Kilkenny's lack of football interest

johnwhite12 don't know what this has to do with Kk football but Galway play in Leinster the same reason Kerry are playing there next year there are a different standard to teams in there own province and are at a similar level to them in Leinster

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/11/2015 20:38:55    1804229

ROS1
County: Roscommon
johnwhite12 don't know what this has to do with Kk football but Galway play in Leinster the same reason Kerry are playing there next year there are a different standard to teams in there own province and are at a similar level to them in Leinster

And why do you think there are not teams near their own standard, in their own provinces?

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 03/11/2015 20:47:41    1804235

I am not talking about Kerry you were criticising Kilkenny football which people in Kilkenny have no interest in I am just saying Galway have to play in leinster because the rest of the counties in Connacht have no interest in the game you are telling us then what should be done.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 03/11/2015 21:13:19    1804247

Adamaski Kilkenny County board have tried everything to get the right resources in place for football the people of Kilkenny do not wont it so much that two of the trainers from outside of the county have switched codes have won county titles with there clubs won man has won two county titles. As regards football in counties there is no pockets in the county where you could say there is a strong hold you mentioned clare Tipperary as two counties have improved there lot south Tipperary was allways a great football ground and west clare. I find it funny when people talk about football in Connacht there is no Connacht hurling championship which to people like me that is as bad these people are telling us what should be done. As regards your own county ye get some funding off the tax payer which should never have happened ye were fairly bad at hurling before that may be if counties like ours got funding we could have coaches going around the schools every week like they have in Dublin you never know because the way it is here it is all done by the parish,

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 04/11/2015 09:06:54    1804276

Marlon Kerry are not good enough to compete in Munster and the Galway intermediate team would beat probably every senior team outside the top 8, johnwhite12 why then are there 15 kk football clubs despite kk county board doing everything the can to disregard football and even if you were right then you surely would agree that a county such as kk should have funding cut as the only support 1 code when every other county support 2. It is laughable for you to attack the efforts of any hurling while you defend your own efforts in football which is a lot less then any county puts into hurling. Every team in Connacht takes part in the hurling championanship and Galway going to Leinster saved that championship.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 04/11/2015 09:59:08    1804286

This recurring theme is fuelled by jealousy of Kilkenny's success at hurling. Cavan have not fielded a senior hurling team for a few years - when does anyone complain about that? I am as bored as anyone by the monotony of the hurling championship but that does not mean that Kilkenny GAA people should be forced to play and watch football if they don't want to.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1052 - 04/11/2015 13:19:36    1804360

I think the reality is plenty of Kilkenny lads will play football but won't take it too seriously. They will play it before or after the hurling championship & just aren't motivated to play it at county level. It's a lot harder to get footballers to tog out "for the craic" for a bit of junior 'B' hurling, I can tell you. Surely though, it's better to have 15 clubs fielding football teams with no senior county team as opposed to say 3 hurling clubs making up a county team??? What a massive difference it would make to the game here in Longford to have even 2 more hurling clubs in the county! Where's the push from Pearse Park, Portlaoise or Croke Park to make that happen?!?!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 04/11/2015 14:18:16    1804387

Gaillimh_Abu

This recurring theme is fuelled by jealousy of Kilkenny's success at hurling. Cavan have not fielded a senior hurling team for a few years - when does anyone complain about that?

All the time.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 04/11/2015 14:28:10    1804390

keeper7
County: Longford

I think the reality is plenty of Kilkenny lads will play football but won't take it too seriously. They will play it before or after the hurling championship & just aren't motivated to play it at county level. It's a lot harder to get footballers to tog out "for the craic" for a bit of junior 'B' hurling, I can tell you. Surely though, it's better to have 15 clubs fielding football teams with no senior county team as opposed to say 3 hurling clubs making up a county team??? What a massive difference it would make to the game here in Longford to have even 2 more hurling clubs in the county! Where's the push from Pearse Park, Portlaoise or Croke Park to make that happen?!?!

Bang on keeper.

There is far more opportunity to play football in Kilkenny than there is to play hurling in a number of counties.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 04/11/2015 14:45:34    1804395

Not good enough to say the people of KK have no interest in football ( and you are speaking for all KK people there ).Maybe if you put some of the funding into it and promoted it better instead of discouraging partisipation then it might have some hope of prospering.
Kk people may or may not want it but bottom line is they are not really given any choice and know nothing else but hurling.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/11/2015 14:52:16    1804401

ROS1
County: Roscommon
Marlon Kerry are not good enough to compete in Munster and the Galway intermediate team would beat probably every senior team outside the top 8

I think you're missing the point ROS. People are sledging Kilkenny for not having a competitive football team, but the reason they don't have a competitive football team, is the same reason there isn't a Connacht hurling championship. Yes, Kilkenny should make a better effort with football. But its one county. The same lack of will to promote football in Kilkenny, is the same lack of will to promote hurling in other counties that necessitated the creation of the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar cups in hurling.

I love the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar, but the one downside is, they can present a picture that everything is well with hurling. People see their counties field teams in these competitions, and think that everything's covered. They field a team in a lower tier competition, that's played off during June, and that's hurling sorted in the county. Well, if there was a Lory Meaghar, or even a Nicky Rackard cup in football, Kilkenny would be competing in them just the same way.

Now don't get me wrong, I watched all the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar finals, loved them all, and would love to see Roscommon, Mayo, Tyrone etc progress and become top tier hurling counties. I've been really impressed with Tyrone's success over the past few years. But being realistic, it would take a far greater commitment in these counties to get these teams to compete in the top tier championship, the same effort it would take to get Kilkenny footballers competing in the Leinster Championship.
So if you step back, and take an honest holistic look at the GAA, if you're unhappy with Kilkenny's attitude to football, you should be just as unhappy with alot of counties attitudes to hurling.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 04/11/2015 16:27:41    1804437

Kilkenny have won three Leinster titles in football and also they win the first ever Leinster football title.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 04/11/2015 16:56:55    1804452

Where are there 15 football clubs in Kilkenny when there is 12 senior hurling teams in the county you are saying that galway saved the leinster championship I beg to differ on that, didn't a brother of the last Kilkenny goal keeper play with a county up west Sligo a couple of years ago its lads like this fill the gap in counties in the lower divisions half the Kildare team is not from the county. Ignorance is a terrible thing you see no problem with no Connacht hurling championship but then you are on about a county lecturing them about the finer parts of the big ball there is enough bad teams including your own county I be more worried boy about how far the Dubs are getting away from the lot of ye with all the funding they are getting.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 04/11/2015 17:04:47    1804454

According to the Kilkenny website there are 25 Clubs competing in 3 Football Championships within the County , only three of which seem to be Football only Clubs.

lasttoknow (Tyrone) - Posts: 99 - 04/11/2015 17:20:23    1804457

Seem to remember that Kilkeeny won the English Junior Football Championship this year and were defeated by Mayo in the All-Ireland Junior Football semi-final. Not a poor achievement for a team that traveled over to England and Scotland for all their games. Shows exceptional interest.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 764 - 04/11/2015 18:00:13    1804470

Kk footballers could probably do with a bit more funding instead of putting it all into hurling not that they'll ever get it..

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 04/11/2015 19:33:54    1804498

uibhfhaili1986
Does anyone actually give a toss about Kilkenny not being great at football.

Yes they do - simply because they are so good at Hurling.

The Solution - Kilkenny to stop winning every other All-Ireland and this issue with some people will soon disappear

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1479 - 04/11/2015 21:43:51    1804532

Gaa Fan
County: USA

Seem to remember that Kilkeeny won the English Junior Football Championship this year and were defeated by Mayo in the All-Ireland Junior Football semi-final. Not a poor achievement for a team that traveled over to England and Scotland for all their games. Shows exceptional interest.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

I've said this before on here and this point seems to be lost on some, or simply ignored as it doesn't go with their views! They have been a pleasure to have for the British JFC and i for one am proud to call them our champions. They didn't do that bad against Mayo in the All Ireland Semi Final either if I recall correctly.

This has been brought about simply because a club side has got destroyed in the Leinster IFC, the question I ask is this, if the Kilkenny Senior team has been graded as Junior, why are the club champions from there expected to compete in the Intermediate club championship? I for one would be in favour of their club champions playing in the British Club JFC! At least they are trying to promote football in KK, or paying it lip service at least, not like some of the weaker counties in Ireland and their attitude to hurling!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 05/11/2015 11:18:36    1804589

Whether Kilkenny plays football or not is missing the point!!!!

They get massive grant aid each year for football, - 300,000 this yr alone which is more than Armagh, Monaghan, Cavan, Louth, Down Derry etc together get for the development of hurling...

If you don't want football fine..
BUT why take the massive grants and all-ireland tickets.......

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 05/11/2015 13:00:52    1804631

"I think you're missing the point ROS. People are sledging Kilkenny for not having a competitive football team, but the reason they don't have a competitive football team, is the same reason there isn't a Connacht hurling championship. Yes, Kilkenny should make a better effort with football. But its one county. The same lack of will to promote football in Kilkenny, is the same lack of will to promote hurling in other counties that necessitated the creation of the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar cups in hurling.

I love the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar, but the one downside is, they can present a picture that everything is well with hurling. People see their counties field teams in these competitions, and think that everything's covered. They field a team in a lower tier competition, that's played off during June, and that's hurling sorted in the county. Well, if there was a Lory Meaghar, or even a Nicky Rackard cup in football, Kilkenny would be competing in them just the same way.

Now don't get me wrong, I watched all the Ring/Rackard/Meaghar finals, loved them all, and would love to see Roscommon, Mayo, Tyrone etc progress and become top tier hurling counties. I've been really impressed with Tyrone's success over the past few years. But being realistic, it would take a far greater commitment in these counties to get these teams to compete in the top tier championship, the same effort it would take to get Kilkenny footballers competing in the Leinster Championship.
So if you step back, and take an honest holistic look at the GAA, if you're unhappy with Kilkenny's attitude to football, you should be just as unhappy with alot of counties attitudes to hurling."

You're spot on, Marlon.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 05/11/2015 13:13:19    1804640