Who will Cahill start for Thurles Blues ? WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 11/09/2014 16:52:28 1651030 Link 0 |
WildPundit roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 11/09/2014 17:31:19 1651054 Link 0 |
WildPundit ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 11/09/2014 18:15:38 1651066 Link 0 |
We have missed our chance I feel. KK to roll back the years, you could see Coady was like a bear after that game and couldn't wait to get his hands on the players. I have never wrote KK off but I feel the end is near for this mighty KK team that's why I can see them going to the well one last time. Now KK will never go way don't get me wrong I just don't see them winning all Ireland like they did they will be normal again that's all. I think the future is very bright for Tipp. therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 11/09/2014 19:29:29 1651094 Link 0 |
The Realtmo, we'll be grand, keep the faith. Forget about Kilkenny, we are not happy with our performance. We've lots to work on, which we will. I can't wait for round 2. Only 16 days to go now. Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 19:58:13 1651104 Link 0 |
If any of the players got a bollocking off Cody after the match I'd say it was Richie Power, after he spurned an easy point chance to put Kilkenny five points up with ten mins left. Tipp went straight up and scored a point. 2 point swing straight away. Cody was livid. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 11/09/2014 20:19:41 1651110 Link 0 |
Fellow Gaels,i have attended 19 All Ireland hurling finals,and seen the rest on tv.Last Sunday i missed my first All Ireland,as i was en route from New York to Boston.My Dad texted me at the finish,and said how it was a game for the ages,with scores aplenty,2 missed penalties,and Hawkeye ultimately deciding the result.I wasnt sure if he was winding me up.Alas,hes not that kind of man.I happened to be driving past Fenway Park at the time,where the Red Sox fans,were heading in to watch some baseball game.Not that i needed reminding,but i felt a little sorry for them,as i knew,the greatest game of all,was being played across the Atlantic Ocean.At that moment,i yearned for home.I will never mistakenly book a holiday at this time again. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/09/2014 20:36:38 1651120 Link 0 |
Cant read to much into the going home on Sunday thing. Sure isnt most of the KIlkenny team working in Dublin anyway, just made sense for them to work the Monday I would think. 222 (UK) - Posts: 846 - 11/09/2014 20:56:21 1651133 Link 0 |
Cuederocket sorry to hear you missed the match. It was an outstanding spectacle. It made 2009 final look like a kids match and that's saying something. Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 21:14:01 1651152 Link 0 |
Re the two penalties last Sunday-it was problematic when Nash and Reid were banging them in for fun but now that two different Tipp takers have missed in one game it's still an issue. The panelists on the Sunday Game cast doubt on whether they should've been awarded at all so maybe justice was done. The irony being had they been awarded as frees it would've been a two point cushion for the Premier. Then again Eoin Larkin was blatantly fouled at one point in the first half which led directly to a score at the other end. If Barry Kelly deemed this not to be a foul then it's no wonder he overlooked an alleged trip by Richie Power in the lead up to goal two. Plenty of room for improvement in both defences so expect the second day to be just as close without the thirty point barrier being breached. Good luck to all concerned. ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 13/09/2014 16:30:08 1651622 Link 0 |
Yes ironmaiden they were banging them in for fun,from a mere 14 yards out,where it was virtually impossible,for a defender to save them.Huge difference in the pre and post Nash penalty rule.Tipp have definately been the big losers in this,although as you correctly stated,the two penalties may have been frees instead,in which case Tipp would have more than likely,taken the option of scoring a point,and that may have made all the difference. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 18:05:11 1651650 Link 0 |
Personally I'd have preferred to see the Nash rule stay. The same rule now applies to Tipp and all other hurling counties when it comes to penalties and unlike the Irish team vs Spain in 2002 we assume they've been practicing them in training. The problem with both penalties was they were struck with such little venom I doubt a few extra yards would've made much of a difference-a Tipp fan beside me in the Nally commenting that the first penalty "wouldn't have made a hole in a wet paper bag." ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 13/09/2014 18:44:38 1651665 Link 0 |
I believe the fact that they have to hit the penalty so far out,made the strikers try to over compensate for this,by trying to hit it as hard as they could,to the detriment of their usual refined penalty strike.That 7 yard distance makes a huge difference.I think this is a big factor in the under par strikes. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 19:29:51 1651686 Link 0 |
Another penalty easily saved in U21 final this evening.Was well struck,but the defenders had ample time to adjust there hurleys and prevent a three pointer. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 13/09/2014 20:18:22 1651712 Link 0 |
Im pretty sure thats going to be looked at. At the moment only canning and Nash should go for goal. Everyone else would be better off going for a point tbh. joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 13/09/2014 20:46:40 1651724 Link 0 |
Joncarter,i propoesed having 2 on the goal line at the time the rule was being ammended.Like you,i believe the distance is not the issue.You could be right in proposing only 1 defender on the line.Another option would be to allow 2 points for a point scored from a penalty.Either way,the advantage has to go back with the forward team.This would put a stop to cynical defending. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/09/2014 15:09:15 1651883 Link 0 |
All the lads complaining about nash advantage now saying bring back the rule or tweak it a little,the rule was there for 125 years some penaltys scored some not a good 50/50 call, because nash got a little advantage and remember he missed one in the final last year[so they can be missed] everyone wanted it changed,the gaa should be ashamed of itself and everyone else who backed this stupid rule blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 14/09/2014 17:13:37 1651922 Link 0 |
Hey eddie,i havnt heard from you,since you not only predicted,but guaranteed Cork would win the All Ireland,before Tipp embarrassed ye.Maybe you now realise the foolishness of your ways,as the more wise people among us,know there are no guarantees in life.I think most of the posters,agreed the Nash penalty was dangerous,and needed ammending before an injury was caused.The problem being,the GAA seemrd to change it overnight without thinking it through properly.I think it will end up as i proposed at the time)with only 1 or 2 defenders on the line,and the distance remaining as it is now.I think the vast majority will be happy if this is the final outcome. cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/09/2014 18:49:38 1651946 Link 0 |
Maybe he was referring to the fairer sex! ironmaiden (Kilkenny) - Posts: 28 - 14/09/2014 19:16:26 1651955 Link 0 |
I was doing an analysis of the Kilkenny's players' performances in last week's match. Richie Hogan, unsurprisingly, was Kilkenny's most effective player with 15 possessions, 6 points from play, 3 assists for points, 1 assist created, 1 other scoring chance created but not taken, 2 defensive clearances and 2 blocks/hooks/dispossessions. Of the starting outfield players Walter Walsh was, again unsurprisingly, the least effective with a shockingly low 4 possessions. He did get 1 point and 1 assist to be fair but not much else outside of that. ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1256 - 14/09/2014 19:24:58 1651956 Link 0 |