Tiernan McCann

Liamwalkinstown

1767804 Simple question

If the CCCC were to retrospectively ban him for the SF, Would you agree with the decision as a deterrent for such shameful behaviour in future.

And this is not an anti tyrone thing, i said the exact same thing re JOD after the munster final

I don't agree, I think this is a fairly widespread problem, and it is unfair to punish one man for something that is clearly a much wider Issue and something that had been widely Ignored to date.

The GAA need to set out their stall, and make it clear to everybody that it is no longer going to be tolerated. And explain precisely what the punishment will be for such behaviour, and the specific penalty for such a crime.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 13/08/2015 13:35:47    1769426

Accept the ban for the good of the game

This ban should be upheld

A new low has been reached and it's time to act

I agree that a ban such as this one should have come in long ago with various players from several counties guilty

You're even seeing it in hurling now... lads get the slightest of taps on the helmet, and they are down clutching their face guards!

But this incident is now the perfect opportunity to make a statement

Enough is enough

I've never seen such a poor example of feigning injury on a GAA pitch

As such.. this is the PERFECT time to make a statement of intent

The GAA should hold tight on this one and I hope they do.

It needs to happen and he should be punished

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2015 13:37:11    1769428

Tyrone are wrong to appeal this 8 week ban. Tyrone should make it clear to the GAA that if the ban remains in place we will not play the semi final. This will force the GAA to face up to their responsibilities. Cooperating with this farce only gives credence to the GAA's unprecedented decision to address this dive and no other.

IsMise (Tyrone) - Posts: 119 - 13/08/2015 13:38:48    1769429

Greenfield
Someone above calls Marty Duffy a substandard referee. That's being kind. I hate to see his name beside a Meath fixture. Can he explain his thinking from the match:
1) if he saw what happened, why did he not just tell Mccann to get up and yellow card him
2) if he didn't see what happened, then why did he issue a red card?

My reading of his rational to give a red was that he was going to card Hughes (black or yellow not sure which) for his reckless challenge on Cavanagh. Hughes then raises his hand and brushes through McCann's hair (after being goaded). He obviously seen this as a strike (bear in mind all the footage of it is shown in slow motion) and gave a straight red for it. He put this in his report which is why Hughes is appealing it. But your'e right he is a poor referee, though he did not decide the outcome of the result in that Tyrone were the better team but they did not need to carry on the way they did.
I still think it is wrong to punish an individual before you have set a precedent for punishing the/an incident

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 13/08/2015 13:40:28    1769431

James Horan characterises this action as the GAA authorities sheepishly following public opinion. I find it hard to disagree. Our administrators need to grow a pair. RTE et al are always looking for negative GAA news it's time for GAA followers to recognise this agenda and respond accordingly.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 13/08/2015 13:40:42    1769432

REDANDBLACK30
County: Down

Why do Tyrone posters take such delight in reminding Down of
our fallen standing at every opportunity???

--

I'm not sure they should to be fair. Down as bad as we are - will be playing a division above Tyrone next year and have made the AI final more recently than themselves.

I do believe that Down people do particularly dislike Tyrone or should I say, the way Tyrone play. It's the anti-thesis of what Down GAA stands for. If a Down team conducted themselves like Tyrone, I'd be just as vocal in my condemnation.

Having standards of fair play and sportmanship should not be mistaken for having a grudge or chip on the shoulder, as is being interpreted by some.

Tis about time Tyrone caught themselves on and stopped the indoctrination of these codes of conduct in their players. It's rife at every age level.

artisan (Down) - Posts: 1794 - 13/08/2015 14:05:23    1769446

Well said Artisan, fair play.I was wondering also how Brend ranked
us the worst team in Ulster when we will be in Division 1 next
season.

The history of Down football has been the sudden expected resurgence,
like 1991 and 2010 for instance.I believe our time will come again.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 13/08/2015 14:34:23    1769473

artisan

1769446 REDANDBLACK30

Why do Tyrone posters take such delight in reminding Down of
our fallen standing at every opportunity???

--

I'm not sure they should to be fair. Down as bad as we are - will be playing a division above Tyrone next year and have made the AI final more recently than themselves.

I do believe that Down people do particularly dislike Tyrone or should I say, the way Tyrone play. It's the anti-thesis of what Down GAA stands for. If a Down team conducted themselves like Tyrone, I'd be just as vocal in my condemnation.

Having standards of fair play and sportmanship should not be mistaken for having a grudge or chip on the shoulder, as is being interpreted by some.

Tis about time Tyrone caught themselves on and stopped the indoctrination of these codes of conduct in their players. It's rife at every age level.
____

Well said

And well they know it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 13/08/2015 14:45:58    1769487

Damothedub

Because Tyrone is the hero GAA deserves, but not the one it needs right now.

God if you really really believe that then your more childish than my kid who actually went to comic-con .
Time for some home truth's I was taken to HQ over forty years ago by my father , he was suspicious of all things from the north , he said they didn't like us ,he said they had a massive chip on their shoulder , my father from a different era a racist .
The more time you spend on HS the more I find less and less to like about the entrenched North , check previous posts , Ive been one of the biggest supporters of Tyrones great team , I name McGuigan senior Canavan and O Neill among my all time favourite players .I just am sick to my teeth with lads defending the indefensible , its predictable and boring , yes the lad has been made a scapegoat and that's wrong , but to use games from god knows when etc to justify his actions is laughable .
Its not your location on a map , not your co-ordinates that I despise , its your godamn unwillingness to ever see anything wrong AT AlL in your boys , and the sense I get that yous love it .

How many fecking times do you need us all to say that we agree what McCann did was wrong, or are you choosing no to listen when we say it as it doesn't suit the above narrative?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 15:03:13    1769500

Delighted to see such a respected man as James Horan weighing in on this matter, and he has totally vindicated the Tyrone posters and others on this forum.He has agreed with everything we have been saying on the matter.We knew we had legitimate points to make that were being shouted down on this forum and in the national media simply because this involved a Tyrone player.Horan starts by saying that Mc Cann is being "hung out to dry" by the GAA.That the GAA is in fact responding to media pressure and that you'd have to question what they are it if Mc Canns 8 week suspension was to be upheld.James also points to Joe Brolly being one of the instigators of what he calls a "witch hunt",and that the commentators on the Sunday game happily laid into Mc Cann after Brolly got the ball rolling. James also points out that this whole saga could be greatly harming Tyrones preparations for the semi final,I for one think that might actually be the point for some people in all of this.While being able to criticize what Tiernan did as "daft and wrong" at least James has had the decency to acknowledge the bias against Tyrone gaa.Thank you very much James.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 15:29:18    1769517

The ban is well merited. If he was from my county I'd be embarrassed to have him on the team until he cleans up his behaviour. Other players may have deserved similar in the past but that's no reason for no sanction on this occasion. I don't understand the people here trying to defend him, there is no defending what he did. He has brought the game and his county into disrepute for sure.

On another point, I hear lots of people say Mickey Harte never sends his teams out to play cynically etc. But does he tell them not to? Judging by his comments on this matter the answer here is no. My admiration for him is tumbling by the day (I sure he doesn't care but it's a shame that he tarnishing his legacy in my opinion). I won't be too sorry when Tyrone make their exit.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 13/08/2015 15:52:10    1769533

Monaghan, Tyrone and the referee are all responsible for what went on in Croke park last Sat night - Horans point is valid that this lad has been hung out to dry. Fines for both counties for failing to control their players would have been the proper action here.Hit them in the pocket and the pressure wont be long coming on the players from their own co board to keep their noses clean.
Then a good strict reffing performance the next day to ensure there is no doubt that these antics wont be tolerated in the future.

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 13/08/2015 16:05:56    1769550

Why should the player be suspended for 8 weeks or indeed any weeks. The only reason it appears is to cover up a mistake by the Ref in sending off a Monaghan player. There were a total of 7 officials involved and none of them seen the incident, or were they looking at. The suspension makes a laughing stock of the GAA. I have seen players getting badly injured through foul play and no retrospective penalty! so where is the justice. There are posters who agree with the ban and that does not surprise me considering that a lot of supporters who only see the foul play from the opposition.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/08/2015 16:10:54    1769557

Other players may have deserved similar in the past but that's no reason for no sanction on this occasion.
------------------------------------------------
The mask slips for another.We have not once defended what Mc Cann did.I was the first on here to condemn it.Why do you guys only hear what you want? We are just asking for fairness and consistency within the rules as they stand.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/08/2015 16:12:57    1769559

benched

1769500 Damothedub

Because Tyrone is the hero GAA deserves, but not the one it needs right now.

God if you really really believe that then your more childish than my kid who actually went to comic-con .
Time for some home truth's I was taken to HQ over forty years ago by my father , he was suspicious of all things from the north , he said they didn't like us ,he said they had a massive chip on their shoulder , my father from a different era a racist .
The more time you spend on HS the more I find less and less to like about the entrenched North , check previous posts , Ive been one of the biggest supporters of Tyrones great team , I name McGuigan senior Canavan and O Neill among my all time favourite players .I just am sick to my teeth with lads defending the indefensible , its predictable and boring , yes the lad has been made a scapegoat and that's wrong , but to use games from god knows when etc to justify his actions is laughable .
Its not your location on a map , not your co-ordinates that I despise , its your godamn unwillingness to ever see anything wrong AT AlL in your boys , and the sense I get that yous love it .

How many fecking times do you need us all to say that we agree what McCann did was wrong, or are you choosing no to listen when we say it as it doesn't suit the above narrative?

Its the Buts the Ands that go with it that annoys , I will concede that there are some that came straight out and said what he did was wrong .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/08/2015 16:20:54    1769564

8weeks for a yellow card offence is a bit harsh to say the least, typical gaa acting when the media especially rte cries out, even brolly who is anti Tyrone said that 8 weeks is wrong, you'd get less for boxing the face off a lad, nothing would have be done had it been brogan or the likes

westmeath2015 (Westmeath) - Posts: 153 - 13/08/2015 16:28:12    1769571

Thing is, most people (myself included) hate to see this type of play acting and welcome any moves which will cut it out but that's not what the issue is around this whole debacle. The issue is why do the GAA only seem to react when the team is from up here? Yes we have people going on about paranoia etc but put your rational head on, take a step back from who the County is involved or what part of the Country they are from and ask yourself these questions.

Why did they not nip this in the bud on St Patricks day at the club finals? They also have had opportunities since where it has been there for all to see in televised games - which people have already given examples of.
Why was what McCann done any different to these incidents or why was the outcry in the media etc so severe for this incident and not the others - so severe that it prompted the reaction from those fwits who govern these sort of things?
Why have they not also looked retrospectively at the incidents mentioned on this and other topics on the matter where there are culprits equally guilty (and in some case more so in my opinion) and handed out retrospective bans? Why did they take that match and that incident as the point they were going to start hammering people?

And if you go back to the Black Card - why was there such outcry over the Cavanagh tackle when again such cynical play and tackles was in our game for God knows how long?

What rational reasons can people give to the questions?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/08/2015 16:36:39    1769576

seanie_boy

The mask slips for another.

What is that supposed to mean? The mask covering what exactly?

If you've got something to say about me then say it out clearly.

Nothing I've written in my comment can be construed to mean anything other that what it says literally.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 13/08/2015 16:44:12    1769581

Here's the million dollar question.

Is the GAA going to retrospectively analyse every game and hand our excessive bans that don't actually fit with the crime? Or will it be just this one incident?

Is that the way forward? Should we go back to all previous games and hand out bans?

Plenty of incidents all summer goading, diving, dangerous foul play all either missed on the pitch or not dealt with correctly by the match officials!

Will they all be looked at if not then why just this one? I hated what I saw on Saturday but the GAA are opening a huge can of worms here playing to the whims of those who shout loudest in the media. Get the rules in order to start with.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 13/08/2015 17:10:02    1769596

The issue is why do the GAA only seem to react when the team is from up here?

Tony Keady 1989
Colin Lynch 1998

Both of these lads counties could have said the same in those years.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/08/2015 17:12:28    1769600