flack Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 07/09/2015 15:42:26 1784079 Link 0 |
Lads,some of ye are being disrespectful to Kilkenny here.I drank in the Sackville,Brannigans,Gresham,Sunset House,Bridge House and Lowrys yesterday,and had good banter with Kilkenny all day.Thank God my hangover is easing up now.To me,the crowds around these pubs were 50/50.Kilkenny,in the main,are very loyal,knowledgable fans.This really is a silly thread. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/09/2015 16:09:48 1784109 Link 0 |
Maybe the problem with the post match celebrations is that they are so poor in general. Since the ban on pitch celebrations, there is nothing off the cuff. Presentation, grand. Then what follows is a load of streamers from poundland followed by an organised 'lap of honour'. All very organised fun and when that is the case it all feels a bit lame. Probably why people vote with their feet and head off srb (Antrim) - Posts: 344 - 07/09/2015 18:33:49 1784216 Link 0 |
srb Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 08/09/2015 08:31:29 1784323 Link 0 |
This kilkenny fan is having a humdinger ! WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 948 - 08/09/2015 16:27:47 1784723 Link 0 |
There can't be too many other sports on earth where a team is accused of "killing the sport" by working hard at being very good at it. CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1696 - 08/09/2015 16:49:47 1784736 Link 0 |
Celebrations will never be the same now that we can't get on the pitch. Even if Limerick had won the McCarthy cup last sunday there wouldn't have been anyone on the pitch and that really is a shame. Thanks Louth. hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 08/09/2015 18:42:01 1784795 Link 0 |
I agree with the OP. Kilkenny are boring.How they escape in the media amazes me when you consider the slating certain Gaelic Football teams get for negative play and poor sportsmanship.Their tactics in the 2nd half last Sunday reminded me of Tyrone in 2003.Galway should have seen it coming of course as they used the same approach to beat Cork in 2006 and Tipp last year. Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 08/09/2015 18:53:36 1784807 Link 0 |
Condorman: Galway's apparent complete lack of preparation for what has become the standard KK game plan was hugely baffling and has made that game one of the most aggravating defeats we've ever conceded. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 08/09/2015 19:03:21 1784813 Link 0 |
I dont see anything wrong with playing traditional county ballads for the victorious team post game.I think it is quite apt actually.Why do people need the place to be "rocking"with banging tunes?Plenty of time for that later on around the various hostelries,if thats what you like.I also don't like the incredibly loud commotion and commentary pre game.It is headache material. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/09/2015 19:10:56 1784818 Link 0 |
I had Cats sitting either side of me in the Cusack.The guy on my left kept giving out about Cody throughout the game his main complaint being that he didn't pick the most skilful hurlers in Kilkenny! The guy on my right hardly said a word until with about 7 minutes left he said ' Thats her ' and then got up and left! Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/09/2015 19:14:10 1784820 Link 0 |
Cats to the left of me,Kittens to the right,here i am stuck in the middle with you!!!Meowww,sounds like you had fun barnowl! cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/09/2015 19:19:01 1784822 Link 0 |
A lot of these stewards that ensure people dont enter the field after the game are eastern european ex army headcases who would have no issue pinning your granny or you to the ground if you thought of entering the field. Totally over the top ...this and music blaring out so nobody can speak to each other ensures zero athmosphere after the game..this suits these security geezers...a far cry from the days we all could enter the field and do a bit of roaring. hurler32 (Limerick) - Posts: 871 - 08/09/2015 19:26:07 1784825 Link 0 |
Well said Cuede, the green eyed monster is coming out in a big way here. Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 08/09/2015 19:36:57 1784834 Link 0 |
Not my idea of fun Cuederocket! I have fun at the semi where myself and the Tippman in front of me engaged in verbal warfare for 70 plus minutes but at the full time whistle we shook hands and he told me he hoped we'ld 'bate' those unprintables in the final! Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 08/09/2015 19:41:09 1784836 Link 0 |
Kilkenny hurling supporters are dead on. They love the game. Kilkenny club matches have big following and in every village they are right behind their club team and their county team. There was 20,000 of them in Croke Park on Sunday - so a bunch of them left early and few of them got scuttered before the match..so what..the All-Ireland final is carnival..for an awful lot of people it is a whole day out, even a weekend..you go up to Dublin the night before..go to Coppers....leave a few blanks here....hurling is only part of the weekend..1 hour and half.. bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/09/2015 21:06:14 1784866 Link 0 |
I felt looking at the Kilkenny players after the final whistle - they thoroughly enjoyed the win. Its really about the players, the rest of us - the fans watch admire and roar or whatever we do after a win, but the players certainly fully enjoyed getting together and celebrating in the way that they felt at the time. All teams are entitled to celebrate as they see fit. Kilkenny based on their formidable record celebrate as they see fit. A certain amount of jealousy I feel is there with some of the posts. carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1883 - 08/09/2015 21:54:09 1784918 Link 0 |
KK have better fans than Galway TBH. There were more of them in Pearse Stadium for the league game and more of them in Croker for the Leinster final. elvistheking (Galway) - Posts: 99 - 09/09/2015 14:53:17 1785196 Link 0 |
This new-fangled lap of honour thing is a load of ould bollocks and everyone here knows it. People can't be staying behind in Croke Park all night. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1258 - 09/09/2015 16:30:07 1785277 Link 0 |
Honestly I think All Ireland final day is becoming an anti climax from start to finish. I have been at the last 4 hurling and football finals and its the same old stuff each and every year. Same pre game show, same half time show and celebrations at the end. Is the best Croke Park can do is half two big flags on the field for the entrance of both team or some shots of confetti at the end of the game? TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 09/09/2015 16:59:01 1785297 Link 0 |