Errigalsam,
I feel Murphy should be in the full forward line.
A great player in there but in current form and where he plays you can't consider the man one of the best forwards in the game.
daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 10/08/2014 21:20:44
AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 3302
1634622 This game could be the perfect ambush for us if we don't bring our best performance of the year. JMCG will relish this and if Donegal players perform to their abilty we will need 100% focus.
After seeing Dublin yesterday, I think it will be a massive challenge for Donegal to simply live with Dublin for 70 mins. For Donegal to beat Dublin, there are so many things that will need to go right. While so many things would need to go wrong, for Dublin to not win.
GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3026 - 10/08/2014 21:27:12
The Dublin Region have been doing well against the division 2 and 3 teams they have played so far. Having accounted for the division 2 winners, they'll probably be expected to beat the division 2 runners-up. It's hard to see past them doing the back-to-back All-Irelands.
legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9006 - 10/08/2014 21:33:54
Gary mc, Dublin were 100% focused yesterday the first 20 mins were tight and the players would of expected this ,but then after the goal we pulled away. if we weren't focused yesterday and believed the hype around us Monaghan might have stayed with us longer and got confidence. We will expect a sterner test from Donegal (whether this materialises or not remains to be seen)but will need 100% focus from the start or Donegal could easily make it an uncomfortable afternoon for us. At the moment we are suffocating teams in their own back line with huge intensity in the tackling and turning over the ball. This is breaking the spirit of teams because they are losing the ball so close to their own goal it just seems relentless and they have no time to think about their game plan. It will be interesting to see if Donegal allow us take our kick outs uncontested . ive a feeling they wont.
AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/08/2014 21:39:33
By no means am I guaranteeing a Dublin win here, I think they will but I will not be surprised if Donegal win, I believe that if Donegal click they will give Dublin a game, I will say though from experience in the last 3 matches that McFadden will find this game tough, against us Wylie won the 3 matches over McFadden so I think he will find it tough against the Dublin defense, Hoping for a good game and looking forward to it, Goodluck to both teams !
MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 10/08/2014 21:45:55
daytona11 County: Kildare Posts: 2707
Errigalsam,
I feel Murphy should be in the full forward line.
A great player in there but in current form and where he plays you can't consider the man one of the best forwards in the game.
Will you just stop lad!! Such a petty silly argument. The man is on any team in Ireland, fact. We all know where is best position is, and yes he isn't being played there and he should be, we know that!! It doesn't mean he isn't one of the top forwards in the country!!
TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8458 - 10/08/2014 21:55:10
I feel Donegals only chance of winning this game is to revert to their 2011 tactic of shutting the game down.
Jimmy won't care what anyone else thinks about his approach and if he feels Donegal are far off their 2012 form (which I think they are - way off) then he may see it as the only way to beat Dublin.
Expect a very similar game to 2011 with a better Donegal attack to the 2011 one giving them a serious chance of winning
cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5305 - 10/08/2014 22:00:24
This is a tough one to call.
Dublin have been demolishing Div 2 & 3 teams all year but it's hard to know how they'll do in a real contest. Also, the seem to be a team that has been at peak level for a long time now, makes you wonder if it can continue for another 5-6 weeks.
Donegal were really tested by Armagh and had the metal to continue and win.
Currently, I'm leaning slightly towards Donegal because 1. Dublin haven't been tested, we don't know how they'll react when the are. 2. Donegal belief, if the game is tight, they will continue relentlessly. 3. For Dublin to open a 5-6 point lead by the 50 minute mark would I think require something of a Donegal collapse, that's not going to happen this year.
BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 216 - 11/08/2014 09:16:21
BlastCalyle County: Mayo Posts: 56
Your entitled to your opinion but I don't think your points stack up
1.Dublin haven't been tested? Behind against Cork by 7/8 points in league at halftime. Won by 7/8. Behind by 7 against Mayo in league at 60min. drew game Mayo lucky to come away with draw. Level with Kerry at 4 mins on clock in AI semi last year. Won by 7. This point has been made over and over and it doesn't stack up when you look at stats. This current Dublin team doesn't panic.
2. Donegal belief, if the game is tight, they will continue relentlessly. Refer you to my first answer. Do you think this Dublin squad lacks belief?
3. For Dublin to open a 5-6 point lead by the 50 minute mark would I think require something of a Donegal collapse, that's not going to happen this year. I disagree. Armagh kicked 8 wides in first 20 minutes of match on Saturday. If they'd had their shooting boots on they should have been out of sight by half time.
I don't think Donegal are the force they were in 2012. McFadden isn't playing as well. Lacey isn't firing the way he was, nor is McBrearty. McHugh is away. Think Dublin will win. Will be a tighter match than Saturday but Dublin have more scoring forwards. Will be interesting match
A
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 11/08/2014 10:48:09
Its not a reflection on Donegal but I cant see them getting within 10 points. This Dublin team is on course to be the greatest ever and I dont think its premature to say that. There pace and tackling is relentless.
Donegal can play the blanket but have they the legs to break quick enough?
tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 11/08/2014 10:55:01
: 205
1634771 BlastCalyle County: Mayo Posts: 56
Your entitled to your opinion but I don't think your points stack up
1.Dublin haven't been tested? Behind against Cork by 7/8 points in league at halftime. Won by 7/8. Behind by 7 against Mayo in league at 60min. drew game Mayo lucky to come away with draw. Level with Kerry at 4 mins on clock in AI semi last year. Won by 7. This point has been made over and over and it doesn't stack up when you look at stats. This current Dublin team doesn't panic.
2. Donegal belief, if the game is tight, they will continue relentlessly. Refer you to my first answer. Do you think this Dublin squad lacks belief?
3. For Dublin to open a 5-6 point lead by the 50 minute mark would I think require something of a Donegal collapse, that's not going to happen this year. I disagree. Armagh kicked 8 wides in first 20 minutes of match on Saturday. If they'd had their shooting boots on they should have been out of sight by half time.
I don't think Donegal are the force they were in 2012. McFadden isn't playing as well. Lacey isn't firing the way he was, nor is McBrearty. McHugh is away. Think Dublin will win. Will be a tighter match than Saturday but Dublin have more scoring forwards. Will be interesting match
A
This is a fairly good analysis. The only thing I would disagree about is your inclusion of league form and last years championship form, the later now not being relevant. I think that while Dublin have not been tested yet, it is not their fault, the reality is that they have not met opposition that are anywhere near their championship levels. I think that our only hope against them is to exceed 2012 levels, rather than match them. In order to do this, we will have to play like madmen. I cant see the form coming from nowhere to do this, and some of our players, not that I am giving out about them, they are all doing their best, are not at the levels required for this massive test. It will be the biggest test we have ever had as a team, bigger than mayo last year imo.
Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3853 - 11/08/2014 10:57:47
Good post Aido. The notion that there is some tough team ready to "test the Dubs" is ludicrous. Armagh should have beaten Donegal. Dublin will hammer them.
hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 11/08/2014 10:58:28
Its hard to look past Dublin. Like everyone is saying, Donegal aren't the team of 2012 anymore. However, they'll be delighted with the way its building up - everyone saying they'll be annihilated, 7/1 with the bookies, scraped by Armagh, Dublin destroying everyone etc. For Donegal to win that game the gameplan will have to be 100% and everyone will have to play to 100%. McFadden has lost his mojo this year but he's still a class act. Lacey similiar. Can't see Donegal winning it if I'm honest with myself but I expect them to give Dublin a proper test - McGuinness will have them well drilled.
decky (Roscommon) - Posts: 384 - 11/08/2014 11:14:20
That Dublin team is scarily good. I was right behind Rory Beggan and it was difficult to see who he could kick it out to. The forwards never stop working, there movement is clever and dynamic and they placed enormous pressure on the Monaghan backs trying to get out of there own half. Dublin won't allow the short kickouts, which makes me somewhat relived we aren't playing them as our although our midfielders are developing nicely, they aren't the full package yet. Donegal have a strong midfield which needs to maintain their performance levels to give Donegal a chance. They also badly need McFadden to get back on form, he looked a shadow of his former himself against us.
I'd be nervous for Donegal, they need to match Dublin's energy and work incredibly hard. Support for the runners was sometimes lacking against ourselves and this is something Dublin thrive off. Keeping it tight at the back and counter attacking at speed is Donegal's best chance of winning this.
Hopefully it is a good competitive game and we get to see how Dublin react to being under pressure. Ps I don't understand how someone couldn't rate Murphy, he is a class players. Any team would love to have a Murphy.
JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 11/08/2014 11:19:42
Donegalman County: All Posts: 1478
The only thing I would disagree about is your inclusion of league form and last years championship form, the later now not being relevant.
I know, but it can't be discounted either. I think Dublin are probably playing better this year than they were last year. Expecting a tough examination from Donegal. I know there is nothing Donegal would like more than to beat the Dubs in CP so you can be sure they'll up their game. Will they be able to up it enough. I don't think so but you can never tell. Its going to be a long 3 weeks.
A
Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 11/08/2014 11:20:07
I just cant see anyone stopping the dub. they have far too much strength in dept. The dubs are just going to fire everything at donegal for the first 25 minutes , it will be a furious pace quite possibly the highest intensity of a football game ever.Donegal will hold them as best they can for as long as they can ... BUT ...where i see this game won for the dubs 1 - they have forwards that can shoot from 45/50 yard 2 - The dubs bench , I expect to see see the bench emptied early in the second half and the intensity up'd again - donegal just do not have the panel to hold that off !! ..... no body does
Dublin are like the Kilkenny of a few years ago , no one can stop them ( I just hope i don't look at dublins bench in ten years time and see 36 all ireland medals on it .. scary though !!)
anyway #mayo4sam !!!!
HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 11/08/2014 11:30:46
I agree with Aido. I actually think Donegal are quite close to where they were in 2012 as a unit, they're very solid defensively again and they counter well. But McFadden, who was incredible in 2012, looks a shadow of his former self, as well as Lacey who still seems to be struggling with niggling injuries. That's Donegals key defender and key attacker from their AI win right there, McHugh gone as well.
I think Dublin will find them hard to break down but I don't think Donegal have the firepower up front, and I think this Dub team is capable of creating goal chances one way or another. Unless Donegal can hit a goal or two I see Dublin winning this one.
CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 11/08/2014 11:30:58
I expect Donegal to keep things very tight and if all scores are coming from free's / 45's within the first half an hour I wouldn't be surprised. However, I do think the game will open up at some point and it will all be about who takes their chances. I think Donegal will stop Dublin from scoring goals (which could have a big knock to the Dublin psyche) but if Dublin take the chances that Armagh didn't in the points taking department, then I expect Dublin to do it. Its all well and good for the Donegal system to be motoring well, but Dublin defensively are also set up for teams who play the counter attacking style. I expect Donegal to leave McFadden isolated up front with the likes of McBrearty and Murphy doing the hard slog of tracking back and working the ball up from deep. Although this worked well in the past, McFadden is not scoring well this season and I don't see him getting too many scores from play in this one I'm expecting McMennamon to start on the bench next day, his pace coming into the game with 15/20 minutes to go will be vital with Paddy Andrews coming in instead.
NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 11/08/2014 11:49:37
I would always start Mcmanamon. He's never gets beaten to the ball. The most underrated player in the country if you ask me. I think Dublin will be aiming to have this one over by half time with their Blitz attack. This is their new style as far as I can see.
realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 11/08/2014 12:07:57
Donegal are going to have to surprise Dublin with something different and try to get a lead to hold onto. Kerry did it last year but couldn't hang on when the Dubs bench came on and over ran them. Donegal could hang on but they would need a couple of early goals and have to push up on the kick out. If Donegal concede the kick out for 70 min they will lose because Dublin will contest Donegals kick out and probably win 30% - 40% of them. That results in a glut of possession off kick outs. Add in 5-8 turnovers as Donegal bring out the ball from defence/short kick outs and Dublin will get around 40+ attacks and 20 or so scores. That is a total Donegal wont reach without 2+ goals and they would have to stop Dublin scoring goals.
Considering Dublin haven't scored under 20 scores since last years final and under 2 goals since the 2013 Leinster quarter-final it will take some performance by Donegal to keep Dublins score down. Donegal have only scored 2+ goals once (v Antrim) since 2013 Ulster q-final and haven't scored 20 scores since 2012 Ulster final.
Donegal need to perform better than they have in 2 years and Dublin need to be at their worst in 2 years for Donegal to have a chance of winning. If Donegal win it will time to cast the bronze Jim McGuinness statue for Ballybofey.
tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1521 - 11/08/2014 12:17:20