Tiernan McCann

The treatment of this wee lad has been scandalous and an utter disgrace. He is an amateur, still young and a bit foolish to do what he did BUT what he and Tyrone have had to face is unacceptable; you have to say it is a form of racism. The Dublin media have once again stoked up a xenophobic, anti Ulster atmosphere and many have jumped on the bandwagon to vent their hatred. I have been saying for a long time that the Dublin media tail is wagging the GAA dog and the Association is fast losing it's independence and credibility. The Dublin media has a rabid anti Northern agenda and this also now dictates their sporting coverage. The GAA is fast losing respect in Ulster indeed it is now attracting s lot of anger and even talks of boycotts, right across the province. Even in the darkest days of the Troubles there was no such talk or feeling. Now it is widespread.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9818 - 12/08/2015 21:17:33    1769157

The ban should send out the right signal. Players might think twice in future about doing anything similar.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8793 - 12/08/2015 21:32:41    1769170

Can someone tell me what rule he has broken and where it states in the rule book he should receive an 8 week ban for breaking said rule?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 12/08/2015 21:52:12    1769191

I can't actually believe this rubbish, this is a pathetic thread. As a neutral who thought he did was a disgrace and should be stamped out, for the last time you can't ban him for 8 weeks based on the current laws, whether he deserves it or not isn't the issue lads, it's the facts of the matter.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 12/08/2015 21:57:50    1769195

T McCann ban is not justified and how do we know that D Hughes was red carded for that incident. Plus where are the notes of the referee. The GAA won't comment as Monaghan are appealing.
If I were Tyrone this is the stand I'd take ---- if the ban is upheld we don't contest the Semi final --- in other words Kerry have a bye.
How can they ban him now and it happening all year. What about the other players that have done it. ?? McCann must play in the Semi final OR TYRONE DONT PLAY.
OF COURSE THATS IF HE IS SELECTED TO PLAY. BUT HE MUST NOT SERVE A SUSPENSION. THE RULES CAN BE CHANGED FOR NEXT YEAR.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 12/08/2015 21:58:32    1769197

Ulsterman

The treatment of this wee lad has been scandalous and an utter disgrace. He is an amateur, still young and a bit foolish to do what he did BUT what he and Tyrone have had to face is unacceptable; you have to say it is a form of racism. The Dublin media have once again stoked up a xenophobic, anti Ulster atmosphere and many have jumped on the bandwagon to vent their hatred. I have been saying for a long time that the Dublin media tail is wagging the GAA dog and the Association is fast losing it's independence and credibility. The Dublin media has a rabid anti Northern agenda and this also now dictates their sporting coverage.

---
Do you not read the Irish News? It's a non-Dublin based newspaper apparently. Not sure myself as us Free Staters only read the Dublin based anti-Ulster newspapers. Again Tyrone actions condemned by Brolly, Malachy Clerkin, the Irish News, Pete McGrath and I'm sure many more Ulstermen on Twitter etc. But sure look don't let the FACTS get in the way of a good old anti- Free State rant. It's always political and us versus them isn't it? Keep putting your fingers in your ears though. Just because you refuse to hear it doesn't mean it isn't happening. It's called denial.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4743 - 12/08/2015 22:00:15    1769201

@legenzzxlx.....how quick ye kerry folk are to condemn when it's not yere own cynical bunch bringing the game into disrepute, surrounding referees, diving around the place for fun, cynical fouls around the middle third, third man tackles blocking the run....and so on. And of course how can we forget this https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHuU3EdJ1NQ. And the great Tadhg admitting that he took a man out deliberately in an AI final. Did they not bring the game into disrepute??? Tiernan McCann is a naive young man who did a foolish thing that had no bearing on the outcome of the card that Hughes received nor the outcome of the game. O' Mahony and Kennelly are two seasoned veterans who should know better. And sure we have the great Darragh pontificating in the Irish Times on taking players out of the game. So please, give it a rest. Kerry are as good as anyone when it comes to the dark arts.

TomTucker (Galway) - Posts: 7 - 13/08/2015 08:20:08    1769205

Why is everyone blaming McCann for getting Hughes sent off?
Hughes was in the process of being sent off for another incident when McCann went down.
Hughes was already on his way so McCanns dive was irrelevant.
Why was Hughes ruffling McCanns hair anyway? Is this normal or accepted behavior?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 13/08/2015 09:18:09    1769220

What he did was nasty + venal cheating, and is such a bad example to young players. Mickey Harte should ahve the courage to stand up and say it was wrong, instaed of condoning it and equivocating.
Having said that, no action was taken before after equally blatant dives, + the 8 week ban seems excessive, + will probaly be overturned on appeal

befair (Down) - Posts: 238 - 13/08/2015 09:24:22    1769225

Am actually fed up listening about this incidence now. What he done was wrong in the heat of the moment of a match and hopefully he regrets it but he is being made an example of which is wrong also. The rules should be changed to ban this type of stuff but it is a bit unfair singling out this guy now ahead of a semi final. I hope he plays in it, Tyrone win and the talk reverts to the football. Of course that wouldnt suit a lot of people in the media and the GAA as a lot bigger issues are being sidelined here. Referee performance for one.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1885 - 13/08/2015 09:26:02    1769226

This was posted elsewhere

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2015/0720/716074-rte-gaa-podcast-cork-kerry/

any comments

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/08/2015 09:42:43    1769238

Hughes just exposed the type of training method being used by Tyrone teams, he had a good incline that McCann would dive, as that's what he has been instructed to do, so he just thought he's expose the cheating, that's all.

drumlinbelt (Monaghan) - Posts: 179 - 13/08/2015 09:51:44    1769245

Tom 1916, That's a completely different incident haha. The GAA wont do anything there cause Shields is from Cork!

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 13/08/2015 09:54:29    1769246

befair
County: Down

What he did was nasty + venal cheating, and is such a bad example to young players. Mickey Harte should ahve the courage to stand up and say it was wrong, instaed of condoning it and equivocating.

I think you will find that Micky did say what TMC did was wrong, if you are going to post something do a bit of spade work first and look at the situation as a whole.

You can live in your wee Down bubble, no one has a bad word again you as the Southern teams or for that fact none of the teams fear a weak and naive team

tyronemanc (Tyrone) - Posts: 163 - 13/08/2015 09:56:08    1769248

drumlinbelt
County: Monaghan

Hughes just exposed the type of training method being used by Tyrone teams, he had a good incline that McCann would dive, as that's what he has been instructed to do, so he just thought he's expose the cheating, that's all.

There has been some BS spouted by all sides on here over the last few days but this takes the biscuit altogether.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 10:08:34    1769259

McCann was wrong. So was the ref. Both should get a one game ban for being totally stupid and incompetent. Similar offences from other players and officials should result in similar bans. It's time to start getting rid of the cowardly act of diving (and related offences) from our sport. We have to start somewhere and no time like the present.

We can all move on then and hopefully diving will be less common in our sport. It's irrelevant where McCann is from in the context of the ban.
Ignore all the media speculation.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 13/08/2015 10:19:25    1769265

Maybe as unfair as this is the GAA are fed up with the constant controversy that surrounds Tyrone?

3 issues that made headlines this year for the wrong reasons.
Black card introduced a few years back due to cynical play most notable example was Cavanaghs drag down a few years back.

Maybe Tyrone should look at their overall conduct and their reputation.

The lad made a mistake and he has been subject to a lot of abuse and it's not fair on him or his family.
I hope he plays on Sunday week he's been training all year and it would be cruel if he was banned.

But my overall feeling is that Tyrone have been involved in many unsavory incidents and maybe this is catching up with them.

I agree with most of these points (not sure if im allowed to say anything about Tyrone due to being from Down)
The Irish News had two good articles on this recently from Paddy Heaney and Danny Hughes and summed up this latest sorry mess accurately

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 13/08/2015 10:27:19    1769271

McCann will get off - simple fact. Rule 5.4 - To attempt to achieve an advantage by feigning a foul or injury. Penalty for the above fouls - (i) Caution offender. This is the rule McCann broke and all players play under playing rules agreed by Congress and published in advance of the competition. The punishment is there for all to see. Authorities just can't invent a new punishment mid competition. What McCann did is a YELLOW CARD offence. He will play in the semi final if selected.

Perhaps what is happening is that the authorities (CORRECTLY) want to make an issue of this just like Joe Brolly and the infamous Sean Cavanagh incident where the black card was first mooted. A black card makes perfect sense but the punishment is patently wrong. Instead of replacing a player the punishment for a black card should be a sin bin. Replacing a player with another player is frankly inappropriate. I believe the black card punishment will change at Congress next year.

Going back to the McCann incident i believe that there will be a new penalty created for similar feigning. However this will only be in place for 2016 competitions. I hope that the new penalty when issued will fit the crime and not have to be revisited.

Rules evolve to new situations.

anduna (Down) - Posts: 210 - 13/08/2015 10:33:22    1769274

TyroneManc we had five All Irelands on the board before Tyrone even
came to the party.

Down's legacy in the game is that we won are All Irelands in style and
were also great sportsmen.

Tyrone's legacy will be at best mixed???Great players???Absolutely.
Good sportsmen???The worst in GAA history.

Why do Tyrone posters take such delight in reminding Down of
our fallen standing at every opportunity???

We know this more than anyone.But we are lucky that we have
memories that lots of counties would love to have.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 13/08/2015 10:37:14    1769279

pdempsey it can not be implemented yet. The rule doesn't allow for a 1 game ban yet. It needs to be changed before you give a ban.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/08/2015 10:40:02    1769283