Capital confirm funding allocation under review

The funding that Kettle is referring to is for the coaching and development of GAA games throughout the county. You split Dublin in 4 as some here have proposed and the funds still have to be found to fund development for the same amount of clubs, add to this the extra costs of running 4 times the number of inter-county teams, without the money currently generated by a united single Dublin inter county team. The GAA will inevitably lose ground to other sports in the most populated part of the country but hey it will be worth it as Dublin's perceived financial advantage will be removed, which is all that matters really at the end of the day.

bubba83 (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 28/08/2014 15:24:06    1643555

hurlingdub, if that is 'the way it is', then can you tell me why kettle is trying to get a county treated like a province?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 15:28:40    1643559

Surprise Surprise.... Legendz, TheMaster and Ulsterman commenting negatively on Dublin.

Dublin actually get hard done by as we get underfunded in comparison to the population the county board have to cater for added to the poor share of money the Dublin supporters generate.

How much did the Mayo County Board spend on their Senior footballers last year TheMaster?

When are they sharing their funding with Leitrim?

NOTE: Find your box, and get back into it!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/08/2014 15:31:14    1643562

DUBLIN: 'Damned if we do and damned if we dont!!!'

Our money is sent to country clubs for to build big 'white elephant' club houses and facilities in the middle of nowhere so everyone can 'feel good about themselves' in these places!

Enjoy all yer 'CENTRES OF EXCELLENCE' around the place too lads that aint doing ye much good just to help ye 'feel good about yerselves'....meanwhile Dublin will just keep on training in the clubs and lifting SAMS galore!

I have yet to see a fiver or an all weather pitch or a kettlebell kick a ball over the bar!!!

Oh stop talking waffle will you, some "Gael" you are alright, we're borrowing €1 million for our centre of excellence so your great blue bank isn't subsidising our developments

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3750 - 28/08/2014 15:31:55    1643563

Dublin should be allowed to keep all the money they generate through advertising and sponsorship etc BUT all monies raised through Croke Park crowds etc should be funneled back into the GAA to distribute to struggling and smaller counties. Dublin should forgo any funding from the GAA for a while and use all monies they generate themselves for their own coaching/grass roots. Dublin have to give something back as a pay off for ALL the advantages they get from the GAA and media on and off the field. The situation cannot be allowed to go on as it does or the GAA as an organisation will be just be open to accusations of running the Association for ONE county.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 28/08/2014 15:34:55    1643569

How many people go to Parnell Park for what Valley? Place wouldn't hold a quarter of the football attendance and is full or nearly full for hurlers. Football county finals were packed. Dubs also outnumbered Westmeath supporters 4:1 for O'Byrne Cup and league games.

Hope that helps :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/08/2014 15:38:39    1643572

Why do you hate Dublin Ulsterman?

You might be better off looking at your own shambles of a county board and the way they treat players.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/08/2014 15:44:23    1643582

Ulsterman, why would Dublin and the County Board agree that all revenue from attendance be streamed away from Dublin!?

We will play all home draw games played in Parnell and there won't be a sod turned on clubhouses down the country.

Well done, great thinking Ulsterboy! Financial master class there!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/08/2014 15:56:42    1643592

This whole affair smacks of begrudging Dublin their recent success. If anything Central Council should be allocating more money to Dublin GAA not trying to curb their funding.

How are Dublin supposed to pay their existing 54 full time coaches, gym and strength and conditioning specialists, never mind the army of dieticians, psychologists and back room staff?

It is up to the rest of the counties to improve their operating systems and generate their own funding, and for all those whinging culchies saying the advantages Dublin have aren't fair, well life isn't fair so just get over it.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 28/08/2014 16:13:15    1643605

We have 78 full time coaches Bryanadams.

We also have a waterboy.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 28/08/2014 16:27:52    1643614

i dont agree with the funding as a province
think hes biting off more than he can chew there and most dubs on here will agree
but penalising a county board because they run their ship well
and giving the money to those who spent it on big centres of excellence and clubhouses and didnt manage their finances
then your going backwards im afraid.
dublin and cork will always need more coaches and funding as they have more people playing
why would a county like longford need as much funding as dublin when they havent got the same numbers to cater for.
county get funding allocated for their needs based on numbers to cater for.
its mismangement of finances thats the problem as they dont need to spend as much as they havent got the same numbers to cater for

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/08/2014 16:29:19    1643616

hurlingdub

1643582 Why do you hate Dublin Ulsterman?

You might be better off looking at your own shambles of a county board and the way they treat players.

hurlingdub Ulsterman doesnt post on the Antrim forum, so the issue facing Antrim wont bother him. There are decent posters like nayser who care about their county and post about relevant issues on the county forum.
Ulsterman follows all the other counties up North that do well. (Sunshine supporter) ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 28/08/2014 17:06:37    1643637

Why does the GAA continue to 'Bite the Hand that Feeds it'?......Dublin is the GAA 'Paymaster General' and it would be a dead organisation without us, with lads getting changed in 'shipping containers' all over the country if it wasn't for the revenue Dublin generate and generously give to them and their clubs!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2014 17:17:16    1643644

Ulsterman

Dublin should be allowed to keep all the money they generate through advertising and sponsorship etc BUT all monies raised through Croke Park crowds etc should be funneled back into the GAA to distribute to struggling and smaller counties. Dublin should forgo any funding from the GAA for a while and use all monies they generate themselves for their own coaching/grass roots. Dublin have to give something back as a pay off for ALL the advantages they get from the GAA and media on and off the field. The situation cannot be allowed to go on as it does or the GAA as an organisation will be just be open to accusations of running the Association for ONE county.

----
I agree Dublin should keep the €4m from AIG and gate receipts should be distributed evenly but Dublin should insist that all of their home games are played at Parnell Park and not in the neutral Croke Park. Furthermore all Dublin merchandising revenue should come into the DCB only, TV revenue for Dublin games should be split between Dublin and opposition county only. That sounds like a fair system to me. In short, any revenues from the Dublin brand, barring gate receipts, should be secured by the DCB only.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/08/2014 18:51:56    1643686

This is the only time any Dub has ever brought up my own county Antrim and then it is to use as some stick against me. The Dubs have NEVER cared about Antrim before to mention it and now in an only negative forum. OK let's talk about Antrim. Belfast is the second biggest city on this island and how much does Belfast and Antrim receive compared to Dublin? Soccer is by far the biggest sport in Nationalist districts of Belfast, why is that? Yes the Antrim board and Ulster Council have serious questions to answer but maybe it has more to do with the fact that Croke Park has long since abandoned Gaelic Games in the city and they are dying on their ar*e there. I have commented on the Antrim boards in the past, indeed played the games at minor level for the county and know there are many faults in Antrim but we have never been helped by GAA HQ or the Ulster Council. The Dubs are entitled to laud and celebrate their success but the GAA is not JUST about Dublin. They are on the pig's back but meanwhile many of the rest of the Association struggles badly and many can't even field teams most weekends. Maybe confinement to Croke Park and a fawning, worshipping media has blinded the Dubs to all this?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 28/08/2014 21:24:51    1643764

Ulsterman

This is the only time any Dub has ever brought up my own county Antrim and then it is to use as some stick against me. The Dubs have NEVER cared about Antrim before to mention it and now in an only negative forum. OK let's talk about Antrim. Belfast is the second biggest city on this island and how much does Belfast and Antrim receive compared to Dublin? Soccer is by far the biggest sport in Nationalist districts of Belfast, why is that? Yes the Antrim board and Ulster Council have serious questions to answer but maybe it has more to do with the fact that Croke Park has long since abandoned Gaelic Games in the city and they are dying on their ar*e there. I have commented on the Antrim boards in the past, indeed played the games at minor level for the county and know there are many faults in Antrim but we have never been helped by GAA HQ or the Ulster Council. The Dubs are entitled to laud and celebrate their success but the GAA is not JUST about Dublin. They are on the pig's back but meanwhile many of the rest of the Association struggles badly and many can't even field teams most weekends. Maybe confinement to Croke Park and a fawning, worshipping media has blinded the Dubs to all this?

----
So you have no problem with Dublin rather with the Antrim CB, the Ulster Council and GAA HQ for their neglect of the national games in the second largest city on the island. Take out the yellow pages and take your crusade to them then instead of spouting your anti-Dublin bile on here.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 28/08/2014 21:57:41    1643787

jayp, when you refuse to answer any of my questions, then why should I even read yours?

The thing is lads, as I have said all along. Dublin get 1 vote. The future of dublin isnt in the hands of dublin, as some seem to think, it is in the hands of the rest of us.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 21:58:19    1643788

Try saying that to the Leinster counties. Meath and Kildare while decent Ring counties have not got much hurling distractions. Provincial semi-finals in Croker should also be a help.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8974 - 29/08/2014 20:49:50    1644371