This topic has been closed. No further posting is allowed.
True Duckula. But the Sunday Game doesn't help themselves at times. Allowing Brolly make those comments about Cavanagh. Any smart player would have done the same. Allowing McStay to hold a kangaroo court and single out McMahon inviting the GAA authorities to consider a retrospective ban wasn't good. Let the refs and authorities do their job without outside interference.
Rugby have professional media people who can get in and try a positive spin on a negative story like O'Brien striking. GAA should try something similar.
Maybe the hurling analysis is more positive because there's more positive attacking play in the hurling than the football.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8174 - 16/10/2015 12:36:27
16/10/2015 10:36:47 bumpernut Are there no rugby forums for the egg chasers??? There is plenty of rugby forums and at least there the posters don't use derogatory names for other sports. 16/10/2015 11:59:03 duckula20 There is definitely a difference in the way Rugby and GAA are analysed and this is another way of highlighting the perceived bias. Sean O Brien lamps someone, gets away with it, media protest innocence, it was an open hand etc, he gets his 1 match ban move on. Sean Cavanagh rugby tackles a Monaghan player (something O Brien did 18 time during the game I believe) and his manhood, integrity etc are called into question. RTE sport sets the overriding tone for all analysis on sports shown on their channel and yet the disparity between what is acceptable to label amateurs and then professionals is phenomenal. Sean O Brien was a colossus after thumping the French lad apparently, the same platitudes aren't endowed on the GAA teams and players and there does always seem to be an attempt to grasp at the negative. There's nothing wrong with liking both sports the issue lies in the way they are reported and the way in which RTE approach their presentation. Consistency is key and that is something RTE have been seen to show very little of. HAHAHA the media outcry in GAA comes from the GAA media. The guys who have played GAA and many of the journalists only cover GAA. They are GAA members. Your mentioning of O Brien rugby tackling someone shows you as clearly taking the piss.... 16/10/2015 12:12:12 bad.monkey In fairness it is Garlic football people who are very negative. The hurling pundits are always very positive about the game so the negativity is clearly not an RTE one but a Gaelic football one Spot on. Its a gaelic issue and the pundits of Gaelic football and gaelic football journalists must be criticized not rte or supposed bias in favour of rugby 16/10/2015 12:36:27 GreenandRed True Duckula. But the Sunday Game doesn't help themselves at times. Allowing Brolly make those comments about Cavanagh. Any smart player would have done the same. Allowing McStay to hold a kangaroo court and single out McMahon inviting the GAA authorities to consider a retrospective ban wasn't good. Let the refs and authorities do their job without outside interference. Rugby have professional media people who can get in and try a positive spin on a negative story like O'Brien striking. GAA should try something similar. Maybe the hurling analysis is more positive because there's more positive attacking play in the hurling than the football. The GAA has professional media people who work in public relations.... any organisation of that size will.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/10/2015 12:59:41
Ah well Ormonde if you cant have some Friday afternoon fun when can you. In all seriousness RTE does treat the analysis different and you are being very naive if you dont think the sunday game and the rugby coverage share producers, researchers etc, what with their limited budgets. The issue comes in the way they treat it. I actually agree that the football pundits dont help themselves but this is the environment that RTE has engendered and encouraged. It is ok to castigate players, managers, groups of supporters yet have an unfair pop at Marty and thats when the fun has to stop.
George Hook is an equally outspoken analyst yet for all his sound bites the same said producers surround him with a bit more sense and instead of becoming a three ringed circus some reasonable debate can occur. With RTE's chosen panel for the football analysis they are like kids in the school yard and the issue is RTE have done absolutely nothing to clamp down on the unprofessional behavior, so you have an example of similar behaviours by analysts eliciting different responses. the circus is how they've chosen to analyse and portray that particular sport.
duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 16/10/2015 13:15:55
1 more thing I have noticed, in this social media age I checked RTE's rugby and twitter feeds,
Rugby - 24.1k tweets for 57.5 k followers Gaa - 23.8k tweets for 151 k followers
not on twitter myself but surely an ostensibly equal amount of tweets for one third of the followers represents not the best use of an RTE employees time. The effort in having someone reporting this surely shows an undue focus on one over the other because by all reasonable metrics in a capitalist society you spend more effort where you will see the biggest return.
duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 16/10/2015 13:23:26
"Look calling lads who play rugby for a living legends, with the exception of Paul o connell, is rediculous. The mob is fickle. If Juan Sebastian and gang show up on Sunday then these posh idiots will go back to bigging up a club competition that only the irish provinces take seriously. The gaa will survive this Anglicisation."
Posh idiots ha ha. Look up how many irish internationals current and over the years who are also GAA men. Similar for supporters. So by your logic the GAA is posh
DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 16/10/2015 13:36:47
16/10/2015 13:15:55 duckula20 Ah well Ormond if you cant have some Friday afternoon fun when can you. In all seriousness RTE does treat the analysis different and you are being very naive if you dont think the sunday game and the rugby coverage share producers, researchers etc, what with their limited budgets. The issue comes in the way they treat it. I actually agree that the football pundits dont help themselves but this is the environment that RTE has engendered and encouraged. It is ok to castigate players, managers, groups of supporters yet have an unfair pop at Marty and thats when the fun has to stop. George Hook is an equally outspoken analyst yet for all his sound bites the same said producers surround him with a bit more sense and instead of becoming a three ringed circus some reasonable debate can occur. With RTE's chosen panel for the football analysis they are like kids in the school yard and the issue is RTE have done absolutely nothing to clamp down on the unprofessional behavior, so you have an example of similar behaviours by analysts eliciting different responses. the circus is how they've chosen to analyse and portray that particular sport. If within RTE each organisations analysis is different that is due to the RTE presenters/analysts. I don't think you can simply say RTE have developed and encouraged this environment. Rugby has had similar issues with George Hook and ill thought comments etc RTE don't treat the sports differently. 16/10/2015 13:23:26 duckula20 1 more thing I have noticed, in this social media age I checked RTE's rugby and twitter feeds, Rugby - 24.1k tweets for 57.5 k followers Gaa - 23.8k tweets for 151 k followers not on twitter myself but surely an ostensibly equal amount of tweets for one third of the followers represents not the best use of an RTE employees time. The effort in having someone reporting this surely shows an undue focus on one over the other because by all reasonable metrics in a capitalist society you spend more effort where you will see the biggest return. Twitter has a feature that can automate tweets. Rugby as a professional sport means there is more likelihood for stories to be created and existed. 16/10/2015 13:36:47 DoireCityFC "Look calling lads who play rugby for a living legends, with the exception of Paul o connell, is rediculous. The mob is fickle. If Juan Sebastian and gang show up on Sunday then these posh idiots will go back to bigging up a club competition that only the irish provinces take seriously. The gaa will survive this Anglicisation." Posh idiots ha ha. Look up how many irish internationals current and over the years who are also GAA men. Similar for supporters. So by your logic the GAA is posh spot on.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/10/2015 14:57:38
Depends on the number of followers who tweet to and retweet and reply to tweets on GAA and rugby for RTE sports. We can influnce them numbers. Glasagusdearg if you sign up. We can bombart RTE GAA with tweets and get GAA stories trending.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8174 - 16/10/2015 15:09:44
Ormonde professionalism would have very little to do with it as I'm sure rte would tend to focus on the stories for the local teams and the international teams. As a curiosity I made an assumption that both hoganstand and the official gaa would take a similar tact and use automated posting yet rte started 2 years earlier and still has fewer tweets per follower,
Official Gaa joined Nov 2009 and 47.5k tweets with 239k followers Hoganstand joined Nov 2010 34.9k tweets with 48.5k followers
Even with Automated posting etc there are enough Gaa stories out there for there to be more tweets re GAA. In Irish rugby we have 1 international team, 4 provinces and the AIL, there are 34 county teams plus thousands of clubs in the GAA over several different sports, there are infinitely more reportable stories for GAA yet rte has them level pegging even with the huge excess in followers for GAA, with the difference in followers their own customers are telling them what the public's appetite is and yet there is still an inequality in the way they are presented.
It may be an international sport but the local sport should be of more interest to the local broadcaster one would think. We have a world champion in the GAA in Paul Brady and there were 2 stories in August, the rugby team have never been world champions and we have a deluge of reporting and every minute detail in and around the team. It will be of interest to many I dont doubt that, but the more popular sport(s) are being given secondary billing to the minor sport hence the calls of bias.
duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 16/10/2015 15:29:55
'Shame so called nationalists refuse to support their country men'
I'll just leave this one here again for anyone who missed it bad monkey eh!!
bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 16/10/2015 15:47:50
There isn't a single thing preventing GAA individuals, clubs or counties generating tweets and stories on RTE's GAA feed and many do. Find out how Twitter works before making assumption.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8174 - 16/10/2015 19:59:01
16/10/2015 15:09:44 GreenandRed Depends on the number of followers who tweet to and retweet and reply to tweets on GAA and rugby for RTE sports. We can influnce them numbers. Glasagusdearg if you sign up. We can bombart RTE GAA with tweets and get GAA stories trending. RTE GAA account and most other accounts like that RTE rugby etc are automated accounts... and most likely are twitter bots 16/10/2015 15:29:55 duckula20 Ormond professionalism would have very little to do with it as I'm sure rte would tend to focus on the stories for the local teams and the international teams. As a curiosity I made an assumption that both hoganstand and the official gaa would take a similar tact and use automated posting yet rte started 2 years earlier and still has fewer tweets per follower, Official Gaa joined Nov 2009 and 47.5k tweets with 239k followers Hoganstand joined Nov 2010 34.9k tweets with 48.5k followersProfessionalism does play a role. Malachy Clerkin said it to me on course I did with him. Rugby is pro so players will be available for more events/newsworthy events etc. 16/10/2015 15:29:55 duckula20 Even with Automated posting etc there are enough Gaa stories out there for there to be more tweets re GAA. In Irish rugby we have 1 international team, 4 provinces and the AIL, there are 34 county teams plus thousands of clubs in the GAA over several different sports, there are infinitely more reportable stories for GAA yet rte has them level pegging even with the huge excess in followers for GAA, with the difference in followers their own customers are telling them what the public's appetite is and yet there is still an inequality in the way they are presented.Duck there may be less teams but they train more, have more matches, have more pro opportunities.... There clearly isn't more stories or journalists would cover more for the GAA. 16/10/2015 15:29:55 duckula20 It may be an international sport but the local sport should be of more interest to the local broadcaster one would think. We have a world champion in the GAA in Paul Brady and there were 2 stories in August, the rugby team have never been world champions and we have a deluge of reporting and every minute detail in and around the team. It will be of interest to many I dont doubt that, but the more popular sport(s) are being given secondary billing to the minor sport hence the calls of bias. Where is the huge support levels for handball? Why should handball get coverage when so few play it etc 16/10/2015 19:59:01 GreenandRed There isn't a single thing preventing GAA individuals, clubs or counties generating tweets and stories on RTE's GAA feed and many do. Find out how Twitter works before making assumption. totally agree.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 16/10/2015 22:00:45
GreenandRed County: Mayo Posts: 1887
1799290 Ned, you are a diplomat. You get your point a cross without abusing anyone.
I agree with some of what you say. Legend is over-used. Even Paul O'Connell is paid to play rugby but he is an Irish sporting hero. O'Driscoll too, but it might be a Culchie thing, I can't earn to the chap and I don't know why. Seems smug but he's entitled to be smug after all he's achieved.
Those men and women who died for Ireland are legends. Anyone volunteering to help the homeless are legends. But so too are the volunteers in any sport giving up their spare time to help out at training or games. I don't think the top brass in GAS appreciates their effort. Giving them some family tickets for games might show some appreciation. If a volunteer took the ticket, went to the game(s) with his family he's put a few quid in a few pockets along the way. He'd be paying of course but might appreciate the gesture. They volunteer because they love the games but doesn't everyone like a sign of appreciation now and then?
Thank you Green and Red. A man has lost an argument when he resorts to insults as it means he is bereft of logic and so turns to emotion and attacks his adversary, classic sign of a loser. You can end the debate there as you know you have won. This board is full of people of that ilk, yet there are a handful of good posters, it's noteworthy that MrOrmond never loses his cool either, I'll debate with people like him all day.
Oh don't get me wrong, as a GAA man I readily acknowledge the phenomenal players O'Driscoll and O'Connell were, achieved a lot in their sport and are sporting idols for many. I want to reiterate the point that I have no problem with the game or the players, but this ubiquitous media driven furore is tiresome. Exaggeration and palaver are the order of the day.
Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job. The hero-worshipping and idolatry of the players needs to end.
Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 17/10/2015 10:47:45
NED -Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job.
Ned - the rugby coaches in clubs are also voluntary and ask for nothing in return like their gaa counterparts-- i coach kids teams in both GAA and rugby -like all coaches - in return i get a hell of a buzz and a lot of enjoyment , definitely worth the effort. the majority of involvement in all sports is voluntary
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/10/2015 11:09:21
GreenandRed Ned, you are a diplomat. You get your point a cross without abusing anyone. I agree with some of what you say. Legend is over-used. Even Paul O'Connell is paid to play rugby but he is an Irish sporting hero. O'Driscoll too, but it might be a Culchie thing, I can't earn to the chap and I don't know why. Seems smug but he's entitled to be smug after all he's achieved. Those men and women who died for Ireland are legends. Anyone volunteering to help the homeless are legends. But so too are the volunteers in any sport giving up their spare time to help out at training or games. I don't think the top brass in GAS appreciates their effort. Giving them some family tickets for games might show some appreciation. If a volunteer took the ticket, went to the game(s) with his family he's put a few quid in a few pockets along the way. He'd be paying of course but might appreciate the gesture. They volunteer because they love the games but doesn't everyone like a sign of appreciation now and then?Never felt O Driscoll was smug from meeting him... I think you are reading too much into things to say there not appreciated. Volunteers generally get tickets to games from their clubs anyway.... 17/10/2015 10:47:45 Ned_Stormcrow Thank you Green and Red. A man has lost an argument when he resorts to insults as it means he is bereft of logic and so turns to emotion and attacks his adversary, classic sign of a loser. You can end the debate there as you know you have won. This board is full of people of that ilk, yet there are a handful of good posters, it's noteworthy that MrOrmond never loses his cool either, I'll debate with people like him all day. Oh don't get me wrong, as a GAA man I readily acknowledge the phenomenal players O'Driscoll and O'Connell were, achieved a lot in their sport and are sporting idols for many. I want to reiterate the point that I have no problem with the game or the players, but this ubiquitous media driven furore is tiresome. Exaggeration and palaver are the order of the day. Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job. The hero-worshipping and idolatry of the players needs to end. Hero worshipping of players wont ever end its a natural way the world has gone and I don't see anything wrong with using these top sport stars as heros and idolising them. 17/10/2015 11:09:21 janesboro NED -Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job. Ned - the rugby coaches in clubs are also voluntary and ask for nothing in return like their gaa counterparts-- i coach kids teams in both GAA and rugby -like all coaches - in return i get a hell of a buzz and a lot of enjoyment , definitely worth the effort. the majority of involvement in all sports is voluntary Last sentence is something plenty on here don't recognise.....
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/10/2015 11:46:30
janesboro County: Limerick Posts: 144
1799608 NED -Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job.
Ned - the rugby coaches in clubs are also voluntary and ask for nothing in return like their gaa counterparts-- i coach kids teams in both GAA and rugby -like all coaches - in return i get a hell of a buzz and a lot of enjoyment , definitely worth the effort. the majority of involvement in all sports is voluntary
Fair play, I wasn't suggesting that voluntarism was exclusive to the GAA, indeed those who give their time for any sport are doing a magnificent service to others. The grassroots level doesn't get the plaudits it deserves. But at the top level the hero-worshipping that the media engage in over the rugby lads is completely over the top. "Ireland's rugby heroes" is a common phrase, "Ireland's soccer heroes" simply isn't. Is it that the soccer lads don't put in as much effort? Nope. Are they less dedicated? No. It's simply an example of obvious media bias.
Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 17/10/2015 11:52:37
janesboro NED -Yes, GAA people who dedicate their time to serve others are certainly noteworthy and deserving of our respect. That's what separates the GAA from other sports, ours is voluntary driven, the people involved ask for nothing in return, the rugby lads are getting paid to do a job. Ned - the rugby coaches in clubs are also voluntary and ask for nothing in return like their gaa counterparts-- i coach kids teams in both GAA and rugby -like all coaches - in return i get a hell of a buzz and a lot of enjoyment, definitely worth the effort. the majority of involvement in all sports is voluntary 17/10/2015 11:52:37 Ned_Stormcrow Fair play, I wasn't suggesting that voluntarism was exclusive to the GAA, indeed those who give their time for any sport are doing a magnificent service to others. The grassroots level doesn't get the plaudits it deserves. But at the top level the hero-worshipping that the media engage in over the rugby lads is completely over the top. "Ireland's rugby heroes" is a common phrase, "Ireland's soccer heroes" simply isn't. Is it that the soccer lads don't put in as much effort? Nope. Are they less dedicated? No. It's simply an example of obvious media bias. It isn't a bias. Overall the rugby has been doing better than soccer over past few years. Rugby guys are all based in Ireland which helps with coverage/accessibility to players etc which means they'll get such attention.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 17/10/2015 13:56:20
I think there isn't the same connection with soccer players probably because unlike the gaa and rugby players they don't live in ireland. You still see the rugby and gaa lads doing everyday activities around town - shopping, playground with kids, pint in local..etc. The vast sums of money involved in soccer from an early age mean there is a perception that the soccer players don't live in the real world. I would note that from what I have seen of the Irish soccer team they seem like a decent bunch but the perception of soccer players in England can over shadow this.
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4655 - 17/10/2015 14:16:15
Ive no complaints with RTes GAA coverage. Its the RWC at the moment so obviously Rugbys going to be at the top of the agenda. I wouldnt be too worried about this type of thing these days. The GAA has a disgraceful culture of violence embedded into it, and in recent times players and pundits have been queuing up to essentially say its okay to cheat in order to win ("sure its win at all costs ya know"). The abhorrent way that managers and supporters have backed their inter county players after incidents of diving,sledging,cynical fouling and violence has left me feeling a bit disillusioned tbh. Rugby people,whether we like it or not, behave with lot more honour,integrity, and dignity, so good luck to them.
joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 17/10/2015 16:24:18
Ned, do you not think that's the media in general, worldwide though? Everything is overhyped, surely? I've just heard BT Sport bang on about how this is the most critical CL matchday 3 EVER in soccer. Laughable stuff really as it's the same every season. The media will always hype everything.
MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 17/10/2015 19:02:16
MedwayIrish County: Wexford Posts: 161
1799673 Ned, do you not think that's the media in general, worldwide though? Everything is overhyped, surely? I've just heard BT Sport bang on about how this is the most critical CL matchday 3 EVER in soccer. Laughable stuff really as it's the same every season. The media will always hype everything.
No absolutely not Medway. For example, this week Michael Conlon won the world title in his division for boxing. The first Irishman to ever hold that title. An incredible achievement.
Barely a whimper about it.
The media is very selective in what they'll report/promote because there is always an agenda at play.
Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 17/10/2015 19:19:42