Trips North a geography lesson!

Loads of people are just stupid!

Yep, fools everywhere.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/02/2015 20:02:52    1692260

There'll never be an All Ireland played in any of them places...our supporters only look for tickets when we get to the final or every two years when we go to Killarney..we know where those two places are...finding out any extra is just redundant knowledge..I am sure the players feel the same...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/02/2015 20:17:26    1692265

I know me way around the north......well I know where Jonesborough market is every october :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 10/02/2015 21:15:09    1692284

Don't you know that the Cork people never liked the Irish.......

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 10/02/2015 21:33:27    1692290

sure people in all the counties are fairly thick when it comes to geography and location in particular

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1240 - 10/02/2015 21:40:53    1692293

Some of my mates have never left the town we live in ffs. They probably think they need a pasport to get out of Dublin.One of them eventually went abroad to Italy on holidays , I asked him was it was it a long trip , he said he didnt know because he flew. Every county has them.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/02/2015 21:47:20    1692296

AA Routeplanner must have not reach the Peoples Republic of Cork yet?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 10/02/2015 21:50:43    1692300

There are a lot of southsiders who have never been to the Northside of Dublin except to Dublin Airport and visa versa. In fact more Northsiders have probably been to Australia than to Dundrum

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4958 - 10/02/2015 21:54:56    1692303

Was once asked by a girl in Galway did my father work for the RUC when I told her he was a cop. And she knew I was from Donegal!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9969 - 11/02/2015 08:30:15    1692313

I hope we are not going the way of the americans or the English who don't know anything about any place other than their own. Irish people used to be really clued up on geography and especially regarding the island of Ireland. It must be really difficult for Donegal people having to explain all the time when people ask them what part of ireland are they from. Do you give a geographical or a political answer ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 11/02/2015 09:38:18    1692336

To be honest, a lot of young people struggle with stuff such as basic literacy, geography, historical knowledge these days, probably due in part to the all-encompassing march of technology into daily life. And I say this as someone who's fairly young myself! From observation, relatively few young people today follow the news as regularly as the generation or two before. I would try not to take it to heart that some young fellas don't know the layout of the island.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 11/02/2015 10:13:23    1692354

Some people are just terrible at geography and unsurprisingly it is mainly people rarely stray far from home. I've travelled the country a lot for work and I've always liked geography anyway so I'm good at it, however some of my mates are atrocious when it comes to finding their way around their own island but then again they all know more than I do about other topics.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2015 10:18:34    1692356

I knew a lad, who had been living in on the Northside for at least ten years at this stage, who only knew how to get to Donnycarney from Whitehall was via O'Connell St.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 11/02/2015 10:40:25    1692364

I worked with a guy in Dublin from Dublin who, at 33 at the time, said he had never been outside Dublin (came up in a conversation about the North and I was asking him had he ever ventured up). He then corrected himself and said he had ventured over the County border to go to Oxygen the first year it was on. At the time I found it astounding but I suppose that was looking at and comparing to my own situation where you grow up in the sticks and know every tree and hole in the hedge by an early age and need to explore so off you go (plus with the situation up here back then when during the summer it was better to get offside) - as a result I had been to every Irish County by the time I had left Primary School.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2015 11:11:44    1692376

Lockjaw

1692313 Was once asked by a girl in Galway did my father work for the RUC when I told her he was a cop. And she knew I was from Donegal!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/02/2015 11:12:08    1692377

Haha...

Hands up who can point out The Kings River on a map of Ireland?

There's plenty from all over Ireland that don't know the layout of the Island

FFS... There's a lot of people that cant even sing our own National anthem

So many that the GAA have to put the lyrics up on a big screen before all big Championship games.......................

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/02/2015 11:25:52    1692381

artisan
County: Down

1692247 I'm sure the Cork lads aren't that ignorant ! They've probably been up to the Kremlin once or twice.

+ 1

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 11/02/2015 11:28:52    1692382

artisan
County: Down

1692247 I'm sure the Cork lads aren't that ignorant ! They've probably been up to the Kremlin once or twice.

+ 1

Ha - very good!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 11/02/2015 11:39:48    1692389

Sure a lot of donegal folk think leitrim is down the country. Not next door to them. I enjoyed the article.

johnnos bulls (None) - Posts: 527 - 11/02/2015 11:42:02    1692393

Haha jaysus it sounds like some people very rarely go anywhere, which is a shame in fairness, I'm no patriot but Ireland is a beautiful country, particularly the West coast and to not explore it when it's on your doorstep seems a bit of a shame.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/02/2015 11:51:11    1692399