Roscommon out!

ispeakwisdom
County: Roscommon
-----
Cathal Cregg and Ultan Harney scored MORE from PLAYyesterday than Sean Quigley,Corrigan. Senan Kilbride is a very similar forward to Quigley and he and Diarmuid Murtagh our top scorer this year both played no part yesterday.

So you would put cathal cregg in the same group as michael murphy mc manus brogan o donoghue and cillian o conor. Not a chance. Quigley is an average player and so is senan kilbride. Is it also true that ultan harney didnt start against sligo?? If yous would of had one of the players named above ypous would of won yesterday the big players stand up when ypu need them.Fact. Look when monaghan played cavan mc manus won that tight game o donoghue got the penalty to get a draw in the munster final john heslin scored 1 9 against meath.Its simple until you find a killer forward you will fail. As for your defence... Please.. every single player in the roscommon defence is a category 3 defender in comparison to the top defenders in the conutry the marc o se mc gees drew wylie colin walshe rory o carroll.

iknowital (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 13/07/2015 21:30:15    1752957

I thought that weekend would be in a month's time Rd lol
We got what we deserved yesterday didn't help it was a meath man refing lol I was on a downer straight away when I seen him listed and checked see if he lived in westmeath lol
Two weeks time we both could be making calls to tyrone to see how a cute old boy seemingly not wanted by his own county is fixed.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1792 - 13/07/2015 21:30:56    1752960

iknowital
If a team plans on challenging for all irelands you take the approach that Jimmmy Mc Guiness and Eamonn Fitzmaurice took and keep it to yourself. Why oh Why would you attract attention madness in my opinion.

To be fair to Evans he is full of enthusiasm for the game and is seems to be loving his time in Roscommon. There was nothing wrong with him saying that Roscommon will be looking to get to the very top in the years ahead as he thinks the talent is there. Its no wonder we have dour managers doing boring interviews and sending teams out to play negative football when any lad who displays a bit of excitement or gets a little carried away is jumped on with glee as soon as things go wrong for him.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/07/2015 21:31:32    1752961

Royaldunne the Roscommon bus will be traveling to Kildare on Wednesday night where our U-16s play in round 3 of the Fr Manning cup maybe you should pop out with slippers and all and it give the bus a wave? I bet you never thought you would live to see the day of Meath losing a senior championship match to our neighbours Westmeath.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 13/07/2015 21:31:41    1752962

In fairness to royaldunne he can take it. It Ryle him up he does the same to me harmless stuff

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 13/07/2015 21:32:14    1752963

iknowital
County: Monaghan

1752957 ispeakwisdom
-----
Cathal Cregg and Ultan Harney scored MORE from PLAYyesterday than Sean Quigley,Corrigan. Senan Kilbride is a very similar forward to Quigley and he and Diarmuid Murtagh our top scorer this year both played no part yesterday.

So you would put cathal cregg in the same group as michael murphy mc manus brogan o donoghue and cillian o conor. Not a chance. Quigley is an average player and so is senan kilbride. Is it also true that ultan harney didnt start against sligo?? If yous would of had one of the players named above ypous would of won yesterday the big players stand up when ypu need them.Fact. Look when monaghan played cavan mc manus won that tight game o donoghue got the penalty to get a draw in the munster final john heslin scored 1 9 against meath.Its simple until you find a killer forward you will fail. As for your defence... Please.. every single player in the roscommon defence is a category 3 defender in comparison to the top defenders in the conutry the marc o se mc gees drew wylie colin walshe rory o carroll

I personally would put Cathal Cregg ahead of Cillian but not in same bracket as others mentioned, Cillian offers nothing from play but is one of the best free takers in country. Yup it is true Ultan didn't start or tog against Sligo and had he been fit he would have made a massive difference, he came on against London and as soon as he ran on to pitch he got punch into face, Fractured his cheekbone which required surgery and kept him out of Sligo game he was actually rushed back against cavan due to other injurys. Serious talent I have no doubt hes been 19 year old in country at the minute.
You are very quick to run Roscommon down we beat cavan comfortably a team Monaghan only beat by point. Monaghan beat Fermanagh well but only after player was sent off. Ye had luck of ref in harmless sending off whereas we got destroyed by officals at the weekend and answer me this would ye have done so well against Fermanagh had ye been missing Full back Drew Wylie Midfield Darren Hughes Wing Forward Dessie Mone Full Forward Kieran Hughes and corner forward Conor Mcmanus??? Have a think about that for a minute there the spine of monaghans team and consider fact against Fermanagh we were missing our full back carty, Best midfielder Cathal Shine, Wing forward Conor Daly, Full Forward Senan Kilbride and corner Forward Diarmuid Murtagh. So cop yourself on I have no doubt had ye been missing the five above mentioned players ye would never have beaten cavan or fermanagh

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/07/2015 08:40:46    1753012

Otbar hahahaha, yeah id say you were checking that out, you see these guys like ping even wisdom get it.
Its all good fun. We all thought it would be another month before we both out. That's football unfortunately, both of our years have ended in disaster, maybe both need new men in charge, i know we do but at least Roscommon got promotion we couldn't even manage that.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 14/07/2015 09:26:45    1753037

I think some Rossies got carried away thinking they were going to win Connacht this year. Evans is a great man for getting League promotions but there's a reason our championship results have improved in Tipp since Creedon took over.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 14/07/2015 10:09:30    1753059

Even with all of those injuries mentioned there is no excuse for giving up a five point lead although the subs were bit odd... For all those saying we will benefit from our time in div 1 I don't believe that. IMO I think evans(if he is kept on) will revert constantly to a defensive system which we have used at times before and I don't believe we have the capability to play it, for example when it mattered last year against armagh. Really hope our talent isn't put to waste.

RoscoMan (Roscommon) - Posts: 80 - 14/07/2015 10:17:25    1753063

Pingcity you didnt get screwed by the officals. You got no one sent off when Kilbride and Collins could easily have got red. Kilbride in particular was very lucky to stay on.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/07/2015 10:22:22    1753066

Thanks to more intelligent contributions from others , this thread has mutated into a reasonable discussion but no credit to Paddyogall and his Mayo sidekick Peile who started the ball rolling on the thread in a truly cheap and vindictive sprit. I genuinely wish your county well in the chsp this year as I know you are very unrepresentative of the vast amount of decent Mayo supporters.

Its been a crazy topsy turvy year for us with highs and lows but ultimately you have to be measured on your championship record. There are about 1000 seriously dedicated Ros fans, the ones who traipse around the country in the depths of winter to league games and am familiar with a lot of them. Mostly we go around in a permanent mood of fatalism and not the source of any hype. We cant control what is written in the papers or how comments made by our management are taken out of context.

One thing is we will never give up, we care too much.

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 219 - 14/07/2015 10:24:53    1753067

@ Pingcity: Murtagh and Cregg are fine footballers, but to say that Cillian O'Connor does nothing from play is just plain wrong. The lad scores a bag full of goals in the championship every year, and not just from placed-balls, or against also-rans. He scored two goals from play against Kerry in the replay last year and a hat-trick against Donegal in 2013. Despite a lack of pace, he almost always gets out in front of his man and can win ball in the air. His workrate around the field is also phenomenal, frequently dispossessing or pressuring opponents into hurried passes. He does a lot more than just tap over frees.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/07/2015 11:34:03    1753108

Not many people giving Fermanagh credit. 2nd worse team in Ulster defeating the future slayers of Mayo and Galway. great win but very much the classic example of a one man team in my view. Which is great if they can keep him fit

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 14/07/2015 12:24:28    1753144

facethepuckout

Thanks to more intelligent contributions from others , this thread has mutated into a reasonable discussion but no credit to Paddyogall and his Mayo sidekick Peile who started the ball rolling on the thread in a truly cheap and vindictive sprit. I genuinely wish your county well in the chsp this year as I know you are very unrepresentative of the vast amount of decent Mayo supporters.

Its been a crazy topsy turvy year for us with highs and lows but ultimately you have to be measured on your championship record. There are about 1000 seriously dedicated Ros fans, the ones who traipse around the country in the depths of winter to league games and am familiar with a lot of them. Mostly we go around in a permanent mood of fatalism and not the source of any hype. We cant control what is written in the papers or how comments made by our management are taken out of context.

One thing is we will never give up, we care too much.

I feel your pain. I think most fans around the country do! Ye have a manager that gets carried away with his own so ye're going to take some stick.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 14/07/2015 12:43:47    1753156

Doire Sunday was the worst game i've ever seen Quigley play. He missed free after free and contributed very little from play. The only thing he done from play was that point in the 73rd minute. Not exactly a one man team. In fact Quigley has been poor this year by his own standards (second Antrim game a side)

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 14/07/2015 13:02:43    1753172

Gleebo

1753108 @ Pingcity: Murtagh and Cregg are fine footballers, but to say that Cillian O'Connor does nothing from play is just plain wrong. The lad scores a bag full of goals in the championship every year, and not just from placed-balls, or against also-rans. He scored two goals from play against Kerry in the replay last year and a hat-trick against Donegal in 2013. Despite a lack of pace, he almost always gets out in front of his man and can win ball in the air. His workrate around the field is also phenomenal, frequently dispossessing or pressuring opponents into hurried passes. He does a lot more than just tap over frees.

He only scored one goal from play in that game. I would have O'Shea and Doherty even Moran over him anyday of the week

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/07/2015 13:49:27    1753198

I was in Roscommon recently for a weekend and watched the Cavan match in a wee bar in Keadew. Roscommon certainly do have passionate fans but even taking the injuries into account, some were losing the run of themselves.

I asked one man how he rated their chances this year. His deadpan, genuine response was, "I don't think there's an All Ireland in us this year".

I take no pleasure in seeing Roscommon going out early. They've clearly put in a lot of work underage and perhaps their time will come in the next few years. But maybe some of the fans need to temper their expectations somewhat.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9751 - 14/07/2015 14:41:34    1753261

He only scored one goal from play in that game. I would have O'Shea and Doherty even Moran over him anyday of the week

Fair enough, I admit that I forgot he got a penalty in the first game (a penalty he won himself, btw). He also scored 0-3 from play the first day out against Kerry and 1-2 from play in the replay, which is a more than decent tally against the All-Ireland champions. To continue to pretend that CO'C does nothing from play, in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary, is either silly or proud, or both.

O'Connor would walk into the Roscommon side (not that that would be too difficult, on recent form) and into most inter-county sides in the country.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/07/2015 15:09:07    1753281

Gotmilk, Quigley was the top scorer across all 4 divisions this spring by some distance and after his 1-3 on Sunday he is now the current championship top scorer.

In the 1st half Sunday things probably didn't go right for him but like any good player he didn't let that get to him and played a huge contribution to the win.

He coolly slotted home the penalty, kicked over a pressure 45 to level the game and with time running out he caught the ball above two Roscommon defenders turned them both to kick the winning score.

A key Fermanagh player on the top of his game and if Fermanagh reach the last 8 he along with excellent work of Pete McGrath will be the main reason for it.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 14/07/2015 15:28:53    1753296

reason our championship results have improved in Tipp since Creedon took over.

Is it faor to say the pick Creedon has now with the talent coming through is far stronger than what Evans had to work with when at Tipp?

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 14/07/2015 15:35:52    1753305