Tiernan McCann

Tim_Burr
County: Down

Maybe as unfair as this is the GAA are fed up with the constant controversy that surrounds Tyrone?

3 issues that made headlines this year for the wrong reasons.
Black card introduced a few years back due to cynical play most notable example was Cavanaghs drag down a few years back.

Maybe Tyrone should look at their overall conduct and their reputation.

The lad made a mistake and he has been subject to a lot of abuse and it's not fair on him or his family.
I hope he plays on Sunday week he's been training all year and it would be cruel if he was banned.

But my overall feeling is that Tyrone have been involved in many unsavory incidents and maybe this is catching up with them.

I agree with most of these points (not sure if im allowed to say anything about Tyrone due to being from Down)
The Irish News had two good articles on this recently from Paddy Heaney and Danny Hughes and summed up this latest sorry mess accurately

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2015 10:41:52    1769284

Afraid the referees report say's Hughes was sent off for striking McCann, which is why Hughes is appealing it

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1067 - 13/08/2015 10:44:16    1769286

Thomas Clarke

I've no issue with a rule that covers something so blatant as what Tiernan did being introduced in future, though I do agree with you that it would have to be for something very obvious. However, and I'm glad that you now agree with me on this, you can't make up the rules retrospectively. This ban must be overturned and, additionally, the CCCC should be asked to account for their ridiculous decision.

I'm not necessarily agreeing or disagreeing with you, I mean maybe it could be argued that he brought the game into disrepute which would merit a ban, but again all I'm saying is I'll understand if the ban isn't upheld. However I'm of the belief that McCann deserves a ban for such a cringeworthy dive and specific rules must be brought in to ban players for such incidents in the future so there can be no dispute over whether a ban is legal or not.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/08/2015 10:48:42    1769289

So red and black says

Why do Tyrone posters take such delight in reminding Down of
our fallen standing at every opportunity???

Down posters have made a national pastime out of telling the world about Tyrone's indiscretions, poor sportsmanship, puke football, blah, bla, blah.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/08/2015 10:50:35    1769291

pdempsey

McCann was wrong. So was the ref. Both should get a one game ban for being totally stupid and incompetent. Similar offences from other players and officials should result in similar bans. It's time to start getting rid of the cowardly act of diving (and related offences) from our sport. We have to start somewhere and no time like the present.

We can all move on then and hopefully diving will be less common in our sport. It's irrelevant where McCann is from in the context of the ban.
Ignore all the media speculation.

A lot of truth in what you said pdempsey except the time to legislate and bring in new rules is Congress, not mid season and the medias role in this whole affair simply can't be ignored as they are the elephant in the corner.
The official SG twitter account liking a tweet from Anthony Moyles hoping "Kerry knock seven shades out of these Tyrone lads" & "McCann needs a serious lesson given to him".
The bias of the SG can hardly be questioned now and some on here yesterday were asking us to listen to a Newstalk podcast with Moyles, as if he it was some sort of balanced view on the whole affair.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 10:52:27    1769292

gotmilk

It is bull Htaem. How can you give a ban for an infringement that doesn't carry the offence. I'll put it to you this way, if you were caught shoplifting a Mars bar would you expect to get life in prison. Shoplifting is a heinous crime and can often deprive smaller retailers of income. But the law doesn't allow for a life sentence for it. So if you committed this crime would you not consider it to be an unjust sentence considering it is not the punishment. The punishment for McCann was a yellow card by the letter of the law. Not an 8 week ban. McCanns carry on was a disgrace but you can not give a ban when you are legally not allowed to. There is also no precedent for this. Look at the number of diving incidents this year alone, why were none of these players apprehended and given 8 week bans? Don't get me started on players from other years, including Hughes himself.
Diving needs to be stamped out but you can not do it this way. By all means bring it in at the next congress but a blind man could see that there is an agenda here with Tyrone.

I don't know, again it could be argued that he brought the game into disrepute which would merit a ban but I do agree that rules need to be brought in to erase any grey area on diving, it has to go and bans are a must to discourage it. However I just want to take you up on the 'agenda' bit, I mean do you really believe that there is a specific agenda against Tyrone? and why exactly would there be an agenda against Tyrone?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/08/2015 10:56:12    1769297

Marty Duffy had a huge part to play in what went on. Sub standard ref who seems to tick the assessors boxes, that can be the only explanation for him getting important games.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8385 - 13/08/2015 11:00:22    1769303

Telling the World about Tyrone indiscretions????The whole GAA
World is talking about them Brend???

Sean Cavanagh needs to set an example.When your captain
continually falls foul of the invisible man in the scoring zone
it creates a culture of dishonesty!!!!

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1702 - 13/08/2015 11:02:49    1769304

Ulsterman

The treatment of this wee lad has been scandalous and an utter disgrace. He is an amateur, still young and a bit foolish to do what he did BUT what he and Tyrone have had to face is unacceptable; you have to say it is a form of racism. The Dublin media have once again stoked up a xenophobic, anti Ulster atmosphere and many have jumped on the bandwagon to vent their hatred. I have been saying for a long time that the Dublin media tail is wagging the GAA dog and the Association is fast losing it's independence and credibility. The Dublin media has a rabid anti Northern agenda and this also now dictates their sporting coverage. The GAA is fast losing respect in Ulster indeed it is now attracting s lot of anger and even talks of boycotts, right across the province. Even in the darkest days of the Troubles there was no such talk or feeling. Now it is widespread.

Hold up for a wee minute Ulsterman. The media say/do as they wish to attract viewers and sell print. They always have and always will. The GAA take action then as they and they alone deem necessary. In this case Tiernan McCann is being made an example of, I don't think the ban will be upheld as it goes. However, Tyrone and any other side need to accept criticism as par for the course when incidents like this occur. Don't try and make this an Ulster against everyone scenario because its not true. Tyrone claiming poor us and nothing happened to the last people that did this is no defense. For those of us who were at that game (hogan stand, section 331, row cc) it was clear that both sides were involved in lots of cynical play and tactical fouling. The SG highlighted that and singled out the very worst example as it was on another level to all others, a player pretended he was hit (not even playing up on a nothing contact) and fell like a sack of spuds all to deceive the referee and have an opponent sent off, which he achieved. If this incident did not happen nothing more than the general comments leveled at both sides would have been said. This type of play needs to be erased from the mindset of all teams. People on here (clearly not at the game and going on the SG highlights/sky coverage) try to draw comparison to the example of Rory Beggan. They are not one and the same. What Beggan did was exactly what I saw both Cavanaghs do multiple times, Conor McAliskey do it more than once, Tiernan McCann had already done and Darren McCurry too. They went down after a tackle or contact (not after getting their hair done).

This talk of xenophobia, hatred and racism is either sad or hilarious. The media like to add a bit of theatrics for sure but everyone gets it when they are involved in a controversial game/incident. Its laughable to suggest Tyrone suffer more proportionally than anyone else. They are a successful side, get a lot of coverage and therefore get more attention than others. I recall the slating Longford got for their abysmal performance earlier in the year on RTE. I recall Cavan BEFORE a ball was kicked getting unjustified criticism from the SG. We could go on and on but it would fall on so many blind eyes and deaf ears.

By the way I read a post here from you a while back saying you were not going to post any more. Change of heart I guess.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 13/08/2015 11:23:38    1769317

The guy deserves a ban. He wont get one. The appeal will win.

What is truly shocking is the reaction of the Tyrone posters. Many on here are acting like Tyrone are victims!

Look guys, the Tyrone footballers have been at this stuff for years, if thats the way you want gaelic games to be played, then go on, defend McCann.

If you are like me and you would like to see feigning injury and diving eradicated from the sport, youll support a ban.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 13/08/2015 11:25:14    1769319

Unfortunetly all you have to do now is look at posters county to see what their take on any given incident will be.
The County involved will also decide people's reactions. Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Cork we all have done unsavoury things and some got little coverage and some got too much coverage.
Tyrone posters on here I think deep down and privately know that these aren't isolated incidents involving their team and are angry about it. But to be fair arent going to come on here time and time again and have to keep aplogising to other posters who don't acknowledge their own counties short comings.
At its best HS can have some reasonable debates , but unfortunetly more times than not Its tribal on here and it ain't going to change soon.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 13/08/2015 11:52:33    1769344

Htaem

However I just want to take you up on the 'agenda' bit, I mean do you really believe that there is a specific agenda against Tyrone? and why exactly would there be an agenda against Tyrone?

-----------------------------------------------
There is an agenda, because Tyrone refuse to communicate with RTE. Several Sunday Game panelists are also newspaper journalists. The reason for the Tyrone boycott is:

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/tyrone-stance-has-decency-on-its-side-29243123.html

You can just imagine the red faces at RTE when, if Tyrone win the AI, neither their cameras nor reporters are welcome at the banquet for the biggest Sunday Game show of the year. It'll remind everyone of the reason for the Tyrone boycott, and how RTE thought that they'd get a few cheap laughs over Mickey's loss.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 13/08/2015 12:03:17    1769354

Have to say I have huge sympathy for this young lad. Fully agree we need to stop this sort of thing, but if I were him I'd feel aggrieved at being the first to get a ban for it despite not being the first to do it this season. There should have been a definitive statement issued after the championship was over, and a crackdown from then.

When the black card got introduced there was a case in a league match where a Mayo player (Andy Moran I think) didn't get a black card because the player he intentionally pulled wasn't "pulled down". This was giving out an official message that if you were fouled you had to go to ground. While McCann's fall on Saturday wasn't quite the same, the lesson was learned.

Someone above calls Marty Duffy a substandard referee. That's being kind. I hate to see his name beside a Meath fixture. Can he explain his thinking from the match:
1) if he saw what happened, why did he not just tell Mccann to get up and yellow card him
2) if he didn't see what happened, then why did he issue a red card?

I don't have any issue with Tyrone and I thought they were top class in most of what they did last weekend. They came looking to play the game a certain way and they forced Monaghan to play on their terms. Only the really good sides can do that at this level.

I posted on a thread earlier in the year about the widening gaps in the GAA and the ridiculous structures in place. This year has really finished me as regards intercounty GAA. I remember when Galway won Sam in 98 reading an interview with Michael Donnellan's father who also won an All Ireland with them. He didn't even go to the games at this stage and he said "if you were looking for a reason to fall out of love with the GAA, you'd find a different one every day of the week". Unfortunately I see now what he meant.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 524 - 13/08/2015 12:31:26    1769377

It seems to be the tail wagging the dog when it comes to the GAA these days. This has bee going on for years and now they want to deal with it because there's a media outcry. In fact since the introduction of the blacl card there is now an incentive to dive. That's no way to run an organisation.

The rule is there. It's a yellow card offence end of. It doesn't matter how distasteful it was. It's catered for under the rules. You want to change the rules then do so at the appropriate time, not mid championship.

It will be a disgrace if it's upheld in my opinion as much as I'd like to see the player punished, fair is fair. Far worse has gone on and the GAA have done nothing.

If this is upheld it will open up a huge can of worms. What's next? The media outcry should it e determining what rules are there to be bent or broken at the whim of HQ.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1502 - 13/08/2015 12:33:50    1769379

Well why is McCann the only player being penalised? Diving has been rampant this summer, even in that game it was going on wholesale yet McCann is the only player to be taken to account. After the tipp u21 game and the Donegal game Tyrone were accused of all sorts. Donegal gave as good as they got in that game and in the round 3 qualifier Tipp played with a very nasty streak yet nothing is said.

Look i am all for a ban being brought in for diving but it has to be brought in. You can't pick and choose to give players bans when the rules clearly state that a ban is not the punishment. I know if i was receiving a punishment in excess of what is stipulated or if I was the only one out of numerous offenders being punished I would feel that I am being unfairly picked on. What i would want to know is why?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/08/2015 12:35:57    1769382

How many people on here have defended what McCann done Jayp?
Do you believe that if a proposal is brought to congress to put in place a rule allowing for proportional action against this behavior that any counties will instruct their delegates to vote against it?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/08/2015 12:39:09    1769383

Everyone in the GAA community can agree that what McCann done was shameful and embarrassing, I seen Rory's stories even come out with Duffy being a "pool Cue" away from the incident and took the completely wrong action. If he never sent Hughes off he would have booked McCann and then everyone would have gone on about their business, there may have been a slight discussion about it but nothing resulting in an 8 week ban so realistically the GAA are punishing Tyrone and McCann for Duffy's mistake.

Its obvious the GAA wouldn't allow one of their officials to come out with an apology to say that he was wrong to send Hughes off. Duffy is up there as one of the worst referees in inter-county football the only thing is that he's consistently bad.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 13/08/2015 12:44:24    1769387

tearintom we're not even mid championship there's 4/33 teams left. 3 games and the seasons over for another year. We have 3 teams who have played superbly against all of their opponents throwing them to the side without having to leave 2nd gear (MAyo v Donegal an exception) and then you have the Dirty Ulster boys who have been beaten by Donegal, 4 qualifiers (Limerick, Meath, Tipp, Sligo) and 1 QF who haven't looked overly convincing, doesnt play the same style of football that the other 3 have played scraping past Meath, not convincing against Limerick and started show potential after the 2nd half in Tipp. We simply don't fit the mold that the the GAA expects. Tyrone are the only back door team left in the pot.

Because Tyrone is the hero GAA deserves, but not the one it needs right now.

Find_the_space (Tyrone) - Posts: 313 - 13/08/2015 13:00:07    1769401

Would it be possible to leave out the pro-anti Tyrone sentiment & get back to Liam's original question?

If the CCCC were to retrospectively ban him for the SF, Would you agree with the decision as a deterrent for such behaviour in future.

After weighing it up, I think yes a ban for the semi is warranted but would be very difficult to implement given the difference between the supposed indiscretions: Yellow card for diving or 8 weeks for misconduct that is considered to have discredited the association.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 13/08/2015 13:06:56    1769411

Because Tyrone is the hero GAA deserves, but not the one it needs right now.

God if you really really believe that then your more childish than my kid who actually went to comic-con .
Time for some home truth's I was taken to HQ over forty years ago by my father , he was suspicious of all things from the north , he said they didn't like us ,he said they had a massive chip on their shoulder , my father from a different era a racist .
The more time you spend on HS the more I find less and less to like about the entrenched North , check previous posts , Ive been one of the biggest supporters of Tyrones great team , I name McGuigan senior Canavan and O Neill among my all time favourite players .I just am sick to my teeth with lads defending the indefensible , its predictable and boring , yes the lad has been made a scapegoat and that's wrong , but to use games from god knows when etc to justify his actions is laughable .
Its not your location on a map , not your co-ordinates that I despise , its your godamn unwillingness to ever see anything wrong AT AlL in your boys , and the sense I get that yous love it .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 13/08/2015 13:16:35    1769416