Roscommon out!

Hard luck to the Rossies, congrats to Fermanagh, best 12th July for Fermanagh GAA in a long while. Petey working miracles again. Would question some of Evans's subs. Would be interested in any Rossie comments on this. Best of luck to all in the future.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 486 - 13/07/2015 09:59:41    1752278

Lads slagging Roscommon should cop themselves on a bit.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 13/07/2015 10:32:57    1752317

moylagh

1752278 Hard luck to the Rossies, congrats to Fermanagh, best 12th July for Fermanagh GAA in a long while. Petey working miracles again. Would question some of Evans's subs. Would be interested in any Rossie comments on this. Best of luck to all in the future.

Fair play Moylagh maybe you could question some of the subs mainly taking off Ian Kilbride at half time he was having a great game around the middle but had picked up a yellow and a tick so management made decision pull him off, This backfired as his replacement had a bit of a mare. I hate harping on about match officals but they honestly had more of an influence on game than subs, The peno was harsh and all three "so Called" experts on sunday game taught it wasn't a peno. That said we still were 5 up with 5 to go, the most baffling decision was with time their equalising point I was fuming the sunday game didn't so the build up to the line ball it was the closest thing to a scrum I have ever seen on a gaa pitch there was at least 4 fouls on Roscommon lads in corner before he was pushed over the line, I think ref was playing for draw at this stage. The line ball was absolutely smashing score and took some balls but again having watched replay on tv last night he was at least two yards on pitch kicking the ball. Evans shouldn't have taken off Harney or Smith tho

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 13/07/2015 10:40:37    1752328

Agree with Cavan_slasher, Roscommon is a footballing minnow. It's pure Irish to gloat in a team like Roscommon getting knocked out.
They have had a great league campaign and an up and down championship. Not a brilliant season but not a too bad one either.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 13/07/2015 10:42:18    1752330

Some seriously childish posting on here. It's embarrassing. Well done Fermanagh.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12321 - 13/07/2015 10:57:23    1752345

Pingcity
County: Longford

moylagh

1752278 Hard luck to the Rossies, congrats to Fermanagh, best 12th July for Fermanagh GAA in a long while. Petey working miracles again. Would question some of Evans's subs. Would be interested in any Rossie comments on this. Best of luck to all in the future.

Fair play Moylagh maybe you could question some of the subs mainly taking off Ian Kilbride at half time he was having a great game around the middle but had picked up a yellow and a tick so management made decision pull him off, This backfired as his replacement had a bit of a mare. I hate harping on about match officals but they honestly had more of an influence on game than subs, The peno was harsh and all three "so Called" experts on sunday game taught it wasn't a peno. That said we still were 5 up with 5 to go, the most baffling decision was with time their equalising point I was fuming the sunday game didn't so the build up to the line ball it was the closest thing to a scrum I have ever seen on a gaa pitch there was at least 4 fouls on Roscommon lads in corner before he was pushed over the line, I think ref was playing for draw at this stage. The line ball was absolutely smashing score and took some balls but again having watched replay on tv last night he was at least two yards on pitch kicking the ball. Evans shouldn't have taken off Harney or Smith tho

Kilbride was lucky to be on the pitch after his cheap shot on Quigley. Another ref would have sent him off. It was a nasty challenge and he nearly took the head off him.
Wise up, to suggest that the ref favoured Fermanagh is ridiculous. Do i have to reference Kilbrides yellow again or Collins yellow? Again another ref would have gave collins the line for it. Nasty challenge on Donnelly.

You aren't wrong about the scrum. I saw 2 frees in to Fermanagh before Roscommon turned it over. When they turned it over one of your players blatantly overcarried the ball. The ref didn't show any preference to either side yesterday.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/07/2015 11:31:44    1752383

I like roscomnon and there starting to make headway in the league especially , however when you think they making a good go of championship they crumble , due to the fact there getting hyped up to much

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 13/07/2015 11:42:13    1752393

Well done to Fermanagh, excellent comeback and great attitude, hard luck to Roscommon as well, I feel your pain, dropping a comfortable lead is alway difficult to take.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 13/07/2015 12:42:38    1752455

See the Quigley pic on the main page. Am I the only one thinking Homer in candyland?!?!?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12321 - 13/07/2015 13:46:45    1752518

A few Roscommon supporters haven't taken to me because of a few predictions i have given but no harm feelings and to be honest i admire the work a county of Roscommons size are doing. They let a game slip through their fingers yesterday but injuries took its toll, Conor Daly,D Murtagh,S Kilbride,C Shine are some of the best players in Connacht all played no part in yesterday game. Credit where credit is due Fermanagh took their chance and now have a decent chance of reaching the last eight.

In regards to this thread i don't understand why Mayo a poster feels the need to start it? then you have the Cavan,Meath posters with the childish comments Royaldunne seems to have awful chip on his shoulder about Roscommon football? after losing a big lead to Westmeath and the only Meath championship highlight was a 4 point home win against Wicklow i think you aren't in any position to talk anyone else down or in your case kick them when they are down.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 13/07/2015 17:53:41    1752771

Pundit - I agree with your post. I actually said they are a poor outfit and I felt bad afterwards. Some people take great joy in knocking other counties. A poster named Soma loves putting the boot in us. Each county has these WUMs.

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 13/07/2015 18:03:33    1752784

I have hardly ever seen a penalty decision that was not surrounded by controversy. Having seen it on telly it looked a foul to me, maybe accidental but still a foul. Guys analysing on TV means little to me as most of the time the get most things incorrect.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 13/07/2015 18:30:10    1752815

Now hang on a second, Meath forum was bombarded with rossies when we got beat by Westmeath and same everytime Meath were mentioned on the main forum, i have not one bit a problem with rossies, they for most part can give but more importantly take a slagging, i think they all would agree i was same after semi final. This place getting way too pc, a bit of craic is what its all about, no one has died, its football that's all.
And if they getting rid of Evans send him up to us we will take him.
Best wishes for the future and we can continue when league starts. Btw we did say we would both be out on same weekend but non of us thought it would be this early. :(.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2015 19:07:59    1752844

What a bizzare thing to say TheRightStuff - I have only one post in here and it was in support of the Rossies. Id love to see them come good in the years ahead as they are one of the more passionate football counties.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/07/2015 19:19:21    1752854

Very disappointed at some of the childish posting by some Mayo "supporters" . Hard luck Roscommon. In reality the future is much brighter. Very good underage results in recent years. Div 1 next year will be a big help.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 13/07/2015 19:38:42    1752870

Roscommon dont have a marquee forward and dont have a top class man marker. In truth if sean Quigley and corrigan can rip your team to shreds then its time to take a serious thought about your team.

iknowital (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 13/07/2015 19:49:49    1752883

If a team plans on challenging for all irelands you take the approach that Jimmmy Mc Guiness and Eamonn Fitzmaurice took and keep it to yourself. Why oh Why would you attract attention madness in my opinion.

iknowital (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 13/07/2015 19:54:57    1752886

Royaldunne stop telling tales and lies. Your anti nonsense about Roscommon on here is ridiculous how half the stuff gets through is anyones guess. Grow up move on and worry about your own county.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4033 - 13/07/2015 20:37:42    1752914

13/07/2015 19:49:49
iknowital
County: Monaghan

Roscommon dont have a marquee forward and dont have a top class man marker. In truth if sean Quigley and corrigan can rip your team to shreds then its time to take a serious thought about your team.
-----
Cathal Cregg and Ultan Harney scored more from play yesterday than Sean Quigley,Corrigan. Senan Kilbride is a very similar forward to Quigley and he and Diarmuid Murtagh our top scorer this year both played no part yesterday.

We were also missing two defenders and our best midfielder Cathal Shine also. If the boot was on the other foot it would be like Fermanagh forced to play without Quigley,Corrigan,Daly,R McCluskey,Donnelly

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 13/07/2015 20:56:07    1752927

Analyser , i think the bus might need some rust protecting that's all.
Would you not agree. :). You shouldn't give it if you cant take it.
Ill give pincity and even otbar one thing they seem well able to take it as well as give it, and im sure both would agree i took the banter in good spirits after Westmeath defeat, as for growing up? I saw the red collier and jack Quinn play in the flesh. So you do the math.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/07/2015 21:03:56    1752933