I for one welcome this.

This goes against EVERYTHING the GAA stands for. We are the Gaelic Athletic Association and our raison d'etre and ideology are committed to a 32 County Ireland. It is to promote Irish culture, the Irish language and Irish Nationalist beliefs and principles. How in such a context then can the Association admit members of the British Army while the country remains partitioned? It just makes a mockery of the GAA and is political correctness and expediency gone mad.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 15/09/2015 13:06:16    1787688

Good to see the Tir Chonaill Gaels in London backing the move

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 13:19:33    1787694

What do you think of the limerick team singing 'Sean south from garryowen', bloodyban? Looks like they were ALL singing it too.

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 15/09/2015 13:21:55    1787697

I have no problem debating it.

Why would a british army regiment want to involve itself with an organisation whose aims, whether you like/agree with it or not, are completely at odds with the stated aims of that army and regiment?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 15/09/2015 13:22:19    1787698

Ulsterman I am afraid you are wrong the GAA is a sporting and cultural organisation and not a political one.Since the GAA dropped the ban and opened up Croke park the organisation has become much stronger and hopefully it will continue its progression at international level.

ifindoubt (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 15/09/2015 13:33:16    1787707

The purpose of the GAA is "The management and promotion of Gaelic games, and promotion of Irish culture and language"

Management: coming to a democratic vote to allow a team to play
Promotion of games: Allowing new members of all walk of life to play
Promotion of irish culture: this move will get more followers across the water and expose our culture
Language: Ive seen the top. The name is in Irish

Ticks all the boxes for me

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 13:36:46    1787709

"I have no problem debating it.

Why would a british army regiment want to involve itself with an organisation whose aims, whether you like/agree with it or not, are completely at odds with the stated aims of that army and regiment? "

I hate to show ignorance but what are the aims of this regiment? and how do they contrast with the GAA? (now that rule 21 is gone)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 13:40:33    1787711

You can maybe sort of understand if individuals who are British soldiers wanting to play for clubs in Britain but the reality of the British Army as an organised club within GAA structures will offend many, many Irish people. What happens if this club is eventually successful and then goes forward to compete in All Ireland junior, intermediate and senior competitions? I can ultimtaly see many Irish clubs,particularly in Ulster, refusing to play against them. So what happens in such a scenario? Will the GAA suspend or expel clubs who won't play them? Massive can of worms opened here.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 15/09/2015 13:43:41    1787714

Ulster man. I couldn't agree more with everything you said . As for royal dunne. You sit in meath in the comfort of your home , travel to games in the eighties and 90s , without fear of attack and intimidation or worse death . So I can understand it's easy for you to have such views like the county board chairman last night from Kerry . Far away from it all

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/09/2015 14:01:37    1787730

The thing is Bumpernut, some people on here who claim to be Gaels don't know or want to pretend not to know what the Association stands for. Strange that some people in this day and age can belong to an organisation thats ethos seems to be against all that they profess to be. I would suggest that before renewing their membership they should take a read of the first couple of pages of this document:
www.gaa.ie/content/documents/publications/official_guides/Official_Guide_2011_Part_1.pdf
If they feel so at odds with the aims of the Association I'm sure they know the option which would be best for all concerned, just don't let the door hit you on the way out.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 15/09/2015 14:02:39    1787731

It is all good. Anything to improve the game is a good thing, and the British army will no doubt offer a standard of fitness and strength that will probably be what london clubs need in terms of both competitiveness and novelty.

I never once had any trouble on my numerous journeys across the border and at British army checkpoints. They were mostly good humored and professional despite their situation, lets face it, none of them wanted to be there in the first place!

Another good step along the journey to normality.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 15/09/2015 14:05:59    1787732

Ah lads don't be starting this its at odds with what the GAA was founded from stuff. What you say is true, but the GAA had no idea Ireland would end up how it did back then. We're here now though, the wars have been fought and won or lost depending how you like to paint your history.

There's no point watching Michael Collins every odd Easter thinking wouldn't it be great. It's time to accept the situation we are all in, and all work together and make this thing work. It's easy to sit at a computer saying this is a shite idea - its easy to say football is shite behind a computer and its easy to say I am talking absolute shite (apologies for the langauge) behind a computer.

This country needs some positivity. The days of stopping someone or frowning upon them for taking part in sport are absolutely over and hopefully always will be.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 15/09/2015 14:08:49    1787736

bloodyban
County: Limerick

1787673 Its definately a positive development. I cant really fathom how 15 members of the London board voted against it. The Irish Guards are a great regiment. Thank you Mr Chairman for casting the deciding ballot . It would have left a really sour taste if they hadnt been allowed play.
I disagree with many of the posters here. Plenty of ordinary GAA members did take part in terrorism in Northern Ireland, just as plenty of ordinary members were unjustly targeted and harrassed. The naming of some of their GAA clubs after guys who got killed by the security forces or killed themselves either by bombs going off prematurely or by refusing food is shamefull. Bobby Sandshas some clubb named after him. It happened down here too with the likes of Na Piarsaigh clubnames ect. It turns off the protestant members of our community North and South and does'nt encourage them to send their kids down to their local club to play hurling or gaelic football. Also it implies all GAA members are Republican or Nationalist. Im not a nationalist or Republican and neither are my family or most of my mates..who all play hurling for our local clubs.The GAA is a broad organisation and isnt some sporting wing for republicans up North.

I'll try this again where is this Bobby Sands club?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 15/09/2015 14:12:16    1787740

At the end of the day we have a minority sport, when it was announced that Sky Sports were going to get games i was on the fence but think after the reaction that it has got from the English natives and High profile people such as Joey Barton etc. was the purpose of the deal to not Sky Sports to increase awareness and participation in the sport? It seems to be getting a warm reception from people and I don't think we have the right to pick and choose who we want playing our sport. If someone is willing to put in the training and do their own part for the GAA I would happily welcome them into my own club no matter what their background and think people need to realise that the GAA is no longer an All Irish sport, with the increase of foreign nationals in this country taking up the game at youth level through schools and within their community. After all the GAA is played all over the world, Places that the Irish have emigrated to and we have London and New York in our Championship.

Lets not be Biased
Increase Awareness and participation of the GAA!

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 15/09/2015 14:24:00    1787749

Ulsterman

This goes against EVERYTHING the GAA stands for. We are the Gaelic Athletic Association and our raison d'etre and ideology are committed to a 32 County Ireland. It is to promote Irish culture, the Irish language and Irish Nationalist beliefs and principles. How in such a context then can the Association admit members of the British Army while the country remains partitioned? It just makes a mockery of the GAA and is political correctness and expediency gone mad.

Whats your opinion on protestants playing the sport?

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 15/09/2015 14:27:03    1787753

Bumpernut and Ulsterman.

I respectfully disagree with ye. I'm no great fan of the British Army but I don't for a moment see why admitting them to play our games, by our rules, with our language stitched on their jersey is a compromise of what the GAA, which is not a political organisation by the way, stands for.

And even if the GAA were political question of partition will be settled by the ballot box. Not on a football field in Hounslow.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 15/09/2015 14:27:54    1787754

bumpernut

Why would a british army regiment want to involve itself with an organisation whose aims, whether you like/agree with it or not, are completely at odds with the stated aims of that army and regiment?

Maybe some of them just like the sports and want to play and why should we stop them? Also I'm not really a fan of sporting organisations (which all the Gaa really is, and a great one at that) having stated political aims, sport should bring everyone together, not divide people politically.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 15/09/2015 14:28:42    1787755

I will try again as I am not sure what I said last time which required censorship

Until there is apologies for certain things carried out by the armed forces this should not be allowed.

If DCFC and Royal Dunne et al are they up for this why don't you invite them to your home club for their inaugural match?

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 15/09/2015 14:32:39    1787756

The purpose of the GAA is "The management and promotion of Gaelic games, and promotion of Irish culture and language"

Management: coming to a democratic vote to allow a team to play
Promotion of games: Allowing new members of all walk of life to play
Promotion of irish culture: this move will get more followers across the water and expose our culture
Language: Ive seen the top. The name is in Irish

Ticks all the boxes for me

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 14:43:58    1787760

"I have no problem debating it.

Why would a british army regiment want to involve itself with an organisation whose aims, whether you like/agree with it or not, are completely at odds with the stated aims of that army and regiment? "

I hate to show ignorance but what are the aims of this regiment? and how do they contrast with the GAA? (now that rule 21 is gone)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 14:44:12    1787761