Tyrone wins of '03, '05 and '08 are overstated.

Legendzx1x, you have made my day. Hilarious posts

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 05/08/2015 17:49:02    1764620

Great teams get through 4 tough rounds in Ulster. Then 3 more tough games to win the All-Ireland. Not the easy passage you lot get. You're talking bull legendz

Redhandsam (Tyrone) - Posts: 93 - 05/08/2015 17:57:47    1764625

From 2003-2008 no team won more all-irelands than Tyrone, and because they beat Kerry in 2 finals and a semi in this period, Tyrone also earned their 'team of the decade' accolade, a gong that upset more than a handfull of Kerry folk. The 2005 final was the greatest game I've ever seen, and Tyrone's path to that final one of the toughest ever taken by any team.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4124 - 05/08/2015 18:02:44    1764629

Why are these threads allowed?

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 05/08/2015 18:12:24    1764639

Great stuff this

I find it hard to understand how the year you win the All-Ireland is somehow overstated just because you might have struggled the following year. Now if it's a flash in the pan type thing I can understand but Tyrone consistently came back after struggling. That takes huge courage and no little talent. And in all fairness I think 2004 was an extremely harsh year for them, they lost a hugely talented player and captain earlier in the year, then fought their way through the qualifiers before facing Mayo in the quarter final. Don't get me wrong, Mayo were deserving winners on the day however Tyrone suffered a few key injuries and never really recovered. They were a three-in-a-row team in the making in my opinion.

Be a bit different if you said Cork's win in 2010 is overstated, though saying that does anyone really overstate that.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 05/08/2015 18:15:22    1764642

In 2000, Kerry won the last All-Ireland before the back door came in. We beat Armagh in the semi-final after extra-time in a replay. We beat Galway in the final after a replay. That Galway team went on to win the All-Ireland in the following year. Armagh went on to win the All-Ireland the year after Galway.

When Armagh won the All-Ireland in '02, noone was saying they were at disadvantage coming from Ulster. When both Tyrone and Armagh contested the '03 final, noone was saying they were at a disadvantage coming from Ulster. During the winter of '03 going into early '04 all talk was of Kerry being at a disadvantage while teams coming from the north were battle hardened. Armagh and Tyrone threw down the gauntlet to all challengers and Kerry came up with the answers.

Armagh started off Kerry's poor run of results against teams coming from the north in '02. Before Kerry took on the Ulster champions Armagh in the '06 quarter-final, all talk was of a northern curse. When Kerry beat the Ulster champions in that '06 quarter-final, focus switched from the north to the results against Tyrone. Kerry won that All-Ireland of '06. They retained that title in '07. In '08 Kerry reached the final attempting a 3-in-a-row. I was very proud of our lads in defeat. It was incredible to see your team back there on All-Ireland final day attempting a third title on the trot. It was an incredible run, their 5th final in-a-row at the time. They gave it their best effort. To the victors goes the spoils. To Kerry's credit they made a 6th All-Ireland final in-a-row in '09 and claimed another title.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8770 - 05/08/2015 18:25:51    1764646

If Tyrone's wins were over stated it doesn't say much about Kerry's supposedly greatest team ever now does it? Who Tyrone's coincidentally have an unblemished championship record against....Tyrone 3 Kerry 0.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1661 - 05/08/2015 18:38:21    1764653

Lol amazing....and to justify it whilst ignoring facts!

04 was marred by the death of Cormac, I'm 25 and that's never happened to the champs in that length of time...maybe it happened before I don't know but your argument is already moot when you think of this point!

06 was marred by injuries, I couldn't tell you of all the people who were injured but it was an awful lot, we went to a replay against Louth and then were knocked out by Laois in the next round. No disrespect to either team but if a few lads back we'd have beaten them at a canter.

The performance Mayo put in in 04 against Tyrone and Cork put in against Tyrone in 09 were massive compared to the efforts they mustered against Kerry in their respective finals. As has been mentioned above neither team showed up

Seansy48 (Tyrone) - Posts: 237 - 05/08/2015 18:46:01    1764660

Make that 3-1 seany. kerry beat them in 2012 (hammered them actually).
ridiculous thread all the same.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 05/08/2015 18:52:41    1764663

After 2005 Tyrone had a lot of injury problems particularly Brian McGuigan and Stevie O'Neill. I think only for that we would've been a bit more consistent. McGuigan was never the same unfortunately. In 2008 our forward line wasn't anything special but Cavanagh had the game of his life against Kerry.

In saying that I've an awful lot of admiration for Kerry's longevity and consistency.

It's all in the past now anyway.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 05/08/2015 18:55:30    1764665

This is a stupid ill conceived thread. You cannot belittle the success of the Tyrone team of the last 12 years. For 3 of those years they were the best, 2003, 2005 & 2008 and well deserved. The All Ireland Champions are the best team of that year, it is not up for debate. If another team was better they would have won it instead.

Best of luck to Tyrone against Monaghan this Saturday and may the best team win. (I'm heading up myself to see the Junior final)I was up in Garvaghey after a league game a few years ago and was impressed by the hard work put in by all, and the warm welcome I received from Tyrone GAA. Can we please move on from this team of the decade/best team ever between 2003 - 2008/most improved beard collection shite and just grow up.

It's shite like this thread that make other counties detest Kerry because of the arrogance and belittling of other counties records. You should be proud of your county but mock or insult other counties, all it takes is one Down supporter to mention their 100% championship record against Kerry and your comments look idiotic.

CletusVanDamme (Kerry) - Posts: 63 - 05/08/2015 19:17:37    1764671

Have just read the opening post on this thread . OH GAWD LEGENDS !!!!!! Have you nothing better to do ? That was a great Tyrone team . Get over it .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 05/08/2015 19:18:33    1764672

Make that 3-1 seany. kerry beat them in 2012 (hammered them actually).

Ach I'd make it 3 - 0.5 personally ;)

Kidding, a win's a win, if we meet Kerry in the semi-final and win I'm sure there'd be a lot of gloating about beating Kerry.

Not likely to happen though.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 05/08/2015 19:58:51    1764692

I'm not belittling Tyrone at all and have a massive respect for them. The Tyrone supporters I congratulated after the '08 final will vouch for that. I've simply said the success has been overstated. One is entitled to one's own opinion and in fairness I did give my reasons. Whether people agree or not is up to them. The last 7 champions haven't made the final in the following year. It reflects how difficult that is to do. The success of teams retaining an All-Ireland or the efforts in making the final in the following year seems understated.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8770 - 05/08/2015 20:15:31    1764701

The last 7 champions haven't made the final in the following year. It reflects how difficult that is to do.

Well there you go. Anyway a team that wins three all-irelands is obviously going to get a lot of plaudits. That Kerry side at the time got plenty of praise as well - the O'Ses and Cooper and others are seen as some of the best players of all time. I don't get the point of this topic really, it's not as if there's been a sudden rush to hail that Tyrone side as the best side ever.

MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 05/08/2015 20:52:46    1764719

Most of the Kerry folk on here are pretty fair when not playing the cute hoor but have to say this one is a barefaced crystal swing style blinkered eejit. Nothing good to say about anyone if they're not from Kerry and always the undertone of Begrudgery. Grow up.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 05/08/2015 21:03:08    1764723

Think this is just a build up to more self backslapping from someone who is expecting to make a final and lay claim to that being a wonderful achievement.
Good luck to any team if they do win a back to back but quit the classless sniping and sourness that you can't seem to get over towards a team that had yer number.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2313 - 05/08/2015 21:18:25    1764736

Legend stop digging. They were a great team and their success was not overstated. Your contention is absolutely ridiculous .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 05/08/2015 21:21:58    1764739

A truly great team.

They beat their biggest national rivals 3 times out of 3 during that period.

They weren't going to retain it in 2004 due to Cormac McAnnalen's passing and in 2006 I seem to remember they had an unbelievable injury list that no team would have been expected to retain it under those circumstances.

The performances in the 2005 and 2008 all ireland finals are as close as you can get to footballing perfection against another great team and to beat a genuinely great team in each of their 3 all ireland victories is an unbelievable achievement.

Their run from the quarter finals onwards in 2008 was some of the finest attacking football I have ever seen.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/08/2015 21:45:55    1764754

I have just skimmed over this one but I have to say the 05 and 08 finals were the two best of the noughties. I think it was the 06 AI final between Kerry and Mayo that had to be the most boring one ever. I took the dog for a walk to get away from the boredom. dident bother turning off the TV. when I came back in I had already the kettle filled an switched on before I remembered to check the score. I felt so sorry for the poor eijets that had paid out good money to be there.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 909 - 05/08/2015 21:46:44    1764755