Cork v Galway

Galway can and will beat Tipperary. Their full forward line is flying. Come on Galway.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 26/07/2015 20:03:32    1759355

Galway can and will beat Tipperary. Their full forward line is flying. Come on Galway.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2614 - 26/07/2015 20:03:32    1759356

@Galwayford - We can, but we won't if we hit 23 wides again.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 906 - 26/07/2015 20:11:58    1759360

Well done to Galway. I called it at 50/50. I am surprised that we were beaten by such a big margin. It is similar feeling to last year. The nature of championship hurling is that when you lose like that, you deal with all of the insults. Its the nature of the beast. We have to wait a year to get back to it again. I am glad that JBM thanked his players for the effort that they put in and that he is looking forward to next year. That is how it should be.

On the game itself, Galway scored 2-28 (30 scores) and had 22(?) wides. So that is a minimum of 52 scoring chances. Cork had 24 points and 10 (?) wides I think. That is a minimum of 34 chances. In total then over 74 minutes there were a minimum of 84 chances. I think it shows the game was very lose. It was not a really tough game. Galway won and will be happy to some degree. Is that good preparation for the next game though? The replay v Dublin, the game v Laois and now this, has shown that Galway are brilliant. Is this what they will focus on going forward to play Tipp and KK/W'ford? or is the KK Leinster final more accurate?

All for another day I suppose. I would like to sincerely wish Galway supporters the best for the remainder of the championship. Now that my county are out, I am not bothered really who wins now. I would be nice for the game though if Galway or Waterford win as it has been a while since they won.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2015 20:17:33    1759367

I hope Galway V Tipp will be a cracker cause the Championship has been extremely poor this year and we need three big games to salvage something.

Tipp will be a totally different outfit than Cork. I thought after the Clare game that Cork may have the bit between their teeth and would gather momentum but that victory and performance seemed to be driven by the want to prove people wrong which can be good for one game but doesn't guarantee you a fruitful season.

Today, most of Corks players totally under-performed - I'm not sure why but they did. What summed them up was Galways second goal when the two Galway forwards seemed to look at each other for a few seconds before one decided - sure I'll pick her up and score the goal. All very similar to what happened at the end of last years semi-final.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1468 - 26/07/2015 20:49:12    1759384

Great win today but we need to be much more cynical against the likes of Tipp and Kilkenny if we have any aspirations of winning the All Ireland. I know we posted a good score but there was a shocking amount of wides.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 26/07/2015 20:52:42    1759392

*Clinical

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1697 - 26/07/2015 20:57:05    1759397

ahsure.

*Clinical

Slightly Freudian there!! I think you to be both to win.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/07/2015 21:05:33    1759400

Firstly congrats to galway bossed the game from the first minute to the last a truly awesome performance i really taught galway were depending on jc a lot but that notion was well and truly wrong so again worthy winners and if they put two more performances like that they wont be far away at all. Now to cork i watched the game yesterday and it really was painful watching we have six cast iron players in that team that imo should be the backbone/spine of the team nash ellis kearney lehane harnedy and horgan. As for the rest average or past it, jbm has said he will be in charge next year {ok fair enough} but jimmy changes are now required without doubt a massive clear out is required no more loyalty to show ponys and some of the subs that came on yesterday are not intercounty players,we lost a ai to clare by giving them 1-4 in first 7 minutes of that final but we played our heart out that day and were carried out on our shield.in the second half yesterday after been totally outplayed in the first half we scored first to be only 3 behind that was as good as it got no fight no leadership no commitment,fair play galway would not give us time on the ball but we were like liverpool football team in its heyday at one time the ball went across the pitch about 5 times before eventually going forward and then only for a galway man to pick it up.Good god whats happened to first time hurling in cork of our 30 ai most have been won through first time hurling BACK TO BASICS LADS.im absoultely gutted at the performance and commitment we have no divine right to win but we do have a divine right to expect commitment and passion i wore my shirt yesterday with pride as i do everyday i go to the game i wish the players would play with that same commitment another empty year another disapointment footballers gone hurlers gone and its not even august dreadful

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 27/07/2015 11:44:03    1759581

Bennybunny, you're saying 'good for the game', if Galway or Waterford win something. I switch on my TV set, and see lads with schematics illustrating that Cork are winning nothing at any level, and yes, saying 'it would be good for the game', if Cork won something. It would be good for the game like!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4163 - 27/07/2015 12:04:55    1759607

Blackrock Eddie you sure got that one right didnt you!
Lehane & Horgan yes fine hurlers but would not in a million years make the Kilkenny/Tipp/Galway teams.Reason - workrate & ability to win their own ball. Harnedy the exception ijn the forward line

It really was like Men Vrs Boys, one team a clear country mile ahead of another. Galway should have really won by 20 points if they had taken just half of those wides. It would have shown Cork up even more & probably a fair reflection of the game.

Its a long way back for us & JBM has to work with the players he has but they are nowhere near good enough to be contenders. Dublin showed a lot more fight yesteday then Cork, Cork are at best the 6-7th top team in the game (Clare are better but IMO being held back) & Wexford/Limerick arent far behind & will soon jump ahead of Cork, Donal Ogs stats prove where Cork really are as a hurling power.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 27/07/2015 12:07:29    1759609

the alternatives are Tipp and Kilkenny who have won every All-Ireland between them for the last 10 years...so ya if you think it would be better for the competitiveness of the game that we had another final between those teams then more power to you...Cork are out so unfortunately we cannot add to the 30 that we have already won this year..we'll try again next year as always to try to rectify that illustration..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/07/2015 12:11:19    1759612

illusionist to be fair i think your a little out of order and a little wrong,lehane is definetly a coming player and horgan is a fabolous player there are not many who could have scored that point against clare in the final thats what horgan is about,great pen taker great free taker class player and i think he would walk into any team,as for eddie love him or hate him il give him one thing he wears his heart on his sleave he is a passionete cork man and loves his county nothing wrong with that.like you or me he doesnt get all his predictions right but who does,as for your comments men against boys its hard to argue with that

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 27/07/2015 13:18:22    1759662

Poor eddie predicts Cork to win all the time.Every single game.No matter who the opposition.Its not a sin to predict your county may indeed lose a game.
Lehane,Horgan & Harnedy(fought hard yesterday) are quality hurlers.Another 2 dangerous forwards are required.The Cork back line was all at sea.They will need to improve this area if they are to reach the Holy Grail again.A Walsh,after a good game v Clare,was as poor as ever yesterday.Cahalane doesnt look upto it at this level.Maybe the players are just not in the county.Maybe Cork will unearth a few hidden gems over the next year or two.The only way is up.It cannot get any worse.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/07/2015 14:01:53    1759694

illusionist to be fair i think your a little out of order and a little wrong,lehane is definetly a coming player and horgan is a fabolous player there are not many who could have scored that point against clare in the final thats what horgan is about,great pen taker great free taker class player and i think he would walk into any team,as for eddie love him or hate him il give him one thing he wears his heart on his sleave he is a passionete cork man and loves his county nothing wrong with that.like you or me he doesnt get all his predictions right but who does,as for your comments men against boys its hard to argue with that

With all due respect MonkstownRebel,I am not trying to knock either player (both very stylish), but in all honesty the workrate & ability to win their own ball is not there. Compare to Kilkenny, Galway & Tipp forwards & their ability to show their skills under intense pressure.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 27/07/2015 14:30:35    1759726

Good to see that the 4 best teams in the country are in last 4.
Cork were nowhere near Galway...loose marking in defence is inexcusable.
Forwards did fine, and their accuracy from open play was admirable.
On another note, sad that JBM'S Clubmate,Charlie Cullinane passed.He was a gentleman, and great man to have a pint with.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 27/07/2015 14:35:41    1759733

Commiserations to Cork, a great sporting county always in my book with great hurling supporters.Without a doubt ye'll be back lads.
I always admired JBM, for the way he played and they way he conducted himself, my admiration went up a notch yesterday for the way he handled the post match interview.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 27/07/2015 14:45:14    1759741

llusionist we will agree to disagree as i said in a earlier post we have six players who we must build a team around horgan and lehane been two of those six players,as for players been able to score unde intense pressure i think both these players can do this,but at the end of the day we are out and its back to the drawing board

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 27/07/2015 14:49:17    1759745

When have we seen them do it Monkstown? Its all good to say they are capable of it, but when when when? This team are not getting any younger & we were blessed to win the Munster final last year. In fairness the manager is doing his very best with the players he has at his disposal, but are there other players out there? To me Cork go for the same type of player too often, we need a few more Harnedys & Johnny Glyns to get anywhere near September Hurling.

Illusionist (Cork) - Posts: 79 - 27/07/2015 15:00:47    1759754

Blackrockeddie is always way off the mark. If he bets red you should go black.
Doesn't seem to have a grasp of what's happening at all.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 27/07/2015 15:10:05    1759766