Last time I check it's a free country we live in and not a fascist dictatorship.

Should New Zealand be banned from playing rugby until they are better at playing Soccer?

If Kilkenny are going to get banned for not taking Gaelic Football seriously then about 20 - 25 football counties should be banned with them for not taking Hurling seriously.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/11/2015 10:00:00    1805269

Cuchcullan 35 That chap was on one of the best Kilkenny minor hurling teams that won all Ireland none of them ever stepped up to the mark it was a pity.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 08/11/2015 10:19:34    1805270

Good point Flack and I'd share your views about the GAA not caring about hurling. If I had my way hurling would have it's own governing body.

Cavan stopped fielding a hurling team altogether in league or championship a couple of years ago and now we have a Cavan man as president of the GAA. That's very scary from a hurling point of view.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/11/2015 11:23:41    1805282

The great Paul O'Connell at a recent ceremony in UL had the height of praise for Kilkenny hurlers and compared them to the All Blacks. Many other well respected sports people, mangers and business leaders such as Martin O'Neill, Joe Schmidt and Brian O'Driscoll have heaped praise on Cody and his players. I guess if the Kilkenny set up is being recognised and commended by such influential and respected people they must be doing something right. And not only is this due recognition good for Kilkenny alone but it also focuses positive attention on Gaelic games. Now if Kilkenny's way is promoting hurling to the wider masses surely there are enough other counties, 31 in fact, to take up a similar role with gaelic football!

While not every post is negative towards Kilkenny I might remind those that are of a gospel quote -

A prophet is honoured everywhere except in his own hometown!

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 09/11/2015 11:49:15    1805540

I play football in Kilkenny and I can tell you first hand if we out our minds to it there would be a decent team here. People say theres a lack of interest. While there is in the general population, there is plenty of players who actually love playing football. I myself am one.

There are lads in my club who you can see if they were given the opportunity at a young age would be great at football. There is a a good few lads who play colleges football down in New Ross and Wexford from Kilkenny. Walter Walsh was a star in his school days I'm lead to believe. Kilkenny won the the BJFC this year and pushed Mayo all the way in the AI series. Only yesterday Danesfort came close to defeating Miltown in the club championships. So the talent and interest is there but lack of underage development is the issue.I don't ever remember playing football for my club until about 16 which is a shame.

I was listening to KCLRFM one evening after the British final and the football manager was on. A Kerry man ( if I remember correctly). You would have to feel sorry for him the way he spoke. The most challenging aspect of his job was just to get people to commit to the team. A huge number of players had to leave the panel due to different circumstances throughout the year.

I 100% agree on the point that hurling has become an afterthought by the GAA in the last few years. You would have hardly known that the All Ireland was on this year Whereas the football All Ireland is marketed as the 'Biggest day in Irish Sport'. Same with the All stars just gone by. The hurlers were on first just to get them out of the way almost like a preshow before the main event. Sure the hurling All Stars were released the day before the event while the footballers wasnt.

The GAA is a disaster at promoting one of its sports in weaker counties and fairplay to teams like Kerry and Northern teams for making huge strides every year

deadybai (Kilkenny) - Posts: 63 - 09/11/2015 12:23:54    1805555

deadybai
County: Kilkenny
I 100% agree on the point that hurling has become an afterthought by the GAA in the last few years. You would have hardly known that the All Ireland was on this year Whereas the football All Ireland is marketed as the 'Biggest day in Irish Sport'. Same with the All stars just gone by. The hurlers were on first just to get them out of the way almost like a preshow before the main event. Sure the hurling All Stars were released the day before the event while the footballers wasnt.

Some good points there in general deadybai but you're wrong with the All-Stars I think.

I'm fairly sure that they alternate every second year which code's team is released in the media before the main event. Next year the football All-Stars will be announced on the Thursday.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 09/11/2015 12:55:45    1805572

Whats most interesting is that whilst decrying Kilkenny at face value , It is blatantly obvious that the wider GAA's attitude to Hurling is a joke . Does anyone know why there is no appetite in about 20 counties for the progress of hurling ?
Why the disparity in promotion when it comes to Hurling ?

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 09/11/2015 13:11:24    1805585

Deadybai,
Judging by some of the posters here they are quiet happy for things to be the way they are in Kilkenny right now and seem to think there just is no interest in football with ye.
Doesn't seem to be the case though.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 09/11/2015 13:11:59    1805586

JohnWhite

Brendan Bolger played about 1993 - need to check - i think kilkenny won the double that day.... was a strong hurler, but a seriously good footballer, one of the best I saw, he played on that london team who put up a good show against reigning All-Ireland Champions Galway in Rusilip in 1999.
I think he managed the London senior hurlers for a few years....

My point is that every county has good players but not enough of them....BUT I don't think he would have played for Kilkenny at home.... it's the attitude and the commitment at home...

Just a few yrs ago Kilkenny beat louth in the first round of the Leinster Minor Championship...... but it didn't kick on!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 09/11/2015 13:17:32    1805588

the biggest problem is not just with kilkenny its everywhere,i was never given the opportunity to play hurling in my county,the nearest hurling club was 20 miles from where i live.All players at underage should be given the opportunity for both.I see at first hand in west waterford that in underage its one week football one week hurling,and that should be the process throughout ireland.In kilkenny this isnt given but just like throughout ireland.Danesfort done well yesterday and last year Railyard beat Aughrim from my own county in the leinster intermediate championship,Railyard just ran into a very good Rathoath team this year.I played against a decent kilkenny under 21 football team about 15 years ago,they nearly beat us and the lad i was marking told me if the 3 other lads turned up we would of

theriddler (Wicklow) - Posts: 193 - 09/11/2015 13:24:06    1805594

Every year the football or hurling all stars are announced early in rotation and this was hurling's turn to be announced early. So there was no slight on hurling, next year it will be football's turn. I said before on here that each county should have to ring fence at least one third on their funds to both codes and spend the difference where they like. It's not healthy to see either code being neglected in any county around the country. The last time I said that here I got lashed out of it by a couple of people but I still stand by it. If at least one third of the money is spent on the weaker code in a county it surely gives it a chance to flourish and develop. Probably will never happen but there ya go.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 09/11/2015 13:41:45    1805602

Couple of years ago in Clonmel we played a Club 7s football tournament where each county who wanted put forward 1 representative could. No county was allowed 2 for some reason.

We were grouped with teams from Cavan , Meath , Clare & Kilkenny.

The Kilkenny team topped our group. I believe they were Muckalee.

That was back in 2007.

Think we finished last!!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 09/11/2015 16:58:06    1805686

Deadbai I don't know what part of Kilkenny you are from because the part I am from you couldn't get lads out to play football they would rather play handball I had to laugh when you heard the the manager of the Kilkenny football team talking on kclr you didn't know his name all you knew he was a Kerry man the same man has guided the Bridge to two county titles one all Ireland club title in the last two years and he has trained other teams like st Martins. There was also another coach that the county board brought in for football coaching he won a County junior title with hurling a couple of years ago. I am involved in a club I find it very hard to believe that some of the members would like to play football because it was tried a couple of years ago may be its like what Henry said which was true about Donal og Cusack he didn't know us as a people.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 10/11/2015 09:21:46    1805807

Why doesn't the GAA promote hurling? Surely if the GAA had an interest in hurling they would promote the game. Most sporting organizations promote their games e.g basketball rugby

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 10/11/2015 13:26:21    1805936