Forget about last years game v Armagh. Donegal had one week to prepare for Armagh and probably underestimated them and it nearly cost them but in reality they got a lucky goal and the gap was wider than the scoreline. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 26/05/2015 11:58:11 1728506 Link 0 |
Its very much in their DNA to be nasty! redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 26/05/2015 12:26:10 1728521 Link 0 |
Tir Conaill Abu FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 26/05/2015 12:36:21 1728532 Link 0 |
No offence lads and ofcourse you are right, Donegal can be as nasty as anyone and imo you need that bit of nastiness to be successful. Nice guys don't win much and before Jim Mc Guinness brought that ruthlessness to more or less the same bunch of players we won nothing!! Armagh have always had that edge to their game and take that as a compliment. When yous added the talent to that in the 00's it brought you great success and possibly could have won another All Ireland. Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 26/05/2015 13:07:26 1728559 Link 0 |
DNA and nastiness. Interesting. Surly it is not a learned behavior? In any event, I think that you are as nasty as your last game, so we should all think about that before the next game. I was at the athletic grounds for 2 games last year, league and mckenna v armagh, and there was no nastiness in either game. Im looking forward to it. We should expect it to be intense, and we can all live with that. But I hope that there is some responsible media reporting too. Is very easy to change perceptions by headlining a game with nasty as opposed to competitive. We have seen this before, and unless something warrants scrutiny we should all lay off the players. Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3846 - 26/05/2015 13:24:56 1728570 Link 0 |
As a neutral this is the match i've been looking forward to most. Should be a cracker. supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1073 - 26/05/2015 13:39:45 1728582 Link 0 |
cavan97 GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/05/2015 13:49:52 1728592 Link 0 |
Mes and he did same against Meath in 12 let graham Reilly run free for most of the game from midfield and he scored 5 points and was fouled for 3 others within tap over distance, then took off Johnny Doyle who was been marked by a unknown in keoghan at the time, now granted Donal never let him score but the psychology boast that had to Meath was unreal. Kildare spent the warm up running into yellow foam, they didn't even practice shooting while Meath were taking shot after shot at goal, and it showed in game. Mcgeeney imho is the most overrated manager of them all, physically he will get a team right, but in real time he is a total novice. Donegal to win at their leisure. royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/05/2015 13:54:24 1728597 Link 0 |
Donegal need to win this one by 6 or 7 points to prove they are worthy AI Contenders. Armagh have one scoring forward and an average midfield. sportsfan14 (USA) - Posts: 281 - 26/05/2015 14:25:57 1728619 Link 0 |
Some craic on this thread regarding armagh. When it comes to ulster games there is always harder hitting and with the rivalries things can spill over. Last year when armagh played roscommon and meath outside of ulster , armagh won comfortably without any the 'nastiness'. Armagh have been tarnished by the media and as a results everyone labels armagh as the big bad wolf. sumleftboot (Armagh) - Posts: 24 - 26/05/2015 17:21:27 1728744 Link 0 |
This will be donegals biggest challenge in ulster this year, make no mistake about that... Not Tyrone, not Monaghan, Armagh in Armagh on geezers first championship match...... This would be 50/50 at best and I for one will be delighted to get out of their with a 1 point victory.......... And as an Armagh poster has already posted, I would love it if we can beat them because by Christ they gave us some beatens down through the years...... ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 26/05/2015 18:07:32 1728774 Link 0 |
My sentiments exactly ben. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 26/05/2015 18:19:21 1728782 Link 0 |
Like Tyrone and Cavan before them, I'll have fierce sympathy for the loser of Armagh v Donegal. 4 qualifier rounds are too many. Qualifier rounds 3 and 4 are unnecessarily bloating the championship. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8769 - 26/05/2015 18:54:30 1728794 Link 0 |
sumleftboot GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 26/05/2015 20:35:42 1728838 Link 0 |
Donegal just too good for Armagh. Better in every area. seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2214 - 26/05/2015 20:51:06 1728845 Link 0 |
The carryover from the Donegal/Tyrone game could be the big unknown factor in this game. MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2015 13:37:55 1729064 Link 0 |
Muckross, were you at the Kilcar Naomh Mhuire match at the weekend? Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 27/05/2015 14:34:45 1729106 Link 0 |
Lockjaw, MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/05/2015 14:40:42 1729112 Link 0 |
Yeah I know what you mean. The football is there but he cuts a frustrated figure at times giving out to officials, opponents and team mates alike. Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9746 - 27/05/2015 14:47:07 1729118 Link 0 |
legendzxix cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 27/05/2015 15:15:07 1729131 Link 0 |