Soma, did Justin McMahin really spend 70 minutes "sledging" Michael Murphy? I watched the game back during the week and I seen McMahon following Murphy everywhere doing a great man marking job. I also seen him make his way up the pitch to score. Did he mouth off to Murphy during the game? No doubt. Did he do it for 70 minutes like you claim? No he didn't. Is there clear evidence to say he said anything to Murphy any worse than the rubbish talked between to men marking each other in games up and down the country? Ofcourse there isn't, but why let that get in the way of the Tyrone whitch hunt. He must have done it because Ricey used to do it. Because Tyrone are players are coached how to sledge. Because they sent someone on a 6 hour drive to Kerry to find out where each player works and what car they drive. (If anyone sledged me about my car I would be bent over laughing!) Honestly, some of the rubbish been thrown out here to blacken Tyrone with nothing to back it up is sickening. johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 24/05/2015 11:12:27 1727555 Link 0 |
Seanboy I said McMahon spent most of the 70 minutes sledging Murphy, not all 70 minutes. Most reasonable people who watched the game agree with that. I notice you never answered my question about why Tyrone players seem to continually go against the instructions of management and sledge. Cavanagh said there was lots of it Sunday from both sides, yet Tyrone say management actively discourage it. Are we to believe that McMahons sledging on Sunday, along with many other players, was something they decided to do despite being told not to by Harte? Tyrone players down the years done anything ever asked of them by Harte, yet we are to believe he actively discourages them from sledging and they ignore it - its incredibly hard to believe. Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 24/05/2015 12:36:07 1727569 Link 0 |
What has this disgusting behavour achieved for tyrone? A defeat. Maybe if lads concentrated on playing football a bit more it would be more in there interest. Is there a back door in this ulster minor champ? Hopefully not. No smoke without fire. It must have happened. overdabar (Westmeath) - Posts: 253 - 24/05/2015 12:49:19 1727572 Link 0 |
This is simple indefensibly, I know fans like to back up their players when things get tough but this is a step to far. Tyrone fans should be demanding an adequate response from their county board including an apology for any hurt caused. I was at the 21 final and couldn't believe the sledging the Tyrone players where engaged in, two players in particular engaged in continuous in your face sledging regardless of where the ball was on the field. A couple of weeks later and the Tyrone minor team, then senior team are involved in the same behavior. It's time Tyrone fans stopped looking for ways to defend their teams actions and start looking for ways to amend them. Louth Gael (Louth) - Posts: 1227 - 24/05/2015 12:58:38 1727573 Link 0 |
seanie_boy MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2015 13:32:15 1727579 Link 0 |
arock MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2015 13:39:32 1727580 Link 0 |
Muckross,I don't know why an official is not named.But it certainly does Muddy the waters,for me anyway. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/05/2015 14:20:12 1727598 Link 0 |
Soma,I'd be fairly confident that Tyrone management would discourage this nasty,extremely personal type of slagging.The regular type verbals that go on everywhere and in every game is a different matter.That would be mostly left up to the player himself on the field.Sure nobody would expect a player to stay on a pitch for 70 mins with some boy talking into his ear and not to say something back.Right Soma? Or do you want to hold Tyrone lads to a different standard than everybody else cos thats what it sounds like from ye on this topic. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/05/2015 14:24:32 1727600 Link 0 |
Soma , I agree McMahon did a lot of mouthing to Murphy and iMurphy had a bit to say himself. I have not seen any reports that anything beyond the usual mouthing you would hear anywhere was said between these two. Is this sledging? If so it has been going on for as long as I have been watching football. I assumed sledging is the horrible personal stuff we are hearing about. Maybe our understanding of what sledging is, is different. Are you advocating that any type of verbal jostling between players is sledging and should be punished by the referee? Please define for me, because going by that there will be a dozen black cards every game. johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 24/05/2015 14:24:45 1727601 Link 0 |
In one extract, Cassidy revealed how they watched an American footballer with a big reputation for 'trash talking' on YouTube and decided to try to adopt a similar approach to introduce a 'nasty' side to their game. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/05/2015 14:42:36 1727615 Link 0 |
Seanie, MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2015 15:50:20 1727664 Link 0 |
MuckrossHead seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/05/2015 16:09:58 1727674 Link 0 |
Fair enough Seanie, I won't argue with you about the unfairness of some of the coverage. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 24/05/2015 17:16:41 1727713 Link 0 |
I just hate this word 'sledging'. Full stop!! Wicklowman (Wicklow) - Posts: 1142 - 24/05/2015 17:22:07 1727719 Link 0 |
Folks stick to the subject here as there were no complaints from players on either side involved in the Senior game last Sunday - yes Cavanagh did pass comment when journalists went looking for a response but was not making a fuss about the match and mainly spoke generally about sledgings existence throughout the game - as such not much point in folk on here going all hysterical about what they wanted to take from watching the game last Sunday. Naysayer (Antrim) - Posts: 2071 - 24/05/2015 19:13:57 1727804 Link 0 |
Johnboy & Seanie-Boy - Sean Cavanagh himself said there was lots of sledging from both sides last Sunday, so my definition is no different to his. Also, that extract from Cassidys book should be remembered when people claim the only problem with Donegals approach to the game is that they are challenging the 'traditional' counties! Again I ask, if Tyrone management actively discourage sledging why do so many players, by Sean Cavanaghs admission as well as numerous other past players, indulge in it? I am fairly confident that if Mickey Harte said any player seen sledging gets dropped from the panel that would be the end of it in Tyrone, though many other counties would continue with it. It's a problem that can only be solved by management, passing it to referees to resolve is a copy out. Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 24/05/2015 19:44:58 1727824 Link 0 |
How boring has all this got. Is the season over yet. redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 24/05/2015 19:53:15 1727833 Link 0 |
Soma again I ask define sledging . Is it run of the mill mouthing off or this personal stuff? You accused McMahon of sledging but you know no more than I do if he crossed the line with the personal abuse which I would call sledging, nor has anyone from either camp accused him of it. I do agree with you though that the lead to cut this out should come from managements and the players themselves. The GPA should also be having a word with their members. Anyhow, I'm sure now that I have seen 2 striking incidents involving hurleys today that the negativity spotlight will switch to Clare and Limerick in the interests of objectivity, and they will be pilloried on the TV, papers and internet for the next week. johnboy7 (Tyrone) - Posts: 79 - 24/05/2015 20:37:30 1727859 Link 0 |
Soma cop on,I'm not in the room to hear Mickey Harte speak to the players. I've not doubt these conversations are taking place now about how this nasty personal type of slagging is not on. I'm sure of that. I don't think on the other hand that he is telling the lads to keep their mouths shut for 70 mins if another fella is mouthing to them. Who would? If Ye give it out be prepared to take some back too. seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 24/05/2015 21:29:03 1727889 Link 0 |
Donegal have said they've produced evidence of the alleged sledging incident to the Tyrone County board. CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 05/06/2015 10:29:12 1732664 Link 0 |