This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
If there's a high attendance at a game how many of those at the game will need to check RTE afterwards for the score? If RTE show highlights from the Australian Open on 6:01 how many of their target audience would be at the tennis in Australia ?
If there are 82,000 at the All Ireland football final and RTE has full coverage plus analysis of the game watched by the majority of TV viewers in Ireland, why shouldn't RTE on their 6:01 news show highlights of Premier League Soccer or Pro 12 rugby or Tiddlywinks from Taiwan? The clue is in the title 'News' they're informing people about some story they don't know about. They're in it for commercial gain, to increase viewing figures. If a channel wants to show bilge like the X Factor they're probably doing so because there's an audience and they can cash in. RTE has some of the most apalling attempts at comedy ever inflicted on primates. I don't like it, similarl to some of ye not liking rugby or soccer, but I've a yoke called a remote control.
This public broadcaster should have more coverage of our national games line is nothing more than hopeful stuff. They have no mandate to do so that I can see. If they have then please copy a URL showing this. If it bothers you that much go and do something about it. Publicising a list of problems doesn't solve them. As Killer pointed out it's election year. Seems to me your so-called issue is a bit like complaining about politicians but not only will you not do something proactive about it like getting involved in politics, you won't even vote. Bar stool politics, the system is wrong let's feel sorry for ourselves. Everyday this post, whinge, whinge, whinge, nothing proactive about how you might address this heinous grievance . How would anything ever get done with that atitude?
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2074 - 26/01/2016 12:18:08
I agree with everything that you have said here. You can fin plenty of GAA coverage elsewhere. I also don't think RTE is biased. They give plenty of GAA coverage. You are right that they have no mandate to cover GAA games either.
However, as you (and Jonesboro) are rational and clearminded , why do you think (in your opinion) they would choose not to call out the result of an O'Byrne Cup game involiving Dublin on a Wednesday night? Not trying start an argument and definitely not justifying them sending a reporter or anything like that. I feel if 82,000 people attend a Dublin match in September they will at least have the interest in knowing the score of match they are involved in (even if they do not attend and don't want highlights).
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/01/2016 14:33:23
I don't know why Benny. But maybe those who feel offended that they don't call out results of their particular sport might find out and if they're that put out then do something about it. So far it seems they won't do that but have a rant on here about a bias against their preferred sport but seem intolerant of most sports other than GAA sports.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8186 - 26/01/2016 15:24:55
GreenAndRed,
This is a Gaelic Games site & we are on it's forum. Where would you prefer we have a rant about a (perceived or not) lack of GAA coverage in comparison with other less-well-attended sports?
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 26/01/2016 16:00:11
26/01/2016 12:19:12 keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:2613 Ormondo, "Attendances are not the be all and end all" Can you describe what a better indicator of public interest might be? And these attendances are hardly promoted by the GAA & even less so by our national broadcaster.Drop the name calling. Its Ormond. Television figures. If attendance figures were the be all and end all then why is their so many arguments/discussion in renegotiations of competitions over tv. Television rights are always bigger and better indicators of interest. 26/01/2016 12:36:11 benched (Tyrone) - Posts:210 - By "gaelic" I presume you are talking about football?No. Im talking about tiddlywinks.... Why do you have an issue with me calling the sport gaelic football by the term gaelic? Who said I had an issue? I was just checking which of the Gaelic games you were referring to, as you name checked hurling I was guessing you were referring to football but I didn't want to be presumptuous. Tiddlywinks by the way is not under the remit of the GAA. "Fourth string" competition is stretching your point somewhat and I would argue that attendances do show the interest in the country for these matches, attendances which much to the dismay of some on here, show that there is a higher interest in 3rd (or if you want 4th) string football & hurling competitions than for a lot of other sports, which has been highlighted, receive more coverage than these matches do by the national broadcaster.It should have been very clear what I was referring to. I said gaelic. One of the primary sports of the GAA is gaelic football often shortened to gaelic. I didn't use the term football as that is a sport otherwise known as soccer. Fourth tier/string. Same thing. These competitions are the pre season warm ups behind the all Ireland/provincial championships and the league in every extent. By scale of interest per sport there isn't more interest in these 4th tier events than other sports. Attendances at the event isn't and never will be the sole indicator of an events popularity.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 26/01/2016 17:10:05
Attendances are not the be all and end all and these are by and large 4th string competitions for the counties behind all Ireland/provincial championships and the league
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts:10771 - 26/01/2016 11:16:58 1819312
I thought these competitions were 3rd string a few weeks ago according to you?
BTW you do realise the all Ireland / provincial championships are the same competition? Or do you consider the group stages of the European cup different from the knockout stages?
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 26/01/2016 17:12:24
Paraic Duffy's Annual Report for 2015 was released this morning. It runs to 43 pages yet the headline story on RTE Sport online concentrates on just one paragraph, the one dealing with indiscipline. Not a single positive thing to report on in all 43 pages? Hard to believe isn't it?
mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 26/01/2016 21:36:27
Keeper. I am glad there's a rant against, what seems good claims, that RTE have a bias against towards sports above GAA, I'm not arguing that. What I'm saying is that it's a continuous rant and whinge about it with no proactive ideas or actions about how to fix it. I even put up a few suggestions here and the previous thread. Complaining about something, like politicians, is well and good but in my mind if you're not interested in being involved in politics and don't even vote you should stop complaining as it's pointless.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8186 - 26/01/2016 21:41:47
What do you want posters to do G&R? Apply for employment in the RTE sports department? March on Montrose? I emailed RTE about the sports news last St Patrick Day and they responded to say they could not justify its content that day and will look to correct it in future. The first thing anyone needs to do is establish if there is a bias, many on here clearly believe there isn't despite Mediamans work.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 26/01/2016 21:56:39
MEdiaman- Not a single positive thing to report on in all 43 pages? Hard to believe isn't it?
Not a single positive thing to report on re RTE TV/web coverage from you in all 28 pages (so far) of this thread and 80 odd pages of the previous thread , hard to believe isn't it
GAA director general Páraic Duffy has defended the GAA's disciplinary system in his annual report, and described the outcry over Diarmuid Connolly's Disputes Resolution Authority appeal success as "'lazy headline-seeking commentary
-bit like some of the anti rugby guff we are seeing on the hoganstand forum
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 27/01/2016 09:39:33
Mr. Ormond,
"If attendance figures were the be all and end all then why is their so many arguments/discussion in renegotiations of competitions over tv. Television rights are always bigger and better indicators of interest."
What a ridiculous claim. Doesn't even deserve a response.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 27/01/2016 12:14:24
I thought these competitions were 3rd string a few weeks ago according to you?
BTW you do realise the all Ireland / provincial championships are the same competition? Or do you consider the group stages of the European cup different from the knockout stages?
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:2710 - 26/01/2016 3rd/4th rate... much the same. Provincial championships are not the same as all Ireland. They play a role but theyre not the same competition. Everyone enters the provincial championship and all Ireland championship. Your entry into the all Ireland championship is determined by how you do in your provincial championship and every side enters both The European cup in rugby and your analogy is completely different and totally wrong. 26/01/2016 21:56:39 Soma (UK) - Posts:1271 - What do you want posters to do G&R? Apply for employment in the RTE sports department? March on Montrose? I emailed RTE about the sports news last St Patrick Day and they responded to say they could not justify its content that day and will look to correct it in future. The first thing anyone needs to do is establish if there is a bias, many on here clearly believe there isn't despite Mediamans work.Where are people actually contacting RTE? Mediaman posting here makes people here aware of supposed bias? But where are the people contacting RTE? Where is there petitions created to highlight the "unjust" nature of sports coverage In RTE?
Ormond "If attendance figures were the be all and end all then why is their so many arguments/discussion in renegotiations of competitions over tv. Television rights are always bigger and better indicators of interest."
What a ridiculous claim. Doesn't even deserve a response.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:2614 - 27/01/2016 12:14:24 Look at the European rugby debates and changes to structure. TV rights are much more significant issues than attendance through the gate of stadiums
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/01/2016 12:28:22
RTE should really cop on with more coverage there should be a channel should only shows sports
RTE SPORTS 1 RTE SPORTS 2
oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 28/01/2016 12:37:47
RTE should really cop on with more coverage there should be a channel should only shows sports
RTE SPORTS 1 RTE SPORTS 2
oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts:22 - 28/01/2016 12:37:47Who would fund this? RTE are already cutting back on the sport they do cover due to extra competition. The BBC is significantly bigger than RTE yet doesn't have a dedicated sports channel so why do you think RTE would or should
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 28/01/2016 16:24:53
3rd/4th rate... much the same. Provincial championships are not the same as all Ireland. They play a role but theyre not the same competition. Everyone enters the provincial championship and all Ireland championship. Your entry into the all Ireland championship is determined by how you do in your provincial championship and every side enters both The European cup in rugby and your analogy is completely different and totally wrong. 3rd rate and 4th rate much the same? So the Heineken cup is the same as pro 12? FA cup same as the league cup? Wise up Ormo. Provincials and All Ireland are the same competition. They are all part of the All Ireland championship. I am beginning to question if you have any interest at all in gaelic games?
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 30/01/2016 10:39:28
In all fairness that is dung . The provincial championships are an integral part if the All Ireland championships . They are real competitions .
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6185 - 30/01/2016 11:55:33
3rd rate and 4th rate much the same? So the Heineken cup is the same as pro 12? FA cup same as the league cup? Wise up Ormo. Provincials and All Ireland are the same competition. They are all part of the All Ireland championship. I am beginning to question if you have any interest at all in gaelic games? gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts:2714 - 30/01/2016 10:39:28The provinces are all part of the all Ireland competition. The competitions are completely interlinked. That is not the case with the fa cup and league cup. Wise up yourself gomi
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 30/01/2016 11:56:10
Really Gotmilk? Are you only starting to ask yourself that question now?
benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 30/01/2016 19:39:02
Ormo where did i say the fa cup and league cup were the same competition? In one post you said all ireland and provincials were separate now you say they are the same. At least stay consistent.
gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 31/01/2016 08:25:46
30,107 - the attendance at last night's NFL Division 1 match in Croke Park. 14.495 - the total attendance at the 4 Rugby Union Pro 12 matches this weekend involving Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connacht.
mediaman (Antrim) - Posts: 355 - 31/01/2016 10:23:58
The Welsh and Italian media must have an anti-rugby bias. Fair play the Connacht, great bonus point win.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8186 - 31/01/2016 12:37:05