Naysayer I am not going to disrepute that, but it is also in essence a good rule to stop the cynical tackling. Therefore if a rule is brought in that can land a player in big trouble for a dive then we would be on the right track.
My preference would have been a rule like soccer for the cynical stopping of a clear goalscoring opportunity i.e. red card, but also a red card for diving would go a long way. also if it was missed by an official then retrospective action could be taken.
Now the black card is serving it's purpose to a certain point but I think if the punishment is made more sever then quite simply it will happen less.
GAAHattrick (Dublin) - Posts: 278 - 18/08/2015 11:51:54
Agree with GAAhatrick, McCan should get off with this but going forward the rules should be changed to make sure that such behavious is appropriately punished.
The simple facts are that this was a yellow card offence as clearly defined in the rule book. Clearly the rule book was wrong and inequitable but it is in place for a reason. The GAA cannot retrospectively change it's rules to satisfy the thirst of a hungry mob!
The rules should be changed at the next Congress meeting to introduce a black card for any 'significant' acts of diving or feigning injury. This should include instances where a dive is used to get an opponent 'sent off' or 'black carded'. Liekwise the interpretation should be extended to include deliberate acts to deceive a ref into awarding a penalty. All other 'insignificant' dives should remain yellow card offences.
As for the 'bringing the game into disrepute' charge; this is no more than a blatant attempt to override the GAA's own rule of law. The dive only became an instance of disrepute once the Sunday Game panelists took it upon themselves to launch a personal public attack on the Tyrone team and McCann in particular.
McCanns_VO5 (Tyrone) - Posts: 1 - 18/08/2015 11:54:07
Really Naysayer? Was the black card rule in place when Philip Jordan took a dive to get Diarmuid Marsden sent off in 2003, or when Aidan O Mahoney took a dive in 2008? The reason there is an increase in these incidents is because many modern football players have little to no respect for opponents - many teams now do whatever it takes to win, whether it is done honourably or dishonourably is irrelevant. That is why we get admissions like in Kevin Cassidys book that Donegal decided as a team they were going to make it a tactic to insult opponents during the game to distract them. If the GAA is one big family as some claim then this type of behaviour makes it a very dysfunctional family. But ya, carry on placing the blame at the door of Croke Park officials and absolve players and management from all responsibility - as we are so frequently reminded by them when it suits, sure they are only amateurs after all.
Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 18/08/2015 11:55:41
Its all about hair-splitting and hypocrisy. You cant change the rules or make up new rules or use obscure rules just whenever you feel like it - all because a few Dublin based journalists demand this.
But sure if the GAA want to ban certain behaviors they can to it at the beginning of the year. Then they need to enforce it evenly across the board. I think everyone in Tyrone would be 100% behind this.
Just wondering why all these things were never such a big issue before and why it it only an issue when Tyrone players are involved? Also how come Hanbury isnt getting the same stick as Cananagh did 2 years ago?
BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 18/08/2015 12:05:39
The simple facts are that this was a yellow card offence as clearly defined in the rule book. Clearly the rule book was wrong and inequitable but it is in place for a reason. The GAA cannot retrospectively change it's rules to satisfy the thirst of a hungry mob!
They aren't
It is not for the yellow card offense - the GAA are banning him under the rule where is states about bringing the association into disrepute.
Duffy or one of his team must have seen him hit the deck, and did not issue a yellow for feigning injury. I'd like to see the ban being upheld, simply as a high profile stamp down by the GAA on feigning injury, and it was a high profile case.
The Monaghan player was already gone before he did it, so the yellow card rule doesn't really apply here, It does take a case like this, where it was clear he was bringing the game into disrepute to set a precedence to stop other players from doing it.
IMO he absolutely did bring the game into disrepute
A rule exits for that - As such the GAA should hold tight on this and punish him accordingly under said rule.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/08/2015 12:09:56
First All the best to Tyrone against Kerry, it seems to be pick on Tyrone, make them scapegoats, and its just not fair,some of the people s counties on here have done their fair share of bringing the games we love into disrespect, let young Mc Cann play, next year every county warned of what will happen in similar circumstances. in the Tyrone, Monaghan game their was no saints, this is all so unfair.
mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 18/08/2015 12:22:44
Darren Hughes wasn't already gone . He was sent off on a straight red card for striking McCann.
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 18/08/2015 12:26:18
Just wondering why all these things were never such a big issue before and why it it only an issue when Tyrone players are involved?
Tyrone only have themselves to blame for that
If they conducted themselves better then you wouldn't have so much attention
He 100% brought the game into disrepute - it was a terrible example of this sort of carry on
I feel for him because other players have gotten away with it - but in this case it was so extreme and blatant
And the fact that the GAA did nothing before when they should have done... has added a great deal of frustration for GAA fans
This is the IDEAL time to act
As such he should be banned and let this be the start of new rules being introduced to fine tune the ease in which this sort of carry on can punished
It's gone on for too lone... enough is enough and as unfair as some may think it is on McCann - he only has himself to blame
He should be banned under the disrepute rule.
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/08/2015 12:37:00
Greengrass County: Louth Posts: 3875
1771953 Darren Hughes wasn't already gone . He was sent off on a straight red card for striking McCann.
___
Well fair enough.. but he's being brought up for brining the game into disrepute
Posters are ignoring that fact
He absolutely did bring The game into disrepute and a rule exists to punish players for doing such
The GAA have chickened out too many times with other glaringly obvious examples
They finally do the right thing.. and people are still up in arms
The time to act on this is now and as such it should be upheld.
You couldn't ask for a better opportunity to make an example of this sort of foul play
It was a very high profile game with a large attendance, broadcast to 100's of thousands of homes
Punish him under the disrepute rule and then bring in new rules to make it easier to deal with these sort of antics
The GAA does need a good kick up the behind sometimes to get going.. it looks like they have finally gotten what was needed
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 18/08/2015 12:46:11
"Ronan Clarke's father has revealed how the All-Ireland winning Armagh attacker wanted to play on after his horror collision with a goalpost."
Nice to see some hard men left
DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 18/08/2015 13:28:55
It's Ok for A Tip man to get pulled down & nearly beheaded but when Tyrone do an Oscar winning performance a media war starts? Personally I think it's down to positive hurling pundits and very negative football pundits. Football is not in a bad place so why do they want to bring it down all the time doesn't matter who's playing it's negative negative negative
CoTyrone (Tyrone) - Posts: 261 - 18/08/2015 13:47:18
"jimbodub: He absolutely did bring The game into disrepute"
You've used the word 'disrepute' 8 times in the last 3 posts; as in, if you repeat something enough times it will stick. And as such, you have brought yourself into disrepute. I am hereby banning you from using the word for 8 weeks, through the same special powers assumed by the Sunday Game panellists, and therefore also the CCCC.
muffin (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 18/08/2015 14:18:17
What the player did is a yellow card offence - black and white in the rule book . Fortunately or unfortunately , whatever standpoint or county you are from , this is the reality . To try and muddy the water by bringing in a disrepute claim is dubious in the extreme and sets a dangerous precedent . If the GAA want to go down this road then most incidents of dangerous play bring the game into disrepute . How is deliberately striking an opponent , trying to hurt an opponent etc any different . Also , if I were a Tyrone supporter and this suspension stands I think it would be very difficult not to feel alienated and having different rules apply only to them . The way I look at the disrepute rule , on the field it is for verbal abuse of a sectarian nature . Otherwise it applies to managers and officials in their behaviour and media duties . For players off the field it relates to their media and social media activities . I don't like what he did and this sort of stuff should be heavily punished in future but we cannot just move the goal posts when it suits . Bring in a set of rules to deal with it so everyone knows what's what before they take the field and receive their medicine accordingly .
Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 18/08/2015 14:41:26
Lads, Does anybody know when the appeal hearing is for this ban? I assume the Tyrone CB are appealing the proposed 8 week ban? One would imagine that this should have been dealt with already as it's grossly unfair on both player and team to leave it so close to Semi-Final.
Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 18/08/2015 14:42:05
Greenwood County: Meath Posts: 154
Lads, Does anybody know when the appeal hearing is for this ban? I assume the Tyrone CB are appealing the proposed 8 week ban? One would imagine that this should have been dealt with already as it's grossly unfair on both player and team to leave it so close to Semi-Final. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Nobody I've spoken to in Tyrone has a clue when the first appeal hearing is to take place. It's shockingly amateurish that there isn't far more transparency here but, considering the shady and dubious way in which he has been suspended in the first place, perhaps I shouldn't be surprised.
Another interesting question is, if the whole farce hasn't been cleared up by the time Tyrone are obliged to submit a teamsheet on Thursday morning, will/can they name Tiernan McCann among the 26?
Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 18/08/2015 15:10:21
I saw the incident somewhat differently. Darren Hughes was going to be taking an early shower after his tackle/assault on Colm Cavanagh (black card, possible straight read). Light bulb goes off in his head: "I'll take someone with me" . Ruffle McCann's boy band hair and odds are he'll hit me, and I'll even things up. Did not expect McCann's reaction, a reaction that was fairly disgraceful. Very, very clever by Hughes. Did not quite work out how he planned it but very cute nonetheless
liamoggordon (USA) - Posts: 13 - 18/08/2015 16:45:48
Greenwood... Does anybody know when the appeal hearing is for this ban? I assume the Tyrone CB are appealing the proposed 8 week ban? One would imagine that this should have been dealt with already as it's grossly unfair on both player and team to leave it so close to Semi-Final. ----- Unfair indeed but that was the intention. The last semi final Tyrone were in was also preceded by an appeals process for a key player following a Media Furore led by RTE.
tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 18/08/2015 16:50:09
CoTyrone County: Tyrone Posts: 250
1772048 It's Ok for A Tip man to get pulled down & nearly beheaded but when Tyrone do an Oscar winning performance a media war starts? Personally I think it's down to positive hurling pundits and very negative football pundits. Football is not in a bad place so why do they want to bring it down all the time doesn't matter who's playing it's negative negative negative
Just a few things on this .
1. yes a tipp man got pulled down but that tackle happens in every single game in the country. But this particular issue is regarding "the oscar winning performance" it was done specifically to get a man sent off. A man that has been training since last november. It was done specifically to gain an unfair advantage for his team. And to be honest he looked stupid. These games now go out to a global audience and it made us look weak gutless and embarrassing to be quiet honest. The incident you brought up regarding callanan not a single tipp man iv spoken to mentioned it in relation to cheating. I t was a dirty tackle but a tackle none the less. Mc Gann should serve the ban and michael sheilds should serve a retrospective ban for his dive against kerry.
Regarding the pundits.. Football is shocking there has been no good game yet this year bar the munster final.. Only good cause kerry were below par. And the pundits are right to slate the game. On top of that they are also right to high light things Tyrone do the same as they highlight the failings of any other county.. I know tyrone cry why always us but the reality is it is always ye. Tyrone make the back pages more for the bad than the good. Couple that with micky harte's reaction to all this and its just not good enough.
Reality is if micky came out and said what mc gann did was wrong and were sorting it internally and he will be benched for the semi final this would have blown over ages ago. Tyrone dont have the quality to beat kerry and all the "them versus us"in the world wont change that. But for once tyrone could have made a ground breaking step to eradicate this s**** from our game but instead it is my contention that mickey made the situation worse. Trying to say hughes had to share balme as he rose his hand. Good god no. Mc Gann was wrong ... He did bring the gaa into disrepute and should be a man now and take what coming to them. Its time to grow up and be men,, And incase you think im singling tyrone out .. The same must be said for sheilds in cork .. That was embarrassing too and he should miss first two championship games next season
ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 18/08/2015 17:07:19
The aforementioned "media furore" took place after exceptionally cynical actions perpetrated by Tyrone players .
Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6180 - 18/08/2015 17:10:16
liamoggordon County: USA Posts: 4
1772150 I saw the incident somewhat differently. Darren Hughes was going to be taking an early shower after his tackle/assault on Colm Cavanagh (black card, possible straight read). Light bulb goes off in his head: "I'll take someone with me" . Ruffle McCann's boy band hair and odds are he'll hit me, and I'll even things up. Did not expect McCann's reaction, a reaction that was fairly disgraceful. Very, very clever by Hughes. Did not quite work out how he planned it but very cute nonetheless
----- Why do you think he targetted McCann? Watch the replay again and you will see that McCann is mouthing at him, possibly even sledging. Hughes actually showed great restraint there. How many players are brave enough to take on a decision to deliberately provoke a straight point blank punch out of an opponent like you say? Very very few I would suspect. Anyway it's all academic now. Once again the hierarchy have made a hash of it. I think Tyrone will win the appeal when it is heard.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4745 - 18/08/2015 17:24:42