what rule in the book says if you punch someone in the face its not a red card offence, a club player would never get away with this ever joke.
Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 745 - 05/09/2015 10:33:56
Absolute joke and embarrassing for the player and Dublin GAA. The honourable thing would have been to accept the suspension and the consequences.
AllWhite (Kildare) - Posts: 172 - 05/09/2015 10:38:08
Let face it what you are dealing with here is a hugely successful organisation that basically operates on the good will and hard graft of thousands of members who give it the standing that it has but essentially it is simply not able to run its affairs in a manner other than amateurish. Consider the fiasco with ticket sales recently and now just another example of how loosely this organisation is run when it comes down to it.Diarmuid Connolly whether posters like him or hate him is a victim as much as a villain in all of this. He will go out and play the game he loves today and win loose or draw he'll have to put up with the boos and cheers of those who know the game is better for having him in it whether the same can be said for those who preside over it or not is another matter.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/09/2015 10:39:13
uibhfhaili1986
that was the statement issued by the DRA themselves not my opinion they concluded the GAA deliberatly hindered Connollys right to defend himself in the appeals process not in the football match. They have also in the statement issued declared they will be delivering a full document on the case in two weeks time presumably after the all ireland ends so the GAA could be in hot water here as the chair of this committee was the supreme court judge
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 10:43:46
All dub lads.. O connor did not throw a punch.. O carroll was pulling and dragging and he freed himself.. If O'carrol was defending legitimately then nothing was going to happen... fight fire with fire..
sxckev (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 05/09/2015 10:43:55
05/09/2015 10:39:13 Dubh_linn County: Dublin Posts: 393
1782576 Let face it what you are dealing with here is a hugely successful organisation that basically operates on the good will and hard graft of thousands of members who give it the standing that it has but essentially it is simply not able to run its affairs in a manner other than amateurish. Consider the fiasco with ticket sales recently and now just another example of how loosely this organisation is run when it comes down to it.Diarmuid Connolly whether posters like him or hate him is a victim as much as a villain in all of this. He will go out and play the game he loves today and win loose or draw he'll have to put up with the boos and cheers of those who know the game is better for having him in it whether the same can be said for those who preside over it or not is another matter.
how is he a victim? he throw a punch?
kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/09/2015 10:44:01
Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 2495
1782555 uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 638
1782525 To the 2 Dublin posters above.
2 wrongs don't make a right.
Connolly committed a red card offence and then was given a red card.There was no evidence that shows he didn't deserve to get a red card.
What anyone else did is irrelevant.
To use an analogy.Just because one murderer was not caught by the guards does not mean the justice system should free every murderer in jail right now.
------ Well Sherlock unfortunately your analogy is flawed. There is clear video evidence of the second murder in this case and the first (Connolly's) was an act of self-defence as he was being choked at the time. Any more theories or do you need to phone Watson now?
Nowhere in the rule book does it say that striking someone in retaliation to something else is allowed.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/09/2015 10:45:28
uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 639
Connolly committed a red card offence and then was given a red card.There was no evidence that shows he didn't deserve to get a red card.
To use an analogy.Just because one murderer was not caught by the guards does not mean the justice system should free every murderer in jail right now.
Just wondering did you make the same complaints when keegaan got off last year and keane got off a few weeks ago?
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 05/09/2015 10:46:25
uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 640
1782585 Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 2495
1782555 uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 638
------ Well Sherlock unfortunately your analogy is flawed. There is clear video evidence of the second murder in this case and the first (Connolly's) was an act of self-defence as he was being choked at the time. Any more theories or do you need to phone Watson now?
Nowhere in the rule book does it say that striking someone in retaliation to something else is allowed.
---- Yes that's exactly what I'm saying isn't it? A strike is a strike. Two players punched why should one be banned when there is clear evidence of both?
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 05/09/2015 10:51:34
superbluedub County: Dublin Posts: 592
1782588 uibhfhaili1986 County: Offaly Posts: 639
Just wondering did you make the same complaints when keegaan got off last year and keane got off a few weeks ago?
Yes.No way should Keane have got off.
I post on Boards.ie under a different name and this is what I wrote regarding Keegan last year:
"Bad decision which really undermines referees in general.
Keegan kicked an opponent.It may not have been much but he kicked an opponent which is a red card offence and it should have been upheld.
Whats the point in having a rule book when the referee applies the rules his decision is then considered to be incorrect"
This is what I wrote about Keane on the same forum:
"Kevin Keanes ban is overturned and he is set to play.No action taken against Michel Murphy for instigating the incident either.
The GAA's disciplinary bodies really are a disgrace.The players above should be banned for some length of time but again the GAA have decided to turn a blind eye ill discipline but will then wonder why the players don't behave themselves."
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/09/2015 10:54:12
kerryluck County: Kerry Posts: 2402
1782567 Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 2495 conolly threw the punch? did the mayo players throw a punch? did connolly have to punch him? no he did not self defence? are you joking?
Have an unbiased look at the video,connolly was being held in a head lock,and yes mayo player did throw a punch and no joxer is not joking and either am i.
superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2848 - 05/09/2015 10:59:30
If Lee Keegan,Cillian O'Connor,Cluxton and Phillip McMahon were all banned for the game based on their indiscretions (that I saw) last week I wouldn't have an issue.
The GAA not dealing with them still does not mean that Connolly (who was punished during the game) should have had his suspension quashed.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/09/2015 11:00:07
hill16no1man County: Dublin Posts: 10302
1782581 uibhfhaili1986
that was the statement issued by the DRA themselves not my opinion they concluded the GAA deliberatly hindered Connollys right to defend himself in the appeals process not in the football match. They have also in the statement issued declared they will be delivering a full document on the case in two weeks time presumably after the all ireland ends so the GAA could be in hot water here
as the chair of this committee was the supreme court judge
I know it was there statement but I can't understand where they think the GAA hindered his appeal.There were no grounds for an appeal in the first place as he clearly committed a red card offence.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/09/2015 11:01:29
everybody has a right to appeal and the gaa not in football terms must have deliberatly sabbotaged an attempt to fairly defend himself this could land the GAA in big trouble as it sounds like they were cheating and looking to suspend him without giving him the oppurtunity to fairly defend himself
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 11:07:04
superbluedub County: Dublin Posts: 594
1782607 kerryluck County: Kerry Posts: 2402
1782567 Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 2495 conolly threw the punch? did the mayo players throw a punch? did connolly have to punch him? no he did not self defence? are you joking?
Have an unbiased look at the video,connolly was being held in a head lock,and yes mayo player did throw a punch and no joxer is not joking and either am i.
you on about unbiased? did he have to punched him no? but players ae not supposed to retaliate?
kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 05/09/2015 11:07:19
how is he a victim? he throw a punch?
Well if you consider the precedent that was set and the fact that this guy has to go out and play an all Ireland semi final today after going through 3 hearings at God know what time of the night after a days work and all the crap that is in the media surrounding it when he should have been cleared the first day all be it due to the stupidity of of the committees involved and their allowing double standards to prevail then I think its pretty obvious why he's a victim if you want to see it.
Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/09/2015 11:08:08
Why would refs bother handing out red cards any more and why should players accept a red card when they know it will be overturned. The GAA are turning themselves into a bad joke. Maybe we should scrap the rule book altogether and just have a free for all. Nothing personal against Connolly even though he has benefited twice under the system.
neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/09/2015 11:08:46
uibhfhaili1986
I know it was there statement but I can't understand where they think the GAA hindered his appeal.There were no grounds for an appeal in the first place as he clearly committed a red card offence.
Spot on, that's exactly the first thing I thought of when they said his appeal was hindered, there was no legitimate appeal to hinder in the first place! He committed a red card offense (regardless of the circumstances) and rightly got a red card, what's the issue.
Now having said that I have no problem with Dublin appealing the ban, why the hell wouldn't they when so many players get off, it's only natural that they'd appeal, the Gaa are a joke when it comes bans.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2015 11:12:35
Htaem
your completly missing the reason he got his appeal successfull The GAA deliberatly hindered his right to defend himself in the appeals hearing they were found to be trying to make sure he had no chance of making a successfull appeal thats clearly a huge case the GAA are going to have to answer for as thats cheating
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 05/09/2015 11:20:54
Red card offence = red card = match ban, it's very simple, there is no legitimate appeal to hinder.
Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/09/2015 11:27:34