Aidan O'Mahony

Are the outsiders here missing the real point? The dive by O'Mahony are you kidding me? If you get a slap in the face the real culprit is the idiot who did it. If Mahony didn't react as he did then the Cork player would have gotten away with what according to the rules is a sending off event. Full stop. Just as no matter what the goings on with O'Se when he got sent off the rule is your off. Sure the guy doing the winding up doesn't get sent off and why should he? The double standard from the flamethrowers here is amazing. Obviously they have to have a villian and we are used to sucking up the "Let somebody else win" chants for ages now. If someone else wants to win go out and win and stop the complaining over the non-issues. O'Mahony got a slap in the face, the guy doing it is off. How come you idiots didn't come here when Galvin just slapped a book out of the refs hands and got a 6 month initially. Go back to watching RTE and dreaming that one day when the whining stops that your counties can actually do something other than slam one of the best footballing counties that the GAA has ever seen.

SmerwickMan (Kerry) - Posts: 20 - 25/08/2008 17:30:14    84414

Here's another Kerry opinion.

Its obvious!!! O'mahony was wrong. No need for that carry on.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 25/08/2008 18:21:31    84461

Ih23
Dublin

How can you say cork didn't deserve a draw today, 8pts down and 5 mins to go, and they comeback to draw level.
Kerry kick; was it 18 wides??
Why wouldn't they deserve a replay.

Mac32 (Armagh) - Posts: 10 - 25/08/2008 21:11:39    84524

With regard to O'Mahony I think it's rich coming from Cork guys considering the amount of whinging they have been guilty of over the years. Yes O'Mahony looked a bit foolish and no doubt he will think so himself now. However it wasn't he who did the stricking. Asking for him to be suspended it ridiculous. Also while it might be time that Dara was caught, it should be bourn in mind that the guy he hit was the same guy who hit Geraghty in the semi final last year and then tried his best to have GG sent off. He's not exactly a saint. Glad that Dara will get his chance to play in the final. I have no doubt that they will win the next day. Glad that the Green and Gold will be there again no matter who wears it. Hope the Kerry boys shout for Meath minors next Sunday. God knows we can't depend on any of the others to do so.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 25/08/2008 22:26:26    84565

You're right Smerwick Man - Donnacha O'Connor was a fool to slap O'Mahony. But look at the replay again - he was getting a red card for it without O'Mahony's behaviour. (I don't actually saw the 'great fall.' So this makes the Kerryman a bigger fool. If you want to condone this kind of theatrics thats your prerogative. You speak of your rich football history and you are correct. But try to tell me that the Mick O'Dwyers, the Mick O'Connells, the Jack O'Sheas, the Bomber Listons etc would approve of this kind of thing. I don't think so. O'Mahony's actions stain your great tradition. Accept that - as I'm sure most genuine Kerry football folk do - and don't try to paper over it with talk of jealousy. Doing that makes you the small man.

Dubinmeath (Dublin) - Posts: 1123 - 25/08/2008 23:33:25    84593

Does this new found hatred for Kerry...mean that we are all friends with the Ulster counties again? I suppose it was time to get something new to hate.......Hating Tyrone..was getting a bit boring.......especially when they weren't winning anything....
So if we want to hate anyone...Better go for the best..How many all-Irelands????? 34...35...whatever!!!!!!

SAMMYTHEBULL (Galway) - Posts: 1646 - 26/08/2008 00:03:28    84603

Of course what Aidan O Mahony did was not in the true Kerry tradition but its only today we've heard about O Neill's goading so maybe justice was done to the team but wrong was done to O Connor.
Ball boy is not on his own here with his comments,there is also Meath support but the weaker counties see things differently and are very anti O Mahony.
I cannot understand how such a bad Cork team drew this game.
Kerry if you want to win the All Ireland,one word and its yours - DISCIPLINE.

naharcs (Limerick) - Posts: 59 - 26/08/2008 00:57:58    84628

personally i have always admired Kerry football,they have produced some of the best players and teams ever..but ye Kerry guys must admit..Omahoney was over the top,i know alot of verbal goes on, and as a meath man, i have a cousin on the Dublin team, and some of the things said to him during the course of a game was unreal.. but goading and cheating has no place... punish yer opponent on the scoreboard!

maco (Meath) - Posts: 357 - 26/08/2008 08:16:03    84656

yes aidan was wrong, it is not an action i like to see from a kerry player. and now i hear cork are goinf to try and get o'connors red card rescinded.in all fairness lets not move away from the point like. you cannot raise your hand to anyone during a game and o'connor did.

cornerforward13 (Kerry) - Posts: 74 - 26/08/2008 09:29:41    84684

Lets call a shovel a shovel. Aidan's antics were an embaressment. O'Connor deserves to win his appeal. It is obvious from a lot of the posts that they were not at the match. Daragh fell for the usual goading that he gets from Cork and should know by now not to fall for it.Kiernan Donaghy showed great leadership when Darragh was sent off. He came out mid field, won ball there and went to each player to rise their game. There was niggling from both teams from the start and the usual anti Kerry brigade, who were not at the match are posting their usual nasty bias. Kerry should sick for the way the gave away the lead. They were showboating their way to the final.Declan should have stayed on and Marc is a big problem. Bring in David Moran.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 26/08/2008 10:32:03    84775

25/08/2008 22:26:26
The real Árd Rí

84565 With regard to O'Mahony I think it's rich coming from Cork guys considering the amount of whinging they have been guilty of over the years. Yes O'Mahony looked a bit foolish and no doubt he will think so himself now. However it wasn't he who did the stricking. Asking for him to be suspended it ridiculous. Also while it might be time that Dara was caught, it should be bourn in mind that the guy he hit was the same guy who hit Geraghty in the semi final last year and then tried his best to have GG sent off. He's not exactly a saint. Glad that Dara will get his chance to play in the final. I have no doubt that they will win the next day. Glad that the Green and Gold will be there again no matter who wears it. Hope the Kerry boys shout for Meath minors next Sunday. God knows we can't depend on any of the others to do so.

________________________________________________________________________________
In fact you are incorrect The lad who hit geraghty was noel o leary and not pierce O neill. PON is a fine footballer and doesn;t deserve a meath man who clearly doesn;t know what he is talking about putting him down! Never once have I posted on the kerry site. Not my business to do that but I won see any of our players but down. Donnache should have his card resinded - and it galls me the Aidan O'Mahony has not come out and apologised!

Gaagirl2008 (Cork) - Posts: 16 - 26/08/2008 10:56:18    84809

How to take a belt ......

Laois teenage star suffers broken jaw
LAOIS teenage dual star John O'Loughlin will be out of action for two months after having his jaw broken while playing for Mountmellick in a senior club football championship game.
The Laois County Board is awaiting the referee's report prior to deciding what action to take but the O'Loughlin family are angry over the incident, which happened 10 minutes from the end of last Friday night's game between Mountmellick and Emo in O'Moore Park.
They allege that the 19-year-old, who is one of the best talents to emerge in Laois in recent years, sustained the injury in an off-the-ball incident after moving from full-forward to midfield.
He completed the game but was taken to Portlaoise hospital afterwards where he was kept for 24 hours. He was found to have a compound fracture of his left jaw and visited a Dublin clinic yesterday where he underwent further examination.
O'Loughlin's father Larry said that copies of the consultant's report would be sent to the Laois County Board, the Leinster Council and Croke Park.
"We need proper procedures to protect players. This isn't just about John, it's about any player who sustains an injury like this in an off-the-ball incident.
"He has no recollection of the final 10 minutes or of the point he scored. During that time, he also took a few more heavy belts. We are asking for the matter to be fully investigated," he said.
He also revealed that his son had earlier declined an invitation to participate in trials which are being conducted in Castlebar this week for top young stars who are interested in trying their luck with Australian Rules clubs.
"All he wants to do is play for his club and his county but when something like this happens it makes you wonder what's going on in the GAA," said his father.
Laois County Secretary Niall Handy said they were awaiting the referee's report before deciding what to do next.
"There are procedures in place and we will adhere to them. The first step in that process is to consider the referee's report," he said.
O'Loughlin, who is equally talented in football and hurling, is one of the rising stars of Laois GAA. He forced his way into the senior football side this year and was also an early target when Niall Rigney took over the hurling team following Damian Fox's resignation prior to the All-Ireland qualifiers.

Efan (USA) - Posts: 1 - 26/08/2008 11:28:01    84855

As a neutral from Galway I have always admired Kerry football and have gotten great enjoyment from watching them over the years but a few things are turning me off Kerry these days..
The dive from O Mahony last weekend.. Gooch's constant arguing with refs and Donaghy's reactions after scoring goading the opposition.. Great players from the past like Maurice Fitz would never be seen at this and that's why every other county had such respect and admiration for Kerry.. Not so much anymore..

WolfeTone (Galway) - Posts: 123 - 26/08/2008 13:52:36    85145

O'Mahoney was a total disgrace on Sunday and I surprised any fan would even attempt to defend what he did. O'Connor was stupid to get involved but that does not in any way excuse what O'Mahoney did. He should get a month as well for his reaction. O'Se, O'Mahoney, Cooper and Donaghy are all great footballers but they seem to think they can do what they want on the pitch.

gooner (Mayo) - Posts: 111 - 26/08/2008 15:30:36    85356

Two things, first of all they are very few Cork supporters on here saying that we deserved to win.
We didnt but we got a draw,all be it by dogdy pentaly. but an u12 should have stopped masters goal.
All these people coming on giving out about kerry, were telling you how great ye were last week and that ye win by 15 points. ye still are a great team but knocking Cork as a very bad team who never gets out of the semis isnt fair either. Waterford is one of the best teams in hurling for the last 10 years. couldnt get out of the semis till this year. Last year they hit 17 wides.
Kerry hit 14 wides on Sunday, that does not make them a bad team, just unluckly on the day.
I dont know if we win next sunday or not,but Cork isnt a bad team , we just keep meeting ye twice a year ye are the best team in the country. Cork V kerry is the same a Wexford hurlers meeting Killkenny year in year out and getting hammered. its doesn' t mean we are a bad team, it just be hard to get motived when you know you were going to meet the best again. Plus the vast Majority of the county supports the Hurling, and the vast majority of cork people couldnt name the Cork Captain and they don't care anyway . Kerry supporters only turn up to All Irelands. Surely a team thats this good should get support all year round .
secondly Donnacha hit O' Mahony ,red Card full stop, it doesnt matter he was goaded into it , whether it was a tap or a punch in the face.. the fact that he is wasting cccc time by trying to get it resended is a disgrace. the cccc cant go into the grey area of wheter it was a tap or a punch.
he should just take his punishment . However O'Mahony reaction is a disgrace to any man that ever wore the kerry jeresy. Donnacha was being sent off regardless, acting the way he did ,only shows himself up for being a cheat.

ver (None) - Posts: 228 - 26/08/2008 15:52:15    85430

Gaagirl2008

Wasn't actually sure of that but put it anyway just to see if I would get a response. Glad to see however that you admit that GG was if fact hit by a Cork footballer. After the match there were those from Cork who would have you believe that he hit himself. The rest of my post about Cork being perennial whingers stands. If this year's stupid strick isn't enough to convince you of that I have a very long list of instances I could mention but I want to get home before dark.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 26/08/2008 16:52:45    85539

A mountain out of a molehill. O'Mahony made a fool of himself but O'Connor deserved to go. Do we expect refs to pull players aside and ask them how hard the slap was???? No we don't. A slap is a slap and he got what he deserved. The only way to get this out of our sport is to define a strike as a strike with no exceptions.

As for O'Mahony I hope the incident is reviewed cause there's nothing worse than diving but can we lay of this nostalgic lark of saying he disgraced the Kerry jersey. It's about winning not making friends and if Kerry get there 3 in a row I don't think there'll be a soul in the county that would complain about how they got it!!

HankdTank (Dublin) - Posts: 27 - 26/08/2008 18:22:30    85658

From what I'm reading and hearing Big darragh O'Se may have got off the hook due to the last minutes dramatics on Sunday. I'm delighted for him if this is the case. He's a cracking footballer, gives hits and takes them... no fuss or dramatics. That's what big guys like him are there for. I also admired him for his reaction to his dismissal on Sunday. At that stage I'm sure he thought he'd blown his (possibly last?) chance for the All-Ireland final but he didn't protest or try to lay the blame elsewhere... he was caught simple as that, and he was prepared to take his medicine like the man he is. Hopefully Sunday's replay will prove to be the only game he misses out on as giants of the game deserve to be in Croke Park on the 3rd Sunday in September. As a Tyrone fan I realise this could well work to our disadvantage should we beat Wexford this sunday, but I'd rather beat a Kerry team with big Darragh on it than sitting in the stands because he rose to the bait in a moment of madness. Unfortunately I can't echo the same good wishes towards Mr. O'Mahoney... but I guess he probably regrets his actions even more than Darragh O'Se.... still I suppose he's only human like the rest of us.

mossgreen (Tyrone) - Posts: 181 - 26/08/2008 19:54:24    85692

When all this rubbish talk is over Kerry will go on and win the All Ireland as usual. Was there ever a year without some controversy? It will all be forgotten about by 6pm on All Ireland day.

GreenMan (Offaly) - Posts: 38 - 26/08/2008 22:08:58    85787

what a disgrace omahoney is. as a kerryman watching here in ny. i was embarressed by his antics.my 1 yr.old grandchild would hit me harder.If they get past cork next week he will not get a tap like that from most of the tyrone players.maybe that is why tyrone have kerrys number from minor to senior over the last few years.they hit hard so be ready Aiden.Make kerry proud play like our heros of the past. Mike S.yonkers.ny.

listowel8 (Kerry) - Posts: 1 - 26/08/2008 23:28:49    85838