Cavanman47, been to many All Ireland finals, only 3 have included my county and every single final bar the 2013 final I saw peole selling tickets outside.
There was not a sniff of a ticket outside the ground in 2013
AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 13:35:08
35,000 each for the two participating counties.
5,000 each for the two minor team counties.
2,000+ each for neutral fans.
Distribution
Season ticket holders. 10+ games a season. 5+ games a season. 3+ games a season. General sale.
Any tickets the four counties do not sell can also go on general sale.
REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 13:52:06
I am from down but live across the water now and involved heavily within a gaa club, i have been to the last 6 finals in football and 2 hurling finals and i will be there sunday for game and following week for mayo/dublin now do i deserve a ticket i think so I've put a lot with playing and managing and being on a committee this takes up a lot of my time but the reason is i love doing it and if my reward is to see the final each year then yes i will accept my ticket and not feel guilty. There our always going to be first time lads and girls getting tickets to the final with who they know rather than there clubs giving them tickets, but one thing you can't or should not stop every gaa person wanting to attend games.
Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 744 - 18/08/2015 14:37:56
I'm hoping to get a ticket to the hurling final. I've been to 3 games this season (privileged to have been at tip v Galway) as I'm a football supporter more so than hurling if I was to miss out on a ticket to someone who was a diehard fan I'd have no issues, I'd honestly give my ticket to someone who attended all the matches this year, but it wrecks my head that someone who wouldn't know a hockey stick from a hurl and has never attended a game in their lives gets to go to a AI final at the expense of a true supporter. They have no shame either, they have no problem admitting it's the first game they've ever been to. These are the same people who'll give you a funny look if you shout too much.
I do remember it being very hard to get a ticket for the 2012 final but the day before and the day of the final it seemed like everyone had 1 going spare. Hoping for the same this year.
galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1704 - 18/08/2015 14:43:31
Clubs always have enough for their active members, in my experience. System works well. Plenty of people who don't go to inter-county games until later stages who are either representing clubs and training 4 nights a week or mentoring juvenile teams all year round.
hiredgun (Kildare) - Posts: 3 - 18/08/2015 15:23:32
The key thing is to remember that it is an All Ireland final and so all clubs, schools and units who promote the GAA are entitled to a ticket or tickets. That's a fact. If you are not a member of a club you have little chance of getting a ticket and that is also true if you are from a competing county. I have witnessed so many people thinking they are entitled to a ticket especially when they are from a competing county and they do nothing for the GAA. These are the people that get me hopping - there are many many individuals up and down the country and in many foreign clubs too and thses do enormous work for the GAA and these are the people who should and do get the majority of the tickets. I get fed up listening to those who moan on certain well known radio stations programmes each year moaning they have not got a ticket. As a general rule if you work for the GAA you will get a ticket. Remember that in my county most clubs get around 4 to 6 tickets only - that is not many and most clubs have a draw for their members. My understanding that in Kilkenny they have a draw for members within the clubs and those who want to go get there. That's the way it goes and long may it continue.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 18/08/2015 16:09:35
Agree.
Myself and my missus have been at every Galway hurling game this year right from the start. She isn't a member of our club and won't be facilitated for a ticket. My mate and his woman with us from the Leinster Final on and they won't be facilitated for tickets. I will be lucky to get a ticket for Hill 16. We've been in the lower Hogan for every game we've been to in Croke Park this year and one of us might not get a ticket and the other will have to do with terrace, (By the way I'll be in no way sorry to get a Hill ticket great atmosphere in there on final days, just stating how it is) while some one that hasn't been at a match all year will get in the Hogan.
Look at the attendance for Kilkenny V Waterford semi final. A poor showing for and All-Ireland semi final. Nearly 20,000 more last Sunday for Tipp V Galway. No doubt many thousands from Kilkenny that are just waiting for the final. I know many from Galway even who haven't been to a game all year and are planning on going, two of them even texting me to try get them tickets.
Majority should be given to clubs to distribute yes, but a few thousand should be set aside for people that can send in stubs for all the games they've been to all year.
sliotharfan (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 18/08/2015 16:12:06
All Ireland final ticket distribution 18/08/2015 10:19:53 REDANDBLACK30 Do people think its fair that people who have never been to a match in their lives or showed any interest in the team have as much chance of getting a ticket as hard core fans??? It happened to me and my dad in 1991.We had been at every Down Championship game that season but didnt get to the All Ireland final.My dad managed to get a Hill 16 ticket but didn't go as he couldn't get a ticket for me. I know there is the season ticket now but its ways of recording attendance are wholy inadequate at times. People should collect ticket stubs from games over the season and tickets should be allocated due to attendance.Those who have attended the most first and those the least last. Those who live abroad would be eligible for tickets as they have an interest in the team and have no opportunity to attend matches. The tickets currently given to corporate disinterested fans could be allocated to gaels outside Ireland. It is a black mark on the association that genuine fans can miss out while others who have never followed the team are there on the biggest day of all. How do you exactly define a hardcore fan? Should people be policed going into grounds for games as there is many genuine reasons why people cant get to every game. Tickets will never be allocated due to attendance at previous games. Corporate tickets are vital for the financing of the GAA. They are expensive tickets and help fund many a project in the GAA as they can be fairly expensive.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2015 16:26:03
18/08/2015 10:35:04 JayP But it did annoy me considering how many regulars didnt get tickets. There has to be a better way. What is this better way? 18/08/2015 11:04:22 REDANDBLACK30 Slayer its a nonsense and it is a reflection of how corporate the game has become. The likes of the man you mentioned getting a ticket some other genuine fan would have been glad of. Alas its just the way it is. All Ireland final ticket distribution is one area that the GAA should be thoroughly ashamed of down the years. Its not a reflection like that at all. Saying that is a nonsense. What is a genuine fan? How exactly would you make AIFinal ticket distribution then? 18/08/2015 11:04:54 CroiGorm It's not even close to fair. In 2011 (before I got the Season Ticket in 2012) I'd been to nearly every game (including O'Byrne Cup and League) and really struggled to get my hand on a ticket. I'm a member of a very small club that got about 25 tickets from memory and I was never going to be considered for one. I did get one in the end thanks to my boss and ended up sitting beside a woman in Premium, dolled up to the high heaven's ,reeking of perfume flicking through a magazine! Made my blood boil as i knew so many people that would have killed for her ticket. I made it my mission that day to roar and scream as loud as i could in her ear so she couldn't enjoy her trashy mag!How do you make it fairer then? 18/08/2015 11:04:54 CroiGorm For the same game, my friend's husband, that has no interest in GAA and had only been to Croker for a concert or when the Irish Rugby team played there, got 2 tickets for that game from a client, I offered to pay him full price for them but he declined and went himself. Hasn't set foot in Croke Park since for a game. It's not just the big wigs that get the tickets though. There were 41k at the Waterford v Kilkenny match, maybe 50% of those Kilkenny fans, yet when the 1st of September comes around how many of those dedicated fans will get tickets? There'll be the people well in with their local club that don't show up till September but will have no problem getting their hands on tickets. That's ridiculous though. There shouldn't be a criteria for exact ways to purchase a ticket?
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2015 16:36:19
18/08/2015 11:41:54 REDANDBLACK30 BlastCalyle i meant sorry. What is the craic with all the corporate types at sporting events???? It was the same at the Irish Open in Newcastle.People drinking wine all day not watching the golf. Same when I was at Leopardstown one time. I mean what is the point in going if you have no interest???? People are often given tickets for free and just go as given the ticket. Go for pints and the craic and is there anything wrong with that? I didn't have a ticket for the hurling sunday and as myself and my father were queueing to buy tickets this man who was with his young son gave the two of us two tickets for the premium level no charge. He had been given them from a work colleague/employer etc. 18/08/2015 12:22:16 donkeykong We have to remember that these corporate tickets are sold to business up and down the country normally years in advance 3, 5 and 10. As the business has forked out the money for these seats they should have the right to invite or bring whoever they want. If this happens to be a person thats only attending their first GAA game then so be it. I dont agree but if it gets that company some buiness then fair play. As for the normal GAA tickets these should be allocated fairly and based on attendance. Clubs should know who the real fans are. An idea I had was that ontop of the season ticket should the GAA introduce county loyalty cards. These for gaa fans without a season ticket. There every game you attend it can get scanned and at the end of the year once all season tickets have been alloacted the county boards can look at the loyalty card system and allocated to their true supporters working there way down the list? Dead right on companys etc. Tickets don't have to and shouldn't have to get a criteria?
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2015 16:52:57
18/08/2015 13:52:06 REDANDBLACK30 35,000 each for the two participating counties. 5,000 each for the two minor team counties. 2,000+ each for neutral fans. Distribution Season ticket holders. 10+ games a season. 5+ games a season. 3+ games a season. General sale. Any tickets the four counties do not sell can also go on general sale. Tickets should never and will never be decided on that basis. Clubs will get tickets and tickets will go to volunteers, club members etc. Many of those club volunteers will be coaching, at matches during league games and other games so cant get to a lot of county games. Does that mean they are less worthy to attend big county games than people who attend every game? No. In My opinion
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2015 16:58:24
Ormond you are effectively giving the prawn sandwich/lobster brigade a free pass to go to probably their first and only match of their lives while others who may have been at 50 or even 100 matches in their lives might not get to go.
Tickets to be distributed by the county board ticket offices.No clubs to get tickets.Participating counties to get tickets first.The left overs go on general sale for the rest of the counties in Ireland.
I wouldnt take a ticket to any All Ireland final not involving my own county.You are denying someone who would value it more a chance to see their county in All Ireland final, maybe a once in a lifetime chance.
It is a disgrace that the GAA does not regulate this better and lets an unseemly scramble to develop every year.This corporate side to the GAA is completely at odds with why the GAA was first founded. To let tickets go to people described here is a sad reflection on what the GAA has become.
REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 19:35:34
Redand brick man - I do not agree that the GAA give out tickets to the prawn sandwich brigade who go to just one All Ireland each year. That can happen but its not the norm.
Look, the All Ireland is not the preserve of the competing counties, its the All Ireland and as the term suggests the GAA has always ensured that those who promote the games in the non competing counties get some tickets as well as the competing counties. Likewise with primary secondary and third level colleges. By the way - they all pay for these tickets as do all units of the GAA including clubs based outside of Ireland and all clubs in Ireland are entitled to tickets. Clubs in Carlow get very mixed tickets - usually about 6 comprising of 2 for perhaps the Cusack upper deck, 2 in the Davin - usually upper deck and 2 Hill tickets. Thats the norm. So, should these clubs who probably have about 20 very active members do without to facilitate those who go to matches???
To me if you want a ticket, then get involved by joining a club and be involved in a club in some capacity. I have friends who go to rugby games and I cannot get a ticket from them for an international- they tell me to get involved and join their club!
Just because I go to games will not result in a person being entitled to a ticket and this will not change and to me should not change either. The amount of work that club members do is phenomenal and thankfully the GAA recognises this by sending tickets all round the island and further afield too and long may this continue in my opinion.
Are we going to stop all tickets getting into the hands of the prawn brigade? No and all of us can come up with plenty of experiences of people at games who have not the slightest interest in it. The same happens at rugby games too and soccer internationals! From my experience its far worse at rugby internationals.
But, I could talk about the many many people I have met at All Irelands where I have met and enjoyed the most genuine and passionate GAA men and women! Croke Park on All Ireland final day should continue with its current ticket policy as outlined above in my opinion.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1875 - 18/08/2015 21:46:37
18/08/2015 19:35:34 REDANDBLACK30 Ormond you are effectively giving the prawn sandwich/lobster brigade a free pass to go to probably their first and only match of their lives while others who may have been at 50 or even 100 matches in their lives might not get to go. Tickets to be distributed by the county board ticket offices. No clubs to get tickets .Participating counties to get tickets first.The left overs go on general sale for the rest of the counties in Ireland. I wouldnt take a ticket to any All Ireland final not involving my own county.You are denying someone who would value it more a chance to see their county in All Ireland final, maybe a once in a lifetime chance. It is a disgrace that the GAA does not regulate this better and lets an unseemly scramble to develop every year.This corporate side to the GAA is completely at odds with why the GAA was first founded. To let tickets go to people described here is a sad reflection on what the GAA has become. Why do you not write across the whole page? Hell of a lot easier to read if you do it? You have a ridiculous attitude and the over use of clichés is ridiculous. Why do you assume its peoples first or only ever game they'll attend? That isn't how things will ever work. County boards delegate tickets to the clubs who then give it to their members. You may never take a ticket to an all Ireland not involving your county but many thousands do every year and there is nothing wrong with that.. The GAA would be wrong to change things. The GAA needs those people whether you like it or not.
ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/08/2015 21:51:36
Why do you not write across the whole page? Hell of a lot easier to read if you do it?
Ormondebannerman yet again telling people the wrongs and rights of posting a comment. You do realise your posts are the most difficult to read out of anyone's don't you? All bunched together. Space them out a bit. They'd be a 'hell of a lot easier to read if you do it'.
CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 19/08/2015 08:08:16
I rarely go to All Ireland football finals, I always get offers of tickets and I always pass them to what I feel are genuine fans. But just remember too in freezing feb/March there is not a whole lot of followers of any county. That is when I go.
arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4953 - 19/08/2015 08:27:39
Ormond/Carlow man I respectfully have to disagree.As a lot of people have said, the current system is not fit for purpose.So it should be replaced.
Too many tickets fall into the hands of the wrong people instead of more deserving people.It will never mean as much to people from non competing counties so they should receive tickets only when everyone from the competing counties have theirs.
The stystem is flawed and needs chsnged.
REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 19/08/2015 08:43:13
Arock a couple of seasons back we played Armagh in the Athletic Grounds.We won with a last minute goal from Mark Poland.
The weather was so bad that the rain was sheeting accross the pitch.It was freezing that night.There was talk of Down not coming back out for the second half as they were worried about the health of the players.
But there were still a lot of people there who braved the conditions. Its not fair that some of these types of people accross Irelanf have no ticket on the 3rd Sunday in September when fair weather fans do.
REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 19/08/2015 08:56:18
I like RED/BLACKS style. easy on the eye......just like me......or so my ma says :)
DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 19/08/2015 08:57:16
For me once the gaa brought in season tickets they sorted the group that fell into "die hard fans but not part of/involved in a club" group. The season ticket isn't perfect and a few teams have sold out their allocation but anyone had the opportunity to purchase one.
SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 624 - 19/08/2015 09:02:50