I for one welcome this.

No problem with them setting up a team sport is above politics.
Don't think Irish should be in the army separate matter though.

tom84 (Cavan) - Posts: 335 - 15/09/2015 11:13:53    1787570

I have no problem as a individual playing from any a walk of life sect or religion . But they are representing a British Army regiment . That's what I am against .

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 15/09/2015 11:25:59    1787590

essmac and stranmillis29 nice to hear other northern ones agreeing this is good for the sport and IMO relations. At the end of the day I doubt they will be playing on irish soil so what odds

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 11:27:03    1787592

HA HA tom84 thats a different topic to say the least. Sure we gave them their greatest ever commander.....must be something in the fighting irish. 1000s of Derry and northern people died in WW2 but we were promised something in return ;)

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 11:28:21    1787594

Fair play to majority of 6 county posters who support this,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/09/2015 11:30:45    1787596

This could work out great, itll be like in the old days when we were playing Garda GAA, all the headers would turn up, for once you could bate them and get away with it

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 15/09/2015 11:48:35    1787615

15/09/2015 09:36:15
DoireCityFC
County: Derry

1787481 So much for your claims about free speech on another topic.

'Your opinion only matters if I agree with it' I dont remember saying this!>!>!

"Id rather hear from other people who think this is a good thing and not the naysayers"

RATHER being the key word

This is what i was referring to. instead of discussing the topic at had you have a go at me directly as you dont have the exact same beliefs as me. very mature

What has maturity got to do with expressing an opinion or is it only those that agree with you who are mature?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 15/09/2015 11:55:03    1787625

You can vote here:

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 15/09/2015 12:06:59    1787629

"What has maturity got to do with expressing an opinion or is it only those that agree with you who are mature?"

Maturity has nothing to do with expressing an opinion. Maturity is discussing the topic at hand instead of taking your hate out on someone who has different beliefs than you and respecting that opinion like 99% of posters on here do. If I offended you in some way im sorry but I though my post was open enough and tried my best not to offend anyone knowing this topic is a sensistive one for some people who grew up in the 60s 70s and 80s.

Thankfully it seems most people on here took the topic for what is was and seem to be open minded enough to accept it.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 12:08:53    1787633

flack i have to admit the thought had crossed my mind but have the feeling these lads will be well up for the physical aspect of the game

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 12:09:44    1787635

I can understand why many in the 6 counties who grew up with harassment from British forces and continue to deal with vandalism and intimidation from some narrow minded sections of the community might have a problem with this. However, a British Army regiment in London playing GAA in jerseys with their name as Gaelige on the back? Kinda sounds like a victory for Gaelic Games to me.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 15/09/2015 12:18:27    1787640

Life has changed, let them play GAA and welcome it. Maybe then young men and women will feel more secure joining the police forces/army/prison services which would be a tremendous career cut off to the rest of us until this last few years.

Enough is enough, while the idiots (and I mean the lot of them) running Stormont are busy trying to make it look like a return to the dark days, the fact is, this country has changed and changed for the better.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 15/09/2015 12:23:15    1787641

Where do I post if I totally disagree with this ?
Have I to start another thread disagreeing with this thread ?

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 15/09/2015 12:33:05    1787656

roundball spot on. That and im repeating myself how many of these lads would have been involved in any of that. id say most are from the south and many would have never stepped foot in the north

Stopping these lads playing would be akin (but not entirely) to stopping kiwi, oz or nepal soilders who all have the queen as the head of the military, swear an oath to her and salute jack playing. Rule 21 ended 14 years ago. this is slow progress and its good to see that they waiting until relations were at an all time high before making an application to play

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 12:42:05    1787660

GetOverTheBar I had lost faith in this place due to a few posters. great seeming some decent people

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 12:52:49    1787669

Its definately a positive development. I cant really fathom how 15 members of the London board voted against it. The Irish Guards are a great regiment. Thank you Mr Chairman for casting the deciding ballot . It would have left a really sour taste if they hadnt been allowed play.
I disagree with many of the posters here. Plenty of ordinary GAA members did take part in terrorism in Northern Ireland, just as plenty of ordinary members were unjustly targeted and harrassed. The naming of some of their GAA clubs after guys who got killed by the security forces or killed themselves either by bombs going off prematurely or by refusing food is shamefull. Bobby Sandshas some clubb named after him. It happened down here too with the likes of Na Piarsaigh clubnames ect. It turns off the protestant members of our community North and South and does'nt encourage them to send their kids down to their local club to play hurling or gaelic football. Also it implies all GAA members are Republican or Nationalist. Im not a nationalist or Republican and neither are my family or most of my mates..who all play hurling for our local clubs.The GAA is a broad organisation and isnt some sporting wing for republicans up North.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 15/09/2015 12:55:27    1787673

Finsceal i can tell by some i was misunderstood. I dont care if people disagree i was trying to get more to the point of people not expressing opinions in a helpful way. I find some debates like this become childish and anti brit for the sake of being anti brit.

But as every member on here has a right to you are free to comment on any topic or even set up your own. As the title suggests I started this to hear posistive feedback. If you wish to say something negitive work away chap

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 12:59:22    1787674

So it's only people who agree with you who are "mature", "open-minded" and "decent" doirecityfc?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 15/09/2015 13:03:57    1787682

Is there a downside to this? I can't think of one.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4956 - 15/09/2015 13:04:30    1787684

Bloodyban i dont agree with some of your post but well said when you said this

"Im not a nationalist or Republican and neither are my family or most of my mates..who all play hurling for our local clubs.The GAA is a broad organisation and isnt some sporting wing for republicans up North."

I know many non nationalists and protestants who play GAA

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 15/09/2015 13:05:02    1787686