well sunday is D-Day one team will be exiting the championship.The question who? so on our front we need to improve upfront those wides we had against clare will come back to haunt us if we do this on sunday.jbm has brought in the sweeper system i belive we have tightend up alot since this has come in however its not bomb proof as clare had one or two goal chances and i expect galway to test us as well even more so .To beat galway we will need goals this never looked likely against clare two goals against wexford and a penalty against waterford before that it hardly screams fear at galway but in horgan harnedy and lehane we have got goals will paudie o sull come in for alan cadogan?.Now my own questions are galway reliant on joe canning to much is he the main man or is he slipping a little? That half back line is suspect i feel we can get change there.both sides have weakness both sides are not bomb proof i dont think either will win AI but at the same time who knows?i hope we dont exit on sunday and i feel playing in thurles will stand to us because of this i give my county the vote by the minimum monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 22/07/2015 16:31:15 1757662 Link 0 |
I'd have to go with Galway - I'm afraid. Cork are on an upward curve. But the Calre game was the first timke we saw a complete 70 minute performance in almost two years, league or championship. Cork drift out of games. Can they suddenly turn it on and give two 70 minute performances back to back - unikely I'd say. Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 22/07/2015 17:01:15 1757681 Link 0 |
Cork have come on a lot, saw them in the league and saw them beat Clare .We should have beaten Galway the first day and made it easy for them the second by not playing a sweeper. Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 22/07/2015 17:01:33 1757682 Link 0 |
Corks scoring stats are far superior, they are coming off the back of a good win and they will like Thurles. Unfortunately its cork all the way for me. :( gaillimh73 (Galway) - Posts: 669 - 22/07/2015 17:44:34 1757691 Link 0 |
On paper I would fancy Galway. But Cork being Cork and Galway being an enigma, it wouldnt surprise me if Cork take them. ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 22/07/2015 17:47:29 1757692 Link 0 |
I just like to know if the galway lads are reliant on canning I don't mean to be disrespectful with that comment as galway have some fine hurlers.But if canning has a off day i would think (wisely/foolishly) that cork would be on there way as he defiently makes them tick imo monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 353 - 22/07/2015 18:08:46 1757698 Link 0 |
supporting galway in this one, hoping cannings class will prove too much for those cork lads. having david collins back is a big boost for galway. pity conor cooney is not fit yet though. hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 22/07/2015 18:55:23 1757715 Link 0 |
Would have to agree with what posters have said here, Galway's greater capacity to score goals might see them over the line here. But I wouldn't be surprised if Cork won, and I really wouldn't count out either of these teams as AI contenders, a win here will give either team real confidence. Cork have already beaten Wexford and Clare to get here, they haven't gotten to this point with easy games. A win here over Galway would really strengthen them, add to their momentum, and would be better prep for an AI semi than anything Tipp will be doing in training. Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 22/07/2015 19:06:57 1757720 Link 0 |
Monkstownrebel: Canning's role is exaggerated. I'm not saying he's not a great player, but look back over the scoring in the championship so far and you'll see the other FF do alright. There's no denying that when he's on form he can make a huge difference, but on the days he goes missing, which happens, the team gets by. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3151 - 22/07/2015 19:30:32 1757733 Link 0 |
I ll go for Cork to get the win. They ll improve again from the last day and they rack up a big score each day out. BanTarleton (Clare) - Posts: 181 - 22/07/2015 19:37:24 1757738 Link 0 |
can only see a cork win here some of the guys are saying cork arent scoring enough goals.But as i said after the waterford defeat the tournament starts now.while i except we beat a inferior team in wexford and a lacklustre clare team and in these two games only scoring two goals iv no doubt about it we will get these goals as we movealong in the tournament.also with the move of walsh into the half backline {as i suggested} the team has definetly got better/stronger a masterstroke by jimmy to play ellis as the sweeper and i can see the swagger coming back into the team and confidence coming back into the backs i will go with a 3 point win to cork.it is thurles it is almost home lol blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 22/07/2015 20:10:08 1757748 Link 0 |
Excellent Sundays hurling to look forward to.This game is very difficult to call.However i do fancy Galway to shade it.Galways forwards are big and physical with the added goal threat of young C Mannion.They are well able to win primary ball in the air,and have a greater goal scoring threat than the rebels.Tannion is a man mountain at centre back and has able companions in Coen,Hanberry,Moore,Collins(if fit).Was very impressed with how Galway blitzed Dublin in Tullamore.There was a ruthless streak to it that had the game over after 15 minutes.Kilkenny got on top in Leinster final after 45 minutes and Galway didnt have any answer.The cats are experts at protecting a lead. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 22/07/2015 21:04:15 1757777 Link 0 |
interesting team cork have picked, what i really dont understand is why aidan walsh is picked midfield and not wing back - he had possibly his best game for cork against clare when he was wing back and bill cooper certainly has his best game when he played midfield. maybe what cork are going to do is play damien cahalane at center back, drop aidan walsh to wing back, bill cooper to midfield, ellis as sweeper and maybe then lawton will actually play as a forward. because he was in trouble in the center back position against clare. other than that i cant really see what they are going to do unless they plan to play 2 sweepers haha. shaane o'neill might actually play center back not cahalane as o'neill would have more hurling than him thus allowing cahalane to stay corner back. lot of re jigging to do anyway in bringing a corner back in for a corner forward. hurlingexpert (Clare) - Posts: 1941 - 23/07/2015 21:38:12 1758232 Link 0 |
BlackrockEddie - bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 24/07/2015 09:13:27 1758261 Link 0 |
While expecting a win for Galway on Sunday I do have a few concerns but hopefully Anthony Cunningham will have worked on where Galway failed against Kilkenny. Joe Canning was well marshalled by a rookie Kilkenny full back. With the exception of the brilliant goal Joe was well held. He just has to work harder and keep on the move, Shefflin like. Regarding Tannian, I have huge concerns in relation to his ability to man centre back, he is too easily rounded and overly robust at times. He also looked unfit the last day so hopefully he will be sharper on Sunday. Andy Smith needs to pull back a bit in the verbal stakes. He gets way too involved with opponents and particularly with free takers. Refs will only put up with so much and the last thing Galway need against Cork is to be down a man. westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 24/07/2015 09:36:11 1758267 Link 0 |
Well benny lets be honest would you expect me to tip galway we both know thats not going to happen kid. Agree with you on one thing benny lehane is hurling out of his skin at the moment but still think horgan is the main man. As for the team its a strange selection i agree with cadogan been dropped but was certain paudie would start in his place.glad to see o neil back in team and while im not sure about cahalane he has played well last two games but the oppisition is geting hotter and hotter.however in jbm i trust i know he will pick the right team to bring us into a revenge match with tipp but more on that later. As for another poster saying we have turned into a defenisive outfit in or last 3 games we have averaged 23 points do that on sunday it will be enough blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 24/07/2015 10:40:54 1758304 Link 0 |
Galway - with a couple of points to spare ShortGrass_1 (Kildare) - Posts: 223 - 24/07/2015 11:21:44 1758329 Link 0 |
We often wonder what sets teams apart when it comes to success. Mention of Lehane "playing out of his skin at the moment" is an example. He wouldn't be a regular on the Tipp team and most certainly not on the Kilkenny one. Popping up occasionally during a match and scoring a couple of outstanding scores might be sufficient for Cork but not for either of the other two successful teams. And with regards being defensive, Cork may have scored an average of 23 points in the last few games but should their defence leak goals, which is highly likely now that they will be up against the best from here on, that won't be enough. Cork forwards don't work hard enough and therefore cannot afford the luxury of a sweeper. They might manage to keep the score down but won't score enough. Galway, Kilkenny and Tipp are a completely different kettle of fish than Wexford or a demoralised Clare team. westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 24/07/2015 11:57:12 1758351 Link 0 |
Galway lads,interesting to hear some of ye cast some doubts over I Tannion.Personnally,i like this man a lot.He has a real warrior spirit.He leaves everything on the field and if hes beaten he dies with his boots on.The same cannot be said for quite a few players up and down the country.I would like this guy in the trenches with me.Yes sometimes he can look a little clumsy and untidy,but he makes up for this with his sheer will to win and work ethic.Kilkenny have a habbit of making good players look average.Some of Tannions least effective days have been against the cats.I would have him in my team all day long. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 24/07/2015 13:48:16 1758424 Link 0 |
westisbest your comments are laughable,you have the audacity to say our defence is leaky and our attack doesnt work hard enough.Have you ever heard people in glass houses should not throw stones.And just in case you think that is me having a go you could not be more wrong as your own county man conor hayes said when the chips were down against kk lads switched off and thought ah well there is still the qf to come were still in it,in galway some belive you cant beat kk twice those are his words not mine,now thats pretty poor form west if that is the attitude.i also see one of the cork lads asking are galway reliant on jc,that is definetly the case i feel stop joe and galway wont go.you also say 23 points wont beat any of the top teams and then put galway in that list of top teams,mmmm well self praise is no praise west,we have a more modest view of our team in cork.as for conor lehane i will say nothing only let his hurl do the talking on sunday blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 24/07/2015 14:41:02 1758451 Link 0 |