All Ireland final ticket distribution

Do people think its fair that people who have never been to a
match in their lives or showed any interest in the team have
as much chance of getting a ticket as hard core fans???

It happened to me and my dad in 1991.We had been at every
Down Championship game that season but didnt get to the
All Ireland final.My dad managed to get a Hill 16 ticket but
didn't go as he couldn't get a ticket for me.

I know there is the season ticket now but its ways of recording
attendance are wholy inadequate at times.

People should collect ticket stubs from games over the season
and tickets should be allocated due to attendance.Those who
have attended the most first and those the least last.

Those who live abroad would be eligible for tickets as they have
an interest in the team and have no opportunity to attend matches.
The tickets currently given to corporate disinterested fans could
be allocated to gaels outside Ireland.

It is a black mark on the association that genuine fans can miss
out while others who have never followed the team are there on
the biggest day of all.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 10:19:53    1771839

No it's not fair but I saw it happen in 1996.

There wasn't a ticket to be got for the Limerick Wexford match. I was working in a factory where I had on occasion reason to go upstairs to the office. One of the bigwigs there, a lad who was heavily into rugby and had a head like a deflating rugby ball, informed me that because he knew an official, he was getting tickets for the final. I simply asked him based on the NHL meeting between the sides that Feb how did he see the game going.

You've guessed it - he wasn't at the game, nor any game and he went to the All-Ireland final.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/08/2015 10:29:21    1771844

There were a group of Mayo fans beside me at the 2013 final and 6-7 admitted it was their first game of the summer. They couldnt believe how many Mayo fans got tickets.

Now I am not slagging Mayo!

But it did annoy me considering how many regulars didnt get tickets. There has to be a better way.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 18/08/2015 10:35:04    1771852

What are the problems with the way season tickets track attendance?
The only issue I've seen or heard is people getting tickets scanned without attending, but have seen that been tightened this season.

If anything, I think the cap on the number of season tickets per county should be raised, connecting more fans directly with tickets without them going through county boards and clubs.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 10:39:43    1771855

Agree but it wont change. Firstly its an ALL ireland and every club is entitled to some tickets. Secondly the corporate big wigs wont sponsor croker if they dont get tickets.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 18/08/2015 10:45:14    1771859

100% agree that the system is flawed. Even the clubs gave a large chunk of their tickets firstly to sponsors. The GAA is now a corporate entity, they recieve millions of pounds a year so these sponsors and customers of facilities want the big tickets. It will never change.... every sport is the same.. major final tickets are given out the same way. It doesnt make it right though I agree.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 18/08/2015 10:58:38    1771871

Slayer its a nonsense and it is a reflection of how corporate the game
has become.

The likes of the man you mentioned getting a ticket some other
genuine fan would have been glad of.

Alas its just the way it is.

All Ireland final ticket distribution is one area that the GAA should
be thoroughly ashamed of down the years.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 11:04:22    1771881

It's not even close to fair. In 2011 (before I got the Season Ticket in 2012) I'd been to nearly every game (including O'Byrne Cup and League) and really struggled to get my hand on a ticket. I'm a member of a very small club that got about 25 tickets from memory and I was never going to be considered for one. I did get one in the end thanks to my boss and ended up sitting beside a woman in Premium, dolled up to the high heaven's ,reeking of perfume flicking through a magazine! Made my blood boil as i knew so many people that would have killed for her ticket. I made it my mission that day to roar and scream as loud as i could in her ear so she couldn't enjoy her trashy mag!

For the same game, my friend's husband, that has no interest in GAA and had only been to Croker for a concert or when the Irish Rugby team played there, got 2 tickets for that game from a client, I offered to pay him full price for them but he declined and went himself. Hasn't set foot in Croke Park since for a game.

It's not just the big wigs that get the tickets though. There were 41k at the Waterford v Kilkenny match, maybe 50% of those Kilkenny fans, yet when the 1st of September comes around how many of those dedicated fans will get tickets? There'll be the people well in with their local club that don't show up till September but will have no problem getting their hands on tickets.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 18/08/2015 11:04:54    1771882

Unfortunately there are always stories like this following All-Ireland finals. When Mayo got to those ill-fated All-Ireland finals in 2004 and 2006, my club (which, admittedly, would be one of the biggest in the county) had to raffle their ticket allocation, such was the demand. I was lucky enough to be able to get some tickets through another source, but a lot of fellas who had followed the team through the NFL and Connacht Championships didn't get to go. On taking my seat, it was galling enough to be surrounded by a number of Kerry fans who wouldn't know whether a ball was pumped or stuffed.

As for foreign based fans, anyone involved with a GAA club has a chance to apply, and in my experience most clubs get one ticket for the football and hurling finals, two if it's a good year. Ironically, it's probably easier for me to get a ticket now than when I was back at home.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 18/08/2015 11:12:58    1771887

I've found mayo finals the hardest to get tickets for.
I'll never forget 2006, I had no ticket walking past Barry's hotel and overhearing 5 lads in Mayo Jerseys with American accents talking about there joy of seeing there first gaa game.
That's just the way the finals go.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2015 11:14:39    1771888

Blastcastle I attended a league game in Navan last year against
Meath that was not recorded.I did not realise and when I did they
said it was too late.

On another occassion at a league game at Pairc Esler the scanners
were not working and they were writing down peoples numbers.My
attendance was not recorded again.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 11:25:41    1771901

JayP
There were a group of Mayo fans beside me at the 2013 final and 6-7 admitted it was their first game of the summer. They couldnt believe how many Mayo fans got tickets.
Now I am not slagging Mayo!
But it did annoy me considering how many regulars didnt get tickets. There has to be a better way.

Same thing happened to us the year before against donegal. The reason is one semi final gets played a week before the other. So whoever gets into the final first, gets first preference. Same thing will happen to Dublin this year if they get through.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/08/2015 11:28:21    1771903

BlastCalyle i meant sorry.

What is the craic with all the corporate types at sporting
events????

It was the same at the Irish Open in Newcastle.People
drinking wine all day not watching the golf.

Same when I was at Leopardstown one time.

I mean what is the point in going if you have no interest????

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 18/08/2015 11:41:54    1771913

REDANDBLACK30
County: Down

1771913 BlastCalyle i meant sorry.

What is the craic with all the corporate types at sporting
events????

It was the same at the Irish Open in Newcastle.People
drinking wine all day not watching the golf.

Same when I was at Leopardstown one time.

I mean what is the point in going if you have no interest????

We have to remember that these corporate tickets are sold to business up and down the country normally years in advance 3 , 5 and 10. As the business has forked out the money for these seats they should have the right to invite or bring whoever they want. If this happens to be a person thats only attending their first GAA game then so be it. I dont agree but if it gets that company some buiness then fair play.

As for the normall GAA tickets these should be allocated fairly and based on attendance. Clubs should know who the real fans are.

An idea I had was that ontop of the season ticket should the GAA introduce county loyalty cards. These for gaa fans without a season ticket. There every game you attend it can get scanned and at the end of the year once all season tickets have been alloacted the county boards can look at the loyalty card system and allocated to their true supporters working there way down the list?

donkeykong (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 18/08/2015 12:22:16    1771947

IF you go to all the league and championship games you more than likely have a season ticket. The only problem is the 5,000 cap which Mayo and Dublin have reached (The only two counties to have done so).

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11563 - 18/08/2015 12:45:49    1771972

If every county was allowed 10-12K season tickets - you put a big dent in the problem.

That would be potentially 25K tickets for the final going straight to genuine fans who have attended the bulk of the league matches.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 13:03:23    1771990

To be fair lads, how many real fans are there? I got the season ticket as I go to all games and it was both an easier option and the guarantee of a final ticket. Attendances this year and for a number of years have been fairly poor outside of the finals - Dublin matches included.

But look at attendances all year, the same lads who sat at home watching the games (who may well be fans) will also be complaining come the final that they deserve to go. I have found that in the majority of cases the tickets filter down to the majority of real fans and those who go to all games will more often than not get their hands on a ticket. I know it is not always the case and there are exceptions.

Season tickets are by far the fairest way of doing it, unfortunately only Dublin and Mayo have sold their full allocation. Those fans from Galway and KK who are complaining they cannot get a ticket to the final, well buy yourselves a season ticket and go to all the games if you are such a big fan!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 18/08/2015 13:17:37    1772006

I have been to 2 All Irelands in my lifetime - one football, one hurling.

Neither involved my own county (obviously!!)

On both occasions, when offered the ticket I gratefully accepted, but stated that if offered face value by anyone from 1 of the 4 counties involved, I would hand the ticket over - as I would be devastated if the shoe were on the other foot and I couldn't get one.

Strangely, on both occasions, I saw people selling tickets outside croker on the day!

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5246 - 18/08/2015 13:18:03    1772008

Agree cavanman47. never been to a sporting event in the world, GAA, World cups, super rugby, NFL,Champs league, Premier league etc where I couldnt get a ticket. Where theres a will.....

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 18/08/2015 13:23:50    1772014

@REDANDBLACK30

I've had a couple of hitches with attendances not recorded, but an email stating that rectified the issue pretty quickly.

On the corporate boxes etc, it's a fund raising activity, that raises significant cash without 'costing' that many seats.

I still believe, increase season ticket cap and more tickets go to fans.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 18/08/2015 13:34:37    1772035