Dublin V Armagh : challenge match

Oh Dear

All the bleeding heart Dubs bet they wish they kept their big gobs shut now

If Dub players get banned from this then so be it... might teach those to think a bit before making a loud of noise.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/07/2015 13:27:01    1754295

There has to be a proper investigation as we don't know what happened and there is alot of 'hear-say' doing the rounds? The Dublin media is pushing this.... but a player got injured, missed a final and spent 2 nights in hospital - which cannot be excused. He didn't trip over himself.... and as Big Joe says we should watch the whole video - if the victim 'did/didn't ' do something before hand ... doesn't justify these injuries......

But if this was Leitrim v Armagh it would be forgotten - which is wrong!!

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1688 - 16/07/2015 13:28:32    1754298

Seems obvious that big Joe has a story to tell. Surely as Intl Rules Manager the GAA woudl ring him up and ask what happened? Or does everyone know and want to protect the golden gooose of football?

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 16/07/2015 13:29:02    1754299

Liamwalkinstown - Why was the incident made public in the first place so?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11612 - 16/07/2015 13:29:06    1754300

Liam is clearly being a bit precious about what happened here and not looking at the wider implications of this incident only how this affects Dublin. Liam of course was very quick off the mark in creating threads about bad old Tyrone when they were on the receiving end of some negative press earlier in the year, now here he is circling the wagons around Dublin, the very thing he derided us for.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/07/2015 13:47:55    1754314

Ormond - you referenced the number three through the figure 3 . By the letter of the law that is also wrong . Your clearly insecure about so many things , that you need to point out others mistakes .
Everybody on HS would agree that you are a WUM , you simply pose arguements to everyone for the sake of it . I'd honestly have no interest in replying to you .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 16/07/2015 14:02:57    1754328

I was just wondering why you put spaces between all the words and commas, full stops etc as by doing you you don't understand what a full stop/comma is as they are meant to bring a sentence to a close and putting a space between your last word and the full stop makes sentences harder to read quickly.

It's a sports forum. Save your grammar/punctuation snobbery for your kid's homework.

Talk about obnoxious.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 16/07/2015 14:04:11    1754332

Sorry guys, Liam is spot on here.

Davy Byrnes injuries are shocking. And they shouldn't have happened. If the GAA wanted to investigate this, why did it take 12 days, Woolys newstalk interview with Gavin and a whole load of howling from the media, particularly those from outside the county?

If the GAA really wanted to investigate this they would have done so before last weekends games!

Armagh are out, any ban given to their players is now meaningless. The only victims will be Davy Byrne and Dublin. If there was a free for all Dublin players are likely to get bans. Considering Dublin are still in the championship, this is clearly going to effect Dublin more.

Dublin will stay quiet on this for obvious reasons. Whilst I agree this kind of incident is appalling, it's commonplace, Davy's injuries aren't as common. Is the ref going to be asked to re-write his report?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/07/2015 14:04:44    1754333

Nothing much liable to happen.
Of course it wont be a big deal to give one or two Armaghmen a long suspension now they are out of the championship.
But if there is more to this than we already know.... it could do Dublin a lot of harm "going forward" to coin a phrase. It could be a big distraction with maybe Kerry to play next !!!!!!!!

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 16/07/2015 14:30:43    1754352

From a good source - incident started by Dublin player, Armagh player over-reacts, free-for-all takes place in which a number of high profile Dublin and Armagh players let loose. Hence silence from both camps. Dublin have much more to lose in this than Armagh!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 16/07/2015 14:41:45    1754364

The CCCC are right to investigate. Some lad got his face smashed and were all supposed to think ah twas only a challenge match. Their all tough lads they can all take a bit of a beating and everything will be fine.
Is this how we want to play our games ???

Whether it be Dublin , Kerry , Tyrone or who ever an incident of this magnitude should be investigated.
Is-int this the reason why Croke Park wanted to sanction challenge games cos stuff like this goes on the whole time.

If either team has nothing to hide they will cooperate.

It must have been some challenge game cos the air time its getting is unreal!!!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/07/2015 14:53:43    1754375

Croi Gorm - fair play )

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 16/07/2015 14:56:21    1754379

If it was any other than Dublin, there would have been an immediate investigation. This incident happened before the game actually started, so much for friendly!!. I hope the GAA fully investigate the affair, and apply sanctions regardless. Armagh are out of this year's championship, prospective bans will have no effect in2015. it seems from posts, that Dublin might have more to worry about, if the last post is an accurate report.
I hope it's not brushed under the carpet.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1879 - 16/07/2015 14:57:28    1754381

Brolly...

I think this is the big issue. What hasn't come out yet.
But if the video does emerge... there will be plan to get around it.
Suspensions which expire the night before the next game?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 16/07/2015 15:12:58    1754393

Agree with you here Liam, none of the hand wringers have any concern at all for the injured party, like they pretend to, they just want to see some people get suspended. Obviously the only suspensions that matter at this stage are Dubs

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 16/07/2015 15:25:41    1754402

This is not about concern or lack of concern for injured parties.

Its about the same standards and rules being applied across the board - a level playing field, same sauce for geese and ganders, fair play and all the rest of it.

There was no holding back on Tyrone over the last few years for stuff that was harmless compared to this.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 16/07/2015 15:51:18    1754433

Some of you Dubs need to get over yourselves, seriously.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/07/2015 16:14:30    1754460

flack
Agree with you here Liam, none of the hand wringers have any concern at all for the injured party, like they pretend to, they just want to see some people get suspended. Obviously the only suspensions that matter at this stage are Dubs

The player who obviously hurt Davy should get a definite suspension. If he was that badly beaten to miss a championship match and spend a few days in hospital then that warrants a long suspension.
I don't think the issue here is that people don't have any concern for Davy its the fact with a lingering possibility that some suspensions for the Blues are to come down the line. So then the excuses will start appearing and will feel like its the World v Dublin. That can irk a lot of people but look that's life.
We have discussed it at length here in the past on various other topics.if your man enough to hit someone , be man enough to take your punishment. That goes for any county not just Dublin.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 16/07/2015 16:44:47    1754479

Ormo why do you insist on putting people down?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/07/2015 17:09:47    1754493

If people think Dublin supporters reactions to this are silly, THEY need to get over themselves.

Geese and Ganders should be treated equally, but 12 days after an event occurred to launch an investigation is ridiculous. The reason it was launched was because of media pressure.

In that 12 day period, there has been a lot of stirring going on. Now Dublin have had their fair share of controversy over the last couple of years. They have already cooperated with the CCCC in incidents that resulted in bans, or could result in lengthy bans. See if a meleé happens in a game usually one or two boys get sent off. A few yellows are issued to each team ... incident dealt with. This will result in lots of players banned who wouldn't usually get them if it happened in a game. Geese and Ganders lads.

Armagh are out of the Championship, Dublin are in the Championship. If bans were issued they should have been issued BEFORE last Sunday. The GAA had 9 days to figure it out before last Sunday's fixtures and to issue bans. Any other sport would have investigated reported on and dished out appropriate punishments given 9 days! The GAA launched its inquiry 12 days after the incident.

Trial by media has ensued.

Dublin are not obliged to cooperate with the investigation , if it's not in the referees report, they don't have questions to answer. And it's not in their best interest to do so as it will likely result in punishing one team more than the other. Geese and ganders lads! If Dublin receive bans it effects them, Armagh boys can sit back and wait until the League kicks off after Christmas.

Unfortunately, challenge games tend to be lawless as there's a wink and a nod at a ref post game and incidents/sending offs aren't reported. That's a culture in our games that has always been there at club and county level. It happened a couple of weeks ago, and guaranteed to happen at a GAA ground somewhere in Ireland later this evening.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/07/2015 17:13:57    1754496