Trips North a geography lesson!

Htaem - you'll find it hard to get nicer than up round the Glens (biased I know) but we don't publicise this too much as we like to keep it our own secret and keep those pesky tourists off our roads and taking up space at the bar.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2015 12:31:42    1692418

Ha I never thought of it that way Offside_Rule, you see we don't have a tourist epidemic down our way and my local looks like something out of The Good The Bad The Ugly so tourists and outsiders alike usually turn instantly at the door. I haven't been up to the glens but the aul pair went a couple of years ago and they said it was beautiful, to be honest I'd like to go to Titanic Belfast next time I'm up north, hopefully it's interesting and not overly touristy and crammed with Americans who think they're related to me!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2015 12:59:54    1692438

Htaem

Haha jaysus it sounds like some people very rarely go anywhere, which is a shame in fairness, I'm no patriot but Ireland is a beautiful country, particularly the West coast and to not explore it when it's on your doorstep seems a bit of a shame.

For me...

Ireland has beautiful scenery.. not so sure if it's a beautiful country

Generic looking towns, terrible planning regulations resulting in horrible bungalows blighting the landscape

We're a long way behind the UK in terms of the whole package

Drive around Cornwall / Dorset / Devon / Somerset or further North to Yorkshire / Norfolk to name just a few

Then you'll see beautiful country - idyllic little towns which are immaculately presented - fantastic architecture

Strict planning laws ensuring that all of which is protected

Our scenery may match theirs but we're way behind in how we present it

I've fished all over Ireland, and filmed in some of the most secluded amazing spots

No question it's stunning but unfortunately we blight the place

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2015 13:04:07    1692441

I own a Sat Nav so its east to find the country Nirth SAUD or Vest , I bame the skools .
I have been North and I swear I will never go near Balbriggan again as long as I live .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/02/2015 13:24:33    1692452

Ah lads ya wouldn't believe the amount of times I've come across people who think Monaghan or Cavan are part of Northern Ireland. Coming out of the game on sunday I heard a woman asking her friend why the traffic cone say Gardaí on them instead of the Police.

Pure_full_hi (Monaghan) - Posts: 74 - 11/02/2015 13:33:55    1692459

Damothedub

I own a Sat Nav so its east to find the country Nirth SAUD or Vest , I bame the skools .
I have been North and I swear I will never go near Balbriggan again as long as I live .

I blame the 'skools' too.

supermon (Monaghan) - Posts: 1074 - 11/02/2015 13:41:06    1692463

Ireland has beautiful scenery.. not so sure if it's a beautiful country

Generic looking towns, terrible planning regulations resulting in horrible bungalows blighting the landscape

I agree jimbo and scenery is what I meant to refer to, I didn't intend to use 'beautiful' as an all encompassing term, work has brought me to a lot of places in Ireland and yes a lot of towns are very generic and some of them are poorly planned out etc. But I've also been to places like Dingle, Connemara the Wicklow mountains, the hill of Donegal etc etc and some of the places there are breathtaking, so it is quite easy for plenty Irish people to get out and see these places if they're interested.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2015 13:41:22    1692464

I'd have to agree with Jimbo.

We've some stunning scenery but the policy of allowing so many one off houses down the country has blighted some areas and lead to a lot problems with services in rural areas.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 11/02/2015 14:04:45    1692477

Htaem come up to Carlingford in the Wee County. Its the Kinsale of the north-east. You will feel at home. Cooley the local gaa team colours are green and gold.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2015 14:16:26    1692484

Dunno if I totally agree with you Jimbo, your point is fair, but the Irish countryside is more "used" by the people who live there than most other rural places in eurpe (especially western europe), its easier to preserve or prettify a village when their be-all and end-all is tourism, which in the end is a bit of a sham, out for the quick buck.
On a side note, some of the nicest villages here are in west cork, around Allihies and Eyries (even if they have wierd names)

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 11/02/2015 15:34:49    1692520

jimbodub, the kings River is a small tributary of the Nore in Kilkenny. Do I get the class prize?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3051 - 11/02/2015 15:40:10    1692524

lilywhite1

jimbodub, the kings River is a small tributary of the Nore in Kilkenny. Do I get the class prize?

No...

What you get is my respect.

Which is kind of useless but sure well done anyway

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2015 15:45:24    1692526

flack

Dunno if I totally agree with you Jimbo, your point is fair, but the Irish countryside is more "used" by the people who live there than most other rural places in eurpe (especially western europe), its easier to preserve or prettify a village when their be-all and end-all is tourism,

Flack..

A lot of farming going on in those areas I pointed out in the UK - very much so... some of the richest and fertile land in Britain

It's to do with planning laws.. and of course Irish people being flee ridden peasants for hundreds of years - thus making it difficult to provide the intellectual minds to build such places in the first place. Then after we became free it was a bit of a free for all... end result is what we have now

Generic looking concrete places

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2015 15:51:30    1692530

There is also a Kings river in Co. Wicklow.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2015 15:55:40    1692533

Fuppin trick questions

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2015 16:02:28    1692535

OLLIE
County: Louth

_________

Both were acceptable

That's actually the one I was thinking of... but again both were acceptable based on how I phrased the question

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2015 16:03:02    1692536

Ah lads, this was a comment from James with tongue in cheek.Most Cork people I know love our northern brothers!and also know their geography...

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 440 - 11/02/2015 16:23:45    1692547

OLLIE

A lad I used to work with from Dundalk said that Carlingford was a good little spot to go for a weekend away with the lads for few drink, any truth to that?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2015 16:45:17    1692563

Htaem it is Louths gem. Very popular with tourists.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 11/02/2015 17:41:55    1692601

Jimbo
Its a different type of farming, though, nearly like the latifundia of southern europe, with huge farms and relatively few owners.
I do agree about some of the eyesores around here. I noticed in northern rural Italy and spain its often hard to tell the new houses from the ancient ones, they are that well concieved, using the same or similar material for the exterior walls and roofs, and even tge biggest new gaffs blend right in harmoniously

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1055 - 11/02/2015 17:56:12    1692602