Killucan v The Downs

Well what are the toughts on this game this evening.Should be close.Close rivals.

Inthepark (Westmeath) - Posts: 74 - 26/08/2008 10:34:37    84782

Hard to see anything bar a win for The Downs, but its a derby and Killucan have shown in the last 2 years they are not afraid of The Downs.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 802 - 26/08/2008 11:58:35    84924

Hear Killucan are missing Paul Greville gone on holidays, will be a big loss so fancy the Downscause of that but wont be lot in it again.

midlander28 (Westmeath) - Posts: 13 - 26/08/2008 13:08:11    85087

Think the Downs will be way too strong for Killucan. The Downs have had an easy run through Championship so far and don't think Killucan have it in them to challenge that

maroongael77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 61 - 26/08/2008 16:49:17    85534

Handy win for Killucan. By far the better team. 2-8 to 0-9.

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 26/08/2008 21:05:02    85759

Well i definently called that one wrong!!! Killucan were without Greville, Barry Nea and Donie Carey and still pulled it off!! The Downs looked very poor at times with some very poor shooting from Cleary in particular. Thought refereeing was poor at times and the standard of football wasn't always the best but Killucan showed great heart. Young Danny Riggs is a one for the future!! Also Alan Doyle and Niall Flanagan played stormers. Shane Leavy was very good at midfield as was Brian Smyth but felt he faded out of it in second half. Cannot understand why Jimmy Conroy was left on the bench for so long. Murtagh was the only one digging deep for the Downs in the middle. It certainly makes for an interesting final round of games with Killucan and Kinnegad fighting for their places in the knockout stages.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 802 - 26/08/2008 21:18:43    85765

League table for SF Championship Div 2
Team P W L D P+ P- Pts
The Downs 4 3 1 0 58 42 6
St Lomans Mullingar 4 3 1 0 61 43 6
Coralstown-Kinnegad 4 2 1 1 54 49 5
Killucan 4 2 2 0 49 44 4
St Malachys 4 1 3 0 34 62 2
Ballinagore 4 0 3 1 41 57 1

Really called that wrong, didn't get to game tonight but it must have been a hugely improved Killucan performance.

Every game is really going to count in the last round. Malachys and Ballinagore will be a very tense affair with the loser sure to be relegted playing a team from the other side which has certainly seen better football played

maroongael77 (Westmeath) - Posts: 61 - 26/08/2008 23:43:49    85846

Killucan fully deserved their win, they were far more up for it than The Downs as they had to win to stay in the championship. The Downs never really played at all but a win against St Lomans will still see them straight into the semi's. Should be interesting match between Killucan and Kinnegad, can Killucan raise their game again against Kinnegad, time will tell!

Left Full (Westmeath) - Posts: 255 - 27/08/2008 06:24:11    85929

maroongael77 you're still calling it wrong, St. Lomans are top on scoring difference. Doesn't make much difference now but if they draw with the Downs it will see them into the semi's.

breast (Westmeath) - Posts: 133 - 27/08/2008 10:53:10    86083

Who plays who in the last round of this group?
Killucan must be quietly confident going into last round with some big players still to return..

Goochappy1921 (Westmeath) - Posts: 4 - 27/08/2008 11:56:12    86180

The Downs did not play at all last night so I dont think Killucan have anything to brag about!!!!

GaelicGirl08 (Westmeath) - Posts: 12 - 27/08/2008 12:38:53    86244

Yeah your right Gaelicgirl Killucan just turned up and kicked the ball around themselves and had a training session. The Downs gave them a walk over. Cop on to youself woman, this is Killucans 3rd year senior and they haven't yet lost to the Downs, 2 wins and 1 draw in favour of Killucan.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 802 - 27/08/2008 14:38:15    86437

Chops your obviously a Killican bogger,anyway so what ye beat the Downs ,no good if you cant get out of your group

ohbrother (Westmeath) - Posts: 50 - 27/08/2008 16:18:41    86667

Here Chops you obviously are from Killucan.... Come on the worst team in the group bet Killucan - Malachy's. Killucan always beat the Downs so what. It look like The Downs didnt bother last night because it was only Killucan, sure they probably will be bet by Kinnegad now cos they threw everything at the Downs. Killucan will go nowhere in senior.....

GaelicGirl08 (Westmeath) - Posts: 12 - 27/08/2008 17:28:25    86802

Just passing through...are all Westmeth women as bitter loosers as gaelicgirl08 ???
Hope you're all shouting for WX next Sunday. Bye.

BELLYMAN (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 27/08/2008 19:07:11    86866

At end of day Killucan won and won well.Yes The Downs are much better than that but still fair play to Killucan.Next game against Kinnegad should be worth watching.

Inthepark (Westmeath) - Posts: 74 - 28/08/2008 08:09:57    87019

To be honest i'm not from Killucan!! I'm from down near Athlone for your information

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 802 - 28/08/2008 08:18:33    87023

Also GaelicGirl if it meant nothing to the Downs why was Ray Smyth jumping up and down on the sideline??

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 802 - 28/08/2008 08:21:46    87024

Wow Gaelic girl you really got a chip on your shoulder!! What have you against Killucan??

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 214 - 28/08/2008 08:59:02    87044

Chops why are you lying?your no more from down near athlone!!!what u travelled all d way to cusack park on a tues night to watch ray smith jumping up and down on the sideline....i reckon ur a killican player with just no neck to admit it

ohbrother (Westmeath) - Posts: 50 - 28/08/2008 10:26:23    87131