~Biggest Bottlers of the Decade?

Mayo may have failed to perform on the finals of 04 and 06. They lost to a vastly superior team on both occasions and it seemed that Mayo froze that day and 'didnt try a leg'. As a Mayo man I have to point out that Mayo have contested two All Ireland finals this decade. Thats two more than most counties. Mayo bottled it on the big day against KERRY on ALL IRELAND FINAL day...I know that I'd rather have a good run and at least reach a final every now and again than tamely exit the c'ship every year with a wimper.Mayo have beaten most of the serious contenders in the last decade in either league or c'ship. The Mayo minors are in the final this year (against a very good Tyrone minor team). Its only a couple of years since winning U21 title, contested several AI club finals winning 3. Now I know this is scant consolation for our two performances in the finals of 04 and 06 but Mayos record stands up against the vast majority of counties in the last decade. Alot of 'outsiders' seem to be very concerned about Mayo football. They should sorry about their own county and Mayo will look after itself. By the way I think theres alot more to come from Mayo in the future. A few more things need to be ironed out on and off the pitch but generally Mayo football is going in the right direction....

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 05/09/2008 11:00:02    93557

patrique

if you know anything about tyrone and their circumstances in 2004 you would know they were not at the races, were not focused at all. donegal also beat them that year in the ulster championship who armagh hammered in ulster championship final that same year. tyrone were poor that year to say the least, so whats you're point?

samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 05/09/2008 12:02:53    93654

Good stuff Weary. One would have to laugh at individuals from Longford, Monaghan, etc having a go at Mayo. Good post.

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 05/09/2008 13:30:26    93751

MAYO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
And Roscommon when it comes to a certain McHale Park!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! What a crap place!!!!!!!!!

Diffman (Roscommon) - Posts: 4 - 05/09/2008 14:02:08    93785

spot on weary- mayo are heavy weights of the gaa- classy at all levels both male and female people just hate that success its simply jealousy- only one county in ireland has bragging rights over mayo and thats kerry- and do they resort to the pathetic level of the minnows? do they hell, they like us are content in knowing they are a great team and dont have to resort to gutter remarks and feel the need to slag a county in an attempt to make their better- we laugh at the lot of ye, bar kerry ye would all love to have the set up in mayo- most consistent county in ireland says it all really- lads keep digging and chancing it, we will do what we do best in mayo keep winning all round us and laughing at the begrudgers

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 05/09/2008 14:14:58    93804

"Keano
Good stuff Weary. One would have to laugh at individuals from Longford, Monaghan, etc having a go at Mayo. Good post."

Monaghan can hold their head high over this past few years. They should have beaten kerry in 2007 and were not far of the mark this year. They have not let anybody down. Can you say Mayo played their best in 2004 & 2006 finals?? Did they let all their supporters down or was the score difference a true reflection of their ability. That is the essence of this thread - bottlers or just a side who gave the best they had?

I think things are looking brighter for Mayo though. They have won an U21 which is more significant for the senior team than a minor title and they have a side in the AI mnor final. Mayo will come good in a few years if their supporters can be patient. Will have to give JOM a few years.

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 05/09/2008 14:51:58    93847

Ball-boy, "Classy" is certainly not a term that you will ever be accused of!

whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 05/09/2008 15:21:07    93889

Keep digging ball boy- spuds that is

Mary.Ellen (Tyrone) - Posts: 9 - 05/09/2008 15:21:27    93890

Hurling: Galway
Football: Dublin with mayo a close second.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 05/09/2008 15:43:45    93921

MAYO! your right Weary-they didnt perform in the finals of 04 and 06.i dont think it was to a "vastly" superior team though!(no harm to kerry) but their ladies team cuda done better! it ws painful to watch,especially when u look forward to all ireland final in september.Yes and i do believe armagh have under achieved in terms of all-irleands over the last 8 years r so esp withthe callabre of players that went thru the ranks.Dublin also have been creeping in for some time..

unlucky13 (Armagh) - Posts: 87 - 05/09/2008 16:38:13    93995

We were well beaten by a vastly superior team, John Boss. That's the simple fact of the matter. And in my eyes that's nowt to do with bottle.

Your point about Monaghan isn't valid:

Sure, they came close to beating Kerry and put in 2 or 3 good performances in Ulster over the last few years but they've won absolutely nothing and are in no position to slag off a a county (Mayo) that has 4 provincial titles, a league title, 1 U-21 title and 2 club AI's in the last 8 years. Weary indicated counties such as this are in no position to comment about Mayo bottling when they're not even reaching semi-finals, let alone a final. I was just agreeing to be honest.

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 05/09/2008 16:58:57    94023

You could argue all day about whether Mayo bottled it in 04 and 06, or (as the mayo posters are stating) "they just weren't good enough"....

I know exactly what it was. For Mayo it was humiliating, and for the rest of us it was painfull to watch and a real let down.

But yeah, what an achievement getting to the final. :)

Babsta (Tyrone) - Posts: 71 - 05/09/2008 19:51:56    94090

Wind ups aside, how can ppl honestly say mayo?? They get to the all-ireland final with average teams (knocking out 'superpowers' like dublin and tyrone en route) and get beaten by a kerry team which is now pushing for 3 in a row... They are consistantly getting to finals at all levels, have various clubs contesting all-irelands... Who, besides kerry, has a record as good?

can any1 answer me with genuine points proving me wrong??

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/09/2008 23:49:28    94186

Obviously nobody can Master...!

Keano (Mayo) - Posts: 412 - 08/09/2008 14:04:16    95197

Wow...great to see this thread back again...It's so truely engaging....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 08/09/2008 14:38:33    95243