Most anti climatic hurling final celebrations ever

The place was evacuated faster than a fire drill. Killkenny doing untold damage to this sport. Never seen such a bad Killkenny team win it either.

Galway literally fell asleep in the first half when they took a commanding lead like mayo yesterday.

Played absolutely crap for the remainder of the game. All the hard word thrown away and another all Ireland gifted to a barebones Killkenny.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 06/09/2015 17:22:43    1783381

Gotta say as a neutral it was an anti-climax , fair play to Kilkenny great win for them, but the place was practically empty on their lap of honour. I agree it's not good for the game having that sort of dominance. Not the river dance of sport that it was in the 90's :-(

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2493 - 06/09/2015 17:29:57    1783390

Ya'know wha Jack!!

I never agree with you, You speak nonsense alot of the time, But for once (and i cant believe im uttering these words), You are spot on, Well, mostly.

I dont agree that this is a poor Kilkenny team.

But the celebrations where pathetic in front of a tiny crowd, It was akin to how Dublin celebrate their Leinster final wins.

With all the best will in the world to Kilkenny's hurlers and Dublins footballers, Winning 10 All Irelands in 12 years is just boring and repetative.

Listen to the commentators towards the end of the game, They just seemed bored.

Teams literally fight it out in the hurling championship to finish runners up, Cause they just cant beat Kilkenny. And even if they do manage it, They will do it once in a blue moon.

I dont care what anyone says, there is a reason Dublin v Mayo was such a popular match in the media and nothing was made of this borefest

ZZZZZZZZZ

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13656 - 06/09/2015 17:32:19    1783394

Jack_Goff

Jack. Don't forget cows.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2866 - 06/09/2015 17:32:51    1783395

After that all i can say is thank goodness for football.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/09/2015 17:33:29    1783396

Such a drab second half. Turned into a snore fest, which was a pity after a lively first half. Bring on the football!

offyertrolley (Leitrim) - Posts: 141 - 06/09/2015 17:35:51    1783403

The hurling structure is also a joke, realistically Kilkenny only peek in August:September! When they played game in game out back in the spring in the league, they struggled. Still hats off to them, them lads put everything on hold for 9 months to achieve victory today. Sheer class. It's also
Up to other counties to get there level!

222 (UK) - Posts: 876 - 06/09/2015 18:04:57    1783423

Right cancel the show a few armchair footie posters have spoken !! LOL.
a mighty KK team win - yet again? So what? So you were bored well there's a surprise, nothing else to look at? or to do?

The only packed houses at Croker are the later stages of ANY code, the place was packed when it needed to be.

Since the KK fans where outnumbered 4:1 why the hell why would the Galway fans hang around?

You seem to be implying that no cared or were bothered about this game? Did the Daily Star not give it proper in depth coverage? Galway City was bedecked in colour.

A one team dominance is never good for any sport but it changes, anyone would think the football served up this year was vintage it wasn't.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 06/09/2015 18:19:38    1783431

Congrats kilkenny, it is not your fault that other counties are not fit to match how high you raised the bar. But it is not good to watch unfortunately. I think that there is no easy answer except that cork, dublin, tipp and galway have got to launch an offensive to stop their dominance. Clare were a flash in the pan, (a brilliant one at that), limerick and waterford promise something but always come up short. So it leaves the others to do something.

Football is not as one sided. The big 3 v the field yes, but not the big 1.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 06/09/2015 18:36:00    1783447

Poor sideline performance cost Galway. What on earth happened at half time? Get rid of Anthony Cunningham for starters. Regarding Kilkenny the GAA is skewed in favour of Leinster and maybe Munster teams. No All Ireland semi or quarter finals in Connacht at all. Time to change.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2652 - 06/09/2015 19:03:54    1783462

I am afraid hurling is at a "wash rinse repeat" stage,could be like that for another few years,unlike Leinster football which will be in a "wash rinse repeat" tiresomely predictable state until the dawn of time..

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 948 - 06/09/2015 19:22:02    1783478

Except the football is also a 'Big 1' as Sunday fortnight and the next decade will prove

KYTitletown (Kerry) - Posts: 816 - 06/09/2015 19:25:22    1783483

Congrats kilkenny, it is not your fault that other counties are not fit to match how high you raised the bar. But it is not good to watch unfortunately. I think that there is no easy answer except that cork, dublin, tipp and galway have got to launch an offensive to stop their dominance. Clare were a flash in the pan, (a brilliant one at that), limerick and waterford promise something but always come up short. So it leaves the others to do something.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3854 - 06/09/2015 19:26:44    1783485

Kilkenny are NOT doing untold damamge to the sport.
Its the simpering weaklings around them who dont have the guts or the intensity to out fight them that are doing the damage.
This Kilkenny team are just men and hurling is a simple enough game.
Whats the problem? Get out there and f**king beat them.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/09/2015 20:21:25    1783526

And for the record the celebrations were indeed crap.
Its their 8th in ten years. Winning an all Ireland probably provides them with nothing more than a sense of satisfaction at this stage.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 06/09/2015 20:30:23    1783535

The season is too long. Only the top 8 teams should enter the championship. They should all play each other once. The top two teams qualify for the final. There would therefore be 8 weeks of hurling. do the same with football and play them on alternative weekends and have a spare weekend for club championships.We then have 24 weeks of top class action. Scrap the league\Walsh Cup\ provincial championship.…KK\Dublin will still probably win all the time but at least we can get on with other club games...it is fair, it is organisedand can be planned..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/09/2015 20:33:28    1783540

JackGoff you should come out to the city west tonight things are living up here there must be nearly 2,000 out here its only getting started up the cats.

johnwhite12 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 306 - 06/09/2015 21:01:53    1783570

Kilkenny people are kind of boring at the best of times, and now theyre spoilt rotten. There was some skill in today's game though, from both teams. All that was missing from yesterday's football was present, brave tackling, high catches, long range scores. Was closer too. Just a pity those lads won it!

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 06/09/2015 21:26:59    1783602

Surely it's two years ago that you's were all on here praising the Clare / cork final and that hurling was entering a revultion. Even the than president of the GAA was it. I think you have to sit back an admire Kilkenny, their sheer resilience along with their skill. Along with a top
Class manager and might I mention his right hand man mick Dempsey , he Dosent get enough credit

222 (UK) - Posts: 876 - 07/09/2015 08:36:27    1783650

Do you train hurling teams in Meath yourself, Jack, or does your concern for the future of the game purely manifest itself in making posts on a GAA forum?

Because Brian Cody, the man who's killing hurling, has dedicated half a century of his life to playing and coaching hurling at all levels of the game. Can you even come close to matching that? Genuinely curious.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1258 - 07/09/2015 15:01:04    1784050